x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Star User Reviews

7.9 Based on 52 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Build quality7.2/10
Text input7.9/10
Everyday usage8.3/10
UI speed7.1/10
Camera6.1/10
Multimedia6.7/10
Internet3.7/10
Call quality8.9/10
Battery9.6/10
Reception7.3/10
Display7.1/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

jonas1999
posted on 08 Mar 2014, 15:15 (Posts: 0; Member since: 08 Mar 2014)

4

total crap

jonas1999 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

i only used it for 3 months before it got really damaged, it is crap and was before smart phones where invented(i think). the screen is resensitive the only good thing is the size of the screen but it ain't great at all.

Build quality 5/10
Reception 1/10
Call quality 5/10
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 4/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 4/10
Text input 4/10
Display 3/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • big screen for it's time
  • good theme
  • have widgets

Cons

  • resensitive
  • sim-card holder gets broken preety quick afer using it a culple of months
  • bad internet connection
  • bad to make phone calls with
  • half-bad camera

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

igor.rogy
posted on 03 Jul 2013, 09:34 (Posts: 0; Member since: 29 Jun 2013)

7

A great phone for its price

igor.rogy has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I have had this phone now for more than a year and I am quite satisfied with it.You can't really expect miracles out of it but it gets the job done well.Battery life is good as well as the call quality and reception.Only things that bother me are camera that lacks flash,weak internet connection,and low resolution video capture.I want to sell it now,and take Nokia Lumia 720 instead.So,if you want to buy a low-range mobile phone,I deaply recomend Samsung galaxy star.It's pretty cheap,has a great call and build quality and if you drop it somewhere (as I have done a million times) it still won't break apart like some new smartphones.

Build quality 7/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 4/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 4/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 9/10
Display 5/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Long lasting battery
  • Great call quality
  • Text input is buttery smooth

Cons

  • 3.2 mpx camera without a flash
  • No 3.5 mm jack
  • Low resolution video capture
  • Lacks Wi-Fi

igor.rogy alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

WWEraw
posted on 10 Jul 2012, 08:23 (Posts: 3; Member since: 30 Jun 2012)

8

simple phone

WWEraw has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

it was my first touchscreen phone and same my first samsung phone.
it was a simple phone and easy to use.
I was excited when I finally got a new phone, and, moreover, it was touch-screen phone. I never used internet with it but i think the internet would not work with this phone.


Build quality 8/10 it is plastic
Reception 7/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 6/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 7/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • small screen

Cons

  • it is not nokia phone

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

ymborrego
posted on 28 Apr 2012, 17:43 (Posts: 2; Member since: 28 Apr 2012)

10

Nice Phone

ymborrego has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I've had this phone for over 1 year and a half and has worked for me. Only Camera Qualilty is not so good. Only outside works fine but in places with low light takes darker pictures that you can hardly see. Of course I want to upgrade to a phone with Wi-Fi which this one doesn't have. Over all is a good simple phone. Call Quaity is clear and speakerphone isn't very loud.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 1/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Call Quality
  • Display is good
  • Battery Life
  • Strong phone

Cons

  • Camera Quality not so good

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

eni
posted on 10 Aug 2011, 20:10

9

if you want a good relation between prize and qualty, this phone is for you

eni has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Ok, this is a very good phone. It's very user friendly, the touchscreen has a nice response, has a great sound quality for music and do/recieve calls, has a good antenna, the battery lasts a lot, it has reasonable screen size (big enough to see but not to big to annoy when you put it in a pocket), accepts microSD cards, pics and videaos ain't that bad (it's pretty decent in fact, for not being a camera).
I use one and it's still working as good as when I bought it 2 years ago.
If you need something else, then need an i-phone, a tablet or an i-pad, but that's another prize.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 7/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Cheap
  • touchscreen responds very well
  • texting is very easy
  • long duration battery
  • decent reception in areas with low signal
  • high call quality

Cons

  • no wi-fi

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Fabio
posted on 26 Mar 2011, 16:26

8

Respect

Fabio has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Respect... a really good phone with nice sound quality and a descent camera which takes pretty cool pictures in the light and it records at 15 fps which takes pretty cool videos too... but in the dark you know it doesn't have flash, the battery is really awesome... playing games is really boring but the overall of the phone is good and you won't find a better phone with that price...

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 7/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Good Battery
  • Descent camera
  • Nice sound quality

Cons

  • Games

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

raulmunteanu
posted on 20 Feb 2011, 16:20 (Posts: 0; Member since: 20 Feb 2011)

8

star

raulmunteanu has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

it is small it fits nice in the hand it feels good battery life is great ...but its still a "cheap" touchscreen phone...touch is kinda bad ...photos are not so good ...but ..yeah ...good as a phone ...its good for people who just want a good, cheap phone with a attractive design ...

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 9/10
Display 8/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • battery
  • phone calls

Cons

  • media
  • camera

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

unknown
posted on 02 Dec 2010, 04:47

7

mediocre phone

unknown has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

this phone is worth its price. i had it till it fell in the toilet but i can get a better phone so i'm kinda happy. i can't believe this is the most popular phone in my class but what can i do. if you want a phone for music don't and i repeat DON'T buy this phone. it's media player is miles better than its music player.

Build quality 5/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 6/10 Media player is better than music player for music
Camera 3/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 7/10
Display 8/10
Battery 10/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Userrr
posted on 29 Nov 2010, 10:02

6

Samsung Star

Userrr has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I have it for a year now and i'm going to buy an iPhone next week. I'll keep the Star for my second SIM but i don't really like it.. Browsing is a nightmare, but when you use MSN, I installed the eBuddy app, and that is very good, handy, and fast.
But its very slow, and it takes ages to load my messages and contacts when I reboot it.
I listen music like the whole day and just load the battery once in 2 days, so i love the battery.
It is not as cool as i thought it was, but yeah.. it'll do..
Good phone for its price.

Build quality 3/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 4/10
Multimedia 2/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10
Display 5/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Battery
  • Sound
  • Connection

Cons

  • Very slow
  • Cheap picture display
  • Very simple phone

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Bay
posted on 27 Aug 2010, 08:02

5.7

I've received a Samsung Star as a gift last year after being a Nokia person for a long time. 

The music is nice, the screen is wide and colorful and the three screens to navigate through is a nice touch, especially that you may choose to add the gadgets you want to each screen. The size of the cell phone is comfortable, and the design of it is neat. 

Otherwise, It wasn't impressive.  The system was slow to search for names, or to open speed dial or even to go through any file in the cellphone.
The back cover was always slipping off. The touch screen was not that sensitive when writing a message and when you need to correct something in the middle, I've heard that the updated version has a pen which may solve this problem.

It was hard to search for a name to call if you don't know the first letter of the first name (or last name) depending on your lists. Also, when you need to write a message to someone who has called, you may do that by searching through the recent received call list but not after entering the message area and trying to find the number from there.

Sending a business card, i.e. the number with the name, is not applicable.  Also, copying a number and sending it via a message is not applicable too.

If you need to call a place where you're requested to press a number for example, the time it takes to unlock the screen and go to the dialing pad is annoying.

As a whole, I will not do this mistake of choosing a cellphone that is not Smart!!

 

Design 8/10
Features 6/10
Performance 3/10

Pros

  • Nice design
  • Good Music
  • Nice screens
  • Agreeable gadgets

Cons

  • Slow system
  • Many limitations

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

HappyGoLucky
posted on 14 Aug 2010, 21:24

10

Samsung Star

 A very impressive phone to be reviewed, it's price is really cheap. Bought this phone after deciding to stop using my Samsung OmniaPro B7610. To actually compare this two phone for it's basic features, paying a non contract Star is really worth. Good about this phone: -Built in Stylus-Large 3" screen,Virtual Qwerty-Responsive and fast Touchscreen -Long Lasting Battery Cons i do not really like:-Lack 3G, slow internet-No 3.5mm Earphone jack-Samsung cable port not MicroUSB port -Camera should Auto-Focus (Wasted)

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

MYOB
posted on 09 Aug 2010, 01:11

10

Good phone Good price

I am a good samsung touch fan and cherish my OmniaHD and Omnia2 well.. do not want to loose them when i am out for sport or Oversea so i purchased this phone for safer use.

impressive phone with impressive look and features.
Call and reception is perfect, no problem at all
Lasting battery even when u listen to songs
Average Camera but lacks Auto focus and Flash

Can't find any problem from this phone for it's price, happy with it! 

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • good looking
  • basic function all available

Cons

  • Camera should have Auto Focus
  • 3.5mm jack

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

LIMLAOPEH
posted on 09 Aug 2010, 01:03

10

Good phone

People who make review about the Star should actually rate it in its price range. This a good phone and i don't find it bad at all. For it's price u can get alot of features like 3" screen, Virtual Qwerty and 3.2 mega pixel camera.

Mature looking design and good grip. The battery isnt as bad as phonearena had stated in their review.
Greatly Recommended Phone!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Maria17tiida
posted on 08 Aug 2010, 21:08 (Posts: 0; Member since: 24 Mar 2010)

9

Samsung Star GT-S5230

 So i've bought dis fone...in March 2010! And i must say its a very good fone! Altho it seriously lacks 3G and WIFI! but its a really decent fone! At 1st i didnt like it bcuz i culdnt download software on it....such as games, apps etc! But afta sum researchin i found out i had 2 update my firmware! which is quite simple!! To update yur firmware click here:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sQDXZPvLB_g&feature=relatedJust follow the link above!! Its pretty straight forward! D camera is Gud not gr8 but good.....d music is loud! I Love d video tho...wen downloaded from d net..d quality is very gud....like lookin at a music video on a computer!! Textin is easy (with practice) 2 familiarize with d keys!! I love d colors its very bright an eye catchin. I do recommed this fone..NOT d LG Cookie cuz i dont tink u can out software on it! If yur into dat sorta ting. But i do recommend this fone. Gud features,quality,games!But if u really want wifi.....buy d WIFI version 2 it dats d only difference well d price is a lil steeper but it s worth it!

Design 10/10
Features 7/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Features

Cons

  • WIFI and 3G

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 07 Jul 2010, 06:23

10

Great phone

It is the best phone I have ever used, its easy and it has very good battery. Without a memory stick I found it had quite good memory as well.Texting is fast and easy. When you are calling someone you can clearly hear them through the phone. The camera has a fantastic display. Its 3.2

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Camera
  • Easy to use.
  • Sound
  • Battery
  • Connectivity

Cons

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Pedro
posted on 21 Jun 2010, 10:34

7

 The worst thing is the touchscreen that is too bad comparing with iPhone(that has a capacitive touchscreen). And it is too slow...
But I`ve never seen better battery, use to last more than a week.                                                   

Design 9/10
Features 7/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

  • Battery, PDF reader, Camera.

Cons

  • Too slow, no WI-FI, no 3G and the resistive touchscreen is worse than bottons.

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

simpleleong
posted on 08 Jun 2010, 08:23 (Posts: 14; Member since: 08 Jun 2010)

8.3

Simple but good Touchscreen phone

After trying lots of samsung touchscreen phones, which you can find most of them having good features, performance and last very long if you did take good care of them preventing them from dropping down a height. In simpler samsung touch screen models, the Samsung Star is a impressive one. For a touch screen phone with a medium range of price and you just wanna call,sms,listen to song and take satisfying picture if you dont really care about super clear pictures. This is truly a good phone for you. - Large and wide screen. Haves a great view- The price is reasonable for a phone with quite a good perfomance and features.- The touchscreen is really easy to use compared to other model like Jet,Marvel, etc. (Personal feeling)- Recommended phone for people who only sms and call but wants to have a touchscreen phone. - Good camera function, 3.2 megapixel w/o auto focus. But camera is fast and take satisfying pictures.- No software problem. No lag or sudden restart. This can be garanteed for Star.  (For those who find your star with problem, its possibly because u did not handle your star with enough care)But this isnt a phone for you if you are looking for more features for a midium budget. (You can consider Lindy)- Lacks WiFi. (Although Star Wifi is out but i am really dissapointed because Star WiFi isnt available in Singapore)- Lacks 3G ( Choose Preston, price are around the same )-...  

Design 9/10
Features 7/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • reasonable price for its feature and performance

Cons

  • lacks 3G and WiFi

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 05 Jun 2010, 11:40

7

Phone is decent. Does what you want it to but after a while it gets pretty boring. For it's price, the phone would be good for someone who maybe doesn't use a lot of tech and just wants it for basic things like making calls and sending messages. But for me it doesn't have enough features to make it a great phone. For example, mine came with only a few demo games and the main internet is really slow with there being no wifi, so if you use the internet a lot i would recommend downloading opera mini browser (free).I also have an issue with email. The phone says it supports email sending and receiving, yet I have not been able to do this using imap with gmail. The only thing that works is pop3 which means if you want to check your email it downloads every single one and doesn't give you notifications when you get new mail.

Design 8/10
Features 5/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • - Easy to use
  • - Cheap
  • - Decent touchscreen

Cons

  • - Not enough features
  • - Not enough memory
  • - No flash on camera
  • - Supposed to be able to upload pics to sites but is very slow and half the time it fails.

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Abid
posted on 02 May 2010, 07:15

8.3

Star is Star

Its a gr8 phone, messaging is very fast, battery is gr8
very cool phone, i love my phone :)
I have 2 sims, i daily off it and change the sim almost 3 times and i am doing this from 3 months bt it
does not effect any problem in STAR, gr phone

Design 9/10
Features 7/10
Performance 9/10

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Maria17tiida
posted on 24 Mar 2010, 10:57 (Posts: 0; Member since: 24 Mar 2010)

9

Well people your reviews have been very helpful..i must say....regrettably i have 2 buy a new phone cuz my 4yr old cousin brought my Sony ericsson z550a in d beach water 4 me..cuz it rang....how ironic....anyway....so i'm tryin 2 make up my mind if 2 buy d LG Cookie(Kp500) Or Samsung Star(S5230).....an from d reviews i have read..on both phones..d Lg seems 2 have alot of twitches....compared 2  samsung star...so i guess i'm gonna have 2 go with d star...an when i do purchase i'd give my "experienced review" on how it works......Wish ME LUCK.......

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 10/10

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Manas Sharma
posted on 21 Mar 2010, 03:17

5.7

An average phone..

I'm using it for more than 4 months and now getting the feeling that its not as much cool phone that I thought about, Samsung should think of updating its software. Even orkut is not supported by its browser, becomes slower when you use it in hurry. Its body doesn't seems to be durable

Design 7/10
Features 5/10
Performance 5/10

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

paolo
posted on 15 Mar 2010, 19:17

8

Samsung star.

I have the samsung star now for almost 3 months. I agree with the others. The battery life of the star here in The Philippines lasts for Almost 5 days. And Its user friendly. Suitable for people who Wants to have the feel of touch screen for less price and doesnt want to have head ache turning an application off because of interface for pros only. Its a great thing that samsung is reaching out for those people who wants to experience  a good phone without the guilt of the expensive price of phone. Besides Smaung aims for fun. = )

Design 8/10
Features 7/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Batter time
  • Music Quality
  • Up to 8Gb

Cons

  • It gets slow when you try to use another application while the other is working --
  • Theres no option to use Several applications. You have to close the first one before you can start another. Hope they can work it out.

14 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Paola00
posted on 05 Mar 2010, 20:02

10

Awesome!!!!!!!!

I love my new phone, for those who say it does not resemble the iphone, of course not because it is an economical cell for those who like touch technology, however, is a great phone, has very good sound, the screen Touch is pretty good, for those who speak on camera, to me, is very good compared to other phones, in addition, if you want professional photos for this is that digital cameras are, I quickly logged on to my favorite pages as FB , Youtube, MSN, check my mail, I had no problems with the call, bone, do not drop calls and the other person listens very well and I also listen to them, I have music, videos and even entire movies that are excellent, about the games, is a bit hard to install but since I do not play much in the cell that does not bother me ... If you compare it to the iphone clear that the star will lose out as they are not in the same category, but for the price is excellent.........

PS: I leave an example of the camera for those who say it is very bad, was taken on a cloudy day across the street ......

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

12 out of 48 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Yuri
posted on 05 Feb 2010, 04:43

7.7

S5230

I've sold my Samsung i710 (OS - Windows Mobile 6.0) and bought Samsung Star instead. It's really very nice. I don't like the way how the midlets are realized. When I want to move the screen and touch a midlet it moves instead of the screen... So, Samsung should increase the time of holding a midlet before one can move it; eg. like it's realized in IPone or some apps for WM. Moreover, it would be better if there were a possibility to hide pseudo-buttons displaying always when running Java's. They are not necessary when reading a book. The rest is more than nice.

Design 9/10
Features 5/10
Performance 9/10

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

pavankumar
posted on 29 Jan 2010, 06:26

6

samsung start 3g speaker problem

one month before i bought this star 3g,now i found that speaker probelm is there.
whenever i try to talk by using speaker ON others are unable to hear my voice,but i can hear them.
samething when i talk with others in normal way no problem in either side.

only when i use speaker ON during call others not able to hear me.....what kind of problem is this..what do i do?

Design 6/10
Features 6/10
Performance 6/10

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories