x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Ericsson W910 User Reviews

8.1 Based on 19 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Build quality4.5/10
Text input9/10
Everyday usage5/10
UI speed6/10
Camera2.5/10
Multimedia6/10
Internet5.5/10
Call quality7/10
Battery5/10
Reception5/10
Display7/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

ford
posted on 17 Jul 2011, 02:22

3

Sodding piece of sh*t

ford has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Worst phone ever. I've had it for 3 years. Cannot wait to get rid of it.................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................... Constantly turns itself off and on again, and has the most pathetic excuse for a speaker I have ever seen.. Well, heard.

Build quality 1/10 Screws fell out for no reason. I treated it well, yet over time it fell apart.
Reception 1/10 Always drops out and never gets full reception anywhere I go.
Call quality 7/10 Call quality isn't that bad, when it isn't dropping out of course.
Internet 1/10 It had internet?
Multimedia 2/10 Every time I play a song, the phone decides to restart itself..
Camera 1/10 Shit.
UI speed 3/10 Not the best..
Everyday usage 2/10 Really not very good.
Text input 9/10 I like the texting input and format. Easy to use and is comfortable.
Display 5/10 Small, but still a decent display.
Battery 2/10 Pffft, one call and it's gone.

Pros

  • Nothing

Cons

  • Everything

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

ciumi
posted on 03 Apr 2011, 09:24

8

is it realy ?

ciumi has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Is it realy that good as they say it is ?
I mean, i`m pretty dissapointed... because you guys say it`s so good. It is good but not that good. And the "cool slide phone"... What`s so cool at it? I wouldn`t like to talk that way about my phone, but look i`m doing it.

Build quality 8/10 If this phone goes down... It stays down.
Reception 9/10
Call quality 7/10 It hears like a cow sitting at 10 kilometres from you.
Internet 10/10 I pretty much like it`s personal browser... I can`t cay anything wrong about it so it deservs a 10.
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 4/10 2 mp ? no flash ?
UI speed 9/10 It could go faster. It bothers me sometimes to see it behave like a bad computer playing NFS HP2.
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10 Great ! It`s a big display but in sunlight, and from the side... you can see but barely.
Battery 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Jaz300910
posted on 29 Sep 2010, 20:55

6.3

Short lived

I've always liked Sony Erriccsons, the way their menu's are set up, their messaging style, their features etc.
The W910i was great when i first got it but this was short lived. I guess it depends on how much you use the phone.
I rarely call people, when i do, the battery will rapidly decrease, i've also found if there is bad reception the battery goes down quicker. The buttons wore out in 13months (one month outside warranty) with all the buttons except the numerical keypad not working. They were replaced but since then i have experienced other problems

My dad lives in the same house, we are both with OPTUS and we both have this phone, his has been okay and he''s had his for longer but mine has just had continuos problems. I've had it a year and a half and now its just got too many problems.

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 3/10

Pros

  • - menus
  • - features
  • - track ID

Cons

  • - the phone turns itself off daily
  • - it will not send my messages, sometimes for 12hrs at a time
  • - reception hardly ever shows up
  • - buttons have worn out
  • - if using the music player the whole phone runs very slow

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Adrian
posted on 11 Jul 2009, 12:15

6.3

meh

well i was VERY excited with this phone when I first got it all the new features compared to my old W850. but the excitement wore off very quickly. the calling stopped working after a few weeks. i got another one. same problem. i got a 3rd. this one has other problems the speaker that you hold up to your ear is un-hearable and i have to use the main speaker to hear and even this isnt loud enough when you're in public. plus the slider no longer works (screw came out) and i've now lost the phone (not the phones fault) and am quite glad.

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 2/10

Pros

  • cool features
  • good video quality
  • nice walkman player
  • good design

Cons

  • slider cheaply made
  • speaker troubles
  • calling problems (dropping calls)
  • signal issues when compared to my bros nokia on the same network next to each other
  • turns off randomly

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 07 Jun 2009, 22:36

9

Awesome

The phone is compact and the music functionality is great. the speakers may be a little soft but still works well for many. its great for gaming as it has a big screen the functions are quite fast and the phone is quite durable for a slider. The buttons may pose a problem for text mesages. another flaw would be the camera.
Overally, i would say it's a great phone for people who like to listen to music and for gamers alike.
 
 

Design 10/10
Features 8/10
Performance 9/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Jas
posted on 04 Jun 2009, 03:13

6

Nt BAD

I hv a w910 bt im nt saisfied with it. very krappy camera and the sound is the same as in k850. better choose a k850 whose camera is better. The sound is too low at highest compared to others...I was very disappointed as i ws very impatiently waiting for one...Nxt time i'll choose a nokia...hope it helped...

Design 9/10
Features 6/10
Performance 3/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 19 Jan 2009, 20:53

9.7

NEAT

One of the best sony ericsson phone. unlike the n96 which wasnt as successful as it predecor (n95), the w910 was one of the successful phne for sony ericsson. Yes it lacks in camera but it makes it up with its outstanding music player. Also the screen size is huge compared to other phones and due to the labelled shortcuts it makes it easier to switcj music. However, sony ericsson should make it like the new ipod nano. u dont have to pres the button to shake it.

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

ArAsh
posted on 23 Jul 2008, 03:53

10

ArAsh!

wow this is the dream line phone i love it i have it
i had Sony Ericsson k750 before, that was very perfect phone on 2005 i love it
and now "W910" with more future and slim design & more more more...
Oh i can say that sony ericsson goes for open source cause sony's phone crack very easy and you can chand every thing (exist hardware) in your phone
try search Sony Ericsson flash menu and enjoy
I(sony ericsson) Love Sony Ericson

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Bahador
posted on 26 Jun 2008, 17:06

9.6

Most attractive!

She's a slim, stylish lovely phone. Got the Silky White color (White-Gold).

Battery life is much better compared to some other SE phones. Screen resolution is brilliant and performs excellent in sunlight. This shake control thing and screen auto-rotate (when browsing at the new shiny JP-8 media manager) are pretty handy too.

I've had the same software problems too, it turned off automatically and lagged in a bad way, if you have the same problem and a fast internet connection, don't ever flash the phone! I recommend using the Sony Ericsson Update Service which updates your firmware and also fixes your problems too. I used the update service and ALL the problems are gone away. No turning off, no hanging, 100%!

The sound might be a little bit tinny to some people, but overall satisfactory... Somehow might question 'The Best Music Phone' award. Speaker is on the bottom back of W910 and designed in a way that the sound won't turn bass if you put it on a desk for example.

The camera on mine is pretty good for a 2MPX. Photos taken have real color combination. The night mode function beats the lack of camera flash at dark environments.

Sony Ericsson W910 is sure not a waste of money, for me it's guaranteed not changeable sooner than a year.

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

William Zong
posted on 05 Apr 2008, 09:11

10

Great style, great functionality

This phone is great, its so thin, so stylish and has such a big screen. The media functions are great, and the interface is awesome.

For those who say that it switches on and off...it doesnt anymore, the new firmware has fixed that.

For those who constantly say 'what a bad camera', i agree, the camera is poor, but if you want a camera, use a proper digital camera, no camera phones can compare to a proper digital camera.

For those who compare it to N95 and phones alike, they're smart phones, they're in a completely different category. Also, they're so ugly compared to the W910.

For those who say its too expensive, there are plenty of cheap contracts which give it for free, just shop around!

Basically, its a great stylish phone with a great interface.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

vimal
posted on 23 Mar 2008, 22:47

8.4

best for music

slim design with good display. voice quality is good if your use the hands free but if your turn on the speaker it sucks ,its not at all good like other sony ericsson phones. camera is not at all good. the video player is fine. if you are a music lover you can go this phone . GOOD FOR MUSIC LOVERS

Design 9/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 7/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Ruald Coleman
posted on 05 Dec 2007, 13:12

5.6

Waste of money

I have had this phone for 4 weeks during which time it has been to the Carphone warehouse after three weeks where it was supposed to have been fixed . It suffers from poor software and will turn itself on and off at random .After being flashed the phone was taken home and I found it that it would not stay on nor hold its charge . My first impressions of this phone were good . It looks good, is slim, and easy to use but its just so unreliable that im now going to reject it and get it replaced with another make of phone.My last Sony Ericsson was a superbly built and relaible phone and Ii wished I had kept it. This phone is justs pants. For the money its simply not good enough.The Carphone ware house said I would be back as they knew the phone would breakdown again.I didnt expect that within an hour of bringing it home.I have read countless reports of poor software in this phone and for that reason Im saying its a waste of money.Look elsewhere

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 4/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 1/10

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Sarah
posted on 23 Nov 2007, 15:22

8.2

Useful, Cool

This phone is one of the best aside from 810 in the W series for SE. slide, slim, light. Its apperrance is COOL.

Also, although the keypads may be difficult for fast txters, it is incrdibly easy to use for a slider phone.

Aside from improvements, the sound of 910 kind of disappointed me as it sucks alot compared to my previous 810. The speakers were great and I thoguth this one would at least keep the quality. Even if it is slim, developers should keep those 810 sound qualities since this IS part of the walkman series. Ans walkmans = excellent when speakers are great. =]

but overall, 910 impresses me with its apperance.

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 8/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 22 Nov 2007, 09:59

10

This phone is a must have for everyone who want design, really good functionality, a gorgeous screen and little weight combined in one tiny handset. The first time i used it i wasn't really sure if it would fulfill my imagination but today i can't live without it. The only thing I really don't like is the tiny keyboard because you can't feel which button are you touching.

If you get this phone into your hands you either love it or hate it.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

r H a L Tech
posted on 08 Oct 2007, 22:07

10

NO FOR CAMERA BUT IS FOR MUSIC

Walkman series just will release one of the best walkman phones. The S.E. w910 is not good for camera shoots but will be one of the best in music affairs. Now a lot of companies are oriented in build slider phones, this slider will rock the market, only one complain and is the plastic construction.

New Walkman version is a nice improvement on the phone, the landscape feature is very useful too. The phone will come with 1 gb of memory and will support up to 4 gb. ((NICE)) the earphones to be included on this new phone are out of stander.. HPM-83 and guess what, the phone will include a memory reader...

The screen is jut SWEET... more bigger than W580 even with the same resolution. Brilliant colors and nice bright. Good contrast. Very Sharp.

Release date: October 22, 2007


Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ogee
posted on 09 Sep 2007, 14:54

9.6

Incredible is an understatement

From what i have read on the features of this phone its really going to be out of this world. The sound will be No 1 as usual with sonyericsson walkman phones. Sonyericsson have made it clear that they intend to seperate or categorise their phones emphasis on music for the Walkman and Camera for the K series so people shouldnt judge this phone based on the camera. If you are looking for the best music phone and a very good all round phone this is the phone to get.

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

paul
posted on 18 Jul 2007, 16:39

8.6

nice phone

that is a dream phone forver but the design didnt make any sense with the extra silver part in the bottom , if we didnt have that part, that should be a nice phone in 2007

Design 7/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 8/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

matt
posted on 17 Jul 2007, 06:26

9.4

WOW

This is simply one of the best all round phones around. Looks amazing, and works like a dream. Although the stats would suggest that the W960i is the best SE phone around, im not convinced by the touch screen. the w910i is alot simpler and less of a posers phone! A MUST HAVE!!

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

ZOHAIB
posted on 15 Jul 2007, 16:23

6

R U IN UR SENSES TO BUY THIS ONE!

A good phone but with an awful camera a complete waste for money and if u r a business tycoon go for it other wise go for K850 man it is worth spending much for a 1 GB five mega pixel gadget.

Design 6/10
Features 4/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 5/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories