x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Ericsson Vivaz User Reviews

8.2 Based on 12 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed7.3/10
Camera8.5/10
Multimedia8.2/10
Internet7.5/10
Call quality8.3/10
Battery7.9/10
Reception8.8/10
Display7.4/10
Build quality8.2/10
Text input8/10
Everyday usage7.6/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Ramez
posted on 20 Feb 2013, 05:53

7

((Full Review Article)) vivaz = Excellent hardware + Too damn bad Software

Ramez has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I'm posting this review for all after 6 months of heavy usage so let's begain...
I belive that vivaz was a good phone 2 yr back but now it's Android era so it's up to you and to help for your choise I've reviewed every single part of vivaz below so you can judge yourself but overall my opinion is now in 2013 just go for another one..

Build quality 8/10 Well..it's made of cheap glossy plastic but it has pretty nice design with ended curves which mean a friendly-hand feeling,And I really like that it's back looks being a camera rather than a normal phone.
Reception 9/10 Reception is great no issues at all
Call quality 8/10 again no isses but I gave it 8 because you may not hear the caller in a noisy environment.. internal speaker is somewhat low.
Internet 6/10 if you're going to use this phone for accessing internet in your daily usage so please keep away from it..as mentioned before hardware is great "WIFI & 3G chips" but internal browser " default Symbian browser is really bad and too slow with no Multitouch support the internet experience is horibble..the only good thing about it is that u CAN "and actually you MUST" install opera mini and opera browser which supports flash.
Multimedia 10/10 nothing special here there is varity of apps you can install like TTopd,Power mp3,UC player,Divx player and of course with 3.5 jack and TV out it deserves 10 without issue plus it has pretty decent media app made by SonyEricsson itself.
Camera 7/10 Well...this shall be a CameraPhone right! so they must but all of their efforts to do so? but actually they didn't..video quality is not that great as color looks washed out and it offers 23.9 frame in HD mode while it offers 9 frame in Night mode! a very big issue that Sony Ericsson didn't solve it.. Still images sometimes are blurry apart from lacking strong flash in a "CAMERAPHONE"!!
UI speed 5/10 again Symbian ruined the Deal, it's very slow and buggy I gave it 5 cause you can solve some of what symbian ruined by having an excellent and stable interface by installing "SPB Shell" but you've to buy it.
Everyday usage 8/10 it depends on the user itself but mine I need a phone for making calls,messaging,skype,tweet,listen to music,share files,play heavy HD games like "NFS shift,Fruit Ninja,Cut The Rope..etc" plus having a more advanced camera to help me in everyday shots.....So that's why vivaz fits me and with all of troubles I may have with this phone I'm really satisfied cause it does what I need (^_^)
Text input 10/10 default input keyboard is just a joke! so prepare yourself for trying the most advanced Typing method you'll ever have it's Swype and guess what it's free (^_^) that's why I gave it 10
Display 4/10 I'd tried many resistive screens before and this is really the WORST resistive touch screen I've ever experienced,and about the Display it delivers really good and vivid colors indoors but it's low brightness makes it impossible to see anything outside in Sunlight even if you set it to full brightness.
Battery 7/10 again it depends on personal usage but for me it took from 2 to 3 days in average to recharge so for a smart phone it's not bad and also not great.

Pros

  • very handy and looks nice.
  • overall Good Camera for both Video and Still images.
  • GPS works great and locks very fast.
  • Great Multimedia Solutions
  • Good battery
  • Fast processor and GPU chip makes it hanlde with heavy games and graphics so nicely
  • very cheap comparing to it's competitors
  • Notification Led for missing calls and SMS

Cons

  • Symbian is already dead
  • Touch screen response is very bad.
  • poor viewing in Sunlight.
  • Speaker is very low.
  • very glossy and very sensitive to fingerprints
  • No Xenon flash and No lens cover
  • Night mode 9fbs camera bug

Ramez alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

io_bg
posted on 27 May 2012, 11:27 (Posts: 0; Member since: 27 May 2012)

6

The review of an almost 2-year Vivaz owner

io_bg has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I bought it in August 2010. I liked it at first but soon I realised I made a mistake. I thought Symbian wasn't that bad but now I'd never recomment a Symbian phone! Even though it's the best S^1 phone hardware-wise it's still slow.

Build quality 6/10 Good build quality, I dislike the glossy plastic though.
Reception 9/10 Haven't had any problems with signal.
Call quality 5/10 The ear-piece is a bit quiet.
Internet 4/10 It's kinda slow. I'd recomment Opera Mobile but even with it browsing is slow.
Multimedia 4/10 It's okay, music quality could've been better. The Media interface looks cool but it has no search function and there's no option to quickly scroll though long playlists or galleries.
Camera 7/10 It's better than most phones though 8 MP for a cell phone with such a small sensor are too many. Pictures taken at ISO 200 and above don't look really good.
UI speed 6/10 I'd recomment using SPB shell
Everyday usage 5/10 Kinda slow.
Text input 9/10 Using Swype can improve your text input.
Display 5/10 Resistive. Uh. It's all plasticky and is hard to see at bright sunlight. Fortunately it's resolution is good.
Battery 2/10 Probably my battery is just a bad copy but it hardly lasts a couple of days 95% of the time in standby in Airplane mode!

Pros

  • Small and light
  • Okay-ish camera and video recording

Cons

  • Symbian - so slow and buggy!
  • Resistive screen
  • All-plasticky design
  • Quiet speaker
  • Bad battery

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Tarkin_Jr
posted on 15 Oct 2011, 11:03 (Posts: 0; Member since: 12 Feb 2011)

4

WASTE OF MONEY

Tarkin_Jr has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

the worst part of Vivaz U5 is that symbian system , maybe why its made for nokia phones , but there more : the touch screen accurate is not good , even after calibrate , the phonebook (contacts) sucks too, and something important, if you try to take a photo > 6megapixels with others applets running (such as facebook or twitter) the phone will freeze because of low memory and you need to restart it (grrr !) . About photo quality is like an 3.2megapixel enhanced with more image tools, another thing important : in this phone YOU CAN'T ENJOY MUSIC BY PLAYING FOLDERS because the original player don't support this function , i need to use another music app to listen mp3. and the worst of all : The WIRELESS management is the WORST EVER ! Too much complicated and inefficient ! i can't acess my files on the phone via local wireless network because the phone won't stay connected >:|

The only good thing is the video recording quality , instead of this phone, i recommend Nokia N8 , LG Optmus 3d or Motorola Milestone, please don't waste you money , sorry for my beta version of english , greetings from brazil ;]

Build quality 4/10 this phone have the shape like soap dont have grip to hold , you may let fall if you hand are sweaty
Reception 4/10 Sansung Galaxy series , Motorola Milestone series and LG Optumus series is much better
Call quality 4/10 the audio quality on this phone is not soo good who looks like , WORST than my Walkman W705
Internet 4/10 the only diff about using internet on this phone and older phones is the larger display , nothing else, you maybe wanna install opera mini, because the original browser sucks too!
Multimedia 3/10 This sony Ericson dont come with walkman player like W705 or W995 , dont have multimidia side buttons , this phone auto search the whole MMC card and make an annoying heavy and large playlist , and cant play music by folders
Camera 5/10 the 5 for rating is only for video recording quality . For example motorola milestone have 5.0MP camera and take photos best than this phone
UI speed 4/10 what can i say for UI about an phone whos freeze about low memory for using more than 2 or 3 apps and we need to restart it . if you wanna to take a photo , make sure if close all the others apps fist !
Everyday usage 4/10 Bad touch-screen interface, phonebook contacts incompatible with contacts from SIM card , the phone freeze with low memory if you try to open 3 or more apps.
Text input 3/10 like i said, the touch screen is not accurate for finger touch , making this phone worst than T9-keypad
Display 5/10 is like any other ordinary smartphone , nothing special,
Battery 3/10 stand-by average time 4 days, listening music drops for 2 days , for example my Walkman W705 : stand-by average time 6 days listening music drops for 3.5 days

Pros

  • Video recording quality

Cons

  • Low battery performance
  • Wireless management
  • BAD music player
  • BAD interface overall
  • Symbian S60
  • Low memory

Tarkin_Jr alternatives:

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ivyorr23
posted on 13 Jun 2011, 18:28

9

pretty dang good

ivyorr23 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

overall i am happy with this phone,its better then my friends phones and Iphone....and there are way more pros than cons.affordible.I like the fact that this phone is very upgradible and easy to use.there are many themes and modes sice everybody has diffrant prefrances.I like the basic mode because it makes everything very simple and easy to use.I dont like the face that you either have the camera light on or off,not auto.

Build quality 9/10 happy!
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10 good if you know how to use it...wait after you click,or it will start over(loading web page)
Multimedia 10/10 good good!
Camera 10/10 good,good!
UI speed 8/10 lags sometimes
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 7/10 good ,but could be better.
Display 9/10 clear views.
Battery 9/10 good battery life.

Pros

  • good camera,good media center,lots a memory,wifi,

Cons

  • unknown errors,lags sometimes,
  • att&t sucks

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

sean
posted on 06 Mar 2011, 08:43

10

outstanding

sean has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

The sony ericson vivaz brings symbian technology to the budget smartphone sector. Incorporating the latest version of symbian plus a superbly responsive capacitive touchscreen, the vivaz is both easy to use and supremely powerful, with access to thousands of apps. Combined with an amazing 8 megapixel camera with autofocus and flash, a media player, GPS, Google Maps, fast internet, a fast processor, plenty of memory and a big battery, this is quite probably the best smartphone in its price range.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Mathew
posted on 06 Mar 2011, 08:33

10

amazing. Bes phone out there

Mathew has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The vivaz is one of the most impressive phones of all time. Despite being significantly cheaper than the iPhone, it can match or beat everything that the iPhone does. A symbian smartphone with a fabulously responsive touchscreen, the vivaz packs in a huge choice of apps, brilliant web browsing, one of the best screens ever, a good camera, a music player and GPS too. You want more? Add in a superfast processor, monster battery, WiFi and a 3.5mm headphone jack and you've got the perfect phone.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mather
posted on 06 Mar 2011, 08:22

10

absolutely amazing

mather has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

amazing phone. I have had it for 2 years now and not a single problem with it. It is very fast, never freezes the touch screen is very sensitive and anti scratch. The battery is very good i charge it averge every four days and thats with alot of usage (browsing, calling etc). I would definetly recomend this phone and for all age groups.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • ver fast , brillient camera , never freezes

Cons

  • none

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

deds fddr
posted on 02 Dec 2010, 08:33

10

No camera lens protection - No auto mode for...

deds fddr has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

No camera lens protection
- No auto mode for the flash/video light
- The S60 5th edition UI isn’t to the best in class standards
- No DivX or XviD support out-of-the-box

Battery 10/10
Display 10/10
Text input 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Camera 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Internet 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Build quality 10/10

Pros

  • + 3.2″ 16M-color resistive touchscreen of 640 x 360 pixel resolution + 8 megapixel autofocus camera with LED flash, + HD 720p video recording @ 24fps with continuous auto focus + 720 MHz CPU, dedicated graphics accelerator + Quad-band GSM support + 8 GB microSD memory card in the package + 3G with HSDPA 10.2Mbps and HSUPA 2Mbps support + Wi-Fi and GPS with A-GPS + microSD card slot (up to 16GB, 8GB card in the box) + TV out

Cons

  • No camera lens protection - No auto mode for the flash/video light - The S60 5th edition UI isn’t to the best in class standards - No DivX or XviD support out-of-the-box - No smart

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

hamza
posted on 12 Nov 2010, 16:30

5

not bad

hamza has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

i bought this phone because of the camera. i see every where it has a good camera. but my old phone which is LG renor it also has 8MP but it is much better than this one. i don't like the camera that much because old phone is better that this. the screen touch isn't good aswell because sometimes i have to press hard for it to work and it is not accurate aswell. i need to uppload some softwares but they are not compatible with the phone.

Build quality 6/10
Reception 9/10 not sure about this because i don't have a good reception in my house but the reception is better with this phone
Call quality 6/10
Internet 6/10 slow sometimes and complicated
Multimedia 5/10
Camera 6/10 my old phone which is 8mp has better quality than this one
UI speed 3/10
Everyday usage 3/10 slow
Text input 3/10
Display 3/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

Cons

  • the camera is not good quality

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

AlonShtrafun
posted on 29 Oct 2010, 12:19 (Posts: 3; Member since: 17 Aug 2010)

9

The best Symbian

AlonShtrafun has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Have this one for 2 weeks, over from a Samsung Omnia. Bought it for the camera, and got more than I expected in that regard. Stills are great, recorded videos - even better. The design is perfect, good looking, simply sticks to your hand when holding it. Having a dedicated video record button, is also helpfull. Audio quality with my regular JVC headphones is good, but could be louder with a bit more bass. Don't use the included headset for music. WIFI & computer connection work as they should. Didn't test bluetooth yet.

The software is the weaker part here, but I'll start from the good part. Sony Erricson have included a great media suite, that concentrates all your photo, music & videos in one place. Looks good, works good, playback is great, podcast and audio book options are there. The SE home screen with tabs is also nice, and usefull with quick contacts, apps, twitter (why no facebook tab?), camera album, and other tabs. You can variate those between the 5 tabs on screen. Both the homescreen and the media suite feature kinetic scrolling, unlike... everything else on the phone.

The soft here is Symbian touch. The icons are large enough, you can re-arange the main menu and it's folders. But no kinetic scrolling, double tap to activate, or is it? Depends on the application. Some preinstalled apps can't be erased, and not an app store in sight. If you want a camera with a phone+internet+music, that's it. Otherwise...

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 6/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 8/10
Display 8/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Excellent foto & video recording
  • Great design, really compact, pleasant to hold
  • Very good visuals on screen
  • Sony Erricson home screen & media suite
  • Stylus, phone stand included. Good SE sync soft

Cons

  • Symbian S60 5th edition
  • Poor loudspeaker, and boxed headset
  • Camera inerface is slow, no auto flash function
  • Occasional errors (no memory left & no apps running)

AlonShtrafun alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Philly
posted on 19 May 2010, 10:43 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 May 2010)

8

Not bad, but certainly not great

I've had the phone for a while now, and yes, its camera is great. The shots I've taken with are sometimes better than my pretty serious compact camera... That is saying something. Haven't been shooting videos yet.What I am unimpressed with is the accuracy of the keyboard, or rather the alignment. Even in the initial allignment (hitting a certain spot with the available stylus) it shows that it is off a bit. Seeing that its screen is not overly big (which I like btw, pants pockets are still available for carrying it around) you get typos even when you shouldn't get them. That is pretty annoying. The weird thing is that the mistakes happen in both orientations. Something to check if you consider buying one.Call quality is ok. Sound quality is ok, but I feel there could be more volume. There are some interesting tools on board, amongst which a (water) level. It's not unique obviously but it works quite well. Quicker use however (like in games) shows too slow response by the sensor and makes for too strong reactions, rendering the games quite useless. Also, but this is just personal - coming from the SE W890 (which I really liked but was somewhat fragile) - I feel that operating the phone is actually less intuitive. The W890 used to suggest texts when texting, and upon sending a text, would suggest recently used numbers/names. A lot more steps need to be taken, in my view. Considering the extra functionality, I wonder whether this OS actually adds that much?It's a quality phone,...  

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 7/10

Pros

  • Camera and adherent software
  • water level

Cons

  • orientation sensor is too slow
  • accuracy/alignment of keyboard

21 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Rahul Srivastava
posted on 13 Mar 2010, 07:15

10

Excellent Phone


The Vivaz has an onboard 8.1-megapixel camera with image stabilization and face recognition. Thus, its HD movies to be included in 720p resolution. Moreover the device also functions as FM radio, and can be connected to a television for videos and photos taken on the big screen.
With Sony Ericsson Vivaz communication becomes truly entertaining video with high quality HD allowing customers to create and send their best experiences using the latest feature video capture and sharing.
• Capture – record spontaneous moments and memories in HD quality and high resolution video experience real. The dedicated movie button allows consumers to instantly shoot video with auto focus continues to make the perfect film in every moment.
• Watch the video content-display panel mode or online through Wi-Fi on the screen by 3.2 “.
• Share – upload via Wi-Fi on YouTube and Picasa in high resolution while you are still using the other features of the phone.
The open platform also allows users to customize their experience with downloading applications through the unique and exciting store PlayNow and Symbian Developer Community.
“The content created by users themselves, especially videos, are invading the Web,” says Lennard Hoornik, Head of Marketing, Sony Ericsson. “With Sony Ericsson Vivaz, we created a phone that makes it easy to achieve high definition video and upload it own expression of creativity on the web to share with everyone. Sony Ericsson Vivaz offers the beauty inside and out through...  

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • + 3.2″ 16M-color resistive touchscreen of 640 x 360 pixel resolution
  • + 8 megapixel autofocus camera with LED flash,
  • + HD 720p video recording @ 24fps with continuous auto focus
  • + 720 MHz CPU, dedicated graphics accelerator
  • + Quad-band GSM support
  • + 8 GB microSD memory card in the package
  • + 3G with HSDPA 10.2Mbps and HSUPA 2Mbps support
  • + Wi-Fi and GPS with A-GPS
  • + microSD card slot (up to 16GB, 8GB card in the box)
  • + TV out

Cons

  • - No camera lens protection
  • - No auto mode for the flash/video light
  • - The S60 5th edition UI isn’t to the best in class standards
  • - No DivX or XviD support out-of-the-box
  • - No smart or voice dialing

66 out of 72 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories