x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Ericsson W580 User Reviews

7.3 Based on 67 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Everyday usage9.5/10
UI speed7.5/10
Camera9/10
Multimedia6.5/10
Internet6/10
Call quality8/10
Battery8.5/10
Reception8.5/10
Display9.5/10
Build quality8.5/10
Text input8.5/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

M
posted on 25 May 2011, 16:33

8

For a cheap and Small Phones...this ones a CHAMP.

M has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

GREAT PHONE TOTALLY... the only thing is NO WIFI :S:(... had it been there i wouldve had it for additional 6 month at least... because the CAM RULES ... yeah no flash not soo good in the dark... but Nevertheless Great for a 2mp phones trust me autofocus comes as if with it... i cant remember taking pics i didnt like... trust ive taken over 500 pic with this phone...great displays as well and awesome music... if your carefull to the phone it will last but for me i overused it a lot.. but iam thankful for having it xD ..for much small 2MP phones out there ...this one is GREAT... if you just wanna buy it for fun do it you wont regret :)

Build quality 8/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 7/10 no WIFI :S:( ... but the WAP thing is ok ... though ebuddy not really:S
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10 for a 2mp phones will camera owns...like 3-4 mp of nokia Great Resolution
UI speed 8/10 might stuck at times but very rare.
Everyday usage 9/10 you exercise and enjoy life with friends and stuff this ones for you...
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • GREAT CAMERA for a 2 MP phone
  • the menu and display is great
  • Music Rules
  • helps exercises
  • motion detector( steps you walk no kidding it works)

Cons

  • NO WIFI :S

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

PancakeLovaaa
posted on 25 Dec 2010, 16:09 (Posts: 0; Member since: 25 Dec 2010)

8

I like it

PancakeLovaaa has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I have this phone (black) for almost 3 years and all keys are ok, screen is great and it still looks like new. I have dropped it for many times, but everything still works perfectly. I like photo quality even it is only 2 mpx. I love photo colors.. (my blue eyes looks very, very deep blue lol). Only thing is that i think this phone is kinda boring. I have nothing to do in it. No interesting apps, games or smth. Well, music quality is good. I reccomend it if you dont want a phone for entertainment, but need a phone that looks stylish.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 4/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Cool design
  • Kinda good camera
  • High music quality
  • Good battery life
  • Comfortable and easy to use

Cons

  • Boring
  • Hard to text ( little buttons)
  • Slow internet
  • Bad video quality

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

wade
posted on 27 Sep 2010, 13:12

8.7

tough trooper!! great phone 9/10

This was and still is my first phone. After two years off abuse it is still a trooper!! Took a couple floods, just recently spilled coffee over it, It's been dropped WAAY over the limit of what a phones survival rate should have been, down flights of stairs, against walls. The only thing that has happened is that the keypad buttons do have a hairline crack down them, all but 2 haha. But the buttons are on the smaller side and thin. The backlighting on the keypad is cool (and still works haha) and the very bottom casing did fall off, it goes over the phone's mic to talk , but even with it off and having been exposed to liquids it is still working! I absolutely LOVE the mp3 player on it, it is very loud, outbeats a lot of others. The speaker is located under the menu/multimedia controls and your main functional buttons (cool twist there!) The camera is not that bad on it either. HAVE to have a steady hand otherwise you'll get blur. You can only zoom in the burst mode(unless i've got a default lol). Takes pretty good videos too, can't complain. The volume rocker on the side is only good for adjusting the mp3 player and volume when talking, does not do anything for the ringer volume, you have to go into your settings, which is kinda lame, but after getting used to it, its no bother, it does have the mute key of course and then you can go to settings to give it vibrate with mute on/off.. so, cool that way. For the memory card slot.. you don't want to take it in and out a lot.....  

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • -mp3 player and mega sound!
  • -decent camera
  • -easy navigation once get used to it
  • -RELIABLE/Durable/tough!

Cons

  • -one connection port
  • -memory slot is hard to open (but at least won't fall out....)

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

helena
posted on 23 May 2010, 03:03

9.7

my old friend

I've been using this phone for around three years, and it's lasted me great. Ive dropped it many many many times, (had it fly out of my shorts pocket while running, etc.) and suprisingly nothing's broken. Ive never had a case for it, but the screen's not scratched, all the buttons work, only the back cover has come lose. very attractive design, comfortable slide. My fave thing is the camera. pictures are small, but capture colors very realistically/vividly. the speakersound quality is not amazing. but itsstill good  for such a small phone, and I can listen without cringing.

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • good camera
  • attractive design
  • very sturdy

Cons

  • no QWERTY, hard to text.

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

CJ
posted on 26 Jan 2010, 20:31

5.7

Don't buy phone

I've had this phone for over a year now, and at first, the phone was cool, with cool design, but is at first, difficult to use. After about 3 months, the keys started to crack. Then for about 10 months it was ok. The camera started being tempermental, like sometimes it works, and sometimes it doesnt. there is a glass screen covering the lcd screen, and that is starting to slide down. Now i cant get texts. getting a new phone next month. very glad phone is off production. this phone is a piece of ***

Design 8/10
Features 6/10
Performance 3/10

Pros

  • cool design

Cons

  • screen slides down, cracked keys, texting doesnt work, camera tempermental

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

POS
posted on 23 Jan 2010, 21:53

5.3

Phone sales man at Att

this phone is a  piece of *** the keys broke while i was testing it out for the att store I work for. also the speaker stopped working after a drop less then 1 inch from the table. the screen is very easy to scratch. Even I took a while to be able to take off the battery cover! like the other users had said it is very easy for lint to get in to the battery compartment.


DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE AT ALL COSTS IF POSSIBLE SPEND A LITTLE MORE MONEY TO GET A BETTER QUALITY PHONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Design 5/10
Features 6/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

  • LOUD SPEAKER
  • SORT OF COOL LOOKING DESING

Cons

  • THE QUALITY IS A PIECE OF CRAP

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Bobidge
posted on 30 Dec 2009, 08:00

5.3

Hopeless phone

I bought this phone as a replacement for my w800i.Initially i was impressed by the phones design, speed and usability. However the build quality is poor and it felt like i was going to put my thumb through the keys whenever i pressed them. I also found that dust would clog up in the battery compartment, stopping the phone from vibrating. This dust would also disconnect the battery from the connectors. AFter four months of using this phone the screen blanked out. Only showing a small portion of the screen in the bottom left.

Design 8/10
Features 7/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • Stylish
  • Easy to use

Cons

  • Overpriced
  • Poor build quality
  • Incredibly quiet for a Walkman

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Edessa!
posted on 29 Nov 2009, 14:10

9.3

A Very Good Phone

well i've used this phone for three years now. it is very good, i loved the apps on it, ok game demos, and very good connection. though this year it started to fall apart. The camera doesnt work no more and the increase button doean't work. and i am going to change my phone this year.  >.<

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • connection and pretty much everything

Cons

  • nothing really :3

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Ramamurthy
posted on 30 Sep 2009, 01:46

4.7

Problems i faced.

I bought this phone before 3 months.The Problems i faced at the early stages* The Battery Backup is not at the best.*When you talk more than 15 minutes the phone gets heated up.* Some times the external speakers goes off and when in coming call or out going call you wont hear anything. if you play any music you will get you can't play this file. you have to switch off and on the phone then it works perfect.* software hanged twice.The Main problem i faced is.The display had gone with in 2 months.

Design 5/10
Features 5/10
Performance 4/10

Pros

  • slide
  • sound

Cons

  • display
  • software hanging
  • external speakers going off
  • battery backup

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jarmush
posted on 25 Aug 2009, 07:11

8.3

problems in 2 months of use

afraid to buy another one like this 

Design 10/10
Features 8/10
Performance 7/10

Pros

  • stylish, small, good pictures. sometimes nice to use pedometer :)

Cons

  • after 2 months didnt work one key on the top. after year - 8 keys on the top panel.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 21 Aug 2009, 15:02

7

Acceptable

I bought this phone for $109 USD unlocked and have owned it for 9 months. I like its features and the music player is great, but the fact that it uses the Memory Pro Duo(MM2) cards is a drawback(they're expensive unlike MicroSD's). The only problem I have with them is that their design is a bit poor. When I bought it the top half of the slider was not perfectly aligned with the bottom so it sticks out a hair, but its not that big of a deal. The battery cover is VERY hard to open as is the memory card slot cover(I've bent it attempting to open it). I dislike the proprietary jack that Sony Ericcson uses because after 9 months of use, it is hard to get a connection with the USB cable meaning taking it out and putting it back in about 5+ times before i get a connection. This also occurs with the headphones where if walking and you accidentally hit the headphone connector to the phone it "disconnects" even though the jack is still connected. However, none of my keys have cracked, but maybe it is because I text only about 200 times a month.
In all, for $109 unlocked (w/o contract) this has been a great phone for the price.

Design 5/10
Features 8/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Nice Speakers
  • Nice Headphone
  • Word Prediction
  • Hard to scratch

Cons

  • Proprietary Jack wears out
  • Memory Pro Duo(MM2) cards
  • Hard to open Battery/memory card covers.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Alice
posted on 05 Aug 2009, 02:01

9

Good(ish) Phone

I have had this phone for about 13 months now. None of my keys are cracked, or look like they're going to crack anytime soon. Probably the only thing I didn't like was having to buy the memory stick. Other than that, it's great.

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • -Easy texting for a phone without a full QWERTY
  • -Almost scratch resistent ( I have dropped my phone a number of times..)
  • -Bluetooth makes it easy to transfer files
  • -Good camera and video
  • -Shows the exact phone status
  • -Easy speed dial
  • -Step counter
  • -Great FM radio

Cons

  • -Had to buy memory stick

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

John Fernandes - From Kuwait
posted on 29 Jun 2009, 08:35

10

Sony Ericsson W850i

Best Phone ever designed and software done by Sony Ericsson
using is it for last 3 years no problem, 24 hrs on, only switched of for 8 hrs in entire 3 years, and even after switching off Alarm rang at its set time.The most profitable buy i ever had in my entire life
Still using it ... long live W850i

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

SEuser08
posted on 30 May 2009, 14:24

7

SE w580i

I have had  this phone since it first came out back in late '07. It's a pretty good BASIC music phone.the screen is wonderful, good color/resolution, its LOUD (any sound setting after 4 gives you a caution)Walkman is awesomeThemes on the phone are great (even better if you get the unlocked version for Flash Menus)The Battery will die quick if you text almost every day and use the browser, so you will have to charge it once a day.I'll admit there have been flaws in this device because after having it for 8 months; My buttons have cracked in half (it was so bad that when one of my friends used it for textn they thought half was for number and the other was for letters lol) but having cracked keys on a Sony Ericsson is a known fact for them. My screen blanked out. IDK whether it happened because i always used the USB cable or when i bought a face/back plate for it, it messed up the screen while trying to detach it but either way i had to get a new one afterwards. When I got the new one it messed up and had to take it back so when i got my FINAL unit last year the phone has been nothing but great except for my space key/# key doesn't work too well lol. 

Design 8/10
Features 6/10
Performance 7/10

Pros

  • Good Phone
  • Walkman
  • Screen
  • LOUD
  • Next Word Prediction
  • Easy to change a SMS to MMS
  • Small//Compact

Cons

  • Cracked Keypad
  • Screen MAY blank out

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Amanda Layne
posted on 20 May 2009, 13:51

7

not all it's CRACKED up to be.

I searched and searched online about this phone before I bought it in August. I fell in love with all the features it had, and even though so many people said the keys cracked, I still decided to buy it. I've had the phone for about 10 months now, and five of the keys have cracked. I don't text often, and I don't play games using the keypad, and five of the keys are cracked. They are horrible keys. Not only that, but the silver Dpad is all scratched up. I have the pink w580, and the dpad has pink symbols etched into it, and the silver part is rubbing off, and now the Dpad has pink around the edges and looks horrible. Also, the slider part is getting rougher and harder to do. 

Design 8/10
Features 10/10
Performance 3/10

Pros

  • Really loud!! this phone is SO loud
  • Very nice graphics
  • Big memory space (if you buy it with a memory card)
  • Cool MP3 player
  • Fun shake feature
  • Pretty color

Cons

  • Cracked keys almost immediately, no matter how careful you are
  • scratched up Dpad makes it look cheap.
  • Slow to respond in unlocking sometimes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Tomd
posted on 05 May 2009, 09:26

4

POS

Ok potetially this is a greay phone. lots of cool features. but it will not last a couple moths without something going wrong. such as keys cracking or the display going out or the slider get stuck. I work for att warenty. it sucks

Design 1/10
Features 10/10
Performance 1/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 15 Apr 2009, 18:03

5.3

I have this phone in pink and the keys did crack in less than a few months of having it. I got it replaced when they told me that the keys cracked because they were plastic, where as the newer ones were metal. So, they changed it, but now some of of keys have stopped working on the new phone. They're not cracked, there's no water damage, nothing else is wrong with the phone, but the keys on this newer one do not work anymore. This phone is crap, I will advise anyone not to get it, it's a waste of time and money.

Design 6/10
Features 7/10
Performance 3/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Krissy
posted on 14 Apr 2009, 11:13

6.3

Warranty

Just as an FYI the keys cracking was a known manufacturer defect, if your phone is less than a year old and has no liquid or physical damage (other than the keys cracking or braking off) the warranty department will replace it :)

Design 8/10
Features 6/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

  • Music - works like a walkman :)

Cons

  • Warranty Issue

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Rachael
posted on 13 Apr 2009, 06:56

6.7

W580i phone

I have this phone in grey and its good although the keys crack and most of my friends have this phone and there keys have also cracked the rest if the phone is good its just easy to break so if you drop your phonwe alot its not the phone for you.

Design 7/10
Features 7/10
Performance 6/10

Pros

  • camera
  • music player
  • shake control
  • messaging

Cons

  • cracked keys
  • fading colour

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 14 Mar 2009, 20:13

7

Someone gave me one of these phones. It had missing buttons but got a whole new set off eBay for $5. Overall seems like a pretty nice phone - lots of features & good camera. Sliding mechanism is kinda sketchy & screen's got a few black spots but overall not bad for free...

Design 4/10
Features 9/10
Performance 8/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Katie Cullen
posted on 13 Mar 2009, 10:35

7.7

Meh!

I have had this phone for about 8 months. I have the pink version of the phone. All the keys have snapped in half including the navigational keys. :D Some of my friends seem to have this phone but all in different colours. Green, Black and Blue. They have had theirs not quite as long as mine - 6 months but their keys have not cracked. I don't know if it is just a fault on the pink version or whatever:D but apart from that this phone is great with all its applicaions and the battery life is brill'.

Design 5/10
Features 10/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Good style
  • Good apps

Cons

  • Keys snap on pink version

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ATT WARRANY EXCHANGE REPRESENTIVE
posted on 20 Feb 2009, 08:38

1

1-800-801-1101

This number should be on your speed dial.
I work for ATT Warrenty and Exchange and 1 out of every 5 calls i get involves this phone. It drops calls, the keys crack, the keys fall OFF, the screen goes blank, the sliding mechanism goes bad, the call quality sucks.
Beware of this phone.
Get the Samsung A737, its just like it only not complete S***.

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • You get to know the ins and outs of the ATT warranty program!

Cons

  • cracked keys
  • keys falling out
  • drops calls
  • bad call quality
  • sliding mech sucks
  • screen goes blank
  • etc

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 09 Jan 2009, 17:13

6.7

It has it's up and downs.

I've had this phone for quite a while, and when I first got it I absolutely LOVED it. But, time has passed and it's been a few months..all but two of keys are cracked not from force but from the frequent texting and the phone freezes up a lot. I wouldn't recommend this phone to people who like to keep their cell phones for a long time. And, if you're a big texter I wouldn't recommend you get this phone, the keys will break.

Design 10/10
Features 5/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

  • Music, camera, good design

Cons

  • Freezes, broken keys, hard to use

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 01 Jan 2009, 20:01

8.3

The TRUTH and nothing but the TRUTH

I am on my 3rd W580. The first one was app 1st generation and the 7 key crackad (and no not because I used more force, but because of the frequence of texting), the second phone's internal speaker blew and the third's external speaker has blown but is still usable. All that said, this phone has a million features and has been my favorite cell phone. I bought the removable memory card to store music on and it has been my portable mp3 player ever since. One of my favorite functions is the camera. I believe that SE has the best cell phone camera around and have taken some amazing pictures and videos. It's been a great phone but for some issues.

Design 8/10
Features 10/10
Performance 7/10

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Stefan
posted on 26 Dec 2008, 04:53 (Posts: 0; Member since: 24 Dec 2008)

10

GREAT phone!

I have this phone for over a year and there are no problems. Everybody says that the keys crack, but that only happens because they are using more strenght than enough to press a key. The keys aren't cracked yet and I am very pleased because of this. The battery life isn't that weak as everyone says. You just need to charge the phone EVERY DAY, is that really a problem? Anyways, I love all of its new features and I absolutely think that this is THE BEST phone I have ever had! I highly recommend it to everyone!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Everything is working fine! One year has passed and i still don't have any problems at all! This phone is great!

Cons

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories