x PhoneArena is looking for new authors in New York! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 mini User Reviews

7.4 Based on 14 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Everyday usage7.6/10
Reception8.4/10
Battery5.3/10
Call quality8.8/10
Internet8.3/10
Multimedia8.1/10
Camera8.4/10
UI speed8.2/10
Display7.3/10
Text input6.2/10
Build quality8.8/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

FiLiP1999
posted on 06 Aug 2013, 10:01 (Posts: 0; Member since: 06 Aug 2013)

5

Sony Ericsson X10 mini

FiLiP1999 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

The Worst Phone I have ever had in my LIFE !!!The processor is VEry very slow.Little RAM makes the phone to lag.NOT REPLACEABLE BATTERY !!!!!!!!! Very Small Screen and Very Dificultt to write a messege or something !!!!!!

Build quality 7/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 4/10
Multimedia 2/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 3/10
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 1/10
Display 1/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Pretty Good Camera
  • Flash
  • Good Battery Life
  • Good Call Quality

Cons

  • Bad Display
  • Very Bad Text Input(beacuse od the dimensions)
  • Very Silent Loudspeaker
  • Very Little RAM
  • Android OS 1.6, 2.1

FiLiP1999 alternatives:

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

JasonEV
posted on 15 Aug 2012, 11:44 (Posts: 0; Member since: 15 Aug 2012)

6

Really pocket friendly

JasonEV has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The x10 mini is the most pocket friendly smartphone i have ever seen. And for his category (size and price) is good. Only one bad thing, the battery life isn't so good. Also the CPU it's laggy. Also it have's a 5MP camera

Build quality 7/10 average build quality.
Reception 7/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 5/10 Small screen for browsing and not multitouch support
Multimedia 5/10 Good for music but not for videos
Camera 5/10
UI speed 7/10 not so laggy for it's price
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 6/10 really difficult with this screen size
Display 7/10
Battery 5/10 average battery life

Pros

  • pocket friendly

Cons

  • no multitouch support
  • small size screen

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Mexii
posted on 21 Apr 2012, 19:58 (Posts: 0; Member since: 21 Apr 2012)

9

I still love it more then the iphone and my lg 2gx

Mexii has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I love its size, its does everything my larger phone does. Its far more useful when its rooted though. Basic still works. I am still looking for it, I lost it in my closet. :/ The only problem I found was i could use adobe 10 flash player. I haven't tried it yet need to put android ginger.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10 idk
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10
Display 8/10
Battery 10/10 its small and can only hold so much

Pros

  • size

Cons

  • adobe player

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

fe1212y
posted on 15 Dec 2011, 21:06 (Posts: 0; Member since: 15 Dec 2011)

7

great phone but too small

fe1212y has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

this phe is a great phone but very small for my hand, it's make hard to write a text using qwerty virtual keyboard.
the camera is very good and the sound is also great
the battery is can't replace so can't have extra battery

Build quality 8/10
Reception 6/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10 5 mp with auto focus. it's very good
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 5/10 the screen too small
Display 6/10
Battery 4/10

Pros

  • fast
  • good in camera

Cons

  • Battery
  • very small
  • can't have extra battery

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Edvin
posted on 01 Jun 2011, 12:15

9

Love it!

Edvin has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

At first, I was a bit concerned that this only has a 600Mhz processor, but I find the performance of the phone to be very good. Of course, I wonder how some of the augmented reality apps would do with a better processor, but I'm not disappointed at all.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10
Display 8/10
Battery 4/10

Pros

  • Price
  • Android 2.1
  • Video capture HD

Cons

  • too small :(
  • Non-replaceable battery

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jaey
posted on 22 Apr 2011, 00:56

8

Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Mini

jaey has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

only want to say Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Mini small but powerful phone by sony ericson.......................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................ooooooooosome

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 10/10 4yuukg
Camera 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 7/10
Display 7/10
Battery 7/10

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

testpie
posted on 10 Apr 2011, 06:16

4

A great phone if the battery wasn't so crap

testpie has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Once you've unlocked and rooted this phone (Google some guides on using FlashTool), it's actually a very capable phone - with a high-end camera, GPS-oriented features such as geo-tagging and satellite navigation, and pretty much everything you'd expect from a fullsize Android phone.

With that said, the main sticking point of this phone - and reason I'm getting rid of it, having tolerated this for less than a month, is the battery. Somehow, even with JuiceDefender turning it to little more than a small paperweight when not in use, the phone will eat through around 10% battery life in your pocket when it has only been sat, locked,in your pocket.

How SE have managed to achieve a self-deflating battery I'll never know, but if any boys at NASA are looking for the ultimate in "how the heck did you do that?", I'd suggest getting in touch with SonyEricsson.

Avoid like the plague unless you want to change your lifestyle to constantly be next to a power outlet.

Build quality 10/10 Very good construction - rugid back-cover and Gorilla Glass front to protect from scratches and damage.
Reception 9/10 Not the best, but will pick up reception in the same areas most phones in this class would.
Call quality 8/10 Often difficult to understand the caller because of a lack in volume from the headset, and the strange way it needs to be held because of the small size.
Internet 8/10 The HSDPA seems to lag - which could be a network issue, as the O2 UK network has long been oversubscribed since they launched the iPhone.
Multimedia 9/10 Good handling of most common formats, although SE's insistence on the TimeScape feature can be cumbersome and get in the way of day-to-day usage.
Camera 10/10 SE have integrated the best from their Cybershot knowledge to give a clean, quick camera interface.
UI speed 8/10 The UI can sometimes lag if multiple activities are occuring at once - for instance, if a text is received while typing another message, this can cause major lag to the text input speed.
Everyday usage 4/10 This phone is near hopeless in day-to-day use because the battery is nothing short of pathetic. Only good if you're willing to spend your life tethered to a portable charger or power socket.
Text input 7/10 This doesn't offer QWERTY or multi-touch input like most phones, but if you're used to older-style button phones, the experience is just as fast.
Display 7/10 The display is very bright and crisp; but in order to gain anything other than twenty second's battery life out of the phone,you'll have to turn the display brightness down so far that it becomes unusable outdoors or in any instance of lighting.
Battery 1/10 This is by far the worst battery life of a phone I've ever owned, and is inexplicable considering that the battery is just as poor when all non-core features (i.e. Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, GPRS/3G/HSDPA, screen brightness etc) are turned off. Unless you are willing to charge this around every 6 hours, this phone cannot be legally called "mobile".

Pros

  • Fantastic camera
  • Android 2.1 capable
  • Clean, crisp UI
  • 3.5mm headphone jack
  • As feature-packed as higher-end smartphones

Cons

  • BATTERY LIFE
  • BATTERY LIFE
  • BATTERY LIFE
  • Pointless having features if the phone lacks the ability to hold charge for more than 6 hours

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Gowtham
posted on 26 Feb 2011, 22:12

9

GOOD PHONE IF U CHARGE IT DAILY

Gowtham has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

performance of phone is very good.
Quad-band GSM/GPRS/EDGE support
3G with HSPA
Customized Android OS v1.6 with Timescape UI
Ultra compact body
2.55" capacitive touchscreen of QVGA resolution
Qualcomm MSM7227 600 MHz CPU
5 megapixel autofocus camera with LED flash and VGA video recording
Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g
Built-in GPS receiver and digital compass
Accelerometer sensor for auto-rotate and turn-to-mute
Standard miniUSB port for charging and data
Stereo Bluetooth (A2DP)
microSD card slot with support for up to 8GB cards (2GB card included)
3.5mm-compatible audio jack
Direct access to the official Android repository

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

Cons

  • BATTERY LIFE
  • NO FRONT CAMERA

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

pongscript
posted on 20 Jan 2011, 10:13

8

Fastest Smallest Phone

pongscript has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This phone is very fast due to screen=processor ratio, based on most review. I found the eclair(2.1) OS is very fast. I previously owned a couple of nokia(31-0), sonyericsson phone(k800, and w960). this is the fastest phone I ever have. i have no trouble typing away from this very small form factor. I use 8pen as typing, im getting the hang of it.

Build quality 10/10 There is no creaks and Back cover fit snuggly
Reception 10/10 The Reception actually depend on you carrier. It have a fast 3g/HSDPA which is good for updating and checking facebook and yahoo messenger.
Call quality 10/10 I never have issue with its clarity, though you have to be used to talking to air, since it will be too small.
Internet 10/10 Fast 3g/HSDPA, but the browser is quite slow in rendering full desktop webpage, which is tolerable.
Multimedia 9/10 Video and Picture gallery does not properly update their content. you could accidentally load different video(if you based on thumbnail preview)
Camera 8/10 Camera is decent, 5mp is not required, since 3.2 of my k800 is quite sufficient. a xeon flash would be great but having enough light to illuminate your subject will be ok.
UI speed 10/10 The screen is very responsive, some minor annoyances. the homescreen is too sensitive, you could accidentally launch the widget or wallpaper gallery
Everyday usage 6/10 I use this everyday, and sometimes I forgot that this is on my phone due to its small size. it will suffice my everyday requirement, though the battery would be the downside.
Text input 6/10 default keyboard hangs a bit on first letters.
Display 9/10 display on this small device is ok. it actually covers 85% or 90 % of the device front face. so its decent.
Battery 2/10 This will be the downside of the device. the battery lack of staying power and its not user replaceable. you might need to brought a charger if you plan to use it as an internet device.

Pros

  • Small Form Factor
  • Fast UI
  • Decent Camera Capture Result
  • Decent Video Capture
  • Decent Video Playback(MP4,3gp)
  • Fully Customizable
  • Good Graphics For Small Screen
  • Very Responsive Capacitive Touch Screen

Cons

  • Not Cheap
  • Button feel like it will break quickly
  • Weak Battery

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Raza
posted on 27 Dec 2010, 03:00

9.2

VERY GOOD CELLPHONE

Raza has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

well xperia x10 mini is a very good phone..its camera result is good..the touch screen response is very good..!! the sound quality is great..!! and through bass handsfree the sound is excellent..!!andriod 2.2 is updated..!! the only negative point on this handset is tht its little hard to type a sms..especially for me because i sent lots of sms to my friends..!! but overall the xperia x10 mini is a great cellphone..!!

Battery 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 6/10
Display 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Camera 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Internet 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Build quality 8/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Kay
posted on 30 Sep 2010, 00:09

8.7

compacts doesnt hurts my hands like the evo or the iphone

 Its a great phone, I got this phone mainly because of its size. I wanted something that could do everything my iphone 3g could do but fit nicely in my jeans. I have small hands and my husbands evo required two hands. No thanks, Its bad enough I have to type all day at work. I love taking pictures with this little phone, wonderful, has flash. I also like making videos. I enjoy syncing with my google contacts, I love changing the home screens with the different icons, they are so tiny but I have no problem selecting.(You would have to install one of the programs off of android market.) Took me a little getting use to an android phone. The iphone was very simple vs this little android. I almost cried when I thought I couldn't change the home screens. Im still learning after having this phone for about a month now. 2.1 android update not available till end of Oct 2010. Multi-touch keyboard I have not figured out how to change it if possible. Wifi would drop randomly. It seemed to fix it self I think??? Battery sucks but its a small phone so can't expect too much. Its a little slow because its a small phone so I make excuses for it.  Over all its soo cute, its tiny in me pocket. 

Design 10/10
Features 8/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • tiny, camera flash, sync, love the call quality, call speaker,

Cons

  • multi touch,battery, 1.6 donut.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

A.AMRAL
posted on 30 Aug 2010, 17:07

10

VERY GOOD FONE

it´s a nice fone. good camera good interface, android is nice and in 3th.quarter it´s avaiable a actualization to2.1 android.in actuality for me is a litle big fone.actually android is nice in this phone,is a responsive touch and delicate ecra.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • EVERYTHING

Cons

  • NOTHING

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

tauseefkhan
posted on 12 Jul 2010, 02:04 (Posts: 0; Member since: 12 Jul 2010)

1.3

dont go 4 it

dont go fo it.... its cheap plastic body.........and it got outdated os which got lot of problems... and the camera get hangs out all the time.... and u cant replace the battery.... and cant change the home screen ..


Key features

Quad-band GSM/GPRS/EDGE support
3G with HSPA
Customized Android OS v1.6 with Timescape UI
Ultra compact body
2.55" capacitive touchscreen of QVGA resolution
Qualcomm MSM7227 600 MHz CPU
5 megapixel autofocus camera with LED flash and VGA video recording
Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g
Built-in GPS receiver and digital compass
Accelerometer sensor for auto-rotate and turn-to-mute
Standard miniUSB port for charging and data
Stereo Bluetooth (A2DP)
microSD card slot with support for up to 8GB cards (2GB card included)
3.5mm-compatible audio jack
Direct access to the official Android repository

Main disadvantages

QVGA resolution doesn’t do Android graphics justice and limits the number of compatible apps
Battery not user replaceable
Limited Android homescreen functionality
No smart dialing
Typing long messages is very hard on the small screen
No Bluetooth file transfers from the gallery
No Flash support for the web browser
Very basic camera interface


Design 1/10
Features 2/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • non

Cons

  • battery, very small screen

6 out of 34 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jimrin
posted on 10 Jul 2010, 20:04

9.3

Love this phone!

At first, I was a bit concerned that this only has a 600Mhz processor, but I find the performance of the phone to be very good. Of course, I wonder how some of the augmented reality apps would do with a better processor, but I'm not disappointed at all.

Also, this phone only has Android 1.6, but S-E says they'll have an upgrade to 2.1 in 3Q. Really looking forward to it.

Pros:

Size!  Perfect size and weight!
Screen while only 240x320 is very sharp!
Android!
S-E's Timescape. While I'm not really that much into social networking, I like what they've done with it.
Standard 3.5mm earjack and micro USB charging
Lanyard slot allowing personalized straps/charms

Cons:

I'm a little concerned about the battery life. Of course, some of the apps are the real culprits. Looks like I'll be using this phone enough to warrant nightly charging. Some cases with extensive usage, I may even need to charge some during the day.
Non-replaceable battery. If you take it apart with a screw driver, you can change the battery.
Small screen, but I don't have big hands, so I'm okay. Screen is too small for Swype though. SlideIT works ok, but may take some time getting used to it. No problems with the default input.
Cannot force the camera flash. (Perhaps one of the other Android camera apps support this?)
Android 1.6 (although 2.1 coming soon).
Even though I put down quite a few cons, I really am very happy with this phone!

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Size and weight!
  • Good quality image!
  • Good quality camera!
  • Android!
  • Sony Ericsson's Timescape.
  • Standard 3.5mm earjack
  • Micro USB charging
  • Lanyard slot allowing personalized straps/charms

Cons

  • Battery life.
  • Non-replaceable battery.
  • Small screen for typing
  • Cannot force the camera flash
  • Android 1.6 (although 2.1 coming soon)

32 out of 34 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories