x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Wave User Reviews

9.4 Based on 31 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Build quality9.8/10
Text input9.1/10
Everyday usage9.5/10
UI speed9.7/10
Camera9.7/10
Multimedia9.7/10
Internet8.9/10
Call quality9.6/10
Battery9.2/10
Reception9.5/10
Display10/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Monch
posted on 17 May 2012, 08:47 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 May 2012)

10

Bada OS is not that Good

Monch has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

The specs is good,incredibly fast,sleek design,good battery life,good camera and video recorder,wifi is quite fast,music player is loud,fast bluetooth and gorilla glass display (scratch resistant). The problem is there are few apps in Bada and some of them are not working properly and im not pleased by the Java apps because its quality is not good. In short, this smartphone is very good the only reason why its not an excellent phone for me because of the apps, few games and many of the apps is not free.

Build quality 10/10 design is fantastic. Slim and easy to carry.
Reception 10/10 This smartphone is better than any smartphones
Call quality 10/10 Good call quality
Internet 9/10 Fast browser but some website is not available
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10 Nice Camera
UI speed 9/10 sometimes it lags when multi tasking
Everyday usage 10/10 Very Useful
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Pictures,videos,music player
  • Bluetooth,WiFi,SNS
  • Messagings and etc.

Cons

  • Bada OS

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

RamyAbdelbadea
posted on 07 Nov 2011, 13:15 (Posts: 17; Member since: 07 Nov 2011)

8

Really Good Phone

RamyAbdelbadea has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

i got this phone once it Released and i was so happy all the time with its speed, waaw screen colores and fast easy handling .. but screen maybe need to be larger and samsung didn't offer a good programes to it .. and talking about the browser , its really not that good :( fast but always says ( memory not enough ) .. about the camera .. its a really very good camera .. in still photos it is good , but in video .. it is Waaaw :)

Build quality 8/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 6/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 7/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • whatt a fast phone really .. i find it hard to replace

Cons

  • samsung not taking careof it !! why ?!! don't know !! , and the browser is not that good it act well but soon it tells you ( not enough memory ) !!!

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Niceface
posted on 27 Jul 2011, 07:08

9

Best than Iphone 4

Niceface has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Wave is a good phone with a good construction. It feels very good in your hands and it is very fast. The single problem is the OS Bada which needs some improvements and develop more apps for it. I am waitng for version 2.00 of Bada which i saw on the youtube that is awesome. I hope that the OS will be upgraded and the apps will be like on android. A major problem i find in SAR value which is a little too big and i found necesary to have an Back button like htc desire. Another problem is that the Samsung doesn't update flash support !!! I hope that the new version 2.0 to be updated periodicaly. Also, for internet surfing it is nice to add to the update the "text reflow" function! The GPS i can't use it because the software is unlicensed.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • *SUPER Amoled display
  • *Great battery
  • *Fast CPU and GPU!
  • *Good Sound quality!
  • *Nice ultraslim build
  • *very good video player
  • * Good price!

Cons

  • -OS bada
  • -samsung doesn't update OS periodicaly
  • -flash support is out of date
  • -poor and few apps
  • -doesn't support text reflow
  • - Gps software is just a trial

Niceface alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Niceface
posted on 27 Jul 2011, 07:00

9

Best than Iphone 4

Niceface has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Wave is a good phone with a good construction. It feels very good in your hands and it is very fast. The single problem is the OS Bada which needs some improvements and develop more apps for it. I am waitng for version 2.00 of Bada which i saw on the youtube that is awesome. I hope that the OS will be upgraded and the apps will be like on android. A major problem i find in SAR value which is a little too big and i found necesary to have an Back button like htc desire. Another problem is that the Samsung doesn't update flash support !!! I hope that the new version 2.0 to be updated periodicaly. Also, for internet surfing it is nice to add to the update the "text reflow" function! The GPS i can't use it because the software is unlicensed.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 7/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • *SUPER Amoled display
  • *Fast CPU and GPU!
  • *Great Sound!
  • *Great battery
  • *Nice ultraslim build

Cons

  • -OS - bada
  • -poor and few apps
  • --samsung doesn't update OS periodicaly
  • -flash support is out of date

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Justauser
posted on 08 Jun 2011, 08:40

10

great Phone!Perfect!

Justauser has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I have that phone for mare than 3 months. I expected it to malfunction ever since I bought it, because it's a samsung and they don't have a great reputation abouth their phones, but I was amazed! Breat with almost everything! Only downfall is the Bada OS but I guess that is because it's new and all. I'm sure that is't going to catch up with the others! (Also the back panel is a bit floppy, but its minor)

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Everithing:
  • GPS
  • WiFi usage
  • Super Amoled display
  • Metal panel
  • etc.

Cons

  • OS
  • some other minor stuff

Justauser alternatives:

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

albertsy2
posted on 01 Jun 2011, 14:55

9

GPS is good with FW 1.0 only

albertsy2 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Upgraded to 1.1 and it killed the GPS. Downgraded to 1.0 and GPS worked fine. I'll just stick to 1.0.

Anyway, this is a great phone for the price. AMOLED is brilliant, camera macro is better than my DSLR and I am not kidding.

The music player could do with a better sorting function, though.

Dropped the phone from waist high twice and it just laughed it off.

Downside is that it gets hot when on the web.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • AMOLED

Cons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

srdjav
posted on 23 Apr 2011, 12:25

6

Good feature phone

srdjav has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Overall, good feature phone. Solid camera, good multimedia experience, no problem with calls or messages of all types. But internet experience is baaaaaaaaaad. And number of applications is small. But that would not be so much problem if the half of them isn't fart apps! Very crappy apps! No document editor built-in, and the one on the market unusable!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 5/10 Every other time it display message "Not enough memory. Page too large". No full display view
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 5/10 Every day it closes widgets because of "not enough memory". No real mutlitasking
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Diplay
  • Built quality

Cons

  • Internet!
  • Too little RAM memory!
  • Crapy apps!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

raulmunteanu
posted on 20 Mar 2011, 18:12 (Posts: 0; Member since: 20 Feb 2011)

10

battery thing

raulmunteanu has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

for those who complains about the battery life: when i first bought it, the battery ho
ded jus for one-two days and i was very dissapointed ...but i just found the problem: location sevices was enabled that means that the phone was searching all the time my location via internet and asked me if i allow hhim to use internet. it was getting hot...really hot , waiting for me to give him permission to use the internet.but i couldnt see because it didnt vibrate or make a soud...it just lighten up the screen.so if u go to settings-> connectivity disable "use packet data" and "data roaming" and then go to location and disable the location services.now my battery keeps working even after a week while listening to music !

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

raulmunteanu
posted on 20 Feb 2011, 16:08 (Posts: 0; Member since: 20 Feb 2011)

10

GREAT

raulmunteanu has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

brilliant screen ... incredible movie watching experience very good headphones VERY NICEE built quality bada is very easy to use and the music player is just astonishing with all that colours and the cds that are showing off when you rotate the device ...LOVE IT BEST media experience on a phone that i have ever seen

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • screen
  • headphones
  • loudspeaker
  • smooth scrolling and pinch to zoom
  • MP3 player

Cons

  • GPS licence

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

chakaree
posted on 14 Feb 2011, 06:30

10

Samsung Wave S8500

chakaree has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Best value for money :D
The best purchase for the mid-range
fones! :)

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Plays fantastic vids
  • Amazing build
  • Good battery life
  • Attractive Screen
  • Lovely camera
  • Powerful speakers

Cons

  • No cover for the camera and nothing else.

0 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

angel eye
posted on 09 Jan 2011, 11:03

10

aewsome phone

angel eye has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

In terms of hardware, there’s plenty to like about the Wave S8500. Measuring a slender 10.9mm thick, the fascia is taken up by a 3.3-inch WVGA Super AMOLED display, brighter than regular AMOLED, while there’s a 5-megapixel camera with LED flash and autofocus, 720p HD video recording, WiFi b/g/n and Bluetooth 3.0. Otherwise it’s the usual mixture of dualband (900/2100MHz) HSPA, quadband GSM/EDGE, a microSD card slot (augmenting 2GB or 8GB of internal storage, SKU depending), A-GPS and a 3.5mm headphone socket. Keeping things running is Samsung’s own 1GHz Hummingbird processor, and the whole thing feels high-quality with a metallic chassis that’s certainly more smartphone than it is feature-phone.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • everything
  • great camera
  • best video player
  • aewsome battery and display
  • support flash lite

Cons

  • nothing

0 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

aridaman singh
posted on 26 Dec 2010, 10:36

10

samsung wave

aridaman singh has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

excellent, marvellous, value for money ,hell out of a sexy phone n im totally in love with it..................!@!!!!!!just too gud fone to have the super amoled screen can beat any fone in market in world n now bada had many interesting apps n every one likes them its ultimate fone.......................................................................

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

0 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

P. Meshov
posted on 22 Dec 2010, 18:16

10

Awesome Super Amoled touchscreen cell phone!!!

P. Meshov has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Now with 1.2 is nice, but with Bada 2.0 will be pretty good! I hope Bada will improve their apps in near future.


Happy Holidays to everyone !!!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Everything is perfect in this phone!!!

Cons

  • No cover for the camera
  • Single led flash...(xenon is much better)

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

cosmin
posted on 04 Dec 2010, 11:24

9

wave

cosmin has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Please help. I have a problem, if i press and hold the end call button more than 6 or 7 seconds my wave shuts down even when the screen is locked, and that really bothers me because it accidentally turns off in my pocket and when I want to use it it requests the pin code due to the inefficient screen and key lock. What should I do to lock the keys to so I can keep my phone on so people can call me?

Build quality 10/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • biul quality
  • display
  • camera

Cons

  • the os

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ayman
posted on 28 Nov 2010, 14:47

10

sales supervisor

ayman has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

ites very nice mobile in every thing i bought too much mobiles last 10 years but its different screen and sound and all multimedia is very very good and its solid mobile
last 2 month its fall down from me but nothing effectd and the screen anti scratch
its smooth and good design.......realy ilike it

Build quality 10/10 no blastick its materil
Reception 10/10 very good
Call quality 10/10 fast and easy to reach to names
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10 good sound quality
Camera 10/10 better than any camera i used before it
UI speed 10/10 1 gega its good
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 very smooth
Display 10/10 super omeled
Battery 10/10 in normal use reached to 3 days

Pros

  • every thing is exelant

Cons

  • bada os still need some time to compaire with anroid and windows

0 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Kuvaly
posted on 21 Nov 2010, 06:42

10

Awesome phone

Kuvaly has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Very great phone! There are some bad things:
- battery life is too short
- for bada is too small application shop
Good things:
- camera and HD recording is great
- Super AMOLED is really super!
- very simply interface
- great multimedia and music player

Build quality 10/10 Very good construction. Metal body is great.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Very good display
  • Speed UI
  • Very simply UI
  • Great multimedia
  • Great camera
  • Fantastic conectivity

Cons

  • Nothing

Kuvaly alternatives:

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mark gregory
posted on 12 Nov 2010, 23:22

10

SAMSUNG WAVE

mark gregory has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

its the best phone for its price range ... the ui is very smooth and camera is excellent .. i love the SUPER AMOLED display its the best!!!!!! i hope that samsung can develop nice applications for bada because its the only thing stopping this phone from being perfect !!!!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • camera is excellent
  • SUPER AMOLED THE BEST!!!!
  • very sleek design
  • VERY SMOOTH UI !!

Cons

  • THE BADA OS .. nothing else

0 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

peter e
posted on 10 Nov 2010, 14:08

9.6

is it worth it

peter e has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

when i try to update software but it freezes on pc. so the apps arent good most of them you have to pay for but otherwise the camera and internet is really clear and fast

Battery 9/10
Display 10/10
Text input 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Camera 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Internet 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Build quality 10/10

peter e alternatives:

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Tarun
posted on 26 Oct 2010, 07:33

9

Must have a samsung wave.

Tarun has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The Samsung S8500 Wave has a marvelous Super AMOLED touchscreen, a nice camera, solid multimedmedia capabilities and great connectivity.
But not satisfied with the navigation software, its really slow. sometimes it get struck while getting the current location.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Display, out of the world.
  • Camera and multimedia is also really good.
  • Build quality is really good.

Cons

  • Navigation is not great.
  • Very few apps in app store.
  • Number of games is very little.
  • Will be better if the screen size increases to 4'

0 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Forlan
posted on 24 Oct 2010, 11:39

9

Samsung did it again

Forlan has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

For me, the only really dissapointing thing is the number of apps in the samsung apps. Everything else is brilliant. When I see what COULD the Wave handle(Need for Speed shift, Modern Combat or any other game which weight more than 100MB), I think - Why dont they make more? Oh Ive almost forgotten - no document editing without an additional app which costs about 5 pounds. Only viewing with the app which comes already installed.

Build quality 9/10 Big part made from metal
Reception 10/10 Easy to use
Call quality 9/10 Good call quality, but the indicator shows only little signal. This doesnt make the call quality worse, but it bothers.
Internet 9/10 Multi-touch makes browsing a true satisfaction but theres not a full flash support
Multimedia 10/10 Best audio and video experience. Cant imagine a better phone for multimedia
Camera 9/10 Nice camera. ONLY 5mp but if the photo quality could be better, video is excellent for a smartphone
UI speed 10/10 Super smooth, extra responsive. Bada + 1ghz = 10 for UI speed
Everyday usage 10/10 I use it everyday and i cant imagine what could be better (except QWERTY keyboard)
Text input 8/10 Physical qwerty keyboard is way easier to type with, but on screen qwerty isnt that bad either. Only ive used X1 before with a full physical qwerty so maybe thats why wave's text input doesnt satisfy me.
Display 10/10 Super screen. Excellent brightness and saves the battery life well.
Battery 9/10 The battery life is really great for a smartphone but i believe it could have been even better so I save mark 10 for something more revolutional

Pros

  • WVGA Capacitive Super-AMOLED screen(couldnt get better)
  • Nice battery life for a smartphone
  • Super audio quality
  • Camera not bad at all
  • Scratch resistant screen
  • Extra smooth perfomance(maybe since 1.2 it even gets better)
  • Multi touch
  • Best multimedia device
  • Superb price/perfomance
  • Nice internet browsing experience

Cons

  • Too little apps in the SamsungApps
  • 1GB of internal 2GB memory is reserved for emails and sms
  • Sometimes you get a feeling that the screen is TOO bright
  • I would like a 4-way navigation pad
  • Must buy application from the samsung apps to edit office documents
  • Not full flash support (at least on bada 1.0.2)
  • Text input isnt the best after having a phone with physical qwerty

Forlan alternatives:

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

djhardy
posted on 23 Oct 2010, 11:52

9

awesome phone

djhardy has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

samsung will improve its minor cons by a software update

a very capable phone

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • display
  • looks
  • solid phone and good quality
  • best samsung phone ever
  • vfm
  • easy to use UI

Cons

  • no flash player support
  • os not excellent but not bad either

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Jishnu
posted on 18 Oct 2010, 03:05

9.7

This really a very good smart-phone when compared to the price to performance ratio. The camera and video recording feature is fantastic.
Navigation is very precise.(it takes some time to get locked with the satellite. once done it is awesome)
Touch sensitivity is really good. It has got a very responsive touch (next to iPod Touch)

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

Cons

  • It doesn't show the progress when we are transferring some file from a device using bluetooth.
  • Couple of times the mobile restarted when I'm on call/using GPS.
  • The App store is of very little use. There are no quality apps available there.

1 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Rachid
posted on 14 Oct 2010, 08:13

10

exelent phone

2 month has passed since I bought this phone and it has never let me down.
I realy recomend this phone for every body.. I had the nokia N97 befor this one... there is a huge diffrence between the two phone. side to side, the N97 looks like it has come from the stone age. the samsung wave is the best phone i ever used yet

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • great display color and contrast
  • great camera and video
  • very good desing, good grip
  • smooth navigation
  • good speaker
  • great battery ( a lot better than the N97)
  • great touch feel

Cons

  • the only problem that the touch screen is not very accuret and you can use only your finger, no pen can be used

3 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

angad singh
posted on 03 Oct 2010, 03:45

9.3

samsung wave a closer look.

 the samsung wave is a brilliant phone and really cheap for its features.the super amoled display is simply gorgious and only can be matched by the screen of the iphone 4s retina display.the 5 mega snapper is outstanding as it has the advantage of the super amoled display which makes the image more vivid, clearer , sharper, brighter. it has everything latest e.g bluetooth 3.0
wifi bgn etc
i must say thuis phone is way ahead of many expensive phones
i would call it a iphone killer
these are some specifiacations     S
 
 

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • 1 ghz proccessor
  • 5mp camera
  • super amoled didplay
  • capacitive display

Cons

  • os
  • does not support flash player

3 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

badfx
posted on 26 Sep 2010, 13:11

9

best smartphone ever

the samsung wave is one of the best smartphones i ever had .every thing you wish in a smartphone is there.super amoled screen with wvga resolution is amazing.great camera and best hd video recording&playback on a mobile phone.the most advanced 3d gpu for games.easy&very responsive os.full connectivity features.beuatiful&sleek design.only i hope the number of bada apps will expand&the battry last longer

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • super amoled screen with wvga resolution
  • very fast 1ghz cpu
  • best 3d gpu
  • sleek design
  • easy&responsive bada os

Cons

  • not too much bada apps
  • battry life is average

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories