x PhoneArena is looking for new authors in New York! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Ericsson P1 User Reviews

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Kiffil
posted on 27 Jan 2010, 20:37

8.3

5 stars for p1i

Actually p1i is my 2nd phone, which is quite  impressive, even though it has been a year after i bought it, but still i find new application and the way to use it.. superb camera.. and most impressive is that it hass wifi.. and most of the symbian, uiq and java application work in it..

Design 7/10
Features 10/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

Cons

  • i could not find a spare china styli
  • it takes much time to start
  • Sometimes do get stuck
  • lack of GPS verymuch

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

reviewer
posted on 23 Sep 2009, 07:12

9.3

p1i the best

the only phone that lasted for more than a year with me!battery performance is excellent;it can standby for 5days without chrging.also,i dropped it twice already(careless me)but still working though the the scroll is a bit affected.i recommend this phone to everyone!

Design 8/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

elias
posted on 21 Mar 2009, 03:27

9

p1i

 my first UIQ phone. Love it's flexibility and logic. It is a complex and quite elegant device. It looks like it means buisness. Feels like that as well.

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • excellent allrounder, heavy connectivity

Cons

  • camera quality could be a bit better

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Myster
posted on 12 Feb 2009, 05:49

6.3

I think this one has nearly no weakness.
The only thing it lack is, it's difficult to run java games or app. as the keys are not the same as well as if you install too much, it will slow down.
I like the Note as it can also be use as "paint"
Wifi connection is also quite impressive for a phone.

Design 5/10
Features 8/10
Performance 6/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Juan Manuel M
posted on 08 Feb 2009, 16:16

10

Best of the Best

i have tested N95 vs p1i for 1 yearwinner P1imuch mods , software apps , wifi signal quality , laft dial , querty , batery life , phone signal , camera quality (mod) , task manager,   icon set, theme UTZ , word excel
the best phone
 

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • querty
  • software

Cons

  • no phone call recorder

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Don
posted on 16 Jul 2008, 02:53

9.2

Nice Camera

I think the camera is usable, it has macro which I really like. It help me take everything close clearly when it's done and I zoom it. So when I need the copy of the document I can capture and print it later. The office application is enough for me. The last thing I like, you don't have to be afraid your application or some data will missing if the battery empty. It still there without damage, not like PDA.

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 10/10

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Aleks
posted on 08 Jul 2008, 09:36

4.8

nagging defect

Very nice phone and functional, but the J key on the keyboard is defective after only 2 months. Not worth it.

Design 5/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 4/10
Value for money 5/10

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Kadri
posted on 28 Jun 2008, 10:07

9.8

Best of the Best

I experienced many phones, pda & mobile platforms, but the P1i tops them all. I previously owned the SE P910a, so I know the run arounds on Symbian UIQ.

The sound is not as loud as I like my music to be in my ears (i like danceclub volume lol).

This phone provides all features any user will want and need, except that there is no GPS built in, other than that, it is a must own.

All i can say is you have to experience one to want one, since my P910, I said to myself I do not want to own another device unless it is running symbian UIQ, and its from sony ericsson. Now I own this lovely machine and its the coolest thing since slice bread. :)

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Jim
posted on 16 May 2008, 14:30

9.4

The Best Sony Ericsson

The only think I don't like on this phone it's that it has not buttons for the Menu

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 10/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Juaa Pardo
posted on 12 May 2008, 21:38

9.8

Good phone , good features

the batery life is good ( 2 days, working )( 3 1/2 days stanby ), touch screen , 3 input methods (keyboar, touch scren, stylus ) . exelent ; office 3.2mp

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Ardalan
posted on 02 May 2008, 03:22

8.6

This smart phone has everything you need to have in your cell phone: WiFi, 3.2 megapixel camera with flash and autofocus (the quality is very satisfying), touch screen display, very good music & video player which support many formats including wma, wmv and rm, and a very good browser with tabbed-browsing abilities (Opera 8).
Though P1i is not flawless (no GPS, no 802.11g, average design, the keys need some time getting used to), I think there isn't any other cell phone in the market in this price range that has all these hi-tech features together.
In one sentence: P1 is AMAZING! :D

Design 7/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

zashima
posted on 05 Mar 2008, 04:04

8.4

amazing multitasker...

for starters, the design is very minimalist, very clean lines and easy to hold, each of the hardware buttons are easy to reach even with one hand and very well placed, although, i wish they'd put in a lens cover for the back camera.

the features of the phone is very well balanced and well thought, PIM features are easier to operate with the touch screen and stylus, messaging is a cinch with the hybrid keyboard. as is the 3.15 (3.2) mega pixel camera with auto focus is great in reproducing pictures. although with the absence of the light in video capture is a bit disappointing, but i can live with that. also, connectivity options for this phone is nothing short of outstanding, wifi, bluetooth, ir, usb on top of web, sms, mms, and push email is really great. and finally, the media player is almost walkman quality with a2dp.

sound quality is only mildly affected with the buzzing at high volume generated by the metal guard in front of the speaker grill, on the other hand, the included wired stereo head set is loud and fits comfortably in ear. in call, the speaker volume seems a little flat but otherwise clear and loud enough to hear.

for me, this is the only downside to this phone, signal reception fluctuates alot and sometimes calls are dropped.

all in all, i love this phone, here in manila this phone sells for about 18k way cheaper than nokia counterparts and what you're getting is something that does so much in such a small, sleek package.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 4/10
Value for money 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

hamayou
posted on 06 Nov 2007, 17:18

8.8

hamayou

i have used all sony ericsson P 900.990 and this p1i is the best of all ,i realy like the the way this P1 helps you out wile you are writing text,it keep helping you with the words that you have used ,I CAN SAY IT IS THE SMARTEST phone from many ,remember this is not a hand set which many people will like it, you need to have a tast for it and if you buy it then give it a bit of time then you will get use to it and start loving it

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

tdko
posted on 03 Nov 2007, 21:57

8

waited a long time

after waiting so long found it was quite good had p800 , p900 and k750i before and this is much better. However dissappointed that camera lens has no protection like k750i. Still tying to find a case which allows me to use the phone without taking it out of it' case but protects it from sand dust minor water spills and shock proof. Saw one that was close but couldn't see availability in Aust. Still a phone worth waiting for just hope that SE don't bring another one out too soon. Let me enjoy this one first.

Design 7/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

jon
posted on 02 Nov 2007, 17:36

8.4

uploading mp3s is annoying

Phone doesn't operate as a mass storage device. You need to put on proprietary software on your computer and use that to filter the mp3s onto your phone. This is why I dont buy Sony phones any more.

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 6/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ober
posted on 29 Oct 2007, 12:58

8.2

Good - but...

A couple of gripes:

The thing takes a minute and a half to boot up. I have used P800 / P910 before, they were much quicker.

Sound quality is indeed good, but I cannot get the volume up as loud as I'd like. Nowhere near my W880i for instance.

Otherwise; well built, familiar interface, looks nice.

Design 7/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 9/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

buba
posted on 12 Oct 2007, 08:32

10

I own one and it really is a very good phone. I really like the 3.2 mp auto focus camera. The sound quality is as good as walkman phones. The signal strength is good, like most other phones.The qwerty keboard is really easy to use. It has the ability to use Wayfinder Navigator. Overall the Sony Ericsson P1i is very elegant and powerful. A must have phone this year for cool gadget lovers.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Notnerb
posted on 16 Sep 2007, 09:39

9.6

The King

This phone is the best! in terms of camera, sound quality and most of all the hybrid QWERTY keypad it has!! the best! can't wait to have it! I had the m600i recently and it was a superb phone even if it had no camera what more if it had a camera?and this would be my solution! the P1! bow down to the King!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 9/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Alex
posted on 15 Aug 2007, 11:05

9

Superb Phone

I got mine free on O2 last week and it has literally changed my life. Bold statement but true none the less.

It's so easy to use that i had it pretty much figured out and in full use in just a couple of days. It's well built, looks great, feels comfortable the GUI and keyboard work really well too.

The OS seems more stable than any other smart phone i've had being fast and glitch free.

The software is simple but works well and it syncs with outlook without all the usual trauma'

Call quality is so much beter than my last Nokia it's like regaining my hearing. plus my nokia N80 only had service when i stuck my head out of my bedroom window but this has service everywhere in my house, even downstairs.

The touch screen camera is a hoot; so easy and intuitive to use and great quality too.

Any gripes? It's a little bit heavy and no sat-nav which would have been wicked

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 10/10

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

EV
posted on 15 Aug 2007, 07:09

9.6

Best Phone

I own one and it really is a very good phone. I really like the 3.2 mp
auto focus camera. The sound quality is as good as walkman phones. The signal strength is good, like most other phones.The qwerty keboard is really easy to use.
It has the ability to use Wayfinder Navigator.
Overall the Sony Ericsson P1i is very elegant and powerful.
A must have phone this year for cool gadget lovers.

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Raiden
posted on 03 Aug 2007, 07:48

9

Perfect!!!

It's realy great, and very luxurious!
the color of the phone is so beautiful! SILVER BLACK!!!
and the abilities are great!
I love it!
I'll buy it tomorrow!

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 8/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Leong
posted on 02 Jul 2007, 00:39

9.6

Must have

A great phone which is almost perfect, execpt for it design, shortage of GPS(not that important) and there is only one colour available. Overall it still a very good phone and I like it alot.

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Omar
posted on 19 May 2007, 19:31

8.6

Wonderful

I think this phone is great, but I hope it will be relesed as soon as possible and I wish the price will be good. The best thing about it is the design, size an weight. Also the camera is great, the RAM and memory are improved. Nice job SE.

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 8/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Kill4money
posted on 16 May 2007, 11:47

10

Great deal

It is a phone that deserves the money it gets and it is amazing. For a smartphone a 3mp camera is geat and it has a great design so i bet its music player is even better.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

abi
posted on 13 May 2007, 20:24

9

SE P1

It will always be the best of all. cause as much Nokia wiil try to beat. they wont succed cause they dont design each phone seperatly as an independent project. so sony is very logical and user friendly . the nokia seems always like a prototype. cheers guys

Design 8/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 7/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories