x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Ericsson Xperia PLAY 4G User Reviews

8.5 Based on 2 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Camera8.5/10
Multimedia10/10
Internet8/10
Call quality9.5/10
Battery7.5/10
Display9.5/10
Reception9.5/10
Text input9/10
Build quality10/10
Everyday usage9.5/10
UI speed8.5/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Septembersrain
posted on 11 May 2012, 14:50 (Posts: 9; Member since: 11 May 2012)

9

Bought this phone on sale.

Septembersrain has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I got this phone for $105 from a closing Sony Store. It's been more than worth the money I've spent. It replaced an Atrix. Even having slightly lower specs this phone has been faster, smoother and the UI is more functional.

It's great because it can play Playstation games. =]

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Multimedia friendly
  • Beautiful UI
  • Seamless functionality
  • Game controls

Cons

  • Bulky

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

snowgator
posted on 04 Jan 2012, 18:55 (Posts: 3179; Member since: 19 Jan 2011)

8

Any Gamer's Dream Phone.....

snowgator has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

As I write this, the Play is a year old device. But while shopping for Phones for other family members, My Son just drooled all over it, so we got it for him free on contract for Christmas. I am very surprised how good of a phone it really is. The reception and call quality is just amazingly good. I would almost recommend it for anyone who makes a lot of calls. It truly is that good. This is a solid built device, and seems really high quality. The screen also is very nice for as old of a device as it is.
Of course, the main point is the physical keypad for gaming. There is a very familiar layout for anyone with PlayStation experience. It comes preloaded with 8 games, but really they are just icons. You need a WiFi connection to download these and the other games that are specific to this device. There is a good selection of games for the Play. Of course, all Android options are open to you. You HAVE to have a memory card though. There isn't enough internal memory to do anything with. I am not super impressed with the internet experience or Sony's UI. Neither is horrid, but neither is great.

Build quality 10/10 Very solid, good feel. Sony did a great job with this.
Reception 9/10 Very good reception.
Call quality 10/10 Among the best call quality I have ever experienced. Honest. It is that good.
Internet 7/10 Okay, I know it is a single core processor, but other devices from that generation worked much better.
Multimedia 10/10 I am not sure on any other aspect other than gaming. It is a great gaming phone, and I have no idea why you would get it for anything else.
Camera 7/10 Average. Nothing flashy, even for a 5 mp camera.
UI speed 7/10 Really, the speed is fine. There is just an unpolished, half done feel about the UI.
Everyday usage 9/10 My Son loves it.
Text input 9/10 Very good keyboard. He has actually done a better job typing on this screen than on his full physical keyboard on his old messaging phone.
Display 10/10 No complaints. Nice screen.
Battery 7/10 He plays a lot on it, so it gets a workout. But it dies quick. Extra chargers a must.

Pros

  • Great gaming phone
  • Outstanding call quality.
  • Fantastic build quality.
  • Good touchscreen keyboard.
  • Good selection of games just for the Play.

Cons

  • Unpolished UI
  • Fair Internet.
  • Lower than expected battery life.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories