x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Solstice SGH-A887 User Reviews

7.2 Based on 10 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed6.5/10
Camera6/10
Multimedia7.5/10
Internet5/10
Call quality9/10
Battery8.5/10
Reception9/10
Display8.5/10
Build quality8.5/10
Text input5.5/10
Everyday usage8/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

DEDE
posted on 29 Nov 2010, 23:44

7

pretty cool

DEDE has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I dont know how people drop it so hard for it to break... I dropped it a couple of times but it didnt cause any major damage. Its an okay type of phone not to good but not to bad either. It was my first touch phone so I was really exited. I think the cons whould be that it has only one good game on it and the rest suck. ALso the 2 mega pixel camera isnt all that great either. It is small and light weight that I love. Great phone for a gift or something. ooh and something else the memory sucks...you cant have a lot of songs and pictures on it. Its either one or the other.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 2/10 Dont use
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 6/10
Display 8/10
Battery 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Ki
posted on 24 Oct 2010, 19:06

8

Pretty good

Ki has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Texting is kinda hard, it will sometimes give you the wrong letter. Battery is long, mine lasts about a week

Build quality 8/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 5/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 16 Apr 2010, 19:29

10

 This phone is my first phone and its great!I definitely recommend it because it's very thin and the touch screen is very responsive.  Even though the camera quality could be a little bit better, it still takes great photos.  I use this as an MP3 player too!.  It's Bluetooth and Internet are very fast.  Also, it has a tilt sensor, so if you flip the phone upside down during a call on speaker, it puts the phone on mute (so that if you say something, the other person can't hear it) and if you flip it upside down during a call or an alarm, it silences it.  If this is your first, second, or last phone, this phone is a must!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • 2 microphones
  • tilt sensor
  • Great touchscreen
  • responsive and fast
  • good bars everywhere (in the city)
  • slim & light
  • many useful features
  • ... and more!

Cons

  • 2 Mega pixel camera (not 3)
  • speaker could be louder (but loud enough)
  • ... and that's about it...

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Chris elias
posted on 19 Mar 2010, 19:54

8.3

i thought it is a very good phone. i recently changed from a lg ce110 and it was a peice o ***. but overall, if i would give the camera a rating out of 10, i would give it a 7.5. it has a good internet browsing experience. i like it!! the only problem with it is that it is made of cheap plastic and could break easily. but other than that. it is a very good phone!

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • like the internet and camera.

Cons

  • dont like the cheap plastic that its made of.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 06 Mar 2010, 16:46

9.7

I upgraded from a Palm Centro. Couldn't get a blackberry because of all the extra money each month so I got this cute little thing. I love it. Its portable, definetly  not bulky. The internet browsing is MUCH better than my palm. At first I didn't want a phone that was all touchscreen but it's actually not bad at all. This phone is very simple to use and takes great pics, too! I don't know about everyone else that reviewed but I get really good signal on this phone.

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Rackman2k
posted on 04 Jan 2010, 05:14

10

Great Phone

I got this phone 12-31-09 and from day one i have no problems. my wife even got one and she use to hate touch screens. I have noticed the speakerphone is a little low volume but not bad enough to complain. The internet is fast and camera great. i love the video. the screen is very responsive. i really like the widgets which gives me quick access to everything i need and want. the battery life is great i have used it all day listening to music and talking, texting and surfing the web and it has got to be the battery charge i have ever had. Its a very light weight phone and feels good in your hand. Also i found that if you store music on it and have a normal bluetooth headset (not the stereo ones) you can play music through it which is great at work or waiting somewhere like the repair shop. I would recomend this phone to anyone wanting to get into the touch screen age.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • internet
  • touch screen
  • camera
  • battery life
  • user friendly
  • feel in hand
  • overall build

Cons

  • speakerphone alittle low but not bad
  • the biggest con would be that AT&T cant keep enough in stock i had to wait for a shippment cause they sold out.

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 21 Nov 2009, 21:14

4.3

this phone has got to be the worst phone ever. if your thinking about it, dont! its a bad phone. very cheap, it breaks easily, the battery dies quickly, the touchscreen isnt very responsive, its just an overall HORRIBLE phone! the battery doesnt even last half a day. it just dies, it doesnt give muvh of a warning. the speaker isnt loud, and the camera is awfullllllll!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Design 2/10
Features 8/10
Performance 3/10

Pros

  • i cant find anything good to say about this phone. it doesnt even look good!!!!!

Cons

  • very cheap
  • not durrable
  • bad signal everywhere
  • bad touchscreen
  • speaker isnt good, not loud at all
  • camera and video awful
  • memory card takes forever to load

1 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 21 Nov 2009, 21:07

1

i hate this phone! i am very disappointed in it! its the worst phone ever! DO NOT get one! it freezes up way to much! its the same thing as the lg vu.....just samsung makes it. i am very disappointed. i am on my 5th warranty replacement because it is so bad. the touchscreen kept going out and it breaks realy easily!!!!! i went out and bought a samsung a177 at radioshack for 80 bucks. they have them at target too for the same price. it is waaaayyyyyy better than this stupid phone. GET ONE!

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • NOTHING!!!!

Cons

  • EVERYTHING!!!!!!

1 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Matt3107
posted on 26 Sep 2009, 13:56

9

Not a bad phone

I use this phone as my personal phone when away from my work provided iphone 3G. This offers the same core funtions as my iphone 3G when I don't want to carry my iphone around. This is a very user friendly phone. Making calls, messaging, internet, and email very easy to access. The browser isnt spectacular, but I can access Facebook and my bank account so thats a win for me! Its not that durable if you drop it but what do expect from a phone that is this inexpensive. People don't want to pay anything for phones but they want the phone to do everything and last forever. Get over it. You want a durable phone spend more money on your phone like the Rugby which has all the same features except touch screen and slightly lower res camera. This phone is excellent for everyday use. It's also the perfect size in your hand.

Design 10/10
Features 7/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Responsive touch screen
  • Good battery life
  • Lightwieght
  • Features/price

Cons

  • Downgrade from 3.0 to 2.0mp camera from previous model.
  • Speakerphone audio

20 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

james hinders
posted on 16 Aug 2009, 11:23

4.3

samsung solstice

When i first bought the phone i was pretty excited till i opened it, then used it. Upon first turning it on it makes a loud screeching noise that is disturbing. Further more it is made of very cheap and easily destructable plastic ( i dropped it once, the cover came off.) It's an ok phone if it's your first one or if your very careful the only good thing about it is that you can get on the internet to check email, however, when you get on the internet the first thing is that it is very unresponsive and unreliable. Which comes to my conclusion, if your looking for a safe reliable phone, i'd recommend you shouldnt pick this phone, but on the bright side, the internet was fast, but as i said, the internet isnt very reliable, 
Thanks,  -James.

Design 6/10
Features 4/10
Performance 3/10

Pros

  • Touch screen.
  • Internet is fast.

Cons

  • Well basically, that entire paragraph.

9 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy Accessories

Latest stories