x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Ericsson Cedar User Reviews

8.1 Based on 11 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia7.8/10
Internet7.5/10
Call quality8.4/10
Battery9/10
Reception8.5/10
Display8.5/10
Build quality8.9/10
Text input7.9/10
Everyday usage8.8/10
UI speed8.2/10
Camera6.5/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

tomek
posted on 27 Sep 2012, 08:09 (Posts: 2; Member since: 27 Sep 2012)

8

Pure and simple

tomek has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Give it a time and you'll not want another phone. Small, convenient, usefull -attributes that many expencive models/makes are lacking of. I doesn't look fancy, so it is safe from other people sticky fingers, yet a precious communication jewel in your pocket. I have installed more usefull java apps (like PDF reader, Skype) and I don't want to live without it.

Build quality 8/10 all is good except back cover. tricky to open it. Paint is ecological and chips off of the buttons, but if this is the price for eco-friendly stuff, I don't mind.
Reception 9/10 no problems here comparing to another makes.
Call quality 6/10 sometimes the sound is not loud enough, so I have to svich to earphones. This could be annoying sometimes.
Internet 6/10 browser doesn't keep on as the app in the background
Multimedia 9/10 great sound, good display, nice pictures overview (slide show)
Camera 4/10 poor control, poor resolution
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10 groovy buttons seem practical
Display 10/10 bright and sharp
Battery 10/10 lasts loooooong............

Pros

  • pure and simple
  • userfriendly
  • full flightmode
  • MPE full compatibility
  • great music sound!
  • accepts 16GB microSD
  • ecological build
  • battery is very durable

Cons

  • no wifi
  • no gps
  • bad camera / forget about it
  • sound doesn't have enough volume
  • doesn't work without SIM

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

kalamkalamkatama
posted on 02 Dec 2011, 08:58 (Posts: 0; Member since: 02 Dec 2011)

9

Sony Ericsson Cedar is a Great Phone

kalamkalamkatama has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

As a cedar user, I carefully observed my cedar and it operated the way that I want it to be. Nothing unusual and it is not a waste to buy one. It is fast and easy to use and it is excellent for everyday usage.

Build quality 9/10 durable
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

brewsterlync
posted on 30 Nov 2011, 23:14 (Posts: 0; Member since: 30 Nov 2011)

9

The Best Non-Android Phone

brewsterlync has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I think,, the phone have a million feature for non-android phone,,, And i like the youtube player.. but, the speaker is low than chinase phone,,, Green Hearth.. Like It, I think wanna change this phone with Xpera Active,, But Overall is okey,,

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 8/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • 3G Internet Speed
  • No Lagh on the menu
  • Fast keyboard response for Message
  • Best price only Rp. 600.000 or 60 USD

Cons

  • Speaker is too low
  • Camera no supported Auto focus
  • No Front Camera
  • Wi-Fi Not Supported

brewsterlync alternatives:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

42r01
posted on 13 Nov 2011, 06:47 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Nov 2011)

7

The best basic phone.

42r01 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

the best basic phone ever..i've used this phone about 1 year..love this phone..sadly....i've sell it to buy new Android phone :'( ..
Build Quality-8
Reception-6
Call quality-8
Internet-5
Multimedia-8
Camera-4
UI speed-6
Everyday usage-8
Text input-6
Display-6
Battery-9

Build quality 8/10
Reception 6/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 4/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 6/10
Display 6/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • 3.5G
  • 2.2 inch screen
  • Support 16GB

Cons

  • Speaker volume too low

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Leo
posted on 16 Jul 2011, 20:12

6

I returned it because it was a disappointment

Leo has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I bought this phone for 2 reasons. 3.5 mm headset jack for music, and the numeric keypad because i'm better at texting with it. It disappointed in both areas.

the keys are FAR too small. it's barely useable for moderate texting, and you have to be very careful with your key presses. the predictive text entry is awful too.

The music player is ridiculously awful. YOU CANNOT EVEN LOOP ONE SONG. you can only loop an album or playlist, and you can't create playlists on the phone.

Finally, the ringers: The alarm or calls, ALWAYS, (even if you turn the setting off) start off quiet, and progressively get louder. This is awful for an alarm, which needs to jolt you to wake you up, and awful for a phone, because you want to know it's ringing immediately. I missed several calls, and slept through the alarms, because of this. I'm getting a nokia c3 touch and type. hopefully, i won't get these issues.

Build quality 9/10 feels good in your hand
Reception 7/10
Call quality 6/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 1/10 the media player is awful, you can't loop songs, or create new playlists from the phone.
Camera 6/10
UI speed 4/10
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 3/10 keys are too small, and the predictive text is pretty hard to use.
Display 7/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • functional, responsive, etc

Cons

  • music player, keys, text entry, alarm volume

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

nfskarthik
posted on 01 Jun 2011, 04:51 (Posts: 1; Member since: 29 Nov 2010)

7

OK not good

nfskarthik has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Best Phone Under Best Price .

this is the best fone EVER! you might give it one glance and think its pretty simple, but this elegant little phone is a real machine. apart from its sexy external design, the sony ericsson features 3g, a 3.5mm jack, as well as an ample 2.2 inch screen, much bigger than other handsets of this brand located in its pricerange. another plus is all the cool and helpful applications it has-accuweather, shopping list, neoreader, checkbook,ecomate(which is really fun), greencalculator, contactmigrati, 12 pixels and many others. it also includes the elite music functions which high-end walkman fones possess, including Track ID, SensMe and playnow. the userinterface is absolutely beautiful, with the media player interface resembling a PSP. it has an insane internal memory of 280MB, & can support a microSD of up to 16GB! There are four bright, colourful themes to choose from, and u can personalise the menu style with various animations. the 2 megapixel camera takes good pictures. (ETC..)this phone is AMAZING! BUY IT!

Build quality 8/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 8/10
Display 7/10
Battery 9/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Prash
posted on 25 Apr 2011, 11:37

9

Just Best

Prash has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

After Months of Research
I am on the Following Conclusion

Pros---------------------------------------
Looks:
Rich absolutely(many ppl ask me on first impression which phone dude) back is absolutely Royal.
9/10
--
Speed:
No Comparison with others on this price range(except Naite[Naite is Conformed Speedy]).Absolute No Lags at all.
10/10
--
Internet:
No Company is giving that level of internet smoothness for this price range its just Clean Fast. but default browser sux sometimes. but not bad at all. it has very good Mark & copy feature which is very useful.but nothing to worry OperaMini,bolt, UC are smooth with no error
9/10
---
Multimedia:
Default acoustics are good but not best(just placed Audiophile HD with FAR Manager). Given Headsets are much better has very good bass but little in treb.i can get ClearBass with Audiophile HD. No features like Video Zoom, Save Snapshot like Naite Has. Better player (it has full AlbumArt). this thing can play anything in mp4,3gp under x480. it can play vid of 640x480 in smooth. Next/Previous Music tracks can be changed by Holding vol keys.

8.5/10

Battery:
I confirmed it has less Battery than Naite BUT it has Impressive Battery 2 days with Heavy uses(FaceBook app always on, google maps always on with latitude,5-10 mins streaming, 10-15mb data download, 2-3hrs music, 20-25 msg, 10-15 calls) battery lasts surely 2 complete days.
9/10

Sound:
No matter to me abt speaker vol.(i always us InEar) but Volume can be increased by changing Audi

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Prash alternatives:

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

suryayoga
posted on 04 Mar 2011, 09:56

9

Hello

suryayoga has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

It is awesome.If camera is not a concern,it is a sound machine.I've also used all other mobiles from other brands,but it the only mobile that touched my heart and still continuing it.If it is day the camera quality is very good.In the low light,the photoes are Ok.I've checked all other mobiles.I could not find other mobiles that match it.

Build quality 10/10 I put this rating based on the way it looks.Easy to handle.
Reception 10/10 Reception of the signals is pretty good.
Call quality 10/10 call quality.Voice clarity is good when compared with other mobile gadgets.
Internet 6/10 Internet speed is manageable,if you have a holiday.Can't expect more by paying less.
Multimedia 10/10 Sound quality amazing,Video quality not up to the mark as the internal processor is low.
Camera 8/10 Camera quality is good@day,night it is terrible,VGA video recording.
UI speed 10/10 Accessing through the
Everyday usage 10/10 awesome
Text input 9/10 awesome
Display 9/10 awesome
Battery 9/10 It is Good among all other SE phones.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

martheen
posted on 09 Feb 2011, 03:10 (Posts: 2; Member since: 09 Feb 2011)

8

Best Value for Money

martheen has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The cheapest member of Greenheart family. I only pay 850.000 rupiahs (about US$ 85) for it. But of course, I gotta buy additional memory (none included), data cable, and protector for the body. On total I spend $110 for it, only getting 8GB memory, since none of the 16GB card in the shop works with it. The included PC Companion sucks, you need to download each single subfunction in it. I recommend My Phone Explorer (free) for managing your phone.
MediaGo is bad, the only reason I installed it is because I want to use the SenseMe feature. Unfortunately, a playlist in MediaGo, when transferred to the phone, will strip files with unicode characters, and since it's uneditable, the transferred playlist become useless. Adding a new playlist in the phone manually become impossible since the files are organized according to their ID3 tag. Since my ID3 tag is so bad, it's almost impossible to find a particular song. Oh, and if two playlist contains identical song, when transferred MediaGo will duplicate the files instead of linking to a single file.
The stock settings for this phone in Indonesia (and I believe another Asia Pacific countries, since the software version mentions APAC-H) doesn't include threaded SMS. I gotta mod it first (just putting XML here and there). Also, since the main menu layout is non-standard, I must mod it first to standard layout so that flash menus from other phone become usable.

Build quality 8/10 The build is quite well, the body looks beautiful, but for my clumsy hand, I really have to protect it with rubber case, otherwise it would get scratched everywhere.
Reception 8/10 I got 3G and HSDPA on the road, but only EDGE in my room. To be fair, the reception in my a area is pretty bad. There are some delay when it's switching between 3G and GSM, during that period no incoming call or sms can get through
Call quality 10/10 Voice is great even on loud area
Internet 7/10 While it got fast HSDPA, the included browser is pathetic. Only use it to download Opera Mini. The included Facebook client is only good to upload picture directly, otherwise, it's too slow on unstable connection.
Multimedia 7/10 Plug a W series headset and you'll get Megabass. The video can load SRT subtitles, but with black background for the text. Bit slow though, and videos can't be minimized.
Camera 7/10 Only good on daylight. On night with very low lightning, it's useless. On average lightning it's passable.
UI speed 8/10 Fast, unless Google Maps is activated, in which it would become bit slow.
Everyday usage 9/10 Great! Call quickly, sms quickly, get connected everywhere, upload pictures directly, just everything I could ask for
Text input 6/10 While the keys are large and silent, I HATE the 2 different typing schema in this thing. Sometime you'll use 0 for space, sometime # for space. Overtime you'll get used to which app for what key, but at first it's so annoying
Display 9/10 Bright, the colors are brilliant.
Battery 8/10 Put it in my pocket for average SMS and call, it survive 2 day. But put it in my hand for full on browsing and pic taking session, it only survive roughly 8 hours

Pros

  • Very cheap for it's functionality
  • Upload directly pictures from file manager
  • Organize pictures according to their location

Cons

  • The location services accuracy is only 1.6km

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kartikey
posted on 26 Dec 2010, 07:37

9

The Best Phone To Own....

kartikey has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

When i decided to buy myself a new phone i was confused so read the reviews of the phones which were in my budget and i realised that cedar is one phone whose users'-opinions were the best and so decided to get it. Using this phone for more than a week, i think no other phone can provide such features and Value-For-Money at this price-point like this phone does. Although i have never used an SE phone & this is my first one yet i have become a fan of my phone and SE too....!!!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sumitjain42
posted on 11 Dec 2010, 12:14 (Posts: 0; Member since: 11 Dec 2010)

8

Sumit

sumitjain42 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Best Phone Under Best Price . Sony Ericsson has done a great job by adding this low cost mobile phone to their lineup.Moreover in future Sony Ericsson could give us good cellphones according to the requirements of people . I love Sony Ericsson mobiles and great fan of it

Build quality 8/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories