x PhoneArena is looking for new authors in New York! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung OMNIA HD User Reviews

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

HardcoreJAck
posted on 06 Sep 2010, 05:52

10

My Big Gadget

Been using my OmniaHD for a year and had currently changed to Galaxy 3  which i got from my re-contract.I had never got bored of using my OmniaHD because of it's big screen, fast speed. Did't experience any lag even after using for so long.Great Browser and great video playbackFast and clear Camera which take good videos tooThe Design is unique. Beautiful black color, solid build. Although back cover loves my fingerprintBig and long design which look really high tech.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Beautiful and solid Design
  • Good Camera
  • Fast performance
  • Dvix Video Playback

Cons

  • No multi touch... Waste

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

OmniaHDgood
posted on 02 Sep 2010, 03:32

10

One of the best Touch Screen Phone in this few years!

 I have been a happy owner of my OmniaHD for a year. I trust that all happy owner would not want to Trade-in or sell this good phone as it will be a waste. For this year, after trying the Wave, Galaxy S, Omnia 2 and other good high end phone.I still think that this is one of the top phone of this few years.Design: The Big and beautiful design is meant to be 10/10. Due to less people owning this phone, i can see that a lot of people are watching my rare phone in the street as it look really big and high tech in the Eye!The Feature of this phone is power packed! HD recorder, 8MP Camera, DivX Video playback, Large Screen and smooth internet Browser. Nothing to comment about the features but this phone is just great if said about it's function and etc.Performance: Smooth performance, smooth video, smooth camera and smooth internet experience. Really loved this phone a lot and i can't really experience any lag or slow response. Overall, what i think is wasted about the phone is it's Bulky weight, i cannot leave it in my pocket as it is too heavy. Battery life drain very fast. The beautiful black back cover may look beautiful, but not for fingers to touch, really horrible to see it sticks finer print easilyGreat Symbian phone from Samsung, glad to have one. I am pretty sure other OmniaHD user like me are super happy to have one, honestly this phone wins other Samsung Window phones.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

yacoub al sarawi
posted on 04 Jun 2010, 00:06

10

samsung i8910 omnia hd

hi my name is yacoub i am from kuwait and i would like to say that this phone blew me away and it is a million times better than the 5800 xpressmusic .i went to a phone shop and tested it out and it was amazing .my dad said that he will buy me this phone if i get better than 97.5 out of a 100 . this phone deserves 1000 out of 1000.my brothers and friends were telling me to buy a blackberry phone . my mum told me to tell them that nobody tells me what phone i must buy .this phone means alot to me and i hope i get it in summer vacation and i also hope that my family gets the phone  they neeed . thank you phonearena and samsung for bringing me this super phone.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Umar Khan
posted on 23 May 2010, 07:16

10

One year of Excellance

I have had this awesome phone for One year now and must admitt that it has served me to the maximum. No doubt that lack of support from Samsung has lead to disappointment but at the same time the Custom ROMs have made it a treat. It has under performed specially with a spec list as this, it can beat any phone hands down. There were few problems but all of those were software related and were rectified instantly by the custom ROM developers. I have never experienced any single battery problem*other than the initial one,which was my perosnal error and was OK as soon as I knew the rsn* or any camera problem. The audio codecs were fixed and the video is a treat to watch with no frame droppings or audio issues.ITs lighening fast with kastor effects and VOIP is working like perfect.I have no issues keeping it for another year if they can manage to port symbian^3 to my HD :D but its the maximum i have kept any mobile on me!!! i will buy android within weeks but i'll never ever forget the perfect user experience and confort it gave me all this time despite of the few already mention things!!!OMNIA HD ROCKS... 

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Hardwarre and the software both.
  • Perfect device for those who can manage.

Cons

  • No customer support from SAMMYS.... :@

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Yuriy
posted on 23 Jan 2010, 20:20

8.7

Good device but not the best. iPhone is more innovative

I use this phone since september of 2009. Almost everything is Ok, but sound of videorecording is very very bad. iPhone platform is more innovative. I would prefer improve performance in multimedia tasks. Recorded video sometimes is lagging, especially if camera is moving around.

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Perfect AMOLED display, good speakers
  • No need concersion for DVDRip videos
  • Good music player with visualisations and Apple-like coverflow

Cons

  • Very bad soun quality of recorded videos.
  • Low FM Radio sensivity and stereo recognizing
  • No promised built-in video editor,
  • No app store compared with Apple
  • No Skype integration
  • Not enough software in market
  • No buil-in YouTube Player
  • Unconvenient menu structure
  • Low battery life
  • Media gallery shows entire content without categorising. So it's hard to scroll photos and videos to find.
  • Need too much software and performance improvements

13 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Arul
posted on 13 Jan 2010, 04:01

9.3

Great phone

I am one of the proud owners of Samsung Omnia HD (i8910) since december 2009. Though the phone is well balanced with all the features, some of them are not really excellent.Excellent features:1. Resolution2. Sound quality3. Call quality4. TV OUT5. Speed6. Huge memoryGood features1. Camera2. Widgets3. 3D navigation (It would be excellent, if it is available for all opened applications)Missing features1. Not enough built in ringtones2. No games at all3. No office editor4. Not many applications available for this phone5. FM Transmitter6. No inline editing (Keypad always appears in landscape mode). I would expect keypad like Opera7. No Xenon flash8. Phone is available only in one color9. No indian font support for BrowserBad features:Symbian OS.      It would be better if Samsung made this phone with Android or Windows mobile.Cons:1. Camera picture quality is bad with flash ON2. HD recording file size is huge for 20 second recording (27 MB)3. Samsung PC suite4. When connected to PC via USB cable, Mass memory could not be accessed by applications such as music player even in a read only mode.5. Inbuilt browser exits when I press stop button6. No updates from Samsung7. Finger prints all over the phone

Design 10/10
Features 8/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Great Hardware
  • Well balanced features

Cons

  • 1. Camera picture quality is bad with flash ON
  • 2. HD recording file size is huge for 20 second recording (27 MB)
  • 3. Samsung PC suite
  • 4. When connected to PC via USB cable, Mass memory could not be accessed by applications such as music player even in a read only mode.
  • 5. Inbuilt browser exits when I press stop button
  • 6. No updates from Samsung
  • 7. Finger prints all over the phone

17 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

AKSHAY MITRA
posted on 01 Jan 2010, 12:26

10

ULTIMATE PARADISE ANYONE CAN SEEK FOR

the phone is absolutely perfect it has got a very brilliant display.the thing i liked the most is that even after filling the complete 16gb internal and a 16 gb card the phone worked at a superb speed thats what is not found in phones like n97 probably the difference lies in the  processor.other great things are1.user interface-very friendly (better than nokia)2.camera-8 mpix is ultimate camera i believe they are making fool of people in market by selling phones with 12 mpix like in satio but it should be kept in mind that the size which we require to print is never so large that it requires 12 mpix3.amoled display-extremely pleasant to touch and watchi believe if u r buying in this segment than go 4 it wid eyes closed

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • DISPLAY
  • CAMERA
  • INTERFACE
  • PROCESSOR SPEED
  • BATTERY BACKUP

Cons

  • NOTHING

10 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Zackkk
posted on 06 Dec 2009, 06:32

10

Best of the best!


Great Multimedia and business phone!

Pros:

3,7" AM-OLED + capasitive at 640x360
Great hardware
8 Mpx camera with excellent quality
Good external speakers
No lag while using the phone at all times
Touchscreen is responsive
Battery life
sound quality
Very Strong GPS signal
Call quality

Cons:

Not... but maybe HD recording (1280x720p).
Software refreshing may solve the problem!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • 3,7" AM-OLED + capasitive at 640x360
  • Great hardware
  • 8 Mpx camera with excellent quality
  • Good external speakers
  • No lag while using the phone at all times
  • Touchscreen is responsive
  • Battery life
  • sound quality
  • Very Strong GPS signal
  • Call quality

Cons

  • Not... but maybe HD recording (1280x720p).
  • Software refreshing may solve the problem!

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Moser Khan
posted on 03 Dec 2009, 02:28

10

Amazing! Excellent! Incredible!

 This is by far the most outstanding product with everything that one needs in one place, it's got the best camera (HD), best mediaplayer, browser, organizer, and office software(which can be upgraded). The best mobile phone in the market and in future, too.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Screen, call quality,

Cons

  • gps software is a bit outdated, browser could be improved.

10 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Abhal al hawah
posted on 29 Nov 2009, 20:21

10

great phone

Ill make this short3,7 inch AMOLED screenCapacitive touchStereo speakers600 mhz + 430 mhz dsp processor8 mp cameraHD recordingNo other phone has this many winning specs. This is a no. 1 mobile!!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • everything aforementioned

Cons

  • Expensive

6 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Dr.Shashank Gupta
posted on 24 Nov 2009, 07:48

2.7

Horrible phone horrible service

DON'T BUY OMNIA HD i have i8910 got it 20days back the screen froze (hung) gave to the service center they say after 5 days that they cannot fix it for they dont have the right software for it ..... so dont buy the omnia hd atleast in INDIA... u cannot connect to hotmail.....or yahoomail.... the roadsync stinks.......the camera in low light conditions is bad....
if u ever used a windows based mobile dont even think buying this piece of crap.....
it doenot even have weather update....and many more things......
lots a lots and the samsung customer care center and their enginners are equally useless at least in india so guys if u planning to buy the omnia hd in india trust me dont buy want some extra info my email address is dr.srg272@gmail.com

Design 4/10
Features 3/10
Performance 1/10

2 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Girish
posted on 16 Nov 2009, 08:41

9.7

Great Phone!

Thanks to phone arena for helping me find this gem. This is my first touch screen phone so I am not exactly a veteran in this area, but I know what I am using. The ease of use of this phone is amazing. I am very impressed with the software. But the best part is the display. It is just MINDBLOWING !!The only thing I wished was if it was a centimeter or so shorter. But I guess that is asking for too much for a phone in this class.Overall, I am in love with this phone !!

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • DISPLAY
  • DISPLAY
  • DISPLAY
  • SOFTWARE

Cons

  • Lenght (slightly)

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

A. V.
posted on 31 Oct 2009, 19:46

10

Great Phone

The hardware of the phone is the best there is, but the software is not as good (It's still good)However it is getting better day by day as there are custom firmware developers who are slowly fixing all the bugs.They have done wonders to the phone such as implementing a potrait keyboard, fix numerous bugs and improve sound and camera quality

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Vas.
posted on 28 Oct 2009, 07:01

9.7

It is simply GREAT

I have been using this phone for a month now.
I didn't find anything i didn't like!
Sound clarity is great too! But loudspeaker is not very good only!

If you are not used to use touch screen when texting, it may be a little difficult in the beginning, but it gets easier in time.

VERY nice phone.. x

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Tom Hanks
posted on 26 Oct 2009, 17:41

10

Outstanding phone

Excellent phone in every aspects. Does well in every field, and in some it is a class leader. Great (!) AMOLED screen, you really have to see it in real life. The screen is not as good as iPhone outdoors to the point that too much sun is reflected through the glass screen. Indoors though, it shines more vividly than iPhone, way more. The screen is comparable to iPhone, though I'd wish symbian some day could support multitouch. Outstanding stereo speakers, excellent quality in the 3.5mm out, it's fast, great camera and video. Audio quality on video recording is quite bad. When recording in HD, it seems it delivers a frame or two below the cited 24 fps in average. Cool slomo recording. Single shot photos are of very good quality! Very good battery life. Hardware in general is some of the best you can have. The major drawback lies within the software. Symbian is for example quite outdated. It was a physical button OS, only to be ported to touch screen. One of the best phones I've ever used. The only worthy competitor at the moment is iPhone (which I could also rate 10/10), with its slicker UI, multitouch and appstore. Though iPhone does have it's drawbacks too.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Best screen on market (3,7" AMOLED + capasitive at 640x360)
  • Great hardware (processor, ram, memory)
  • 8 Mpx camera with excellent quality
  • Good external speakers

Cons

  • Symbian not optimized for touch screen (e.g. lacks multitouch)
  • Poor quality on video recording
  • Lacks software store like appstore

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 27 Sep 2009, 15:13

9.7

I have had this phone for about a month, and I adore it very much. It is the only phone with the ability to record video in HD (1280x720p). The audio quality in recorded videos is horrible, unless you get an update which makes it record the audio in AAC. The call quality is ok, but it could be better. This phone is the most technologically advanced phone on the market and provides the user with a stunning experience. The only issues I have had is that the phone loves fingerprints and the call quality could be better.  

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • -3.7 inch AMOLED screen
  • -360x640 resolution with 16 million colors make video playback excellent
  • -8MP camera takes fantastic pictures
  • -Webcam built-in
  • -HD video recording
  • -Touchscreen is responsive
  • -16GB built in memory and expands with an extra 32GB to total 48GB
  • -Has WiFi and bluetooth
  • -No lag while using the phone at all times

Cons

  • -Fingerprint magnet
  • -Call quality could be better
  • -Recorded videos have poor audio unless you install an update which solves the issue

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

stiggy
posted on 24 Aug 2009, 11:20

10

great phone!

prolly the best phone so far..
Camera = 8mp
Video Cam = hd video recording
Stereo = 5.1 channel stereo effect
Battery life = better than iphone3gs
User Interface = very responsive and user friendly
Memory = (8gb/16gb + can support 32gb of microSD) = 48GB OF OUTSTANDING STORAGE!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • 8mp camera with HD video recording
  • video playback
  • movies!
  • sound quality
  • responsiveness
  • 48gb of jampack mp3's and movies!

Cons

  • not winmo :D

8 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Klein
posted on 20 Aug 2009, 11:49

6.3

Great Multimedia Device, Poor as a Phone

Had the i8910 for 1 day.Call quality / voice quality is abysmal - either in GSM or in 3G and with maximum signal strength the person I called said I sounded like I was talking in a tunnel and the person I was talking to sounded muffled and strangely distant. Although I doubt upgrading the firmware will change this (and I was also hoping to get a working GPS). I tried, but the Samsung software said my i8910 wasn't something it could recognize ("Phone software updater does not support the connected model") so upgrading the firmware is also out. From a multimedia perspective, other than the weight and size, this is a fantastic device, but as a phone it is useless as the purpose of a phone is to make calls.  Most review sites (not this one) tend to forget that, and many don't even discuss call quality.I am selling my Omnia HD i8910 on eBay, and will in future listen to the more carefully thought-through opinions by more critical voices at sites such as Phone Arena instead of the other ones that say "everything is great !".
I am suprised by all the positive assessments in these reviews - either the call quality is different on each phone, or there are different models sold to different regions with different quality, or people who did the review use a phone for multimedia content and not for making calls ?
 
 
 
 

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 2/10

Pros

  • Stunning Screen
  • Good re-do of Symbian
  • Great multi-media capabilities
  • DivX player without need to recode
  • Good Music Quality
  • 1500 mAh battery

Cons

  • Call quality / voice quality is abysmal - not useful as a phone
  • GPS doesn't seem to get a signal
  • Samsung PC Suite recognizes and connects to phone, refuses to update
  • Touch-Screen far lower sensitivity/ergonomics than iPhone

7 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Jack Mate
posted on 17 Aug 2009, 01:25

10

10 out of 10

First of all, and to clear all the troubled minds, this phone was never meant to compete with the iPhone, because it is in an all new league. And if you have an iPhone that you love and you want to change to the Omnia HD, just for the amazing specs, don't do it, please.
This is nothing like the iPhone, it's way better, starting with the 3,7" AMOLED screen, the ARM Cortex A8 600 MHz processor and the massive 256 Mb of RAM, microSDHC slot, multitasking, HD video recording, and the possibility to use all the thousands already available S60 5th ed. applications.
Personally i really like this software, and i've been using S60's for several years. But i can understand people don't liking the OS, because there's still quite a lot of minor bugs in this 5th ed.
So, if you're not a fan of Symbian touch phones, and you don't believe that samsung will release several firmwares to fix all the problems, and you can't see the truly amazing device the Omnia HD is, this phone is not for you.
By the way, if you want to compare it, please do it with the Nokia N97 (way bellow in performance) or the Sony Ericsson Satio (not released yet)
PS: as for the battery life issue, this phone is totally customizable, so there's a lot of definitions you can turn off to extend the autonomy.
 
Best phone ever, I say...

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • >Huge vivid AMOLED screen
  • >Really fast interface
  • >totally multimedia prepared (DivX/Xvid codecs with subs supported)
  • >Big amount of free RAM after the boot
  • >3D graphic acelerator
  • >The ultimate all-in-one, future proof device

Cons

13 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Luiz Carlos
posted on 21 Jul 2009, 15:23

2

Bad phone

I had an Iphone by 2 years and change for this horrible phone named Ominia HD (Horrible Device). I regret very much. Bad battery life (you read some lies about the battery in some sites). Too many touches to reach any aplication. The only good points are the sound speaker and video player, but you don't have battery enough to use.
I hate this phone, if you don't have, don't buy it rather buy an Iphone that is the best.

Design 4/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • nothing

Cons

  • everything

3 out of 58 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Tsais
posted on 09 Jul 2009, 06:06 (Posts: 19; Member since: 16 Jun 2009)

8.7

great hardware, but software inconsistent

Well, I'm not regretting my purchase, however, the software situation out of the box isn't so pretty.
The more elegant way of finding and playing back your videos somehow fails to recognize or play back about a quarter of my mp4 files, while browsing from the file manager lets me play them all back, cause a different video player gets started.  Video is nice on that screen and the speakers are good enough to watch movies without headphones or even listen to some music.  I found myself turning it down at night for fear of waking someone up.
S60 v5 theme files I downloaded from the web caused an incompatibility warning on install, and didn't work. Haven't found a theme editor yet for it.  Samsung's support site seems dismal, the only way I found any updates was by using google to end up on Samsung's russian site...  its annoying, given how Nokia spoonfeeds you with stuff for their phones.
I installed Fring, and so far, it works well enough (given that skype VoIP traffic has to go through Fring's servers, which degrades sound quality somewhat)  However, the phone bugs me with frequent "wifi connection lost" messages, even though I'm right next to the access point here.
I just hope the phone doesn't have a habit of dropping the wifi connection after let it sit around the house for a while, cause obviously, nobody will be able to call you through skype if you're not connected.  My old Nokia got the boot because it disconnected from wifi on its own after...  

Design 7/10
Features 10/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • great screen
  • S60 v5
  • HD video
  • good speakers

Cons

  • No skype integration unlike the N97!
  • Only skype light which is bad to boot and no touch screen support.
  • Samsung's software support website is barren compared to Nokia
  • 2 different video players, one can't play certain MP4 videos, while the other can.
  • 4 shortcut limit for home screen (for people who don't like touchwiz)
  • Media browser muddles images and videos together, yipes!
  • when recording video, audio recording is very poor

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Umar Naseem
posted on 29 Jun 2009, 04:18

10

Best ov da Best

The best handset ever came across with......few things to bear in mind for the first week and than all u have is one word AWESOME............The UI is great, so are the features.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • 1)Screen
  • 2)Touch Response
  • 3)Battery
  • 4)Camera and the list is on..............

Cons

  • Nthg really!!!!

14 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

carydc
posted on 23 Jun 2009, 22:59 (Posts: 0; Member since: 23 Jun 2009)

10

Concerns

1.  Comments that there is not much software out there for this phone.  Try the Symbian support site and say the S60 Software Site and oh yeah the i8910 user site....  That is three just off the top of my head.
2.  Battery performance...  Hmmm.  You know those things called profiles that are on the phone?  Have you tried to use them?  Say when there is no Wifi use roaming.  When on an airplane, airplane, so all radios are off.
3.  By the way, if it eats batteries so bad, then I would carry an extra one as this unit does allow you to swap batteries.  That is not so difficult of a thought process.  Then get a charger and buy a couple extra batteries.
I love this phone.  It SMOKEs the iPhone.  The Pre uses the same CPU.  This one has a GPU to boot that makes it a rival of Game Machines like a PSP.  I could go on and on.
I wish you all luck that are having issues.  Please find your way to the support forums I mentioned:
http://samsungi8910downloads.blogspot.com/
http://www.samsungomniahd.com/2009/06/21/16gb-i8910-omnia-hd-does-exist-hits-scandinavia/
http://samsungi8910omnia.com
I hope this helps you find the information you are looking for.  There are people that use the phone day to day, Downloads, and support forums.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

26 out of 30 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Umar Khan
posted on 14 Jun 2009, 02:04

9.7

Awesome handset but i guess.....

Hiee, NIce handset and must say samsung has done a quite decent job!!! touch screen is responsive and the rest is wonderful except the battery......I dunno wats the matter?? but its draining real fast!!!!!!i hope some of u guys will figure out how to optimize it!!!!!!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Screen
  • UI
  • Camera
  • Music Player n list goes on......

Cons

  • BATTERY in all BOLD!!!!!

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

tinny77
posted on 08 Jun 2009, 03:57 (Posts: 0; Member since: 25 Nov 2008)

8

Good phone, but the battery is inadeguate

I own this phone since a week. I like it, it worth its price, camera is the top on market. Many amazing features you already know. Cons? Battery. I can't figure out how it got 10/10 here, I hardly come to the end of the day with a full charged battery.

Design 7/10
Features 10/10
Performance 7/10

Pros

  • Amazing display
  • Good camera and videos
  • Fast software
  • Very responsive touch screen

Cons

  • Very poor battery life
  • Browser not very usable
  • Recorded audio on videos is poor
  • Maybe Symbian is not the best OS you can get: lack of apps
  • No multitouch

17 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories