x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Monte S5620 User Reviews

7.8 Based on 25 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed6.7/10
Camera7.1/10
Multimedia7.4/10
Internet6.9/10
Call quality8.3/10
Battery8.2/10
Reception7.7/10
Display8.4/10
Build quality8.3/10
Text input6.8/10
Everyday usage7.8/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

omu133
posted on 17 Oct 2013, 08:25 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 Oct 2013)

9

The TRUTH about Samsung Monte (must read)

omu133 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

This phone is amazing. I have had it for years and I love it. If you want a phone that is going to work perfectly and not fail to do what you want, get the Samsung Monte. If you want a phone that will break down, screw the battery etc etc...get an android and/or ''the new (enter phone name here)'' Not kidding. Androids may have other things, but you don't really need them. And lets face it...they don't last long. If you want a permanent phone- here it is! Its comfortable to hold, it looks great, works great and the reception is amazing! Its a beautiful phone that works great.
I would like to point out:
-The qwerty keyboard is not EVERYTHING and it would be a shame to give up on buying it just for that. I personaly find that kind of keyboard uncomfortable.
-Please, if you want to know the TRUTH about this phone don't read what ''Monte hater'' worte. Thats bulls**t and honestly made me laugh.
-The battery life depends on how you treat this phone. If charged correctly it lasts for days even if you use it nonstop.
-Its very easy to use
-Not going to let you down
Thanx for reading :)

Oh and if you have the phone already...check this out:
*#7353# Not kidding, it works. Write it down as if typing a number and don't click anything else. Check out what appears :)

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10 Get reception almost EVERWHERE
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10 Great camera and makes cool pics
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 Very nice clear and sensitive display
Battery 9/10 Battery holds for hours when talking.

Pros

  • Very beautiful: Great desing
  • Comfortable
  • Easy to use
  • Great sensitive display; responsive to touch
  • Amazing Media Player
  • Supports 16 GB memory card
  • Camera
  • Wi-Fi
  • Bluetooth
  • PDF reader

Cons

  • Battery (if not cared for correctly)
  • Video isn't that good

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

anjukaameresekere99
posted on 09 Jul 2012, 08:31 (Posts: 0; Member since: 20 Dec 2011)

3

Monte Hater

anjukaameresekere99 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Nice phone if you are looking for a temporary phone else DON'T BUY IT!!!!!!
Been using it for 6 months the only good thing about it is the music player.
Cannot take pictures from front camera.
Deletes contacts constantly.
Only saves texts to sim.

Build quality 1/10
Reception 2/10 Phone does not get any reception at all and I have to climb on high places to get at least one bar.
Call quality 1/10
Internet 3/10 Browser constantly freezes if connection is slow it closes browser
Multimedia 6/10 Good music player and nice tones when listening on headphones
Camera 3/10 Lacks autofocus so one has to hold the camera in the same place for exactly 40 seconds to get the picture
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 1/10 Battery dies like crazy when on a call.
Text input 2/10 Freezes in different places
Display 7/10 Good clear display especially in sunlight
Battery 7/10 Nice long lasting life especially when listening to music

Pros

  • Good music player
  • Good equalizer
  • Has front camera

Cons

  • Call button freezes
  • Phone crashes and restarts
  • Does not recognize sim
  • Touch screen is not that responsive

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mahesh.mca143
posted on 06 Oct 2011, 01:21 (Posts: 0; Member since: 06 Oct 2011)

8

Samsung Monte 5620

mahesh.mca143 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Its a Budget phone.Its good in cost(3g,WiFi,touch,etc in low cost).it might b good if better features other than some useless features in it. GPRS is ok,wifi is good. good battery backup,good touch interface,Picasa,gmail,gmap,search,are good, youtube streaming is not good(voice breakage). No skype support.For 7000 its best gadget in market unless you invest more.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 5/10 its a bit slow compared to nokia x2
Multimedia 5/10 this device is not so good for music lovers. music wise,nothing special and good.
Camera 6/10 no flash.all others ok for its cost
UI speed 6/10 for experts it dosent seems speed but for intermediate and beginers with touch and ui its good
Everyday usage 8/10 i feel better compared to other devices
Text input 7/10 ok
Display 8/10 good
Battery 9/10 better than lg optimus and equivalent 2 nokia. 1 full day when internet is used, 3 days normally.minimum 2days

Pros

  • price mainly
  • wifi
  • gps
  • 3.2 mp cam and its options
  • stylish body
  • some good apps support
  • widgets
  • good battery backup

Cons

  • youtube buffering
  • no flash for camera
  • default apps are not so impressive
  • not so useful widgets
  • no upgradation facilities
  • ear phones are normal(not good for music)
  • confusing UI

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

not a smart phone
posted on 27 Jul 2011, 08:05

7

monte is not a better gadget for the people who wants more...

not a smart phone has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This is average phone for multimedia users ( Playing music, Video etc..)
Speaker sound is low. Camera work fine under high light, very poor in low light condition.
Battery stay around 2 days at just above average uses.
Task manager is worst.
Video Player is worst only plays .3gp format with low resolution.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 6/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 7/10
Display 8/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

Cons

  • video resolution not good
  • photo clarity in dark places not good
  • getting structed somtime without reason
  • wi fi not working properly
  • can't perform multiple operations simultaneously..

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

nani
posted on 24 Jul 2011, 23:08

9

more than i xpcted

nani has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

its such a gud phone i evr seen in this price. im satisfied with all the features. camera is good . and also having 3G,WI-Fi is good. The internet is fairly good . resolution of the camera is very gud .i think frnt camera is the main advantage in this.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • camera
  • 3G
  • WI-FI
  • internet
  • musicpalyer

Cons

  • battery

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

parantham
posted on 10 Jul 2011, 02:46

5

best in beauty worst in features

parantham has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Those who need a nice lookin phone they may go for monte... else better get something els....because the features are worst. we cant run two applications simultaneously lik nokia.. the ui speed is very lowwwwwwwwwwww.. 3G jus for name sake.camera also average only. better than the worst.

Build quality 6/10
Reception 5/10
Call quality 5/10
Internet 3/10
Multimedia 4/10
Camera 4/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 6/10
Display 8/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • display
  • battery
  • looking cool

Cons

  • size
  • internet
  • keypad
  • ui speed
  • no os
  • cant upgrade

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Abdullah
posted on 19 Jun 2011, 17:51

6

laggy

Abdullah has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

It's very laggy and i hate lag
the browser does not shows full sites only mobile sites (not enough memory)
does not supports skype ):
can't be updated officially from samsung
no flash !!
other than that it's a very nice phone and the price is good

Build quality 8/10
Reception 6/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 3/10
Multimedia 5/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 4/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 4/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

abhishek32
posted on 21 Apr 2011, 03:55 (Posts: 1; Member since: 21 Apr 2011)

8

Casual Phone

abhishek32 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

the phone is nice but still lacks of other software. No O.S is the big disadvantage. The most strange thing in my phone it has that it says it has 200 mb inbuilt memory bt it is 320 mb may be i had got the othersome. but its nice. Its camera is not good. Lookwise it looks awesome no theme no upgradation makes it a big loser in premium market.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 6/10 cannot load heavy, full size page like metacafe, facebook.
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 8/10
Display 7/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • 3g - wifi

Cons

abhishek32 alternatives:

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Jayesh
posted on 17 Apr 2011, 01:02

7

Not Good Phone

Jayesh has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This mobile has 3g only for telling, it not support video calling, and also it not support themes and many other software and games. it support only .jar files. If you want to buy mobile , go to Nokia 5800 its standrad company and all software supported in that. i want to see monte, any body want to buy contact me on jayesh11prmr@gmail.com

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 8/10
Display 8/10
Battery 7/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

karan bhowal
posted on 21 Feb 2011, 06:12

9

very gentle phone

karan bhowal has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

its a good phone and also a very handy phone.it is cheap phone that having 3g and wifi.it also have a gps system and inbuilt google map and google mail.itis fully a multimedia phone .when you travelling you may listen music and play videos.it has 16 gb expandable memory and 220 mb internel memory.overall good.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • wifi
  • 3g
  • gps
  • google mail
  • google maps

Cons

  • battery
  • headphone
  • speaker

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

loka
posted on 22 Jan 2011, 16:25

9

monte is very very very very goooooooooooooooooooood

loka has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

is one of the best devices 2010 and I've been I want to buy a Nokia 5800 and Lenny and I found him 4 types and price-Ghali, but Monte newer and better than I would recommend anyone who wants to buy a mobile phone buy is top of the beauty and magnificence best what produced by Samsung

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • very gooooooood

Cons

  • nothing

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Neilj
posted on 29 Dec 2010, 04:44

7

Just mean for Internet

Neilj has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This is average phone for multimedia users ( Playing music, Video etc..)
Speaker sound is low. Camera work fine under high light, very poor in low light condition.
Battery stay around 2 days at just above average uses.
Task manager is worst.
Video Player is worst only plays .3gp format with low resolution.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 6/10
Display 6/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Wi-Fi
  • EDGE
  • UI

Cons

  • Camera
  • Music
  • Battery

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

UnDiScOvErEd0_O
posted on 10 Dec 2010, 03:47

9

More than expected

UnDiScOvErEd0_O has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I was looking for a phone with wifi. Samsung became my ultimate choice so i went to the sowroom and after looking a couple of phone i recok monte. my eye caught its eye catching view. but theres no application for this phone. i hav searched every where. the appliocation also does not comes to main menue. we need to go to games folder to acess it. this must be improved

Build quality 9/10 Some features should be improved
Reception 9/10 can hear properly
Call quality 10/10 makes every one happy
Internet 8/10 a little bit slow
Multimedia 8/10 video not satisfactory and some problems in music player
Camera 8/10 not good for high quality image
UI speed 8/10 os is little bit slow.
Everyday usage 9/10 it gives u what u need when u need
Text input 6/10 there's no qwerty keyboard. it uses normal keyboard
Display 9/10 u can experience quality
Battery 9/10 it can go hours...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Luciano-Argentina
posted on 04 Dec 2010, 22:52

9

A cheap wifi-gps-well camera phone

Luciano-Argentina has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I love this phone, it has a beauty design, a good interface, well camera, and the best thing is it's battery it llongs during days, However, as it has no android, windows,ios, etc. there a little applications, In addition to this I can say that the built-in web surfing application is horrible(no qwerty,it says some times that is has the phone memory full i can't surf the complete page, etc), on the other hand using opera mini is excelent.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 5/10 the built in browser is horrible, however I use Opera mini which is excelent
Multimedia 8/10 not so good resolution
Camera 8/10 I love smile shutter, and tooking hole views
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10 in this size of screens I prefer not using qwerty, so as this phone doesn't have I have no problem
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Camera options
  • Wifi
  • Gps
  • Built in application of Utalk
  • Design
  • Interface
  • Battery
  • Calendar

Cons

  • Not so much good applications on java
  • Videos quiality is not so good on youtube

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

qwerty
posted on 25 Nov 2010, 12:48

8.6

pretty good.

qwerty has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

used it for more than a year and loved it!!!

Battery 9/10
Display 8/10
Text input 7/10
Everyday usage 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Camera 9/10
Multimedia 7/10
Internet 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Reception 8/10
Build quality 10/10

Pros

  • pretty good in almost everything

Cons

  • bad text input
  • had some problems with reception

qwerty alternatives:

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

william moses
posted on 24 Nov 2010, 07:28

6

samsung monte

william moses has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The samsung monte is a good phone the camera is excelent the internet is easy and very useful. But the battery life sucks!! And the lack off no qwerty keyboard lets the phone down. All in all it is a good phone but definetly room for some improvment!

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 2/10
Display 8/10
Battery 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

deejay1979
posted on 30 Aug 2010, 16:15

6.3

Good telehpone as long as music is not priority

I got the phone and the quality of the mp3 player is the worst.
I used to have a Sonny Ericsson and, although it was much cheaper, it has an excellent sound and  execent bass .
There is now way to manually equalize the music.

If anybody knows how to use another mp3 player insted of the one that comes with the thelephone let me know please.
I'm really dissapointed with it.
I have to use another mp3 player to get good sound.

Design 7/10
Features 6/10
Performance 6/10

Pros

  • Internet
  • size
  • price

Cons

  • Quality of sound. It's the WORST!!!
  • Dont get this mobile if you like listening to music.

5 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

iMikerz
posted on 06 Aug 2010, 15:03

9

Great phone so far

Recently got this phone, really nice with everything you need really, Wi-Fi, 3G, camera, apps, music, radio, just all you need from a phone really.

The internet is fairly good, haven't tried it out fully yet but it's pretty nice so far, the Facebook app isn't as good as I expected though, you can't like things and you only see status updates.

The camera is fairly bad quality but it's good for quick snaps and has video too.

The music and radio are very nice, the sound quality is pretty good and the radio works great. 

With the texting and calling, everything is great apart from the keypad, you just get the small keypad on original phones and no QWERTY style one so it's a bit slow for typing.

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Internet
  • Music
  • Phone calls

Cons

  • Keypad
  • Some apps aren't the best
  • Camera quality

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Krishan
posted on 23 Jun 2010, 14:17

9

S5620---Monte--- good ne an value for money

Its have all the thing which you wants (Except Multitasking), this phone will not let you down, In pictures it may be not looking impressive but physically its having good model, Its a feature rich phone in suitable and affordable price. Touch is very responsive and phone performance is also good (not a slow one).

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Responsive touch
  • fast one phone
  • A-GPS,3G, WIFI
  • Good Design
  • Battery Life
  • FM Recording is of good quality
  • Sound is Ok

Cons

  • No Multitasking
  • No QWERT key board on rotation

24 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

pacevar
posted on 23 Jun 2010, 00:12 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 Jun 2010)

9

Samsung Monte: wow

 got this phone 2 days ago. interface is quick, no lags. response is good. it's great all in all. compare to other touchcreen with the same price tag. for me this is the best in terms of UI and response. downside of this phone is the placement of the speakers and it wont go qwerty when you do a text massage or type an address at the address bar of the built-in browse.

Design 10/10
Features 8/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Nice sound output.
  • fast User Interface.
  • Wifi connects quickly.
  • document (PDF) reader.

Cons

  • widgets are too BIG!
  • placement of the speaker is underneath.
  • qwerty virtual keyboard is not present when typing in landscape.

16 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sijeesh
posted on 21 Jun 2010, 03:10

8

Monte is good

I was looking for a touch phone with WIFI and GPS from a long time, I liked Nokia 5800 but it was around 14k (Indian rupee). Bingo! Monte was released. In reviews I din like its picture but in hand it was superb, the phone is overall good and looks good too, See I am not a critic at all but deeming to my likes and dislikes I was able to form some conclusions about my phone and‘ll like to share some: Usability : Good but not good for full time messaging freeks   Looks: pretty good, menus are good looking but most of them are useless (for me at least).Display is awesome. We‘ll get a good leather pouch, to hide phone’s fragility (hehe).   Widgets: we get a pretty decent set of widgets which can be danced over the desktop, widgets are very handy and useful but one thing, nothing related to Samsung none of the sites allow easy upload of pics from mobile.   and abt the desktop: you get three of them which ‘ll have three different wallpapers, that’s very good as you can hide your girlfriends pic in one desktop :) but I would have liken it more if it allowed a broad pic as wallpaper stretched across three desktops.   Camera : good, very good its a typical Samsung cam, good colors textures really good if light is correct, but at times a bit shaky , and night mode is also crisp so overall picturing is better than good in Monte   Video Cam: hmm this I din use to a broader extend but its really good till what I have known, I played it in system too, decent...  

Design 9/10
Features 7/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • camera
  • looks
  • display
  • fonts

Cons

  • battery
  • video player
  • screen size not standard

28 out of 31 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mac_cool1023
posted on 02 Jun 2010, 21:25 (Posts: 1; Member since: 02 Jun 2010)

9.3

samsung monte s5260 rocckksss

hey guys, this phone is just excellent with all the things you need and at an affordable price too. It has some really good features and one of the best mobiles samsung has really produced with 3G, WI FI, and a really cool 3.2 mp camera and has a front censor also to enable video calling. So, overall its an excellent phone and worth penny, that will definitely suit your pocket.

Design 8/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Nirmal Oswal
posted on 27 May 2010, 10:14

10

Samsung Monte

Hey this one of the best phone which samsung has ever released and I really like the look and it is handy and what I wanted was a good Internet connnectivity
So I can surf net abd watch youtube Videos,so I would suggest you to go for this phone as I would rate this phone 9 out of 10.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

pravin
posted on 20 Apr 2010, 09:04

8

monte rocks

 Its a gud phone nice luking, model is very gud in affortable price . resolution of the camera is very gud picture clarity is nice.sound is not so high in normal but gud . but in head phone it is gud to hear. lots of features r packed and comes with this mobile. battery life is gud. but dont know how much time it stand during hearing songstotally its a fun packed experience to have.

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • camera
  • 3g
  • battery
  • sound quality

Cons

  • battery while hearing songs has i dont knw actually

35 out of 47 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Sesha Rao
posted on 03 Apr 2010, 10:35

7.7

Its Affordable Phone

its a nice,affordable,cool phone. it has every facility almost. its better than nokia 5230 which doesnt have front camera and wi-fi. it is lower than nokia 5800. but when it comes to pricie its reasonably priced. its a good start to samsung in 3g phones.

Design 6/10
Features 8/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • wifi and 3g
  • camera
  • supports 16gb memory card
  • touch screen

Cons

  • Battery
  • qwerty
  • 15 fps video recording

149 out of 174 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories