x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Galaxy Y User Reviews

6.2 Based on 13 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Build quality7/10
Text input5.5/10
Everyday usage6.8/10
UI speed6.2/10
Camera4.6/10
Multimedia6.8/10
Internet7.4/10
Call quality7.7/10
Battery4.5/10
Reception7.5/10
Display5.2/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

remco105
posted on 17 Jun 2014, 12:00 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 Jun 2014)

5

Bad Phone

remco105 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I had to pay € 100 for this phone and it's so bad. After more than a year I find him so bad that I already buy a new go while even a little piece is not yet. Now let's look for new mobile. something of a sony.

Build quality 9/10 ugly, but do not break.
Reception 7/10
Call quality 7/10 not very good
Internet 5/10 slow
Multimedia 5/10 sound is bad, videos are bad and with headphones is the sound better
Camera 2/10 2MP and no front cam!
UI speed 6/10 not super fast
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 4/10 with the on-screen keyboard appears the keyboard even smaller screen
Display 2/10 bad
Battery 4/10 bad, I bought another one because the first one was broken

Pros

  • does not break
  • worldchampion bouncing

Cons

  • almost everything

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mothana1998
posted on 27 Mar 2014, 03:21 (Posts: 2; Member since: 27 Mar 2014)

6

samsung galaxy y

mothana1998 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

this phone is small and light and easy to use put it has a low camera , bad battery , bad build quality and its not very fast .
it has important apps .
the phone has android
the camera is low 2mpx and no flash

Build quality 5/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 1/10
UI speed 3/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 8/10
Display 5/10
Battery 2/10

Pros

  • easy to use

Cons

  • bad battery
  • bad camera
  • low build quality

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

ThePython
posted on 25 Oct 2013, 23:05 (Posts: 354; Member since: 08 May 2013)

5

Average Smartphone for its price.

ThePython has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Disclaimer: Been using this phone for about a year now. Starting with call quality... it's actually surprisingly decent for a low-end, same goes for build quality. The reception is actually great, which left me surprised. The same can't be said about its low-res display, poor multimedia experience (matched with an equally mediocre internal memory) and awful battery life.

Worth the money? Maybe not. There are better alternatives out there.

Build quality 7/10 Yes, it's a phone made of low-quality plastic but for its price tag, what can we expect?!
Reception 9/10 Reception is surprisingly good.
Call quality 7/10 Quite decent call quality. Little background noise, but voices sound slightly unnatural.
Internet 5/10 It's a pretty average internet experience. Not much to say about it.
Multimedia 4/10 Low internal memory makes life harder for someone who enjoys having a lot of apps.
Camera 5/10 The camera is OK for casual shots (outdoor usage of course).
UI speed 4/10 The UI is slightly laggy.
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 5/10 For small hands it's a average typing experience. For bigger hands... not so much.
Display 4/10 One word: boring.
Battery 3/10 It has terrible battery life, lasting only a few hours (heavy usage) and half a day using with 3G on.

Pros

  • Reception is outstanding.
  • Above average build quality for a low-end.

Cons

  • Low-res display.
  • Mediocre battery life.
  • Minuscule internal memory.

ThePython alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Lautta17
posted on 24 Sep 2013, 13:54 (Posts: 0; Member since: 24 Sep 2013)

10

Excelent for that price

Lautta17 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

never failed me, I've tried thousands of applications and worked perfect, the battery lasts more than a day after a year of use
Obviously, do not expect miracles from a team with android 2.3.6, but as a phone, not ever fail you

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Is a very good phone for the price you pay for it

Cons

  • If you want better, pay more

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

MGreaves
posted on 09 Feb 2013, 08:06 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 Feb 2013)

1

Rubbish

MGreaves has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

It simply cant call anyone for more than 1 minute, the display is the worst i have ever seen, android 2.3 is ainceint, there is a "samsung" virus to try and annoy people off their cheap phones and switch to there ridiculus 700 dollar phones. Camera is broken after 7 months, battery is 1 hour if you dont use it at all, 5 minutes talk time, 2 minutes game time, and the wifi doesnt work. It will say mobile network unavailable when it gets full reception.
terreble phone. any other phone by a different manufacturer is way better.

Build quality 2/10 completely plastic, already obliterated
Reception 1/10 it gets reception but cant call anyone
Call quality 1/10 cant call anyone
Internet 2/10 slow internet, very bad text readability
Multimedia 2/10 really bad screen, cant do much with entertainment.
Camera 1/10 dosent work
UI speed 1/10 very laggy dosent load apps
Everyday usage 1/10
Text input 1/10 screen is too small, even in landscape
Display 1/10 worst ever
Battery 1/10 worst ever.

Pros

Cons

  • bad screen
  • low pixel density
  • terryble camera
  • cant call anyone

MGreaves alternatives:

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

JunkCreek
posted on 10 Dec 2012, 06:01 (Posts: 405; Member since: 13 Jul 2012)

5

Nice little device for little budget

JunkCreek has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

For cheap and Android normal usage, it is best to buy it as your secondary phone or as third, forth, fifth or soon device. Had GPS, WiFi, Camera, nice sound but not loud. We can do basic smartphone and internet usage activity. So complete for it's budget.

Build quality 5/10
Reception 5/10
Call quality 5/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 7/10 With Proper Media/Video Player, you can played almost all videos format, WITH NO HD OFF COURSE!
Camera 5/10 Sooo standard
UI speed 3/10 Bad Design but Great interface
Everyday usage 7/10 Good enough, we can email, SMS, chat, Video Call with proper and compactible apps, had GPS, Maps, WiFi, Thetering, Camera, Multimedia.
Text input 3/10 Screen too small!!!
Display 3/10 Very low ppi, small text get soo jagged.
Battery 5/10 Last long for normal usage. 4 hours for internet with Operamini, but so poor for playing video, only 1 hour play using MX Video Player.

JunkCreek alternatives:

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Nader1912
posted on 03 Nov 2012, 06:05 (Posts: 0; Member since: 30 Oct 2012)

5

I don't think of it as that good after a while

Nader1912 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

seriously. i do not recommend this for anyone apart from people who have never used or seen an android. i've had it since dec 2011. now it's nov 2012. the battery was nice at first but after 7 months mine's battery only lasted 4 hours. on wifi half an hour. on games 50 minutes (all tested at 100 % charge). screen size and resolution cause a lot of apps to get really slow and laggy. some dont even work. camera stinks.

Build quality 8/10 it's nice small build easy to fit in your pocket. really light but can easily slip out of your pocket
Reception 7/10 calls have good reception. internet is good too but not too fast
Call quality 9/10 this is really good.
Internet 8/10 a bit slow
Multimedia 6/10 this things screen size and resoltuion caused most of mt fav apps to lagg a lot and not show essential parts of the race course.
Camera 3/10 no zoom. no flash no proper focus
UI speed 8/10 is good
Everyday usage 5/10 my battery went down to four hours max with no wifi no bluetooth after a couple of months
Text input 6/10 good but the keys are a bit small because of the screen and you make a lot of typing mistakes
Display 3/10 the screen stinks
Battery 3/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ymborrego
posted on 24 Jun 2012, 08:45 (Posts: 2; Member since: 28 Apr 2012)

9

Good Basic Phone

ymborrego has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

After 2 months of having this phone all I can say is, that It works for me, even though Battery Life lasts 2 days on normal usage, and using wi-fi, playing games lasts only hours, 4 to 5 hours top, I actually reccomend this phone for a first time Android user, since it has a more basic Interface.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 10/10 I never had a problem with reception anywhere I go has signal.
Call quality 10/10 Calls are clear you can hear the other party so well and don't have any problems with calls being interrupted.
Internet 10/10 Very fast browsing, Facebook opens real fast, and so are other applications.
Multimedia 10/10 Awesome sound specially if using headphones, the 5.1 sound is great.
Camera 7/10 Takes clear pictures in light conditions, but low light conditions pictures are not so great and clear.
UI speed 10/10 Very fast, It does what it promises, doesn't lag.
Everyday usage 10/10 As for me it's okay, mostly I use it to talk and text, not for web surfing.
Text input 7/10 Qwerty Keyboard is so small actually I end up typing a few mistakes that I have to redo. My fingers aren't so big but wish the keyboard could be a little more bigger.
Display 8/10 Display is bright but could be better, at least a 3.3 display on this phone would've been awesome.
Battery 5/10 Only 2 days lasts me on normal usage, 1 day if I play games or use Wi-fi, hours if I spent too much time on wi-fi (don't have data service). Wish it could have a more lasting battery.

Pros

  • Thin & Small
  • Call Quality & Reception are Great
  • Fast CPU
  • Music Player is awesome

Cons

  • Battery Life too short
  • Small Display 3.0
  • 2 MP Camera
  • Texting in a small Qwerty Keyboard is terrible

ymborrego alternatives:

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

EdwardG
posted on 25 Apr 2012, 22:25 (Posts: 3; Member since: 25 Apr 2012)

6

Good.. but not the better

EdwardG has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

It's Good.. but you need understand that this phone isn't the better, if you can buy an expensive phone.. buy it!.. but.. for to be the your first smartphone.. try it ;).. nice built, poor battery.......

Build quality 9/10 Nice build
Reception 8/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 4/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 7/10
Display 7/10
Battery 4/10

Pros

  • Build

Cons

  • Battery
  • Camera

EdwardG alternatives:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

osama
posted on 28 Jun 2013, 18:54 (Posts: 4; Member since: 17 Apr 2012)

7

Still running badass but ..

osama has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I've had this phone for over a year now and it's still running badass ,despite that i still want to get a new phone cause i've been hanging around with this for a long time already ,Here's my feedback

Build quality 7/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 4/10
UI speed 4/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 4/10
Display 6/10
Battery 6/10 Well i use wifi all the time and that battery disappointed me but if you gonna use it for ordinary usage it's ok

Pros

  • Small dimensions
  • Android (Yeh that's a plus)
  • Call quality isn't bad at all
  • 832 MHz

Cons

  • Bad camera
  • Battery life is kinda bad

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

rupeshanusuri
posted on 01 Apr 2012, 21:44 (Posts: 0; Member since: 01 Apr 2012)

8

Excellent value for money.

rupeshanusuri has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The phone offers good value for money.I recommend this phone for first time android users.
UI speed is also satisfactory.
One can even play HD games after rooting and using chainfire3d.
But the small screen sometimes makes ypu wish you had a bigger one.

Build quality 6/10 chrome chipped after falling down from 2 feet high.
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 7/10
Display 7/10
Battery 7/10

rupeshanusuri alternatives:

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

aymoodley
posted on 22 Mar 2012, 05:12 (Posts: 0; Member since: 22 Mar 2012)

6

Foxy.com

aymoodley has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

It's definitely a better idea to spend a little more and get a better phone. Cheaper is definitely not better when it comes to the Samsung Galaxy Y. I suugest that if you are planning on purchasing this phone, please do proper research on it and have a look at the recent phone reviews conducted by cellular companies.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 3/10 Sometimes the screen is unresponsive and requires extra prodding. This feature was also noted in a few reviews done on this phone.
Text input 3/10 The qwerty keypad is quite small. I thought that I was having an isolated incident but I have done some research and certain reviews show that the keypad sometimes shows the wrongly selected letters. This is not a user error.
Display 6/10 Browsing the internet can be quite a task because of the screen size.
Battery 3/10 You basically have to disable all applications, even while they are not in use, as well make the screen lass bright in order to get the most out of your battery.

Pros

Cons

  • Short battery life
  • Faulty keypad letter selection
  • Unresponsive screen

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

MarioQP
posted on 14 Mar 2012, 15:13 (Posts: 1; Member since: 23 Jan 2012)

8

Young and Lucid

MarioQP has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Ok, here we go: . .

Build quality 8/10 It's very light, so you have the feeling of being a weak phone.
Reception 9/10 Sometimes the Wi-Fi signal is weak when I'm near of the hotspot, but this happens rarely.
Call quality 10/10 Excellent!
Internet 10/10 Really perfect!
Multimedia 10/10 The music player is really awesome.
Camera 6/10 It has noisy images, and the leak of flash or at least 3MP, makes the camera the worst thing in the device.
UI speed 9/10 It is very fast and responsive. But I downloaded the GO Launcher EX, and it's way better than the TouchWiz.
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 7/10 I had to put the 3x4 Keyboard 'cause the QWERTY is too cramped for my very very long fingers. It's a good keyboard, but you get angry when you have really big fingers and accidentally press the 'configuration' or the 'send' (in messages) button.
Display 7/10 I thought that the screen would be sh*tty, but this surprised me. For a low resolution and PPI, the screen is fine (obviously, don't compare this to the Xperia S or the iPhone 4S)
Battery 7/10 The battery's gone in a few hours (obviously, depending on the use you give it). Would be better.

Pros

  • Light and tiny
  • Fast in any way! The 820 MHz is a success!
  • It's really good looking

Cons

  • Poor camera
  • The screen is small... TOO SMALL
  • The battery is so-so

MarioQP alternatives:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories