x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung OMNIA User Reviews

7.1 Based on 14 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Camera8.3/10
Multimedia3.3/10
Internet3.7/10
Call quality7/10
Battery4/10
Reception6.7/10
Display4.3/10
Build quality6.7/10
Text input2/10
Everyday usage6/10
UI speed3/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Diablo2424
posted on 13 Aug 2014, 09:57 (Posts: 14; Member since: 29 Jun 2011)

7

I loved this phone - was cutting edge at the time!

Diablo2424 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I still have this phone actually, though it doesn't turn on anymore. I ordered this phone from Singapore and had it shipped to the US for a hefty $1000 at the time, but loved every minute of it. This was one of the only phones at the time with a 5MP camera, it had Windows Mobile which I was able to customize to my liking and had a great build quality with the metal band around it. I just wish it wasn't so expensive (sold in the US subsidized) and had better battery life. Also, the resistive touch screen was sketchy very often. But at the time me having it was the talk of the town as noone knew what it was and thought it was the coolest thing with all of the features it had compared to the feature phones (Moto RAZR) everyone else was using.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 4/10
Display 5/10
Battery 3/10

Pros

  • Camera
  • Windows Mobile
  • Build quality

Cons

  • Non-standard Charging Port
  • Resistive touch screen

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

kulukoy
posted on 28 Jul 2011, 02:32

4

BIG DISAPPOINTMENT AND WASTE OF MONEY

kulukoy has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

This phone's been with me for almost 2 years now. Must be a very good phone. Actually, the reason why this phone's still with me is it's very good camera. OVERALL THIS PHONE SIGNIFICANTLY REDUCES ONE'S PRODUCTIVITY -- IT'S VERY SLOW AND HANGS ALL THE TIME! DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS PHONE! SAMSUNG SUCKS!

Build quality 6/10
Reception 5/10
Call quality 6/10
Internet 1/10
Multimedia 2/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 1/10
Display 5/10
Battery 6/10

Pros

  • good camera quality and features
  • good music sound quality

Cons

  • bad touch quality (slow, irresponsive)
  • bad phone for texting
  • plasticky built
  • extremely bad wifi
  • bad ui, always hangs

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

JB23
posted on 03 May 2011, 22:01

3

Worst Screen Ever

JB23 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

By far the worst touch screen of any phone I have ever used. The keyboard is terrible and the "x" in the upper right corner can no longer be pressed because the screen stopped responding in that area. Slow processing. No software worth having at all and practically no useful apps available. Don't ever buy this phone.

Build quality 5/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 1/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 1/10
Display 3/10
Battery 3/10

Pros

  • Good call quality
  • Good camera

Cons

  • Everything else

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Mohan
posted on 20 Mar 2010, 09:19

2.7

Unbelievably slow

After an initial infatuation with its GNPS, Camera, interface etc. and after filling it up with data this phone became a nightmare. Its touch screen is extremely unresponsive, on-screen keyboard sluggish and phone book search too slow given my 1700 plus records. Another annoying phenomenon is that when sms messages exceed a certain size typing slows to a crawl. The vertical/horizontal orientation switch is annoying and erratic so I had to switch it off. The delayed touch screen response is confusing and slows down use.It has become so much of a pain lately that I actually was glad when its screen accidentally broke a few days ago.

Design 3/10
Features 4/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • Good voice call quality
  • abundance of features

Cons

  • Slow processor
  • Unresponsive touch screen
  • Poor on-screen keyboard
  • Some interface features are cumbersome

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Victor Hugo C. da Silva
posted on 06 Oct 2009, 13:14

8

Default Cellphone Not so Good. After installing Great!!

In the first month, I hate my omnia. No software with sound recorder, no voice calling, ring very low, no GPS free software, touchpad lock in calls. Low Backlight in direct sun light .You can set or install to resolve all this problems. But take some time and googling very much.Good side. Very good agenda warnings and post warnings. Good precision Touch Pad. Good day quality photos. Not so good at night, like the most phones.No so good widgets,but easy to customise new programs 

Design 8/10
Features 7/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Day camera and wide angle
  • Agenda Warnings
  • costumization
  • sharp touchscreen
  • Good Battery
  • Exelent music

Cons

  • low Ring
  • low backlight in day light
  • Keypad lock in calls
  • Backlights don't go off playing music( consuming battery)
  • Night shots

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Mike Z
posted on 10 Jul 2009, 05:27

10

Great Phone

Nearly one year on this phone is still great, the features and amount of customisation and programs is amazing and I am never bored. After a year it is still on parr with most modern phones in terms of features and hardware, I think I will keep this phone until it dies (touchwood). I reccomend this phone strongly.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Design
  • Features

Cons

  • No 3.5mm Port

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Lahiru
posted on 01 Apr 2009, 04:54

9.3

Phone is Fantastic

Its nearly been a month since i've bought the phone and I think the Omnia is completely amazing. For a Windows Mobile, its performance is inpeccable and also, the extent to which software support is there is superb. The initial User Interface is good, a different and creative approach, and when I went through the reviews on many sites, they mentioned that the widjets were useless and not upgradable, but I stand to differ. Samsung have released Update Packs which contain new widgets, games, etc. The usability of the phone is also very good. It only takes a week to get used to the phone, thereafter your its master !!! Whats more, the sound quality, image quality and features are very good and useful. I believe Samsung have brought a different era to Windows Mobile, and they've done a great job at it !!! Bravo !
Samsung although have failed to advertise what a good job they've done with the camera !!! The Speed, Resolution and quality are all good, and whats more, the omnia has Panoramic Pictures upto 8 PICS !!! And Smile Detection works fantastically... Truly the Omnia is one of a kind !

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • 16 GB Space with good performance
  • Good Camera
  • Fantastic options on Camera like Panoramic View & Smile Detection
  • Everything Else

Cons

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mom
posted on 27 Mar 2009, 02:47 (Posts: 0; Member since: 12 Mar 2009)

9.7

OMNIA's themes and suggestions for more info

I looked for themes for OMNIA on other sites and I couldn’t find it at all. The zedge.net site is very good. Too bad there are no themes for OMNIA but you don’t really need it. There are 6 themes already on the phone.Go to http://www.samsungmobile.com/support/omnia/index.jsp, this is for updating your firmware on your Omnia. It is very effective and every time I updated my firmware, Samsung always improve some thing on it such as better scrolling on screen and other stuff and even adds new games and etc…, which is great. This is my first Samsung phone, and before I was big Nokia Fan, when I saw this I decide to buy it right away and I didn’t make mistake about it. It is awesome phone and I grateful that I bought it. Samsung is doing a great job on OMNIA because they work on firmware that will fix the glitches and also add some interesting features such as new game, making more user-friendly, adding more widgets and making long windows that can be scrolled easily such as in phonebook and programs applications.If you are fan and/or user of Samsung OMNIA and want more information about and some good links that can be helpful for your cell phone, go to Facebook and join Samsung Omnia group.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • 5 megapixel camera with autofocus
  • 8 to 16 GB of storage memory, microSD expansion
  • Optical joystick with virtual mouse functionality
  • Nice battery life
  • Built-in accelerometer for auto screen rotation and call muting

Cons

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

James G
posted on 30 Jan 2009, 04:12

10

Awesome phone

Whether its the fact that this phone has every feature known to man or if its just the phones sleek design and easy to use software, it is undeniably the best value for money phone on the market. Its quick, has heaps of storage (not including the 16gb SD card i am using), great GPS, excellent music player and youtube is great. But i can't forget that underneath all of these features is a phone, and an excellent one at that. The touch pad is responsive, typing text messages is simple whether it be with the qwerty keyboards or the massive T9 touch keypad. Dialing numbers is easy and searching through the contacts is extremely simple. By far the best phone i have ever had and would recommend it to anyone looking for a fun, feature-packed phone thats easy to use and looks good.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Camera
  • Music Player
  • Calendar/Organiser
  • Design
  • Storage
  • Battery
  • Speed
  • Simplicity
  • Screen Clarity & Size

Cons

19 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

cklyn12
posted on 02 Jan 2009, 03:25 (Posts: 0; Member since: 02 Jan 2009)

8

question?

hi guys out there... im here at the UAE and i want to buy this OMNIA. the question is! can i use this phone in Canada also?
please help me...

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 8/10

2 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

flow_777
posted on 22 Dec 2008, 04:33

6.7

nice phone, BUT.....

the samsung is a nice phone, very good hardware quality and touchscreen is ok. the "desktop" (called "today screen" by samsung and part of shell program by samsung) is not too practical, actually annoying at times, since it tends to get messy and overloaded.
the GPS with google earth functions fine, once you get it to work (settings).
battery life: some report to have been disapointed. however the battery needs several reloads to achieve its full potential, so be patient here.
surfing the web is fine, thanks to the opera browser (which is the best browser for desktop surfing too, and not well known (the mouse commands are incredibly practical, try this, you will never want another browser anymore)
*****now the big minus of the phone. this information may be of importance for you:
the **voice recording** quality (voicenotes) is truly TERRIBLE. AND: the **video quality** is VERY BAD: 1) the sound is terrible (high voices sound like daisy duck) and all sound is unnatural; loud sounds produce artefacts like crackling etc.   2) the video and video sound (of recorded videos) ARE OUT OF SYNC, which is incredible !!! I sent the phone in to samsung to get this fixed, but it was not a defect, it is normal for this phone.--> so the videorecordings are NOT USABLE, the video with my old SGH600 device was lightyears better. if you like to record videos, this device is an absolute "NONO", unfortunately.
hope this provided additional information, and helps you decide. this phone...  

Design 9/10
Features 6/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

  • HARDWARE
  • Wmobile works relatively smooth
  • large screen

Cons

  • VIDEO RECORDINGS ARE NOT USABLE (out of sync, very bad sound)
  • BAD VOICE RECORING

26 out of 36 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

end user
posted on 10 Dec 2008, 04:28

3.3

dun even bother

i waited so long for the phone and reviews before it even hit the scene. everyone hyped about it so much that when i finally got a chance to play with it, it is a big MISTAKE for a wannabe phone. Let's put everything aside that we all like...windows mobile, mouse, places caller on silent when flip down on its face, gps, wifi, and camera. the gadgets are a big MISTAKE of wasted memory for better features --not helpful. screen rotation, don't even bother. if you can't make it smooth in transition, don't bother...what a lame excuse to deliver. it lags so long from portrait to landscape. what about it's touch? the phone screen doesn't have the feel of FLO. BIG DISAPPOINTMENT!!!! I tried to like it, but moving from one item to another was a nightmare. windows mobile feature (landscape keyboard options) was soo tiny to change...should have made it bigger for the fingers. Fonts of menus are too small...bad real estate use of a big screen. This is one good example of marketing a phone to hype the expectations, but can't deliver.

Design 7/10
Features 1/10
Performance 2/10

Pros

  • surprise me

Cons

9 out of 37 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Hakan
posted on 23 Nov 2008, 12:51

9

Great phone!

I like this phone the os and the features that this phones bring.the pros is:- Windows Mobile 6.1- Word, Excell, Editable- Camera 5 MP- Alarm,Browser,GPS

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • - Windows Mobile 6.1
  • - Word, Excell, Editable
  • - Camera 5 MP
  • - Alarm, you can add endles alarm times.
  • - Browser is great!
  • - GPS

Cons

  • - If you go somewhere and you listen a radio or mp3 you hear the sound not very well, when the phone is shaking the sound will go away.
  • - The pen doesnt have a place to put into phone.
  • - You must everytime close the program in the task.
  • - No camera lens cover.
  • - Not usefull widgets.
  • - The SD Card place is in the battery place
  • - Radio RDS, you see the rds information in max. 3 words, when you record the channel you hear the mp3 weak.

29 out of 37 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Saad Rabia
posted on 22 Aug 2008, 10:09

9.4

It is amazingly packed with everything anyone would need in a mobile device!

The Samsung Omnia is the best mobile phone I've ever used in my life. It has everything I wanted in one mobile phone; I got the 16 GB version, so I have a lot of space to play with. It has a built-in GPS that I use with Google Maps, and it is very precise and spot on and fast. The 5 MP camera is surprisingly real, meaning that it delivers the high quality images you would expect from the number "5 MP". Video recording is another great feature, with flash and digital zoom, slow motion recording, and a packed editing software built right into the mobile phone. Sound is great, not as high as you would expect but very real and usable; playing music is easy and fun, and using the head set gives you a clear crisp sound that you would want to have.

I love the Geo tagging feature, where every picture you take gets tagged by the GPS of its actual location at the moment you took that picture.

SMS, Mail, MMS and the whole package of internet communication. Opera browser beats every single mobile browser I've ever used on a mobile phone; it kills Safari, BlackBerry and IE Mobile browsers and bury them in mud and dirt.

The software bundle is great; Office and the works. WLM messenger for chat. Great UI, easy to navigate.

A front camera for video calls is also a great touch. The mobile is packed with all connection options; WiFi, Bluetooth, GSM, 3.5 G (7.2 Mbps, unlike the old and sluggish iPhone 1.5 Mbps max), USB.

I can't find better words to describe how good is this mobile...  

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 10/10

230 out of 247 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories