x We have placed cookies on your device to make your experience better. Find more info here.
x PhoneArena.com наема във Варна! Ако технологиите са в кръвта ти и имаш перфектен писмен английски,
ние ти даваме възможността да станеш част от екипа ни. - виж повече

Samsung Gravity T User Reviews

7.3 Based on 19 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Everyday usage6.8/10
UI speed5.4/10
Camera6.5/10
Multimedia6.2/10
Internet4.4/10
Call quality6.2/10
Battery9.2/10
Reception5.8/10
Display7.9/10
Build quality8.4/10
Text input8.4/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

qwert5
posted on 17 Jul 2012, 00:42 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 Jul 2012)

6

internet not working!!!

qwert5 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

so less than a week after i bought it, a messege apperas everytime i go on the internet that says uneexpected failure and 3G stops working. Not really unexpected anymore. The touch screen isnt very accurate and itneeds a better canera but im more than satisfied by the keypad. PS for everyone looking at my ratings below, im a pesimist.

Build quality 9/10 resists to shock, feels sturdy
Reception 6/10 not bad but needs improovement. the signal bars move around 3 bars while moving in my house but out in the open, really not bad.
Call quality 7/10 the sound quality is average but the speakerphone function needs some working on.
Internet 2/10 started slow, isnt working now and it needs some wifi
Multimedia 8/10 not the worst ive seen but id like to see somthing in the 3-4mp range. The panorama funcoin makes up for it though. useful for taking wide angle shots or just for fun.
Camera 7/10 not the worst ive seen but i would like to see 3 or 4 mega pixles. the panorma function is pretty cool
UI speed 5/10 thouch screen lags alot and the keyboard somtimes lags too.
Everyday usage 5/10 touch screen makes it hard to navigate
Text input 10/10 i like the keypad better than the virtual ones on the iphone, or galaxies and the one on the blakberry bold. plus, its backlit.
Display 6/10 not the worst i have seen but even 720p would be welcoming. the resalution is really low. and the refresh rate is low too so ghosting somtimes happens.
Battery 9/10 pretty good. I used it for nearly 3 hours one day and it still lasted another day after that.

Pros

  • price

Cons

  • everything listed in the ratings section

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Stephaniemh
posted on 23 Jan 2012, 20:10 (Posts: 0; Member since: 23 Jan 2012)

9

This phone is my baby.

Stephaniemh has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I've had this phone for almost two years and i love it. I've never used the internet on it so i cant tell you whether or not it's good. But i do recommend a screen protector if you have nails or drop it, and a memory card if you take pictures alot. There is a draw a picture unlock screen, easy to navigate icons, a widget slide on the side, an amazzzing battery..with just texting constantly and a few calls here and there, the battery lasts me about a day and a half to two days. Some things i dont like it that its a little on the slow side, it has shut off by itself multiple times(probably because i drop it ALOT), i had it replaced because it just overall stopped working(probably from putting it in the bathroom with me when im in the steamy shower and the water in the air damaged it, if you dont have a screen protector you will for sure regret it expecially when you get one little rain drop on the screen it gets alllll uncalabrate but thats an easy fix. but i do love love love love itttt.

Build quality 9/10 ive dropped it a million times and its still working just fine.
Reception 8/10 i rarely dont have service.
Call quality 9/10 i dont drop calls everrrr.
Internet 8/10 i havent used the internet but my friend likes it.
Multimedia 10/10 as long as you get a memory card, youll be fine. but the camara is only a 2megapixels but ive taken amazing pictures and videos.
Camera 8/10 only 2megapixels
UI speed 7/10 its a little slow
Everyday usage 9/10 i use this phone for my alarm, my calender, my simple calculator, a way to talk to friends and a way to capture my favorite moments. its great.
Text input 10/10 its a qwerty and an onscreen T9.
Display 9/10 i use it on dim to save battery and its still pretty bright.
Battery 10/10 it lasts forevvvverrrr.

Pros

  • battery
  • video capturer
  • camera

Cons

  • 2mp camera
  • memory
  • calabration sometimes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

rcc1979
posted on 09 Sep 2011, 13:39 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 Sep 2011)

5

Stupid dumb phone!

rcc1979 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I have T-Mobile for about three months and this is my third phone with the same issues! I have talk to numerous representatives and they want to replace the phone and not the model! Also, every time that I have replace the phone they charge me five dollars for a phone that I have not had for even one single day! I would not recommend this phone! The phone drops calls, has poor calibration, and it also has poor software onto the phone causing the phone to go to the internet no matter what I press on the phone! I have talked to T-Mobile and they will not send me another model and make of the phone! You would not be happy with this phone at all! Inclusion, I have not told you that I was a repair tech for four years and this is the worst phone I came too!

Build quality 8/10
Reception 2/10
Call quality 2/10
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 2/10
Camera 2/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 2/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Display
  • Battery
  • keyboard

Cons

  • reception
  • call quality
  • internet multimedia
  • camera
  • ui speed

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

cellophone
posted on 07 Sep 2011, 20:38 (Posts: 0; Member since: 07 Sep 2011)

7

reasonable messaging phone

cellophone has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

The phone is good but for being a messaging phone, the lack of threaded text is disappointing. But the keyboard is probably one of the best for T-Mobile messaging phones. The touchscreen has quite a bit of lag but is reasonable. I was pleased with the phone for the time i had it but its "successor" the Samsung Gravity TXT much much better!

Build quality 7/10
Reception 6/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 6/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 9/10
Display 7/10
Battery 7/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

sief
posted on 13 Aug 2011, 12:21

10

it is nice

sief has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

i have had this phone for about three weeks and it is the best creation. i like it i like it i like it i like it i like it i like it i like it i like it it is a fun dependible phone that looks very nice and on the same hand is high tech !!!

Battery 10/10
Display 10/10
Text input 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Camera 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Internet 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Build quality 10/10

Pros

  • everything

Cons

  • nothing

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

pretty gurl rock
posted on 22 Apr 2011, 07:53

8

gravity is pretty decent for non smart phone.

pretty gurl rock has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

i have had my phone for about four months i really like it. it has a few flaws though and one of the biggest is NO HEADSET JACK! I like the mp3 that comes on it and i'd rather listen to music on headphones rather than a bluetooth, but u have know choice because it jackless idk who's bright idea it was to take that feature out of a phone that has a built in mp3??? but other than that the battery is pretty good! it's durable i have dropped mine a few times and it still works good!

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 6/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • good battery life!

Cons

  • no headset jack!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

CourtneyL
posted on 16 Jan 2011, 21:36

7

I wanted lock design and threaded text messaging like a IM

CourtneyL has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Its a cool phone. Texting is good. Has its Own smiley button where you can make any smiley out. I thought it would have a nice way to lock the phone like a pattern design like an android phone but it only locks in one way. Cant lock the whole phone if someone wants to snoop through it. It doesnt have auto delete for text messages or threaded text messages that performs like a chat. But the camera is good. It has a micro SD slot which can expand memory.

Build quality 9/10 It can resist bangs and scratches.
Reception 7/10 I can get reception in the basement
Call quality 5/10 When i talk to someone i have to ask the person to repeat more than once
Internet 3/10 Didnt equip my phone with internet
Multimedia 7/10 IT has music, video, camera, games ect.
Camera 9/10 It has its own night mode. Video is good but the camera is great for just 2 Megapixels
UI speed 6/10 Its not so slow. But Not fast either
Everyday usage 8/10 IT easy to carry around and it doesnt weigh you down in your pocket
Text input 9/10 Has 2 ways to text
Display 8/10 Has 5 lighting settings. Its Good for people with bad eyes
Battery 9/10 IIt can last 15 days If not in use. I can use it for 2 days straight just texting. Wit The lowest power settings though.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

dave-o
posted on 14 Jan 2011, 17:03

4

Terrible Phone

dave-o has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I have owned several cell phones since about 1999. This is easily the worst! If you intend to actually make calls with your phone, find something else. The reception is horrible, making the phone almost useless indoors. I have never had a phone drop calls like this. Sure the display is nice, and the keyboard isn't too bad, but this device is worthless as a phone. I am pretty sure it's not the provider. Between my wife and me, we have had 5+ phones on the network with no problem until now.

Build quality 7/10
Reception 1/10
Call quality 1/10
Internet 1/10
Multimedia 3/10
Camera 4/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 2/10
Text input 6/10
Display 7/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Decent display
  • OK keyboard

Cons

  • Worthless for making calls
  • Terrible reception
  • Calls drop constantly

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Godisgood
posted on 08 Jan 2011, 18:39 (Posts: 0; Member since: 08 Jan 2011)

7

Excellent "Non-Smartphone"

Godisgood has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This is a good phone for someone who wants a phone with a lot of features but doesn't necessarily want a smartphone. The phone has an excellent battery life. Though it may not look it, the phone actually has a pretty solid feel to it. The keyboard is nice. Someone with larger fingers might want a more tactile keyboard, but the touch input (T9) keyboard solves that. Its not the best feature phone or the worst, but its a pretty decent phone.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 7/10
Display 6/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Battery Life
  • Aesthetic User Interface
  • Music Player
  • Decent Speakerphone

Cons

  • It does freeze occasionally but its not severe
  • Demo apps are irremovable
  • Screen could be 3 inches instead of 2.8 but its not a significant issue

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Godisgood
posted on 08 Jan 2011, 00:52 (Posts: 0; Member since: 08 Jan 2011)

7

Excellent "non-smartphone"

Godisgood has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This is a good phone for someone who wants a phone with a lot of features but doesn't necessarily want a smartphone. The phone has an excellent battery life. Though it may not look it, the phone actually has a pretty solid feel to it. The keyboard is nice. Someone with larger fingers might want a more tactile keyboard, but the touch input (T9) keyboard solves that. Its not the best feature phone or the worst, but its a pretty decent phone.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 5/10 I don't have internet on this device.
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 7/10
Display 7/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Battery Life
  • Aesthetic User Interface
  • Decent Speaker Phone
  • Music Player

Cons

  • The Demo Apps are Irremovable
  • Screen could be 3 inches instead of 2.8 but its a significant issue

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ailisha
posted on 29 Dec 2010, 18:33

6

Garvity T

ailisha has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

i've had this phone for about a week or so and i think it pretty good. its very easy to use and i like that it has a music player. The bad part about this phone is that it doesnt have any ear phone and the converter for the head phones id pretty dumb. also the touch screen is pretty slow. when i go to touch view for a message it usually takes a couple seconds. the camera for the phone is pretty good. and the speakers are very good. its perfect because i dont have the internet so i dont have to worry about that running slow. one thing i dont understand are the applications because its not really like you can buy any and the ones on there and crappy demos. the battery life is awesome though. i spend my day text and talking and by time i plug it in it still isnt dead. depending on what type of needs you have for a phone this could be perfect. as long as you dont use the internet or want any apps or want to listen to your music by yourself.

Build quality 7/10
Reception 4/10
Call quality 5/10
Internet 1/10
Multimedia 2/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 4/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • touch screen
  • great battery life
  • looks cool
  • music player

Cons

  • no head phones
  • a little slow

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

KristinaIsAMonster
posted on 22 Dec 2010, 10:25

9

Great Phone!

KristinaIsAMonster has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I haven't had it for very long, but its really good! Battery lasts a long time, and the touch screen is very easy to use. My only problem with it is that the screen locks every 10 or 15 seconds, and that gets really annoying when waiting for a call or message or using the voicemail. But overall, I really like it.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 6/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 6/10 I dont have the internet with my package :-)
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • battery
  • cool display
  • fast commands
  • touchscreen is GREAT
  • lots of games :-)

Cons

  • Bad reception
  • locks all the time

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Monica
posted on 09 Nov 2010, 11:59

4

Really Not That Great.

Monica has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I thought this phone was going to be great, but really it makes me miss my EnV Touch. I got it because it has both QWERTY and Touch screen, but it isnt special. The screen changes are very slow. I may hit a button on the screen, and then hit it again because the screen still didnt change, ad once the screen finally changes, it jumps ahead, maybe its just the phone I have. There isnt much internal memory. It lets me text and call, thats all. Even then, i get very bad reception, everywhere i go, but maybe thats just my provider. Although, this phone is pretty sturdy, its been dropped and thrown and still is functioning.

Build quality 7/10
Reception 1/10
Call quality 1/10
Internet 3/10
Multimedia 1/10
Camera 3/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 4/10
Display 6/10
Battery 8/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Wolverine
posted on 10 Oct 2010, 18:57

9

SAMSUNG GRAVITY T REVIEW

You gotta love this phone. Yes I know its not the perfect phone of life but its the best phone I could find that fits my needs. The touch screen is very responsive, the keyboard is spaced out so you can find the letters a lot easier, the 2 megapixel camera is great (it picks up the light), the nick unlock and lock feature is kool, the widgets is a nice thing to have, the battery life is very good, but the signal is low in my area, I love the music player, it can hold up to a 16 or 32 micro SD HC card in it (don't know which one), calls are clear, Internet is slow, no wifi, no headphones or headphone jack (3.5), browsing files is slow (music, photos, videos...), 50mb on phone (500 messages), useful command bar when sliding the phone open, not bad speaker phone, 3 home screens and 3 main menus, grip feel in hand (that what she said). Over all, great phone. I would give it a 9/10

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Nice keyboard
  • Clear on calls
  • Cool widgets
  • Great battery life
  • Lock key
  • Love the 2 megapixel camera

Cons

  • No wifi
  • Browsing files
  • Internet slow
  • No headphones or headphone jack (3.5)
  • Signal a little low

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Lou_Garoo
posted on 09 Oct 2010, 20:56

6.3

Samsung Gravity Touch: Security FAIL!!

This phone could have been so much more.  The keyboard, while usable, needs more tactile response.

The touch screen, is a bit flaky at times.  The included apps, can't be removed. (Why do I need a demo of ms pac man? seriously?).  And there are not really any widgets for the phone, other than 1 or 2 extras of no value.

The bar at the bottom, should be removable.  Why have a bar AND a widget bar? It confounds.  

Now, the big, big, HUGE problem; locking the phone does NOTHING.  Yes, it stops 'bum dialing' but unless you 'lock the apps' you can't stop people from snooping your phone.

Ok, here's the big fail... you can't lock all the Apps!  Web browser? NOPE.  So you could lose your phone, and have someone run up huge bills, or, like my provider, have a link directly to your ACCOUNT INFORMATION (thanks you idiots at Virgin Canada [aka, BELL CANADA]).

Seriously, if you turn the phone completely off, you can lock it, or pin lock it (not sure why the difference, but pin lock will need a reset if you fail on 3 tries).  But... there is NO other way to lock your phone.

Every decent phone supports security through screen locking!  C'mon Samsung, UPDATE THIS!!!

Lastly, messaging. Why no threaded messaging?  It's not 1995 anymore!  Yes, another fail samsung.

I'd suggest samsung look at LG and see how they do their slider/touch phone, the XENON.  I wish my provider had...  

Design 6/10
Features 8/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

  • Touch screen.
  • Music player.
  • Expandable memory.
  • Decent apps.

Cons

  • SECURITY: FAIL.
  • Headphones
  • keyboard
  • touch screen.

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Jc
posted on 10 Aug 2010, 22:01

8.3

Can't say it beats my blackberry, but it doesn't crash.

 I've had the phone for about two weeks.  I was very reluctant to get a touch screen phone.  I've become addicted to BB's suretype.  The touch screen is not as great as some others, not as bad as some other more expensive phones(better than the original iPhone in my experience and much better than the iPhake(Sciphone, i9, pick one, yes, I had to buy one to try it)I like getting new phones.  I had my blackberry flip for a year and a year before that I had gotten my Blackberry Pearl 2, or whatever they called it. I sincerely miss my Wifi access and UMA calling.  I do have a grand fathered My Faves plan though so with a google number, I don't miss the UMA calling as much(except on cruises and out of the country but that won't be any time soon)  I do enjoy the $10 internet plan rather than the $30 internet plan.  Someone before wrote that they had a problem with closing applications that appeared on the home screen.  I had the same problem for the first day I played with it.  then I did the whole RTFM and figured out what was going on(Read the Freaking Manual).  You can simply drag those programs back to the widget bar.The widget bar is an interesting concept.  I believe it was liteStep, or one of the other alt windows shells(or even linux, only played with it, never got too far into it) that originally came out with it years ago.  I think it's a fantastic idea.  I was happy to see it.  The phone is more difficult...  

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • No Crashes Yet.
  • Ease of use(once you read the manual)
  • Customization.
  • Preloaded apps meet all basic needs.
  • ?Pseudo? Smart Phone(Has email, HTML Browsing, many features I would consider a smart phone to have, but without the extra charge for internet.
  • Touch Screen(after use is great)
  • J2Me Apps Lots available, and when you think about it, do you really need an app for that when you have internet that's $20 less per month that you can use?

Cons

  • No wifi(not a "smart" phone)
  • Not able to connect to laptop to utilize internet on laptop
  • Learning curve associated with Touch Screen and larger keyboard
  • No "App Store" ~ You won't be the coolest kid on the block, but you'll be cooler than the kid with last years phone.

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Shannin
posted on 17 Jul 2010, 11:27

7.7

Not a bad phone, but...

I just got this phone and overall I really like it! It has some nice features and it is sturdy and it has a touch screen that I really like. It does pretty much everything that I want or need it to, but there are a couple of things that I am finding out that I am disappointed about. First thing is that it does not come with any kind of hands free or stereo headphones. It does not take the normal samsung 20 pin connector, it takes the miniUSB connector and I am not able to find headphones with that connector as of yet. So I if I want to listen to music, I have to listen through the speakers and that doesn't work if I am at the gym. So far I cannot find an adapter to convert it to using 3.5mm headphones either. Second thing that I have found is that I seem to have some issues getting on certain web sites. I get an unexpected failure message and am ot able to resolve it. Even though I got on the same website once before from the same phone. Third, if you open an app such as music player and you run it in the background, you get a minimized use icon on the screen of the home page that you had up when you went to use that app and I have not been able to find how to close it so that the home screen is cleared. You wind up with a screen full of running apps that you can slose...much like a cluttered desktop on a computer. The final thing is rather small, but never the less I wanted it...you can not send a signature tag with your text messages. Other than...  

Design 7/10
Features 8/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • great touch screen - easy to use
  • nice design
  • 3 home pages
  • sturdy phone
  • nice features
  • sleek looking

Cons

  • no headphones included
  • hard to find headphones due to connector type
  • no text signature
  • reception signal somewhat weak
  • unable to close apps running in the background

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

alexis178810
posted on 16 Jul 2010, 03:07 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 Jul 2010)

9.7

Pretty Good Phone

I have had my Gravity T for about two or three weeks now and I love it. This is a great phone if your looking for easy texting and great touch screen. It was easy to learn how to use. i would recommend it to someone looking for a good, yet cheap phone. i paid $ 52.00 for mine. Im sure you can find them cheaper though. Only bad thing is I text alot and i end up having delete messages around once or twice a day.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Easy, quick texting
  • Better than previous Gravities
  • Great Camera
  • Very custom
  • Good ringtones and allows you to use your own
  • Recommened
  • Battery Life
  • Great for all ages

Cons

  • Message space

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ErickGhint
posted on 08 Jul 2010, 02:50

8.3

Gravity T - First Impressions

 I've owned previous iterations of the Gravity series, and I have loved them. The keyboard on the Touch feels better made than the Gravity 2, and is very easy to get used to. Its touchscreen is nice and responsive and has an option for vibration feedback. The sliding mechanism is well built, and feels sturdy and the whole package feels good in the hand (insert jokes here). Customization was simple and quick, and setting up services like visual voicemail was a breeze. All in all, if you're looking for a phone that will give you more than a normal handset, but can't afford a smartphone (or the data plan that comes with one), pick up a Gravity T.

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Responsive touchscreen
  • Feels sturdy
  • Nice well lit screen
  • Great screen quality
  • 3G phone
  • No hefty data charges
  • Touchwiz is fairly quick

Cons

  • Can be a bit slow as far as mobile web, and doesn't have apps. So if you're looking for a full blown smartphone, this isn't it.

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories