x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Ericsson Xperia PLAY User Reviews

9.2 Based on 5 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia9.4/10
Internet9/10
Call quality9.6/10
Battery8.4/10
Reception9.4/10
Display8.8/10
Build quality9.4/10
Text input9.2/10
Everyday usage9.8/10
UI speed9/10
Camera8.2/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

sunnyiitkgp
posted on 12 Sep 2012, 08:31 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 Feb 2012)

10

Good one though

sunnyiitkgp has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

works fine... wifi, bluetooth, call receiving all are good... good choice for gaming... noise reduction works awesome... music is absolutely fine... 5 MP camera of sony is far better than an 8 MP cam of samsung...slide is smooth and vibration is smooth unlike samsung phones...

RAM and internal memory are less and that makes your phone slow... can't download more games because of that... games have to be installed in phone memory first and then moved to SD card and that gives you trouble...too heavy and bulky...have to still use android 2.3

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • gaming feature
  • nice touch
  • fast wifi and bluetooth
  • noise reduction

Cons

  • battery backup is less
  • less RAM
  • less internal memory
  • bulky and heavy
  • not upgraded to android 4.0

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

clewis789
posted on 29 Aug 2011, 11:51 (Posts: 0; Member since: 29 Aug 2011)

9

Awesome Phone

clewis789 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Summary - The phone is great to use every day and with most of it small problems they can be fixed via the apps like the slow ish internet browser and pour camera ui. Over than them to problems the phone is great the best single cpu android device you can get.

Build quality 10/10 Perfect its strong and feels great in your hand.
Reception 9/10 Reception is great.
Call quality 10/10 Never had call quality this good sounds like HD.
Internet 9/10 Stock internet browser is okay but when downloaded dolphin browser HD its amazing.
Multimedia 10/10 Has the stock android gallery which i think is the best anyway, music play is awesome a lot nicer the HTC Sense and with more features
Camera 8/10 Camera ia good but could be better and stock camera app is poor but if you download camera fx from the app store it improves it so much why i give it an 8.
UI speed 9/10 Very fast UI the sense layer is fast and great to use does have a small hiccup now and again but that comes with most android devices and you hardly ever get it
Everyday usage 10/10 Perfect.
Text input 9/10 Stock keyboard is great in both portrait and landscape and even better if you download go keyboard.
Display 9/10 Awesome display everything loos awesome with the great resolution but should be a bit brighter.
Battery 9/10 The same as most smartphones a days of average a lot to average usage.

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

america123jeff
posted on 13 Jun 2011, 23:07 (Posts: 36; Member since: 14 Apr 2011)

8

Unique and AMAZING graphics

america123jeff has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I love games. And high quality games that I can carry anywhere make a very happy person. The game pad works great!!! coming from a crappy touchwiz 1.0 phone this is a dream come true. The games have great graphics and options in gameplay. The speaker great!!! It can be easily heard in another room if you want it to. sound is very crisp. I was not a fan of the stock android but it is kinda growing on me. good flued animations. I would subjest this phone to any friend of mine.

Build quality 9/10 I dont like the fact that the chrome is not made of real metal or that the back is plastic but the device does look very nice and the construction is solid. The game pad is very secure.
Reception 10/10 great reception!
Call quality 10/10 good options during calling
Internet 7/10 The internet could be faster with dual-core and the menu is not very fluent just...there. But it does work very well and the pince to zoom works great!
Multimedia 7/10 The camera is only 5 megapixells not 8 (still not bad at all) the optical lens is very good. the pictures are clear. However, no HD video! Then again it does have a front facing camera (VGA). there hardly any editing options at all. but the music player is quite good.
Camera 7/10
UI speed 9/10 excellent. only lags occasionally. Stock android is very fast with honeycomb
Everyday usage 10/10 HELLO! It has a game pad! the games are fantastic!!! Sims 3, Madden, Bruce Lee, Asphalt 6, Crash, Tetris all come preloaded (in USA). Amazing possibilities...
Text input 8/10 When in portrait mode it is hard to type. It is cramped and I often press the wrong letter. In landscape mode the keyboard is excellent and the voice to text feature works quite well which makes up for the problems in portrait mode.
Display 6/10 The display isnt very bright. (still okay just not good for outdoors) but it looks VERY sharp and crisp. It shows detail well.
Battery 7/10 not bad. not great. It works fine for me. just be sure to charge it every night.

Pros

  • GAME PAD
  • fantastic games
  • Android honeycomb
  • front facing camera
  • GAME PAD
  • nice, clean UI
  • easy to access micro SD card with out taking out the battery
  • solid desighn
  • GAME PAD

Cons

  • ok camera but not great
  • digital analog pads take getting used to
  • not enough photo editing options

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

nojgvlhdfg
posted on 27 May 2011, 06:49

10

camera zoom

nojgvlhdfg has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

i dont actually have the xperia play just a w995 atm
have u tried zooming with the volume button because i never knew bout the zoom on any sony ericssons untill i found out about the volume buttons are used but i havent actually tried it on any xperia phone

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • i want it
  • gaming controller

Cons

  • price :'(

4 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Unimatrix_18
posted on 21 May 2011, 11:03 (Posts: 0; Member since: 21 May 2011)

9

Unimatrix_18

Unimatrix_18 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

pretty insane phone, lv pretty much everything about it except the camera has no zoom, although I haven't had it long I think its one of the best phones out there and definitely the best gaming phone :) if ur into games and want a phone which is still g8 at everything else than this is a must have, although if u wanna camera phone i wouldn't buy this

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

Cons

  • no zoom on camera

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy This Phone

Latest stories