x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung SGH-A177 User Reviews

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Mike Baker
posted on 09 Jul 2010, 03:20

8.3

Little more then decent

Fairly good experience. Easy to use, remember, and carry. weight, size, and dexterity are great for pocket carry. Interface pleasing asside from some aspects of texting. no signture and funky shift fuction. other than that i'm plased with the buy. $84.99 was my price.

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • size, weight, camera, qwerty keyboard, easy interface

Cons

  • funky shift, no signature, small keys

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

lovedangel24
posted on 02 Jun 2010, 20:10

9.3

love this phone! some cons, tho :(

hello! i just got this phone 2 days ago, and i'm already in love with it. i've dropped it a couple of times, and it still looks brand new. no scratches. the back of the phone has this really cool design on it, and it doesn't get scratched easily at all. the messaging: i love to text! i love how the inbox and outbox look on this phone, and i like the interface when you get a new message. texting is a breeze, also. although i make occasional errors, i can text pretty fast. i just wish the keys were a little spaced out, but that's not a huge problem. i like all the shortcut keys, also. the only problem is that when you press the Shift key, it goes straight to 123 (numbers).... so if you want to actually shift the key, you have to press the key twice. does that make sense? i hope so. and one more thing..... you CANNOT have a signature on this phone. you can only have customizable templates. camera: it takes great pictures! i love them.... but no video. only VGA camera, but i don't know what that means. tools: Camera (very nice!)Record AudioAlarms (wakes me up in the morning)Calendar (awesome calendar!)Recent Calls (you can also press the green button)Notes (i love to take notes... nice job)Calculator (good calculator....gets the job done fast)Tip calculatorConverterTimerStopwatchWorld Time**Battery life: I am a non-stop texter, and this lasts me all day! I woke up at 9 in the morning and started texting and it lasted me until 12 at night with 1 bar left (out of...  

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • good messaging, good quality photos, good camera, lots of customizable features, durable, awesome feature of tools, and just an overall easy phone to use..... my grandpa picked this up and immediately found out how to use it!
  • ***GREAT battery life!!!***

Cons

  • no video, Shift key is a little weird, no signature for messaging

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Robomanh20
posted on 21 Mar 2010, 18:44

8.7

Awsome Phone!

I really like this phone. i got it a-while ago because my older phone broke and this one is amazing! You can do allot with it and the camera takes good quality photos! it has an exceptional speaker volume (for speaker phone of course) and the other call thing is good to! i suggest you go and get this phone!

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Good call volume, Very costomizable.

Cons

  • No video Camera, Internet it OCCASIONALLY slow

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 04 Jan 2010, 09:59

6.7

I bought this phone first and foremost because it's quad-band. It has ALL the known GSM frequencies, so this is a truly GLOBAL phone. So far it has good signal reception. Speaker is decent. Support for MIDI and MP3 tones. Call quality is good on AT&T where the signal is strong. No 3G but has EDGE. In short this phone is very good for a basic global phone. I plan to use this with a prepaid SIM with AT&T and I will have it unlocked when I visit other countries.

Design 8/10
Features 5/10
Performance 7/10

Pros

  • QWERTY KB, QUAD-Band, Nice design, Li battery, lightweight, polyphonic tones support. Great audio quality.

Cons

  • VGA-Only camera, No Expansion slot for memory, Bluetooth profile is VERY limited (only headset). Does not come with free data cable. Does not work with Samsung PC-Studio out of the box, you need to buy data cable first.No video support.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Colleen
posted on 29 Nov 2009, 23:09

10

Best phone ever!!

I've had many phones in my time, but this has to be the best ever. Its my 1st with a full keyboard, and i'll keep it as long as I can. Simple to use, great battery life, decent pics as long as its not in a dim setting, durable ive dropped it numerous times and still not even a scratch!!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Ease of use, get for texting

Cons

  • none!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 21 Nov 2009, 21:20

10

This has got to be the best cell phone I have ever bought in my live time, and in the lifetime of cell phones. I personally believe in this phone, and i seriously believe that you need to get this phone. It is so nice. It is basic, but it does do everything I need it to do.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Big screen
  • Big full keyboard
  • Loud speaker
  • Verry durrable
  • Does not feel cheap
  • Fells great to my fingers

Cons

  • I don't think there is anything wrong with this phone, and you need to go out right now and get you one! :)

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 20 Nov 2009, 22:31

9

I realy, REALLY love this phone and i think you should go get one. The price went down on the phone at Radioshack from $100.00 to $80.00. They still have the insurance plan for $20.00. I walked out of the door with my phone all ready up and going for $98.00 after tax and the insurance plan (and my $10.00 off coupon I printed out). so you might walk out of the door paying no more than $109.00. The phone was exactly $86.59 after tax and the insurance after tax was like $22.50. The insurance plan that Radioshack provides covers everything except for lost or stolen. You can literally walk in the store with your phone beaten into pieces, and they will replace it for free. I have already had mine replaced twice because I sat on it and broke the screen and then for the second time I dropped it in water and then sat on it 19 days later. Again, they replaced it for FREE!!! I LOVE IT! GO GET ONE!

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • The camera takes good pictures.
  • The full QWERTY keyboard is easy to use.
  • The battery lasts for TWO days on the lowest settings.
  • Lots of memory...after all the factory stuff is deleted...
  • After all the factory stuff is deleted, it allows up to 246 pictures and 250 text messages.

Cons

  • None so far. I think its the best so far! :)

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 20 Oct 2009, 18:43

9.3

I had this phone for a month and broke by accident. I miss it, and now im about to go buy one again!!! Its a great phone! Get one! Theyre 100.00 at radioshack.....you can also buy an insurance plan for 20.00 with it! im going to be smart and get the insurance plan that radioshack provides.

Design 10/10
Features 8/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • This phone is very rugged and toughg.....until you sit on it and break the screen like i did. haha

Cons

  • NONE!!! this is an extreemly great phone!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 18 Jun 2009, 22:21

10

Best gophone ever great for texting and emailing. I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • battery life, features, design, keyboard

Cons

  • low volume

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Mel
posted on 06 Jun 2009, 23:33

6.7

Great for my Teen

Got this as a Go Phone from AT&T for my 13 year old. He loves it. Texts his little heart out. I buy the unlimited texting package for $20 offered from AT&T to pair with it. I almost bought myself one too.

Design 7/10
Features 7/10
Performance 6/10

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories