x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Ericsson K800 User Reviews

8.8 Based on 42 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Camera10/10
Multimedia9/10
Internet7/10
Call quality8/10
Battery9/10
Reception9/10
Display8/10
Build quality9.5/10
Text input7.5/10
Everyday usage10/10
UI speed8.5/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Sonki
posted on 01 Jul 2011, 10:28 (Posts: 0; Member since: 01 Jul 2011)

9

It served me well...

Sonki has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I am quite a "dangerous" phone user in the sense that I've only recently started considering actually not abusing my phone and other appliances & gadgets. My SE survived many such abuses, it got an upgrade, and I wouldn't have changed it, but it started getting old and having charging problems...

Build quality 9/10 Except for the moving camera cover which was a bit annoying at times, the "brick-like" built was solid, elegant and useful.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10 The internet was quite slow and from some point Gmail started crashing.
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10 It was speedy enough, except for the internet.
Everyday usage 10/10 Very good, very good, I had a great time using it with ease!
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10 It wasn't very visible in reflecting sunlight, but at the same time nor my Samsung Galaxy S is not always visible in extreme sunlight.
Battery 8/10 Perhaps it was my fault too, but the first thing to crash (except for the whole phone once) was my charging jack...

Pros

  • solid and practical build
  • very good camera with flash
  • quite a large screen for this type of phone
  • good sound quality
  • in-built radio

Cons

  • slow internet
  • potential charging problems?
  • annoying and unstable camera cover

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

K93a
posted on 30 Jun 2011, 02:57

8

Nice

K93a has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I've had this phone for more than 3 years. Never fails, and always the best. I'd say it's ultimately durable and the battery is quite long (charge every few days). The screen is clear and nice and the camera is comparable to a digital. I would greatly suggest this phone even though there are thousands of newer ones out there.

Build quality 10/10 Highly Durable. Dropped it many times and never fails.
Reception 8/10
Call quality 6/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 5/10
Display 7/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Durable
  • Battery
  • Camera
  • Design

Cons

  • A bit thick

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Ahmed Fawzi
posted on 14 Jan 2010, 08:59

7.7

Nice Phone Nice Camera But not good Software

After about tow year of use K800
phone I can say it perfect style, camera and in call but it have many Negative
point too



1-      
"Software down, black white screen" many time, and
may be you can fix it with update service software from Sony Ericsson web site
but after do that I have problem bigger than that the phone damage my SMS Massage
 and mark it as corrupted and if I close
the phone it gone

Design 9/10
Features 6/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Good camera
  • Performance
  • Xenon flash

Cons

  • Talk time battery small
  • Software problem

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Hammad
posted on 18 Dec 2009, 07:42

10

The Emperor

k800 is the best phone in the category of 3.2 mp camera phone  !!! you can modd it to the extreme and it wont let you down ever ......................................................................................................................................

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Camera
  • Can be modded
  • No crashing
  • Best 3g functionality
  • runs all java applications

Cons

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

omasanga
posted on 28 Nov 2009, 10:09 (Posts: 0; Member since: 28 Nov 2009)

7.7

Awesome phone!

I had to wrok really hard to get this pjone.And it was worth every bit of it!Its totally awesome!None of my friends have anything like ti and i enjoyed flaunting it around.CameraIt has a superb 3.2 mp camera and its a cybershot.And iknow why its called a cybershot.the pics are just great!totally fab!It has Auto focus and a wonderful Xenon flash.Its perfect for taking photos in dim,light,bright,you name it...and the phone can take pics itin that condition.You can take the clearest pics even in a moving car at 100km/hr!It doesn't get all foggy due to the motion,it clicks the pic then and there right when u click it.The camera is truly the best part of the mobile.No wonder its emphasised in its Demo tour which displays a lot about its camera which comes along with BestpicTM.MusicThe music sounds crystal clear and gives a real concert-like effect on full volume.Perfect for a nice little home party with just your family members.No,it doesn't have shake control or anyhting,just plain but clear music playing away.After a tiring day,it rejuvenates me and the music forces me to get up and dance!Other featuresThe phone also has some other toally cool additional features like FaceWarp.It  warpsthe picture and makes the character look very funny and can provide hours of entertainment.Totally coolio!StructureThe outer structure's okay,but i wish it was jsut a bit slimmer.But one can't have it all and i can surpass this minute prob in it.Its just a simple Candybar shaped structure which...  

Design 6/10
Features 10/10
Performance 7/10

Pros

  • Great and TRUE cybershot camera
  • Clear sound
  • Great features

Cons

  • Sudden crashing
  • Problems when browsing some video files

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Huddy
posted on 01 Nov 2009, 01:34

10

This phone is a good quality 3g phone. it was cheap had godd reviews. it was video camera was awesome had bluetooth, and inferared. ...............................................................................................................................................................

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • camera

Cons

  • screen resoulution

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sturm
posted on 21 Nov 2008, 05:45

7.7

great

... best i´ve ever had                                                         

Design 7/10
Features 8/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • absolutely reliable

Cons

  • sync with Adressbook an Mac

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sssss
posted on 28 Jun 2008, 06:38

10

ssssss

i have this phone for 187
days and it didn't fail me at all

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

junkie
posted on 13 Jun 2008, 23:50

7.6

TOP OF THE LINE

got this fon as my b-day present from my girl friend... she was really asking what would i choose... & here got for almost a month & it really rocks... great pictures, good music, txting etc... it even has a warp picture that make u fun out of... got 2GB mem stick & havent encounter any problem... camera album of 400 pics of great quality all in fine mode & 3mp size... digital maybe but they're great... i like music & got 250 blues n it & they all sounds great even f not a W series... battery charging is beraly 2.5 hrs & power stays longer up to 3 days... K800i may not b d perfect phone but its no more than an ALL IN ONE of its 3.2MP cam compared... HIGHLY RECOMMENDED...

Design 7/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 8/10

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anaz
posted on 10 Jun 2008, 03:32

8.6

Best Value For Money

I have done a thorough comparison of phone before choosing this phone and I would say that I have made a right decision.

Recently at family function , I have the opportunity to test the camera features of SE K850 and Nokia N82 belonging to relatives. In both cases , these phones cannot beat K800i. Why?. Because of Xenon Flash and it Cyberview Camera Interface fused with Phone Features. Everybody is commenting on how nice the photos turn out. The only disadvantages is for me to email 200+ photos (about 71MB) to all those guests begging for them. (sigh).

And that is only one part of the good things. Let not be shy about it , I love games , and these phone is the best to play games , I have close to 50 games installed in it with 2MB Memory , and they all really nice to play.. try play Fifa 2007 with Nokia.. you will get the idea. So far I manage to avoid damaging the joypad.

The musics sound great (I pair it with stereo bluetooth) , play great 3GP Music Videos (download it for free) , Smooth Internet with Opera 4.1.. what else can I say.

The only this this phone lacking is poor video coding , so I would not recommend it for shooting video. (if only SE can improve on this).

Well that's it , I have no money issue to buy Nokia N Series or even SE K850 or SE K810. Even if this phone got mashed tomorrow , I will still will buy this phone again. No regret.

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 9/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

biva
posted on 15 May 2008, 08:20

10

ssss

i have it from 2 monthes and it didn't fail me at all

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

johan , usa
posted on 21 Apr 2008, 15:22

10

believe me it's the best

i know that too many people say that N73 is better but they don't know the truth this phone is the king it's processor is too much faster than the 220 mhz of n73 i believe that is around 380 330 mhz if u r going 2 buy one buy the silver one of it , the camera is the best of 3.2 mp in market and the voice is not very loud but its perfect , buy it ........

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Leatin
posted on 14 Apr 2008, 11:29

8.8

TRUST ME ON THIS ONE!

I had the k800 for over two years now. It hasn't given me any problems! NON AT ALL! the only stepback is the video but overall this phone is the best in its range! I had numerous problems with nokia and motorola but after going the SE way i never had any problems,never had to send it back once for repairs. I am now at the end of my contract and looking forward to getting the k850. TRUST ME GUYS-SE is the best and no matter what other people may say,i talk from 2years experience with this phone, If you want a good camera with no problems-take this one (unless you can afford the k850 )

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 9/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Ahmed Fawzi
posted on 16 Mar 2008, 09:37

8.2

best Camera Phone and best Price

the Camera is the Best
i compare between K800i and N73
K800i is clear and sharp
and in night K800i very clear pic

and when compare the price K800i is the best too.

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 8/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

bad boy
posted on 08 Feb 2008, 07:46

10

sssss

I have had this phone for nearly two years now, it has never let me down and must be the most scratch resistant phone ever made!! mine is still in top condition after been thrown around with no protection for 15 months!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

shar
posted on 05 Feb 2008, 10:51

9.8

weeeeeeeeeeed

think this is a fantastic phone. Would recommend to anyone. Camera Quality is superb, but video is very poor. Overall, it is a very good phone

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ssssss
posted on 08 Jan 2008, 09:42

10

gooooood

think this is a fantastic phone. Would recommend to anyone. Camera Quality is superb, but video is very poor. Overall, it is a very good phone

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kimy
posted on 03 Jan 2008, 17:07

10

good

i own a mobile shop every customer that bought this phone said it's the best

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

phsyco
posted on 03 Jan 2008, 17:02

10

best of the best of the best of the best

I think this is a fantastic phone. Would recommend to anyone. Camera Quality is superb, but video is very poor. Overall, it is a very good phone that is well able to support third party applications and functions well on Irish 3G networks.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Zyad
posted on 03 Jan 2008, 00:43

10

Best 3mpx Camera Phone

Been using the phone for almost 2 yrs now. Not seen another 3 mpx phone with great pictures as this one... Very good phone and good music player too... Highly recommended...

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

yakee
posted on 28 Dec 2007, 17:20

10

best of the best

It has such great functions. it is all in one at an affordable price. The camera is just great. takes great photos.
It supports upto 1 GB memory card but its memory card is very expensive as compared to other mc available. Overall its the best phone. I love my K800. great job SE. Keep it up.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

noah
posted on 28 Dec 2007, 17:00

10

great

This phone is great, i would recommend this phone too anyt one i know, i have done reaserch on this phone for some time now and know the following, The design is great but because of the front vga camera and back 3.2 mp camera it ends up being rather bulky, however it manages to fit into the palm of the hand very nicely, and the extra weight makes it gentler to the hand. This phone has every feature you could want in a phone, unless you want operating systems but you should but a pda if you want that. sound quality is as good as SE could make it ,however its not perfect because lets remmemmber this is a phone not a sony walkman. Signal strength is perfect but remmemmber it mainly depends on your network, but you usually manage to get good reception every where. If you buy this phone it can be expensive but i prommise you its worth every penny.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

none
posted on 05 Dec 2007, 14:15

10

the best ......... the best

9.8
out of 10
It has such great functions. it is all in one at an affordable price. The camera is just great. takes great photos.
It supports upto 1 GB memory card . Overall its the best phone. I love my K800. the photos is better than the n73 which colors is bad .

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

sammy
posted on 29 Sep 2007, 10:08

7.6

EXCELLENT QUALITY PHONE BUILT ALL IN ONE

The battery life is great (around 3-4 days on extreme use), call clarity is perfect, the camera is near digital camera quality, the screen is bright, crisp and easy to read, AND it doubles (or should I say triples) as an MP3 player/camera/cellphone! Although I should note that ringtone volumes could be louder and with less distortion/crackling for louder ringtones.

For those of you who're a bit skeptical about its size; go to your nearest phone store and hold one in your hand. The first thing you'll notice is that it's actually not as big as you'd think. It fits perfectly in my hand. Additionally, the weight of the phone is perfect as well. It actually feels like you have something in your hand, so the likelihood of you dropping it decreases. From past experiences :P

All in all, it's an amazing phone for an amazing price. This has got to be one of the best, if not THE BEST Sony Ericsson cellphones EVER MADE!

Design 2/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Richard
posted on 17 Jul 2007, 20:56

2.8

worst phone ever

i thought i was upgrading when i bought this terrible phone. what an unmitigated mistake that was. It doesn't sync with a mac. I hate the placement of the camera and the lens cover slides open. the toggle sticks, the buttons stick - i've had the phone sent back twice under warranty. This phone will make a great door stop when i find its replacement

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 1/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories