x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Ericsson W760 User Reviews

8 Based on 12 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed8.5/10
Camera8.5/10
Multimedia9.5/10
Internet8.5/10
Call quality9.5/10
Battery10/10
Reception8.5/10
Display9.5/10
Build quality8.5/10
Text input8/10
Everyday usage9.5/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

mwahmed
posted on 15 Aug 2013, 15:17 (Posts: 0; Member since: 15 Aug 2013)

9

Nice Mobile Overall

mwahmed has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

It is nice mobile with nearly all features exept wifi. It has good quality camera but no autofocus. It works fine. Design is awesome.
It has nice multimedia features including 3.2 MP Camera
Panorama shoot is nice in camera.
Music DJ, Video DJ and Photo DJ are nice
Only Autofocus in camera is lack and there is no wifi.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • It has nice multimedia features including 3.2 MP Camera
  • Panorama shoot is nice in camera.
  • Music DJ, Video DJ and Photo DJ are nice
  • Nice Music Player
  • Nice Sound

Cons

  • No Autofocus in camera and no wifi.
  • Loud speakers are not much loud.

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

mircea2983
posted on 19 Dec 2010, 14:33 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 Dec 2010)

9

Nice, interesting phone for it's times

mircea2983 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Having the phone for more than 2 years. Except for changing the sliding mechanism after 1 year child "worked" with it (after 1y 7mo of owning it) no other problems occured. Though, it restarts every once in a while, let's say 2 times/month, but not every day. Dropped it like thousang times, still works OK. Very nice Walkman Music Player (in comparison to Nokia players, for example). Fast Internet with Opera Mini 5.0. Works perfect with 4GB M2 card (don't forget it's a 2008 phone...). Very satisfied with it.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 7/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Build quality
  • Walkman Music Player
  • Internet capabilities
  • 2.2 inch pretty good display with auto-rotate
  • Supports with no problems 4GB Memcard
  • User friendly UI
  • Logical structure of the menu

Cons

  • A

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 19 Oct 2009, 17:29

9

Had this phone for just over two months...I love it. A hundred times better than the w580, it has 3.2 Megapixel camera, and dozens of apps. A little slow on the picture and sound messaging, but it will eventually send. It has a video recorder, and several DJs. Video DJ-make sort of an iMovie, or a movie out of your clips...Photo DJ is your basic photo edit, and you can create your own tunes with Music DJ. Along with a few other great features, this is a great phone for all people of AT&T.
 

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Performance 8/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Ryan2015230
posted on 29 May 2009, 20:08

8

Great phone, better debranded

I've owned and loved the W760 for two weeks after trying and hating the LG Vu.  The flash-based menus are intuitive and good looking, the interface runs smoothly and quickly, and the phone has a solid build quality for the most part.  In addition, the media/walkman feature is easily acsessible, unlike the LG Vu.  Furthermore, the debranded W760 inclued a FREE GPS system, in addition to many useful applications, such as a fitness tracker.
But what I love most are the little details.  The shake control.  The acceleromater.  The light effects.  The ability to recieve live podcasts and RSS feeds.  The EASE in which you can pick up and learn the device.
Note: my phone is debranded, meaning that all the useless ATNT features are gone, and the original Sony Ericsson features are restored

Design 7/10
Features 9/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Fast interface when debranded
  • Beautiful screen
  • Beautiful flash-based themes
  • Intuitive menus
  • Easily synced with PC
  • Good call quality
  • Great Walkman sound quality

Cons

  • Lags slightly with AT&T branding
  • Not the most beautiful looking phone (better in person than on screen though)
  • Accelerometer is slightly slow when compared to iphone

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

RyanPitch
posted on 24 Mar 2009, 14:32 (Posts: 0; Member since: 24 Mar 2009)

2.3

Sony cuts corners by using cheap components

I'm on my 4th (new) of these in 6 weeks.  Each one started out great and within 2 to 8 days blew its speaker, even at moderate volumes.  Otherwise, I love the phone.  The display is stellar, the camera works well, even without a flash.  The slider is solid and texing has never been a problem.
Sony has a "cheap" problem though.  The predecessor to this phone had problems with all of the keys breaking.  Yes, I'm sure some engineer made a trade and came up with a cost-to-benefit and said, "If we make each key 0.040" thinner, then we will save $0.01 on each phone we sell."  In this phone's case, they fixed the keys and chose a cheap speaker.
I'd much rather have a phone that works well as a phone first and foremost.  It's got to be able to dial, transmit, receive, and transduce radio waves into acoustic waves so that your ear can hear it.  Period.  Beyond that, everything else is bells & whistles.  Those amenities are great, however without a proper loudspeaker, this phone is USELESS.

Design 1/10
Features 5/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • Brilliant display
  • Solid chassis

Cons

  • Cheap components
  • Multiple blown speakers

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 06 Jan 2009, 14:38

8.7

Sony Ericsson W760

I got this phone for my wife and so far this is what we have to say about it. This phone has amazing software and lots of customizations.  I wish Sony would upgrade to Micro USB for charging and accessories.  The charging port on the side of the phone looks ugly.  Video Share has been horrible.  When I send her Video Share request she's able to see me but when she sends me a request from her phone it automatically declines the request and fails.  We've never got this fixed, even went to AT&T to replace it and all the W760s did the same thing, and even wouldn't Video Share with other W760s!  Other than Video Share it has been a great phone.  The accelerometer is awesome too, able to change the view on videos and play games with it.

Design 8/10
Features 10/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Software
  • Customizations
  • Wallpaper and Themes
  • Phone Design
  • Reception is pretty good
  • Expandable Memory
  • Bluetooth profiles
  • Call Quality

Cons

  • Charging/Accessory port - not MicroUSB
  • Video Share problem
  • Small Keypad
  • No backlight settings
  • SD card port made cheap

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

tshao
posted on 04 Jan 2009, 19:03

7.3

Good, but with some drawbacks

I got this phone from AT&T, immediately debranded it and now it works much better.  Only a few complains -
One, it reboots randomly and at least once a day for no reason.  It's definitely the firmware so I hope they fix it.
Two, it has no flash for the camera.  Image quality isn't great, but isn't poor.  Takes decent pictures for fun snapshots.
Three, the slide isn't as good as the W910, it just doesn't have the same "snapping" feel when it is opened.  Also, my slider is slightly off to the right?  and there's maybe half a mm of space that you can feel.
Four, the top row of the keyboard is more difficult to use for some since the bottom of the slider gets in the way.  You can get used to it.
Five, the space button (pound) is smaller for some reason, so sometimes when typing your words will blend together.  Very annoying for fast texters.
 
Pros - found below.
 
Although I seem to have more cons than pros, don't get me wrong, this is a GREAT phone.  I love it and it was worth the $130 I paid for it, especially after debranding.

Design 7/10
Features 8/10
Performance 7/10

Pros

  • 1. Fast interface
  • 2. expandable memory
  • 3. Can use MP3s as ringtones (for the people complaining, it is because you have an AT&T branded phone and they only allow 30 seconds or less of another file extension. IT IS AT&T's FAULT, NOT SONY ERICSSON. If you debrand the phone, you can use mp3s!
  • 4. Walkman/Media is very easy to use, looks good and works well
  • 5. Included games are fun

Cons

  • See review.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Lauri
posted on 02 Jan 2009, 04:36

9.7

Great phone

great phone, Somebody said , that it does not support mp3 ringtones. That is not true. It DOES.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Great menus
  • nice design
  • great speakers
  • good screen
  • good camera
  • GPS
  • good battary ( dont care what others say , mine holds 6-7 days , and I call a lot )

Cons

  • Media menu is too slow
  • no flash and no Autofocus
  • crappy earphones came with the phone

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Bull's EyE
posted on 01 Jan 2009, 22:28

8.7

Excelent choice for your money


GUI is nice. camera, walkman, GPS and design are perfect.
 
couldn't set mp3 as ringtone...LOL , "I own w760 SE and i'm using mp3s as ringtones"
 
 
 
some of the pics in my w760 SE

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • camera 3.2, AGPS, walkman and user friendly. picture loading is good

Cons

  • no flash, pic resolution isn't adjustable. GPS is assisted so we need data connection. over all processing is bit slow. JAVA restricts lots of software s, features and multi-tasking

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

carlosjm
posted on 21 Dec 2008, 19:58 (Posts: 0; Member since: 12 Dec 2008)

5.7

Does not support MP3 ringtones

I just bought (and had to return) this phone at the A T & T store. Very nice looking phone with a gorgeous screen and a nice interface. However, it will not play any of my MP3 ringtones. Why? I have no idea. Maybe it has a file size limitacion? I have about 500 mp3 ringtones that I created myself and play just fine on my existing phone, a Sony Ericsson T700.
I also owned a Nokia N81 and ringtones played fine as well. What gives?

Design 5/10
Features 6/10
Performance 6/10

Pros

Cons

  • Cannot use your MP3 files as a ringtone

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Jwild
posted on 11 Dec 2008, 19:53

9.7

Great Choice!

This is an amazing phone and i have found no serious cons
 

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Good form factor
  • Great menu options
  • Good themes
  • Great Camera
  • Great Speaker
  • Great phone all around

Cons

  • Only cons i can only think of is that it has no wifi and the GPS isnt free
  • but if you dont need so much internet use then this is a good choice
  • i have no regrets

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

preetam mithran
posted on 29 Nov 2008, 06:46

8.7

Best in Walkmanseries

The audio output is very good. Gps funtions is very fast and accurate.

Design 9/10
Features 7/10
Performance 10/10

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories