x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Transform User Reviews

6.6 Based on 9 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Reception7.8/10
Display7.6/10
Build quality8.4/10
Text input8.5/10
Everyday usage5/10
UI speed4.4/10
Camera6.5/10
Multimedia6.3/10
Internet5.3/10
Call quality7.3/10
Battery6.6/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

FeRDNYC
posted on 14 Sep 2014, 04:45 (Posts: 1; Member since: 16 Jan 2013)

5

Extremely poor, in practice

FeRDNYC has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

PhoneArena's glowing first-impressions review misses all of the problems with this model (hardly "midrange", but a clearly low-end bargain Android device), which only show up after actually using the phone for a while.

In short, with a pathetic 256M RAM complement and only 512M internal storage, Samsung seriously skimped on the device and rendered it underpowered to the point of near-uselessness. Installing more than one or two apps was a recipe for near-unusability, or even boot hangs/loops that if you were lucky would clear in the space of a half hour or so.

(If you were not so lucky... well, I had to factory-reset my device at least 3 times over the course of its life.) I eventually chose to root it and install a decent recovery only BECAUSE of the problems encountered when running unrooted stock Android 2.2. Rooting and some tuning helped with the stability problems, but they couldn't overcome the device's crippling lack of memory.)

Build quality 7/10
Reception 6/10
Call quality 6/10
Internet 4/10
Multimedia 3/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 3/10
Text input 10/10 The keyboard was, admittedly, excellent. Best thing about the phone. ...Only good thing about the phone.
Display 7/10
Battery 5/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

HotCheese4
posted on 27 Jun 2012, 21:28 (Posts: 3; Member since: 23 Jun 2012)

5

Not a good phone at all.

HotCheese4 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

This phone lacks in processing power, RAM,and battery life. It lags 90% of the time when doing tasks as simple as typing a text. applications almost always quit due to a lack of RAM, and the battery rarely lasts over 6 hours. However, at least the keyboard is good. It is one of the best keyboards on the market. But if you are looking for a smartphone, make this your last option.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 4/10
Internet 4/10
Multimedia 5/10
Camera 4/10
UI speed 3/10
Everyday usage 3/10
Text input 10/10
Display 5/10
Battery 4/10

Pros

  • Keyboard
  • Solid Build

Cons

  • Battery Life
  • Slow Processor
  • Bad Camera
  • Low Resolution Display
  • Little RAM
  • Everything else you can think of

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Ilya
posted on 17 Jul 2011, 17:36

9

A good phone

Ilya has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I have had the phone for almost a year now. It is a good phone that has a solid build. The call quality was no worse than any other phone that i have had. The built-in browser is not the best. But if you use another browser (such as Opera Mini) then it works just fine. The main camera takes great pictures but I haven't been able to use the front facing camera for video chat yet. The slide out keyboard was probably one of the best on a smart phone so far. Overall the Samsung Transform is a good choice for a mid-range Android smartphone. If you don't mind paying $10 extra bucks for 4g then I would recommend the HTC evo shift 4g.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10 Can be slow at times.
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Solid Build
  • Good Picture quality
  • Great External Speaker

Cons

  • Not enough internal storage

Ilya alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

wumberpeb
posted on 17 Jun 2011, 02:03 (Posts: 445; Member since: 14 Mar 2011)

8

Exactly what i thought it would be

wumberpeb has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Great keyboard, front facing camera, new Sprint price of only $50, very solid for a midrange device. This is not a high end phone and does not try to be a mini-Epic 4G, but exceeds where the Optimus S and Sanyo Zio fail. A very nice upgrade from a Moment or Intercept

Build quality 8/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 10/10
Display 7/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • solid features for the price

Cons

  • doesnt nearly feel like an 800mhz chip

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Lanny
posted on 05 Jun 2011, 20:44

5

worse smartphone I ever owned

Lanny has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

a replacement for the samsung moment, what a dissappointment. worked fine for about a week then down hill after that. started dropping calls, won't unlock to answer calls, freeze up constlenty when trying to use any of the apps, check weather, internet, set clock use camers, text, check notifications, email, use phone and enything and everything else I try to use this worthless hand held device for. it also turns off and on all day long. about the only thing good about this phone is the battery but im sure that won't last very long. if you have a choice DON'T BUY THIS PHONE I didn't have a choice it was an insureance replacement that I had no say so. so for this review on this phone it is the worst phone ever and I've owned cell phones since 1987 so thats bad.

Build quality 5/10
Reception 5/10
Call quality 5/10 most of the times i have to make more than two (2) calls to get through
Internet 6/10 not to bad when phone isn't freezing or to slow that it's not worth continuing to try
Multimedia 6/10 same answer as internet
Camera 6/10
UI speed 1/10 phone is really really slow or i recieved a really bad phone
Everyday usage 1/10 phone constantly freezing up or restarting on and off all day
Text input 6/10 not to bad when phone works properly but phone never works properly to realy know
Display 7/10 can only give it a seven (7) looks kind of cheep
Battery 8/10 its not to bad if you don't over use it but if you get a bad phone it wont last long trying to do what the phone was designed to do but wont let you for god knows why

Pros

  • none

Cons

  • trying to use it for why it was designed for but can't
  • you get stuck in a contract with a phone that dosen't work

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

StrumerJohn
posted on 27 May 2011, 03:18 (Posts: 66; Member since: 18 May 2011)

4

Slow, but cheap, but I guess that's why it's slow.

StrumerJohn has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I've had this phone for about 7 months and I have regretted buying it. First of all the built in storage is $!#%. There is hardly any at all. It comes with a 2GB SD Card, which is alright but unless you root the phone (I do not recommend on this horrible, horrible device) you can only move between 10-80% of the application over to the SD Card. The phone has 256 MB of RAM in it, but the system itself (I'm not saying Android is bad, but the phone itself is) uses up around 190-200MB of it. The phone loads up anything that uses data (Browser, Market, etc) extremely slow and it cannot even load FLASH on the browser. The phone sucks and is a very low end device and cannot handle most of the games on the market (Unless you load the games on lower end settings if they have them available). Don't even try to play a 3D game on the phone. As it is it can't even handle NinJump which is a 2D game you can get for free here (https://market.android.com/details?id=com.bfs.ninjump). DO NOT ROOT THIS PHONE. If you root this phone all it will do is make your life miserable. The dumb hardware can barely handle whats already on it, but rooting it justs kills the phone. I rooted mine and it was the biggest mistake I ever made. The phone cannot multi-task (remember low RAM).

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 1/10
Multimedia 3/10
Camera 3/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 4/10
Text input 10/10
Display 8/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • Manufactured by Samsung
  • Excellent Display/Screen
  • QWERTY Slide out keypad
  • Average battery life for a Smartphone
  • Front Facing Camera
  • Android Powered Smart Phone
  • Easy to root ( I don't recommend it though)
  • Cheap

Cons

  • 256 MB RAM
  • "800 Mhz" Processor
  • No Adobe Flash
  • Slow, at almost everything
  • Has Sprint $%#! on it (Like Sprint ID)
  • Cannot handle 3D games and barely any 2D Games
  • If you root the phone it will slow it DOWN instead of Speeding it up
  • On Screen keypad lags a lot, especially Swype
  • Almost no internal storage
  • And almost everything about the phone that isn't a Pros is a Cons.

StrumerJohn alternatives:

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

eric
posted on 19 Mar 2011, 14:07

8

Samsung transform

eric has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I have had this phone for about 4-5 months and overall its an okay phone. the build quality is amazing is great i love it its great. i love the slide out keyboard alltough a dedicated number row would have been nice. the virtual key board closes on me sometimes. it has preety good reception you just need to be in the correct place for it. it would have been great with 4g. the internet sucks it runs sooooo slow on it. it is just horride. of caurse its full html but is so slow. its multimedia si great but if you try and run a video in high quality it gets slower (a lot slower) it has great picture quality. the camera is great on it, it has a lot of cool effects i use it on the high acasion the ui speed is preety good. the android on is sucks you cant have live backgrounds and sprint dosnt have the update to 2.2 its stuck at 2.1 the battery is what i expected i can use it for awhile and charge it for about 4-5 hours to fully charge. alltogehter its a preety good phone but if you dont mind paying another 10 bucks a month on your phone bill for 4g i suggest the epic it is so much better. and you cant store apps on the sd card so you cant have very many apps.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 3/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • slide out keyboard
  • ultra responsive touch screen

Cons

  • very slow internet
  • not 4g
  • not very much internal space

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Ton
posted on 30 Dec 2010, 21:47

6

Disappointment

Ton has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This phone is mediocre, but it could be so much better if it were more powerful. It has all the features, but with increased usage, you can see how quickly it gets bogged down. It reminds me of a PC thats been running with hundreds of programs for several years, it simply feels sluggish. May get better with 2.2 upgrade but doubt it. Get the LG Optimus S instead. Enough said.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 3/10
Everyday usage 3/10
Text input 5/10
Display 8/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • Slide out keyboard is awesome
  • Touch Screen
  • Camera has flash
  • Everything else is standard/mediocre

Cons

  • Size (heavy and bulky)
  • Battery life is average for smartphone
  • 800 Mhz processor doesnt feel like one...
  • ...Glitchy/unresponsive at times
  • Severe lag when doing basic things
  • Text lag is at least 5 seconds, usually 10
  • Freezes often, makes accepting a phone call a headache
  • Sprint IDs are worthless/ glitchy. Can eat up battery. DONT USE!
  • Front-facing camera doesnt work with most (probably all) apps
  • Plenty of other mind numbing software glitches that *should* be taken care of

Ton alternatives:

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Jacob
posted on 11 Oct 2010, 16:55

9.7

Samsung Transform

I've had the opertunity to play with the transform for a couple days because I'm with sprint, Hopefully this gives a good base to start from for further reviews.Samsung is at it again. I'd like to call this the baby Epic. There are a couple of different ways to evaluate this phone. The first is by comparing it with it's predacessors (i.e. Intercept, and Moment). The biggest noticible difference in this phone from the intercept and moment is the front facing camera. The front facing camera on the phone seems to be a new trend amoungst all carriers and a great one as far as I can tell. On a similar note Swype as of last week 10-3 ish approved its' program for android platform phones. This enables along side with QIK tele confroncing and video notes. The biggest downside/advantage depending on where you live and what you want your phone to be able to do, is the fact that through Sprint you don't have to pay the extra 10$ a month premium data charge that you would with the Samsung Epic which is a 4G phone. The Transform is a 3g phone so take it how you will. The processor in the epic is also supperior to the Transforms from the 1Mgh to the 800mhz that is in the transform. Basically the question is whether or not you want to spend the extra 10 dollars a month for 4g where possible.Transform also has the mobile hotspot capabilities, Unlike the epic's 5mp main camera the Transforms has a 3.2MpA step up from the Intercept or the moment the Transform is compatible and empoys...  

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Android Plateform and market
  • Sprint's "My Id"
  • Front Facing camera
  • Indented full Keyboard
  • Screen Diplay
  • Touch screen

Cons

  • Battery Life
  • No 4G capibilites

31 out of 38 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy Accessories

Latest stories