x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung SGH-C417 User Reviews

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Roxane
posted on 30 Apr 2008, 09:01

1

Dropping Calls

I have a Samsung SGH-C417. It drops calls and sometimes does not connect. I've upgraded my priority service with my service provider but I am still receiving dropped calls. My husband has a Sony Ericisson and uses his phone in the same locations. He does not get any dropped calls. THIS PHONE SUCKS!

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Sound Quality 1/10
Signal Strength 1/10
Value for money 1/10

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

agnes
posted on 30 Dec 2007, 19:30

1

cheap

this phone has nothing but issues.it always powers off dropps about every call and has an issue with diconnected bluetooth and it always has to be reset.also has issues with saying insert sim when it is in ther tried another sim card and had the same issue i have been through three of these phones.finally got sick of and and purchased a new phone we will see how the new one works.

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Sound Quality 1/10
Signal Strength 1/10
Value for money 1/10

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Jeff
posted on 18 Sep 2007, 12:34

7

Reviewers are misinformed

You cannot possibly begin to understand how ill mannered and oh so ignorant many of your reviews read! Yes there are some excellent reviews to be read here, but most are laughable.
Let's start with "dropped phone calls" THIS IS YOUR SERVICE PROVIDER'S PROBLEM NOT THE PHONE!
next the Bluetooth problem BE SURE OF WHAT YOU ARE BUYING, THIS IS BLUETOOTH 1.0 NOT 2.0
and last the expectations you people have for a phone is out of this world.
This is a phone, the extras you expect for this price is just crazy! Okay my opinion on the phone? Excellent low res. camera (wish it was high res of course) Bluetooth works perfectly (wish it was 2.0 of course) Crisp clear calls as long as you get your ear in the correct position. (can be hard to do) So for free I'm happy.

Design 7/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 4/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 8/10

0 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Martin Dundas Jr.
posted on 10 Sep 2007, 05:04

4.2

Intentional, misleading product.

My friend bought this phone today. She was excited about getting a phone with "Bluetooth".

After reading the prior reviews, everything is true about the poor features of the phone. In this time of photo/video/mp3/data transfers at coffee shops, malls, or wherever you can think; wireless connectivity is the norm. A good paying person would want at least the standard of file transferring, via Bluetooth, on their new telephone. For some reason the company selling the phone did not want the customer to use the phone, for other than phone calls?

Sincerely

Martin

Design 4/10
Features 1/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 3/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

SGO
posted on 12 Jul 2007, 14:43

4.8

The Bad outweighs the Good in my opinion

The outside phone number display is very small for my taste or needs.
Also, clarity is frequently an issue when sending or recieving a call. The
microphone is extremely small and doesn't seem to be adequate to transmit your voice at times. I have alot of people tell me they can't hear
me very well even when I intentionally raise my voice and speak directly into the microphone. The camera button is in a really poor location. Frequently when I pick up the phone, I turn the camera on by mistake.
The camera photo quality is a little sub-par in comparison with other phones for my taste. The speaker phone's maximum volume is not very good either in comparison with my past phones which were all Nokias.
On a positive note, the battery life on a single charge is very good.
Overall, knowing what I know now about this specific phone, I wouldn't have purchased it.

Design 5/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 4/10
Value for money 5/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Deb
posted on 11 May 2007, 14:01

2.8

The worst phone ever !

I have had nothing but trouble with this phone. From dropped calls to the phone just shutting off. I never know if the person I am talking to is still connected to me or not. Its very frustrating. The bluetooth keeps on disconnecting. I ahve to keep re-setting it to the phone.

Design 1/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 1/10
Value for money 2/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Brandi
posted on 21 Apr 2007, 16:02

5.8

I like it but...

I got this phone a few months ago, and I thought I would really like it...I even insisted it on some of my friends. Until a few weeks ago when I had tried to download some ringtones onto it and it keeps giving me grief! The phone will continue to bring up an "unsupported content type" screen. I have only managed to get one MP3 ringtone on this phone and that was just a "test" MP3. And yes, the Bluetooth disfunction drives me crazy I thought for sure I could at least get my photos off but NO the only Bluetooth options available are for the headset and handsfree. I'm just not as satisfied as I thought I would be!

Design 7/10
Features 1/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 7/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

James
posted on 20 Feb 2007, 08:15

7

OKAY But I wouldn't buy it again

For a free phone it's not bad. The thing I like the most about it is the design. It's small and sleek. A nice looking phone. The keypad is basically flush with the phone so its very difficult to dial without looking down at the phone. The reception is OKAY, not even close to as good as the nokia I just replaced with this Samsung. The sound quality is the best I've heard in a non nokia phone, but again not as good as my last phone (which also was free). The bluetooth is pretty poor. They intentionally disabled bluetooth transfers so there's not a practical way to get your pictures off. There supposedly is NO USB Data cable for this phone, but I havnt looked myself. I wouldn't usually say anything about ringtones when reviewing a phone but these are the worst set of ringtones I have EVER HEARD! There's not even a standard ring. The standard ring repeats so quickly that it is super annoying. Everyone that has heard my phone ring has commented on how horrible the ringtone is. And the other ones are even worse. WAY worse. I was hoping to use bluetooth to transfer my old rings from my Nokia on, but it doesnt work! Overall, I dont hate this phone, and I think I can live with it until Sring 08 when I can upgrade again, but I can't say I like it! And I wouldn't recommend it to anyone despite my decent review numbers. I've constantly experimented between nokia and the rest (sony, motorolla, samsung) and I can honestly say I hope to never buy another non Nokia again.

Design 9/10
Features 4/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

shrimp
posted on 30 Dec 2006, 13:56

6.2

Crippled damn bluetooth

Kent Brockmen: NO.

Bluetooth 1.2 AND 2.0 BOTH SUPPORT file transfers. Samsung intentionally crippled this phone for seemingly NO REASON. Bluetooth 2.0 is simply faster, and adds some security stuff.

What's really crappy is that Samsung didn't include a simple profile for this phone that is needed for transfers.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bluetooth_profile

Design 8/10
Features 4/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 5/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Kent Brockmen
posted on 12 Dec 2006, 10:15

8.6

sammy sung c417

ok to address kerts comment on the botom this phone is bluetooth 1.2 cingular did not block it the version is limited, if it was bluetooth v2.0 or higher you could trans fer pics a ripoff? its cost effective you dolt. dont be so quick to judge

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 8/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

MikeB
posted on 09 Dec 2006, 17:39

8.2

Nice phone with one small problem

I love my phone. The only problem I have is the phone jack is not the standard 2.55mm, so the "stock" wired earpieces will not work with this phone. Finding ones that fit are like trying to find the needle in the haystack. Does anyone know the correct size? The website only says "no" when listing if it is the standard size jack, but does not list the size needed. Otherwise I love my phone.

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 8/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

JKEJIOEJOEIJlIEJPOIEJO
posted on 03 Dec 2006, 18:14

9.2

awesome

This phone is a great buy. Has a camera and bluetooth, and the screen *Inside and outside* is big enough for a person with failing vision to see(the person we got his for can see screen great. Last but not least the phone is small*can fit in2 a shirt pocket*, and the phone is easy to use!!!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Chris
posted on 28 Nov 2006, 19:31

9.8

Great buy

I purchased the C417 several months ago and have had nothing but compliments for the phone. I haven't experienced any problems whatsoever.

The signal strength is excellent compared to my last phone (Motorola V551) and the sound quality is perfect. The battery seems to last a while longer than advertised also. The display is very "vivid", one of the best I've seen. This is the first Samsung phone I've ever purchased after being a loyal Motorola customer. I think I will be sticking with Samsung in the future as well.

If you're looking for a very mobile, compact, and feature-filled phone for a relatively low price, this is the perfect option. This phone performs all of the advertised features and options flawlessly.

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

groovechild
posted on 28 Nov 2006, 08:12

8

Sim problems

Both my wife and I purchased this phone three weeks ago and we both are having the same problem: every few hours the phone loses the Sim card and we have to turn the phone off and back on again to fix it. We've checked to make sure the chip is firmly in place, yet the problem persists. Some research shows that this is not an uncommon problem with this phone. As a result, both phones are going back today.

Do not buy this phone unless you want to have to keep looking at it to make sure it's still working.

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Kert
posted on 02 Oct 2006, 11:03

7.6

Limited Bluetooth functionality

We just purchased four of these phones yesterday. Will probably end up returning them because of the limited Bluetooth functionality.
It only supports the "headphone" profile.
You cannot transfer data (photos) to/from the phone and your computer with Bluetooth.
Also, a data cable does not appear to be an option (not available for this phone on the Samsung Web site). Therefore the only way to transfer photos off of the phone is by emailing from the camera (at a cost of 25 cents each). It appears that they (Cingular / Samsung) have intentionally limited the file transfer functionality so you must use the network to get your photos. Other phones allow file transfers at this price point...don't buy this phone if you take a lot of photos. This is a major disappointment and ripoff!

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

JTRSRRVKRAWR
posted on 01 Oct 2006, 07:43

9.8

One of the best

I like the phone over all but if i could change on thing that would be the camera and display resolution. I got my phone friday and so far i have had no problems. However the phone my mother and sister got they are having huge problems. I said "You should have went with the Samsung phones like i did"

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

lutherdog
posted on 25 Sep 2006, 07:29

7.4

phone user

I like the phone overall. The one design feature I don't like is placement of the camera on button. Almost everytime I pick up the phone, I turn on the camera. The buton should have been placed in a more out of the way location. I love the weight and sizr of the phone.

Design 5/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 8/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

John
posted on 06 Sep 2006, 13:50

10

Great Buy!

The reasons I bought this phone are as follows:
1 - Reception/ Signal strength
2 - Aesthetics
I personally love the antenna on the top, but of course the design is a user preference. If you dont like it, move on
Reception - with the addition of GSM 850, I get coverage in most areas now.
Features - All the basic ones that i need are there: Alarms, calendar, contacts
Finally, the best part is the weight: sleek, light, and the epitome of mobility. For its price, I'd say this is 1 of the best!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

B-v.1
posted on 01 Sep 2006, 00:49

8.4

Good buy

I just got this phone today, and so far i cant really find anything wrong with it. for the price its a very good buy, its nice and slim, only thing i dont really like is the antenna sticking out on top but thats not really so bad.
The outside screen isent in color, not something thats horrible but ive been used to looking at my screen and seeing one of my friends faces looking out and this your gonna have to actually look to see the name. the inside screen is pretty big. its nice and crisp.
the picture quality is not so bad but it would of been better if it was a 1.3+ mp camera instead of a vga, such is life at the entry level phones, but really not bad if ur just keeping them on your phone.
Sound quality is good i cant complain, speaker phone might little low for some situations but i guess most times it will be fine.
i like how you can get rid of seeing the Cingular/ Time/Date on the screens so you can just see the picture and nothing blocking it. Also if u make a picture your background you can set it so you dont get those bars across the top and bottom like on some other phone.
So overall i think this phone is a very good buy and will recomend it to people.

Design 7/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 10/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories