x PhoneArena is looking for new authors in New York! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung SPH-M520 User Reviews

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Greg K
posted on 17 Dec 2009, 12:23

4

Bad Choice

when first buying this phone, I thought it was great.  I loved it for the first month until I started getting the white screen of death.  After going through hell with samsung to have it repaired, two months later and 2 trips to Texas, I had it back and working again.  Less than 6 months later I started having problems again.  Then once again 2 months later after receiving a reconditioned phone.  I am currently on my fourth fix/reconditioned model and expecting to be in need of a fifth soon, or switching to something else ( will more likely  do this to avoid problems in the future). My girlfriend is also on her third phone of this model in less than 8 months.  I have yet to meet a person with this phone who hasn't had problems.The ribbon cable in this phone is not durable enough to hold up for an entire length of a 2 year contract.Worst part is that Samsung refuses that they have a problem and tries their hardest to not help you.  Makes the whole process even worse.  I am extremely sick of them not standing behind this phone and I will do my best to never buy from them again.

Design 6/10
Features 5/10
Performance 1/10

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Kelsey
posted on 11 Jul 2009, 22:43

6.7

I like it.

I've had this phone for a year. I like it. I love the way it looks and the sliding design. It's very sturdy. I've dropped it several times and you can't tell at all. It picks up signal pretty well too (much better than my previous phone). It has it's cons though too. It freezes up quite a bit and the back is almost impossible to get off so I can't even take the battery out to unfreeze it. I just have to wait until it unfreezes, which doesn't usually take more than a minute or two. The texting is not convenient at all. You can't do multiple page texts, which is super annoying. Also, if you answer calls with the speakerphone button, it's silent. You can't hear the person who called, but they can hear you. So, you have to call them back. Overall though, I love the phone and I would recommend it.

Design 9/10
Features 6/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

  • design
  • appearance
  • very sturdy
  • good signal

Cons

  • freezes up
  • can't do multiple page texts
  • speakerphone glitch

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Heidi
posted on 27 May 2009, 09:09

6.7

Good phone

I bought this in June 2008 to replace my m330 ( i think that was the name) that fell apart. So I had this for a year. It is extremely sturdy. I have dropped it plenty and it still looks and worksd like new. the tv feature works rather well. I seem to have problems hearing and understanding anyone that calls me from a different network but i do not know if thats just my reception or the phone itself. ONE THING I HATE........NO HEADPHONE JACK! You have to use an adabter and buy a compatable head set to listen to music and use the charging hole to plug the headphone adapter in to listen to music. A BIG PAIN IN THE ASS. Let me tell you because of that you can not listen to music and charge the phone at the same time, so basically i only get an hour of music before the battery drains and i have to recharge. I want a phone that has a seperate jack so i can have it in the charger and listen to music at the same time.

Design 8/10
Features 6/10
Performance 6/10

Pros

  • Sharp looking, good TV play

Cons

  • can not charge and listen to music at the same time, you have to have an adapter and a compatable headset to listen to music. pain

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

anonymous #2
posted on 03 May 2009, 11:56

6

Stupid Phone

The phone is sleek, silver, and takes better pics than some of the other sprint phones. great bargain right? CORRECT! until you get the AWESOME white screen of death! then the phone is just a total pain. I don't advise getting it
people ALWAYS drop their phone at one time or another, so a phone SHOULD be made to handle a little rough handleing. it makes no sense that a phone would stop working after a minor fall. mine stopped working before i even dropped it.

Design 8/10
Features 7/10
Performance 3/10

Pros

  • sleek design
  • easy to use

Cons

  • white screen of death
  • phone started freezing at around 3 months

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

attsucks
posted on 02 Apr 2009, 20:02 (Posts: 139; Member since: 24 Mar 2009)

10

I had this phone from April 2008 to 0ctober 2008. Not one problem out of it at all it was an amazing phone never dropped it or anything. I traded my fried the phone for his ipod touch. He has dropped it on concrete multiple times gotten it wet on purpose. This phone is awesome.   I would recommend it to anyone. Also the highnote which is what i have now had it since october.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Everything about it.

Cons

  • Nothing.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 26 Mar 2009, 00:32

4.7

Awesome phone, when it works. Replaced it 7 times in 8 months, finally got a free highnote from Sprint for the hassel.

Design 6/10
Features 6/10
Performance 2/10

Pros

  • Visually pleasing. Light weight. Adequate mp3.

Cons

  • Screen is unstable and stops working after a few months.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 20 Feb 2009, 14:58

5.3

My blank screen phone

 Hey, there is a lot of ups and downs with this phone here. This phone has been replaced my everyone I know. Okay I got advice from a friend and she said to take the battery out for 10 minutes then put it in. I finally got a free phone from sprint of my choice for free because all my trouble! HOW COOL!?! My advice and almost everyone who has put of a review take our advice don't get it. Not worth the headache!

Design 10/10
Features 5/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • Catches my friends eyes
  • Good call features
  • Texting is okay
  • All my friends want it
  • Makes you feel great inside to have a cool phone!!

Cons

  • My screen goes blank and white.
  • Texting predictions aren't the greatest
  • When I slide it up it gets stuck in the middle
  • I had to get it replaced 2 times this year
  • What is up with the camera? Only 1.3????

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 18 Feb 2009, 17:26

4.7

probably the worst phone ever, seriously ive had it since october ive had to replace it 3 times ... for the same reason the screen goes complretely blank and it stops working not to mention it cuts off a lot

Design 2/10
Features 6/10
Performance 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

cnote8710
posted on 11 Feb 2009, 15:45

7.7

Good phone

This is a pretty nice phone. I like the stylish silver/chrome shiney front. Always catches people's eyes. Good set of features for the average user. Speakerphone could be slightly louder considering it has an mp3 player inside of it. However, considering how light the phone is (pretty light), it gives decent amound of sound. Camera could be slightly better, 2mp perhaps. Good solid phone however. Defenitly worth the price.

Design 8/10
Features 7/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Stylish phone. Feels pretty sturdy for how light it is. Nice display

Cons

  • Camera could be better, Charger and headphone jack use the same slot.

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Christy
posted on 17 Jan 2009, 16:32

5

Ignore button cuts off callers

Sprint gave me this phone (they offered me no choices) to replace my older, broken Razr two weeks ago, and it has problems.  The biggest is that when someone calls me, I can rarely get it out of my holster without bumping the Ignore button and disconnecting the call; at least, I think that's what's cutting them off.  The call doesn't show up in the Missed or Recent Calls lists, either, so I don't even know who was calling me until they call back.  There is no problem receiving a call if the phone is just sitting on the technician's table.  The other problem is that sometimes the person I have called says they can't understand me, that I sound like the adult in a Peanuts cartoon--wah, wah.  That's probably a problem with this specific phone; the other problem is a design flaw.  My husband's samsung sphm540zks has a similar flaw, in that the unlock buttons are not sheltered, so the phone is always accidentally unlocked.

Design 1/10
Features 8/10
Performance 6/10

Pros

  • photos can be saved automatically to the sd card for easy transfer to your computer

Cons

  • Ignore button cannot be sheltered from accidental activation, nor can it be disabled or reprogrammed. What's the point of a phone if you hang up on everyone who calls?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

KSGirl
posted on 12 Dec 2008, 09:31

5

not sure if i did something but the phone is not good

I have had this phone for about 6 months maybe at the most and all of the sudden the speaker phone doesnt work and the phone doesn't ring anymore. It only vibrates even when it is set to ring.

Design 7/10
Features 5/10
Performance 3/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ballroom15
posted on 05 Dec 2008, 22:06

2.7

This think's messed

well i've had my cell for about 6-7 months and its been working good till about two weeks ago when i started to get the white screen when i would get text messages and phone calls and even sometimes it would even do it when i would slide it up and now the worst problem is my speaker doesn't work so to talk on the phone it has to be on speaker phone or else it doesn't work.  If you ask me i wouldn't get this phone after all the problems i've had.

Design 3/10
Features 4/10
Performance 1/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

shanem
posted on 17 Nov 2008, 08:25

10

best phone i have ever had. it looks good and has great features and service

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mbsjam1985
posted on 16 Nov 2008, 02:26

4.7

my review

i had this phone for about three days and it gave me nothing but a headache, literally. im not sure if it was the screen or the fact that you cant turn off the predictive text which trys to predict the next work you are going to text no matter what mode you are in based on previous word combinations even if youve only used them once, trust me its beyond annoying the keypad isnt the greatest the battery life isnt good either the camera is good and the internet speed is fast, and the design is very good looking, but if you want a phone for the same price (on sale now anyways) get the samsung rant. its got way better features

Design 8/10
Features 2/10
Performance 4/10

Pros

  • stylish, fast, lightweight, compact

Cons

  • cant turn off predictive text or next word predictions, hard to text, very short battery life, lacks many common features (tip calculator, erase all feature for pix messaging, etc)

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 28 Oct 2008, 15:59

7.3

Okay

The phone is great by itself, but the service is not at their best. The phone is easy to slide but is easy to smudge. When I open the music store it closes! And I had tons of song son the phone and it wont work. Here's the upside...........

Easy to slide
good pictures
good texting
easy to navigate
cool looking
good calling features

 I was going to get the Samsumg Highnote but I wasn't going to wait that long. My main focus is MUSIC!!!! I'm a musician. Sprint just needs to get their act together because the music is way expensive! Other than that keep going Sprint and Samsung. 

Design 7/10
Features 9/10
Performance 6/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

cellphone man
posted on 18 Jul 2008, 14:14

7.8

Love it!

I just got my phone the week it came out, and I love it! I Like the sprint theme, the ring tones and the fact that it has web. The only thing I didn't like was the cell quality. It is easy to slide open and the micro S.D. was in a easy to find section. This is the best sprint phone I've ever had!

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 6/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

rach
posted on 02 Jul 2008, 10:46

8.2

Ms.

I think that this phone is a pretty nice phone. I have only had it for a short time but so far i love the design. I think that although samsung has come out with many of these slider phones it is one of my favorites. (although i sometimes get distracted and excessively slide it back and forth) I live in an area where i normally don't get the greatest signal anyway but this phone gets excellent service and i am able to hear people very clearly. I think that the phonebook capacity could be a tad bit larger because it counts each different phonenumber as a different entry and there are only 500. Unfortunately, I have alot more friends than that. I love the buttons and think that they are an excellent style for texting. And i love the predictive text and I am not sure why. I overall love this phone so far and hope that I continue to have good experiences with this phone.

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 9/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Paul Taylor
posted on 30 May 2008, 15:51

8.6

Samsung M520

Used this phone for over two weeks now. Have had no problems, only satisfaction at the features and reception it offers.
Where my old phone failed to get any bars, the M520 gets 1 to 3 bars consistently and in over-cast situations.
Within 15 minutes of my arrival home with it, I was able to upload my favorite mp3's for use as ringers by simply using internet cellphone websites...no problems no hassles at all. I've now ordered a USB cable with driver and have downloaded free software for using the USB port on the phone rather than moving files through email...if it works as smoothly as sending the files and data in email I will be a very happy camper.
By the way, the sound and picture quality is excellent (for a phone)...it rivals some of my older cameras and mp3 players...but this isn't what the phone was purchased for...regarding reception, clarity, ease of use, and portability it does what a phone is supposed to do and does it very well for a very low price.

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 9/10

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Mike
posted on 24 May 2008, 23:11

8

Thumbs up

I've been using this phone for 2 months now and its a keeper. Feels solid, slider works nicely. Bright display. I've used it all around New England and in the Mountain West states with good reception. Sprint's Live Search and On Demand features are good. I installed Opera mini and Google maps which went smoothly. I don't care about the camera, ring tones, texting or Sprint TV. Now if some geek out there can figure how to tether this phone (without using Sprint PAM) it will be perfect.

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 5/10
Value for money 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

John Lord
posted on 23 May 2008, 21:38

8

Good phone but a little costly

It's a very well designed phone with great features such as video playback. I played back a two-hour movie on it from sd card and the battery bar hadn't dropped any yet. Also it auto-locks the buttons when the slider is down. However i think you are paying for style a little. My wife's Rumour has the exact same features plus an extra full querty keyboard and more messaging features, for about $50 less. Also you evidently can't use your own music files as ringtones. You can get around this by using a converter to convert them to VIDEO format, because you can assign those to ringers. But annoying you don't have the same option for alert tones.

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 5/10

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Jennifer
posted on 09 Apr 2008, 17:57

1.2

not worth the headache

I got this phone recently and had nothing but issues and errors. Sprint has not been helpful . To use this phone need to live in an area with 5 bars, anything less and errors happen when trying to go to content (ie games, ringers and screensavers). After owning this phone for 3 days, called tech support twice (1 hr + each), taken to store twice (exchanged it once been told nothing wrong with phone, but mybe my location but last worked perfect 2 yrs). So now I am going back to the store (30 min drive one way) and make them take the phone back. I am going back to my old phone, less of a headache.

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Sound Quality 2/10
Signal Strength 1/10
Value for money 1/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Jerome
posted on 06 Mar 2008, 14:02

8.8

It is an attractive-looking phone.

I like this phone.

The camera could be a 2 M Pixel instead, but my ability to take pictures is not a high priority.

I am still discovering how the Web, the On Demand, the My Content and the Media Player are interconnected.

Over all, I like the way the screen display looks and a appreciate the attractive menu display.

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

wHitt
posted on 08 Oct 2007, 22:08

7.6

it's a good phone

this phone is sleek thin and shiny, it's an great looking design with few flaws, sadly those are the things that we notice the most.

The predictive "word" texting was NOT a good idea. It's just screws up the look of you texts. Ultimately the texting input is the biggest flaw in this phone. when you go to sut in numbers it back spaces and puts them up against the last word you entered.

camera is great
contacts is set up well

The calendar is not easy to use, you can't scroll through single days, and when you set a schedual to -NO ALARM- an alarm goes off at the schedualed time, and the screen says -NO ALARM- That bothers me.

Menu options are easy to understand
file sharing with the micro SD is simle, and versitale

it's a good phone

Design 8/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 9/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Marlisa Maybin
posted on 07 Aug 2007, 00:44

7.8

I'm liking it

I purchased the m520 the day it came out, about a month ago. I was renewing my contract and was eligible to get a new phone and when I first saw it I said "ooh". I t looks nice and overall I like it but I haven't been able to get stereo headphones (not bluetooth) for it. Apparently you need an adaptor which I'm still trying to find. It comes w/ micro sd slot but no card so I bought a 2gb at walmart and I've used it to download music and transfer pictuces. If you get this phone you should definitely get a case for it.

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 7/10

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories