x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Ericsson P990 User Reviews

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

JG
posted on 22 Jul 2007, 17:06

6

good but bad too!

after using this fone for some months, i'd say it comes with a couple of upgrades but also with lots of defects. it supports very few media formats and the speakers really really suck. for all the hi tech it supports it should have a better processor and more ram cause it gets way too slow sometimes. the battery discharges real quick. i think the front camera should also support image and video capture.
i'l pick it over my p910 but then i get to miss the p910 pretty often.
the golf game is good though.

Design 8/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 2/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 6/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Allwyn Mendes
posted on 21 Mar 2007, 11:44

8.4

Warlord

I own this phone and its just too good. Its very user friendly and the best part is that the whole phone can be used via its jog dail. The speakers kind of suks but who cares, it has everything else.

Design 7/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Johnny
posted on 06 Mar 2007, 14:49

8.4

Great phone


I bought it a few months ago, and was very disapointed because of all the bugs it had. But after I updated it, it's perfect.

It really does everything it sets out to, very well and fast compared to other phones (especially as compared to the N73, which I have seen in action).

Good phone, I would recommend it to anyone.

Design 6/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 8/10

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Junulrik
posted on 22 Oct 2006, 23:58

8.4

My SE P990i works very well

Although I read a lot of negative comments on this phone, but on my experience the phone works well. though slow in operation sometimes, what you expect from heavily pack PDA like this. BEfore, I used to buy Nokia smartphones, but now I think SE surpasses Nokia with this unit.

Design 8/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 8/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

amanda
posted on 23 Sep 2006, 06:54

9.8

TOP CLASS PHONE

i'm def going to purchase this phone soon as my contract expires, i have a WHITE w900i and it's a gr8 phone, i've recieved loads of comments off people, but i'm now looking for a smart phone, there's loads of downloadable features for the p990 on sony's website! i will always stick to sony, the quality is top class and they are the best as far as i am concerned in technology, but especially build quality, i hate cheap looking phones, no matter what features they have and i think most brands are poor quality! well done sony... YET AGAIN! ;-)

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Eldosarado
posted on 30 Jan 2006, 18:48

8.4

Smart phone fan? then go for it!!

I think this phone is great and i bet it handles MAX performance.. and you may notice that it has a much smaller touch screen but actually it's not allot different in the size, as you can see the screen is way up to the top near the speaker, not like the previous versions, that's why they added the keyboard and reduced the screen length a little bit and it's hardly noticed from the screen size of previous phones.. but in the end i might skip this one and go for the Motorolla Q or the iMate KJam..

Design 6/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Archer
posted on 30 Jan 2006, 03:34

10

P990

This phone is worth the money,,here in sweden it cost about 840$. Iam going to get it free from my work.
The reason why I chose this phone is because the W-lan fuction. I had that thougt about getting the w900 with alot of memory....but noooo Maybe more memory like the W900 but again noooo. The design is also very nice.
Easy chose in the end.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Ben Dover
posted on 20 Jan 2006, 00:44

7.4

confusion

what happened to the wide screen?! i've been wanting this phone a long time but now that the wide screen is gone, i'm a little bit confuse. i'm thinking of grabbing w900 rather. what do you think guys? both 3g phones? bout good camera? any suggestions?

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 4/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Einstein9
posted on 05 Jan 2006, 13:31

8

I love it

I was waiting for this model from long time coz of the Wi-Fi issue, well it would be better if they made models of the same model like excluding the CAM or the FM coz i don`t care about the Camera alot, i care alot about the BT & Wi-Fi more.
i heared that there is a firmware update for the P900 which allowes using more than 128MB memory, but the company didn`t release it coz it conflicts with the P910i, and there is the BT bug that Auto Accepts from ANYone which permission, which i would love if they update the firmware to fix it.

thank you all, and am gonna buy this new p990 with the others that i have the P900 & the P910i.

Design 8/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 6/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

woody
posted on 14 Nov 2005, 05:58

6

lack of taste

P990i look nice,but the screen too smaller than the previous model,the key pad also come back to the p900 model,its looks cheap and urgly look.the features is ok

Design 6/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 2/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Nate
posted on 20 Oct 2005, 15:58

6

Oh dear

I've been waiting for this 4 ages but damn its ugly, and what have they done to that lovely wide screen?? replaced it with a keyboard!! who uses the that? And they've gone back to the p900 keys too, damn you sony-ericsson. Glad its 3g though and the camera's better but I think I'll have to wait until they give it a facelift.

Design 3/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Wrec
posted on 15 Oct 2005, 08:41

8.4

gud but not the best

sonyericsson has come with a great fone this time round,but then it looks similar to the p910.i got the p910 some months back and looking at this one now,i m already tired of the p910.u guys shd change the shape or sumtin,u make our fones pass out n look outdated too fast,n it didnt come cheap.u know what i mean.
thumbs up anyways.

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Mo
posted on 14 Oct 2005, 06:07

7.4

Sony Ericsson P990

This is a great phone from all indications. I have not seen it, therefore cannot assess the sound quality nor the RF performance, or even the financial value is for me not possible to know.

But i am impressed as i have been waiting a long time for this.

Cheers

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 6/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories