x PhoneArena is looking for new authors in New York! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Rugby II User Reviews

5.2 Based on 5 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Call quality6.7/10
Battery6.3/10
Reception7/10
Display5.7/10
Build quality6.3/10
Text input4.3/10
Everyday usage7.3/10
UI speed3/10
Camera5.7/10
Multimedia4/10
Internet2.7/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

phonemaster1992
posted on 15 Dec 2012, 10:44 (Posts: 0; Member since: 15 Dec 2012)

7

My Dad's flipping rock

phonemaster1992 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I have the GS3. That is a phone for modern man. This phone here is meant for a man who lives in the stone age. SO OLD. Just a basic flip phone and nothing more. But the basics (Call quality & Reception are good and the battery lasts forever).

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 2/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 3/10
Display 3/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Battery Lasts Forever
  • Good Call Quality

Cons

  • Internet is a bust
  • Texting is so awkward
  • Display is good but so hoaky
  • Camera is average at best

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Customer
posted on 27 Sep 2012, 10:56 (Posts: 0; Member since: 27 Sep 2012)

7

overall great phone

Customer has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I originally had the Rugby 1 and took it down float trips and the river. When it was time for a upgrade i went with the Rugby 2. The only problem i have had with it is the battery cover was cheaply designed unlike the first Rugby. My battery does great until i get into a area with no signal then it drains it.

Build quality 7/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 1/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

JP
posted on 03 Jun 2011, 09:25

1

Telecom Director

JP has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Our company recently completed a mass upgrade of all field technician phones to the new Samsung Rugby 2 - approximately 400 units. We have had major issues from the start. Dropped calls, poor reception, defective speaker, poor battery life, inability to hold a charge, inability to receive text messages, etc. We are very unhappy with this product and would not recommend it. It has gotten to the point in which Samsung has had to recall the units and replace them with a new batch. Our next upgrade will not include any product from Samsung.

Build quality 2/10
Reception 2/10
Call quality 2/10
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 2/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 2/10
Text input 2/10
Display 4/10
Battery 2/10

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Lee Pruitt
posted on 13 Oct 2010, 16:17

8

samsung rugby

i give it 8 out of 10. ive washed mine off in a creek while fishing. i dropped it in the mud and rinsed it off in the sink. i abused it pretty good. im a contractor so you can imagine how many times ive dropped it and so on. the only drawback ive found was the volume of the ringer. it was tough to hear when there was noise around you even when set on outside at its loudest position. overall it held up better than any phone ive owned. i justed ordered the rugby 2 and i will post a review on it after ive abused it for a bit.

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • tough

Cons

  • not loud enough

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

gary mason
posted on 17 Jun 2010, 15:09

3

hope the Rugby II better than the Rugby I

My Rugby I was a good phone for 2 months before getting stuck in a rainstorm and the phone was in my pocket. The humidity and moisture got into the LCD and fogged it up and fried the LCD. I had thought these phone were better than other cells with water and dirt, but after having mine die, i'm not so sure. I would not spend extra money to buy one thinking that it would hold up better than other non military grade phones.

Design 3/10
Features 4/10
Performance 2/10

Pros

  • seemed like a good design

Cons

  • didn't hold up to moisture as advertised

7 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories