x PhoneArena is hiring! Reviewer in the USA

Samsung Galaxy S5 User Reviews

9.3 Based on 71 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Everyday usage9.3/10
UI speed9/10
Camera9.4/10
Multimedia9.3/10
Internet9.4/10
Call quality9.2/10
Battery9.1/10
Reception9.4/10
Display9.7/10
Build quality8.8/10
Text input9.3/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

pooma
posted on 03 Mar 2016, 00:10 (Posts: 59; Member since: 01 Oct 2015)

9

First samsung flagship makes me happy

pooma has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

It's an awesome phone, but some features are not useless. However, it's beautiful, the feel and grip are very nice, the camera is awesome and the screen is very good! The IP68 certification makes you feel safer as well.

Build quality 9/10 plastic finish but easy to handle and light weight
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10 awesome in good light but room to improve quality in low light
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10 its fun having super amoled
Battery 9/10

pooma alternatives:

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

35tomycity
posted on 27 Sep 2015, 00:36 (Posts: 79; Member since: 16 Aug 2015)

7

Ok phone.

35tomycity has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

After using for a little while, I've concluded this is a good phone, however it feels as if everything but the camera is below premium. The build is noticeably cheap, battery drains quickly despite all power save features in use; however the speed and camera might be enough to convince you.

Build quality 4/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 6/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 6/10
Display 8/10
Battery 2/10

Pros

  • Great camera
  • High resolution screen
  • Speedy phone
  • Water resistant

Cons

  • Horrendous battery
  • Cheap, very breakable build

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

leo.d.monkey
posted on 04 Aug 2015, 12:40 (Posts: 8; Member since: 25 Aug 2014)

7

great screen and camera ... bad mic and ugly design

leo.d.monkey has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I had my prejudices against this phone at first.
It looks like it was designed by a hobo... but it had all the features i was looking for in a phone.

First impression was fine and dandy great camera and dreamy screen. Samsung bloatware is very annoying... the ui was ok for me.
But soon i found the mic was crap, people could hear me better on my old cheap $50 Lumia 530 than on my $500 samsung... speaker phone mic never worked well.

Just search on google "samsung s5 bad microphone" and feast your eyes , i would not risk it knowing that now (off course tried everything to fix it (android samsung forums))
... assistance will take a month to look at it... just great.
Gave my L 530 to a aunt , the s5 will have to do for more 2 years : P

Build quality 7/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 4/10 mic is a piece of junk... just look for samsung s5 mic problems... it goes from bad software , bad mic design (hole getting easily clogged with dirt ) and defective mics...
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 7/10 mediocre speakers , on the back
Camera 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 6/10 everything good until i try to make a call... mic does not work on speaker mode... and low sound on normal calls.
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10 for me battery is ok , could be better , but i can get 1 or 2 days out of it. fast recharge helps a lot.

Pros

  • camera
  • one of the best screens , just love it.

Cons

  • mic suck can't get work done
  • worst design on a flaghship i ever saw... the samsung bandaid
  • cover ugly cheap plastic ... other makers use plastic and their phones dont look like crap
  • samsung junk software
  • sfinder, rapid connect and battery power save always on tray leave me with 30% of screen space left

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

holydemon6
posted on 03 Jul 2015, 02:18 (Posts: 19; Member since: 30 Jun 2015)

6

Overrated and overpriced

holydemon6 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I bought this phone with the idea to buy a good flag ship phone this time, instead of buying a cheaper good-enough Windows Phones. Reading all the reviews it looked it was impossible to go wrong with this phone. But I liked it less than my previous cheaper phones. It felt slow and the battery drain is very annoying. Very disappointing. I sold it and switched back to Windows Phone

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 6/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 2/10
Text input 7/10
Display 8/10
Battery 1/10

Pros

  • Water proof
  • Design
  • Build quality

Cons

  • Battery drain
  • Slow
  • Android

holydemon6 alternatives:

3 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

iLovesarcasm
posted on 21 Feb 2015, 19:17 (Posts: 528; Member since: 20 Oct 2014)

10

Useful phone for busy people

iLovesarcasm has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

A very useful phone for busy business people who are always on the go. Design is not that bad like what other brand fanboy says but not the best. I value usefulness and efficiency over design. Camera is great except in dark but you won't always take pictures at the dark. Battery is superb and reliable, better than my iPhone.

Build quality 9/10 It feels premium, but I don't like the chrome sides that will chip off in the long run.
Reception 9/10 Still need to reset from time to time, maybe because of network not the phone.
Call quality 9/10 Earpiece is bit quiet but good call quality
Internet 10/10 Super fast
Multimedia 10/10 Good speaker quality
Camera 10/10 Superb
UI speed 10/10 Useful
Everyday usage 10/10 Great daily driver
Text input 10/10 Good as usual as long as it's Samsung.
Display 10/10 Superb
Battery 10/10 2-4 days for an Android, how about that?

Pros

  • Superb battery life
  • Good as QHD display even not QHD
  • Superb camera

Cons

  • Over 2 hours charging
  • Chrome sides will chip off

iLovesarcasm alternatives:

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

FluffyBled
posted on 13 Nov 2014, 03:54 (Posts: 514; Member since: 10 Sep 2014)

10

Great Phone!

FluffyBled has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

It's a great phone! It's the king of Android devices. Only people who try to draw attention would hate on it! And as for iPhone ... it's never been close to either Samsung HTC or the other High-End Android devices!

Build quality 10/10 The build design is great! One doesn't buy a phone to drop it so aluminium is not necessary! Also I love the leather-like back
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10 Most of people like to hate on TouchWiz .. but it's the best UI out there and all these features might result in milliseconds of difference between devices but you save minutes using these features, just think about it. Also the processor can handle it great
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 Awesome!
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10 The battery is good enough for me ... Charge at night and use it all day (At the end of the day i have 20% remaining!

Pros

  • Tons of features!

Cons

FluffyBled alternatives:

8 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

reyenrique
posted on 25 Aug 2014, 00:42 (Posts: 99; Member since: 07 Oct 2012)

10

it is a great phone

reyenrique has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

the quality of the phone is good the display is great and the camera is great plus battery is great the only thing l fine out is the sound or the call quality is fair . not good of this type of phone at all but the rest of this phone is great indeed

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • well most everything is good

Cons

  • the call quality is not quite good

13 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

aravindsbabu
posted on 18 Jul 2014, 13:40 (Posts: 17; Member since: 02 Nov 2013)

9

I'm Happy and content with it

aravindsbabu has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

People who want to buy this phone, just go ahead and buy it. You may hear S5 is slow, S5 is ugly etc etc..

As Samsung is a Big D*CK playa in the smartphone industry it is all but natural to get crticism from all sides and fanboyism takes that critcism to trolling.

Is S5 slow- What about LG G3, its much more jerkier than the S5 ( much evident in most of the YouTube videos)
IS the design monotonous or ugly- Look at Lumia devices, all are the same ALWAYS , 520 525 720 820 920 everything... Xperia devices - same good design implemented for years, and the whole metal thing is good but over hyped. Other materials can be good too..

Build quality 10/10 The super light-weighted construction, and extremely comforting dotted back is a welcome shift away from monotonous plastic and the quote quote "metal design". The chrome trimmed bezels on the borders and the home button is certainly eye catchy
Reception 9/10 No problem here.. Added LTE functionality is good.
Call quality 9/10 Pretty clear
Internet 9/10 Good,no problem here. The only thing slowing me down is the damn network. :P
Multimedia 8/10 Due to the superb screen one should say that it's a multimedia powerhouse, but it's not, because of the speaker. It's very powerful AT THE HIGHEST VOLUME, so powerful that the back cover vibrates and is uncomfortable to use without a case. Video player and music player are all fine, plays almost everything.
Camera 8/10 At good light- Cream of the crop At low light- The quality degrades exponentially ONLY when compared to the other creme-de-la-creme who has OIS. Because from a flagship we always expect more, and DSLR's spoiled me.
UI speed 8/10 All the AWESOME features that makes Samsung a Samsung comes at a cost. And we had it coming. Is it acceptable- YES, But when HTC releases a phone(m8) with a custom skin, which is snappier than the nexus 5 , we know that Samsung can improve on this department
Everyday usage 9/10 Great alarm app, it has all the needed features of the award winning Timely alarm app, and it was implemented a long time ago Messaging, Contacts, phone are all good.Wth cool features.
Text input 9/10 Samsung's keyboard is good, but i prefer Swiftkey
Display 10/10 Displaymate, Phonearena, Androidauthority, Cnet, Engadget, all have expressed the same thing. " best smartphone display till date" But they could have included the screen tech(accurate colours) used in Galaxy Tab S, in S5 also..
Battery 10/10 WOW, Kicks ass. Even when below 10% :P

Pros

  • AMOLED
  • Battery
  • Among the best in outdoor photography
  • New and much more sleek Touchwiz
  • Design ( Personal preference dont even think about trolling)
  • Punchy Visually aesthetic Display
  • Water-resistant
  • Multwindow

Cons

  • Back cover vibrates at highest volume
  • Finger scanner- It was simply rushed into production and hence some what a failure
  • UI choppiness- but can be nullified using some easy tweaks

24 out of 32 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

clirim
posted on 14 May 2014, 18:52 (Posts: 34; Member since: 06 Feb 2014)

10

works like a charm

clirim has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Haters gona hate,It works very smoth there are a lot o features that everybody will be surpised and grateful that samsung has put to make ojr lives easyer and better.You can set it as one handed operation for easy use with one hand ,the display is wonderful very rich in color,the 2.5ghz procesor just dont recognize lag ,its just like says "bring it on its all that yo got". Let me tell you about build quality, it is far better than aluminium metal, it feels so good in the hand that i cant find a word to describe it, there are more chances to slip from a hand an alumjnium metal build phone than this that have used Samsung. They are not fools that have used this material in the back. Im very thenkful ti samsung and gretful that they made such a gret device. Thanks.

Build quality 10/10 Feels good and its not slipery
Reception 10/10 Very smoth i love it
Call quality 10/10 Very standartised, voice is clear and lodlud.
Internet 10/10 Download booster made my life easyer
Multimedia 10/10 Great sound quality
Camera 10/10 Best of the best i like hdr feature
UI speed 10/10 No problems till now no lag
Everyday usage 10/10 You can have it as phone, camera,multimedia fitness,isnt this great for everyday usage
Text input 10/10 Very precise,im satisfied
Display 10/10 Great in sun outdoors and indoors
Battery 10/10 Last for all day long, ultra power saving mode is feature to have everg phone,it saves lives.

Pros

  • Camera
  • Fast processor
  • lots of ram
  • sharp display even in direct sunlight
  • design
  • feels good in the hand and non slipery as aluminum metal

Cons

clirim alternatives:

16 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

butteredjelly
posted on 17 Apr 2014, 06:05 (Posts: 25; Member since: 16 Apr 2014)

10

Amazing phone, but it could be better.

butteredjelly has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Amazing phone. That's about it. Probably the best phone out there. But it still could be better. I couldn't find the internet browser for instance. I have Verizon, so I don't know if they took it off or something? But it's not there. And I don't use Chrome. Or any others. I like the Samsung browser. I'm a bit disappointed it's not even on a Samsung phone.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 7/10 I couldn't even find the Samsung default browser. Anywhere. No link on any of the stores, not an app for it, nowhere.
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10 Keys a little too small for my liking.
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

9 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jadjr
posted on 16 Apr 2014, 11:50 (Posts: 32; Member since: 16 Apr 2014)

10

Just Perfect

jadjr has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I've been using this phone for some days. Ans it's just perfect. Really pleased with my choice. I've got to play with the HTC One M8 , and believe me, even thought it's a premium phone, the galaxy s5 beats it hands down when it comes to its comfortable feels. Higher speed, more vibrant screen, better camera, more usefull features,ans most importantly a better battery life, which a really important thing for me . And let us not mention the faster WiFi , 4g and 3g connection available on this phone . So this is it. :)

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

16 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Cha7520
posted on 14 Apr 2014, 22:08 (Posts: 221; Member since: 31 Oct 2010)

10

Excellent Phone!

Cha7520 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The best built Samsung phone ever! The 16MP Camera is just amazing. And OMG....this Battery!! Where do I even begin!! LOL. This 2800 battery is CRAZY!!! 10 + hours of use and I was at 75%! Awesome!! Overall I'm satisfied with this phone. The only thing is sometimes...once in a blue moon, the UI freezes up just for a second.

Build quality 9/10 Finally a Galaxy phone that can stand up to the harsh elements and drops!
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10 OMG!!! Unbelievable! 10 hours of use and I'm at 75%..this is CRAZY!!!

Pros

  • Camera is awesome!!!
  • The battery on this thing is AMAZING!!

Cons

  • Still not as smooth as Nexus phones!

14 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Android
posted on 12 Apr 2014, 23:12 (Posts: 20; Member since: 04 Dec 2010)

10

worth upgrading to!

Android has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I was debating on why I should or should not upgrade, but I'm glad I did. This phone is awesome. It's fast, battery life is really good and it's not too big for my pockets. It's just perfect for my hands. I know lots of people with little hands complain about not being able to hold phones with 5 inch screens. I would definitely recommend this phone to people that are OK with 5 inch screen phones. Love the Galaxy phones.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Fast, slim, very good camera

Cons

Android alternatives:

16 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

koko1
posted on 12 Apr 2014, 01:07 (Posts: 103; Member since: 03 Dec 2013)

10

best smartphone in 2014 so far

koko1 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

the best phone i've ever used, nice design, great performance, battery that stay for a 10 hours and a lots of other things. the only thing i hate is the speakrs, it could be better than the current one, but its okay i can live with it

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

14 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

thedarkside
posted on 11 Apr 2014, 11:53 (Posts: 652; Member since: 30 Apr 2012)

10

this is the phone ive been waiting for

thedarkside has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

the S5 feel great in my hand as im having a hard time putting it down. the screen is beautiful in displaying colors and anything imaginable. the call quality is something ive never had a problem with. its dust and water resistant which is good for my active life style. no issue with battery life. the camera is stunning. the finger print scanner (in my opinion) is better than the iphone 5s.

the S5 doesnt seem to be missing anything that i look for in a cell phone. although the UI could use a touch up (again) its all around a great phone for me!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • screen quality
  • camera
  • connectivity speed
  • battery
  • build quality
  • dust and water resistant
  • reception

Cons

  • the UI is better but not quite what i think it should be

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Tizen007
posted on 08 Apr 2014, 02:52 (Posts: 575; Member since: 07 Jan 2014)

10

Stunning phone

Tizen007 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The Samsung Galaxy S5 is destined to be one of the best-selling phones of 2014. The S series it belongs to has sold more than 200 million, and if this new version doesn't sell by the truckload, a whole lot of people will be disappointed.

This is another good entry in the series, and some real improvements to the screen and camera make it a worthwhile upgrade for fans of the other S phones. Not every new part of the phone is a smash hit and it is not really a huge step on from the Galaxy S4, but the Galaxy S5 still earns my recommendation.

It works well, and takes about eight seconds, but there are two obvious questions – is it actually useful, and can you get this functionality elsewhere? At present, you can only use the Galaxy S5's heart rate sensor in the S Health app (although it appears to be part of the Samsung Bluetooth LE SDK, so should be able to be used in third-party apps), where it makes a graph of your previous results.

It will come in handy for measuring your resting heart rate, which is a reasonable indicator of general fitness levels. But it's not much cop for mid-exercise readings, where it would be of more use. Quite simply, holding your finger on the back of the Galaxy S5 while running is not a good idea. For that you really want a wrist-worm device like the Galaxy Fit.
The device has VERY good battery life and a stunning display.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

28 out of 46 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Mehdia
posted on 06 Apr 2014, 20:28 (Posts: 23; Member since: 22 Apr 2012)

10

wonderfull

Mehdia has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Overall is best update Big S4 but but brightness this Phone is Perefct and very very better of S4 and this design is cool! i work today by Galaxy S5 just can say Galaxy S 5 without Difficult battery is very Good .
Touchwiz new is beauty and faster and Simple
Best smartphone is display kill for all device ,Display Galaxy S5 Is Pure and without Rival
Overall word : Galaxy S 5 is King Android!

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Amazing Display
  • IP67
  • camera 16 MP very Gerat
  • usb3

Cons

  • Hom Button not is beauty For Smartphone

26 out of 39 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kylehudsons
posted on 02 Apr 2014, 10:12 (Posts: 53; Member since: 04 Apr 2012)

9

A great upgrade from OneX

kylehudsons has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Overall is great but the design could be better... There is nothing special for me to say as you guys can find all the reviews on YouTube already...
Nevertheless a great phone indeed.... Nice vivid screen, 4G LTE is fast no drop on phone call... Camera features are also great... The finger print sensor is also working amazingly great...

Build quality 9/10 Could be better
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Nice big screen
  • IP67 certified
  • Works best if you are in South Korea^.^

Cons

  • Doesn't come with an anttenae
  • Price

22 out of 32 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

DA775
posted on 18 Dec 2015, 16:05 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Dec 2015)

10

Fantastic on the whole

DA775 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Best phone I've owned so far. Display is fantastic as is the touchwiz UI, which I actually prefer to the near stock android I had on my old Xperia Z1C. Performance is very good overall and it blazes through most tasks. Web browsing including videos and downloads is speedy even over 3G. Deserves a shout out for durability as well, with the screen surviving more than its fair share of nasty drops completely unscathed as of yet. Battery is decent, but with heavy usage still needs a daily charge. Camera is decent, but disappointing in low light, especially the front facing camera which sucks in comparison to the iPhone 5C. Only issue so far is that the finger scanner completely stopped working after a couple of months, but that's probably a result of being dropped one too many times. IP67 Waterproofing is also a brilliant feature if you like using your phone in the bath/shower!

Build quality 10/10 My S5 has survived more than its fair share of brutal drops almost completely unscathed
Reception 10/10 Plastic build probably helps but reception is fantastic even over T-Mobile 3G
Call quality 10/10 All clear
Internet 10/10 Screen is the perfect, also like Samsung's stock browser
Multimedia 10/10 Dat screen
Camera 7/10 Great in good lighting but disappointed with front facing camera, especially in low light.
UI speed 9/10 Occasional lag but very swift overall
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 Keyboard and screen size are ideal
Display 10/10 Couldn't be better
Battery 10/10 Right up there with flagships of the last few years

Pros

  • Display
  • Durability
  • Performance
  • Battery

Cons

  • Camera in low light
  • Finger scanner stopped working

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

rafaelpiresgomes
posted on 26 Nov 2015, 13:27 (Posts: 0; Member since: 20 Sep 2015)

9

Quite Impressive

rafaelpiresgomes has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

It's an awesome phone, but some features are not surprising/useless. However, it's beautiful, the feel and grip are very nice, the camera is incredible and the screen is breathtaking! The IP68 certification makes you feel safer as well.

Build quality 9/10 Put the "I don't like plastic" aside. It's already a cliché. The feel of this phone is everything but plastic. Its back feels much like rubber, and the front is simply beautiful. I have the black one, it's amazing.
Reception 8/10 Excellent 4G reception, but the 2G/3G is weak almost all the time. It's probably because of my carrier.
Call quality 9/10 It's nice. But why is this rating useful? '-'
Internet 10/10 Simply perfect. Fast 4G connection every time.
Multimedia 7/10 It depends. The earphones are the best (I call it the wax collector), its bass and quality are amazing. The screen-mirroring and SideSync are very useful and cool! But the microphones and loudspeakers... Feels like they were made by slave monkeys from China.
Camera 9/10 I can't say anything but PERFECT! Lots of resources, 4K videos, effects, and an awesome image quality (except in low light).
UI speed 8/10 Quad-core processor: Yay! RAM smuggler Touchwhiz: No! Result: a smooth 60 fps interface with rare lagging.
Everyday usage 10/10 Easy to carry on the pocket, water and dust resistant. What else can I ask for?
Text input 9/10 The screen size is just perfect. The grip and feel of the phone is outstanding, so typing on it is very comfortable.
Display 10/10 An eye-catching full HD Super AMOLED Display. Those who complain it's oversaturated, search for the display modes in settings and talk to me later.
Battery 7/10 I've had a Note 2 for more than 2 years and I could make it for 2 days with moderate usage without charging it. The S5 lasts just a bit less than a day and a half, and I'm still not used to its battery. However, it charges much faster.

Pros

  • Outstanding FULL HD display.
  • Amazing camera and its features.
  • Water and dust resistant.
  • Smooth interface.
  • Awesome earphones.
  • Quick charging.
  • Screen-mirroring, Side-Sync and other awesome multimedia features.
  • Grip and feel are fantastic. Feels like rubber.

Cons

  • Battery lasts a day and a half.
  • Low light pics are still a con.
  • Still feels fragile.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

vakchris
posted on 21 Jul 2015, 11:32 (Posts: 0; Member since: 21 Jul 2015)

9

A must-buy phone

vakchris has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

the phone is a dynamite.
Battery is excellent with very heavy use(7-9 hours at least) and the new lollipop touchwiz is beautiful,useful and less laggy.
This phone has one of the best cameras out there but the selfie camera has problems.
Samsung multimedia,call and sound quality are very very good and it's a phone you can love only for its excellent and bright super amoled display.
The built quality isn't good at all but all others are very good.

Build quality 7/10 plastic at all. 7 and not 6 because of water and dust proof. Although the protection of battery input is very bad.
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10 A overall good call quality with no problems.
Internet 10/10 reliable and fast internet
Multimedia 10/10 the samsung multimedia pack is excellent
Camera 9/10 One of the best mobile cameras. Not 10 because of the lack of ois.
UI speed 9/10 No lags at all.A ui full of goodies and with lollipop is even beutiful
Everyday usage 9/10 it's a fast phone which it has all goodies for its year
Text input 9/10 no problems here
Display 10/10 fantastic display with good visible at sunlight
Battery 9/10 a very good battery with an average of 7-9 hours of VERY heavy use.

Pros

  • good battery with heavy usage
  • extreme battery saver
  • excellent display
  • useful features
  • good battery charge
  • beautiful lollipop touchwiz
  • one of the best cameras
  • sd card

Cons

  • plastic built quality

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

belieber1996
posted on 20 Jul 2015, 14:02 (Posts: 0; Member since: 27 May 2013)

10

Best phone I've ever owned!!!

belieber1996 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Regardless of the price, the Samsung Galaxy S5 is one of few flagship phones that seems to be worth the investment. The Snapdragon 801 processor works without a hitch and no struggle with multitasking, despite the TouchWiz interface. The 5.1" AMOLED display is big and bright, and I can barely wrap my whole hand around the phone. The camera has stellar quality, and has many different modes to suit any situation. Since I have AT&T, I haven't experienced any major problems in terms of coverage. The battery life seems to be on the good side, but it can be slightly better. Overall, this phone can definitely handle any task I've thrown at it, and then some!

Build quality 10/10 For a water and dust proof phone, the design still achieves to look it's best.
Reception 9/10 Have great service with AT&T, LTE coverage is in areas I would last expect.
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10 This is the perfect phone for web browsing.
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10 Takes stellar photos, and video quality is even better!!
UI speed 10/10 No hiccups with the Snapdragon 801. Smooth as butter.
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10 A few weird errors with auto correct.
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10 Battery life has managed to get me from 8AM-11PM on a few occasions.

Pros

  • Snapdragon 801 Processor
  • 16 MP Camera
  • 4K Video Capture
  • AMOLED Display
  • Motion Sensors
  • Speaker Quality
  • IP 67 (Water & Dust Proof)
  • Fingerprint Scanner

Cons

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

shaahin.different
posted on 13 Jul 2015, 14:30 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Jul 2015)

5

mediocre

shaahin.different has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

iphone is much better. This phone has some problems, battery drain, Oversaturated screen, Lagging plus overheating and frustrating fingerprint sensor. I seriously considering switching back to iphone.

Build quality 2/10
Reception 3/10
Call quality 4/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 5/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 7/10
Display 7/10
Battery 7/10

2 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

bushy7
posted on 03 Jun 2015, 11:06 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Jun 2015)

9

Really nice phone!

bushy7 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I remember when the Galaxy S5 was released, it got a lot of bad reviews because of the lack of change and the looks. My wife got the S5 a month ago and everytime I handle it I'm pretty impressed with it. The phone looks better in person . The features are great. I wish my Note 4 was water resistant. The screen is very good. Samsung makes the best screens. The camera is really good, the only weakness is low light photos. Overall this is a good phone.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Amazing Screen
  • Good Features
  • Good Camera

Cons

  • Only 2GB of RAM
  • Touchwiz

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ibulp
posted on 22 Apr 2015, 14:56 (Posts: 2; Member since: 20 Jul 2014)

9

Not recommended

ibulp has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I don't recommend this phone to anybody in fact i recommend people to shop for something else instead this phone dies fast always stop responding and acts up if you try to put a lock screen on it will always call 911 for you

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 7/10 it freezes so much and not reliable for multitasking
Everyday usage 7/10 this phone keep calling 911 if you lock it and keep freeze
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 6/10 the battery in this phone is always dead

Pros

  • camera and design

Cons

  • stops and freeze
  • keep calling 911 if you
  • battery dies very fast

0 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories