x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Galaxy S5 User Reviews

9.3 Based on 68 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia9.4/10
Internet9.3/10
Call quality9.2/10
Battery9.2/10
Reception9.3/10
Display9.7/10
Build quality8.7/10
Text input9.3/10
Everyday usage9.3/10
UI speed8.9/10
Camera9.5/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

leo.d.monkey
posted on yesterday, 12:14 (Posts: 7; Member since: 25 Aug 2014)

7

great screen and camera ... bad mic and ugly design

leo.d.monkey has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I had my prejudices against this phone at first.
It looks like it was designed by a hobo... but it had all the features i was looking for in a phone.

First impression was fine and dandy great camera and dreamy screen.
But soon i found the mic was crap, people could hear me better on my old cheap $50 Lumia 530 than on my $500 samsung... speaker phone mic never worked well.

just search on google "samsung s5 bad microphone" and feast your eyes , i would not risk it knowing that now (off course tried everything to fix it (android samsung forums))
... assistance will take a month to look at it... just great.
Gave my 530 to a aunt , the s5 will have to do for more 2 years.

Build quality 7/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 4/10 mic is a piece of junk... just look for samsung s5 mic problems... it goes from bad software , bad mic design (hole getting easily clogged with dirt ) and defective mics...
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 7/10 mediocre speakers , on the back
Camera 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 6/10 cant use the speaker when working... bad mic
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10 for me battery is ok , could be better , but i can get 1 or 2 days out of it. fast recharge helps a lot.

Pros

  • camera
  • one of the best screens , just love it.

Cons

  • mic suck can't get work done
  • worst design on a flaghship i ever saw... the samsung bandaid
  • cover ugly cheap plastic ... other makers use plastic and their phones dont look like crap
  • samsung junk software
  • sfinder, rapid connect and battery power save always on tray leave my with 30% of screen space

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

vakchris
posted on 21 Jul 2015, 11:32 (Posts: 0; Member since: 21 Jul 2015)

9

A must-buy phone

vakchris has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

the phone is a dynamite.
Battery is excellent with very heavy use(7-9 hours at least) and the new lollipop touchwiz is beautiful,useful and less laggy.
This phone has one of the best cameras out there but the selfie camera has problems.
Samsung multimedia,call and sound quality are very very good and it's a phone you can love only for its excellent and bright super amoled display.
The built quality isn't good at all but all others are very good.

Build quality 7/10 plastic at all. 7 and not 6 because of water and dust proof. Although the protection of battery input is very bad.
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10 A overall good call quality with no problems.
Internet 10/10 reliable and fast internet
Multimedia 10/10 the samsung multimedia pack is excellent
Camera 9/10 One of the best mobile cameras. Not 10 because of the lack of ois.
UI speed 9/10 No lags at all.A ui full of goodies and with lollipop is even beutiful
Everyday usage 9/10 it's a fast phone which it has all goodies for its year
Text input 9/10 no problems here
Display 10/10 fantastic display with good visible at sunlight
Battery 9/10 a very good battery with an average of 7-9 hours of VERY heavy use.

Pros

  • good battery with heavy usage
  • extreme battery saver
  • excellent display
  • useful features
  • good battery charge
  • beautiful lollipop touchwiz
  • one of the best cameras
  • sd card

Cons

  • plastic built quality

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

belieber1996
posted on 20 Jul 2015, 14:02 (Posts: 0; Member since: 27 May 2013)

10

Best phone I've ever owned!!!

belieber1996 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Regardless of the price, the Samsung Galaxy S5 is one of few flagship phones that seems to be worth the investment. The Snapdragon 801 processor works without a hitch and no struggle with multitasking, despite the TouchWiz interface. The 5.1" AMOLED display is big and bright, and I can barely wrap my whole hand around the phone. The camera has stellar quality, and has many different modes to suit any situation. Since I have AT&T, I haven't experienced any major problems in terms of coverage. The battery life seems to be on the good side, but it can be slightly better. Overall, this phone can definitely handle any task I've thrown at it, and then some!

Build quality 10/10 For a water and dust proof phone, the design still achieves to look it's best.
Reception 9/10 Have great service with AT&T, LTE coverage is in areas I would last expect.
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10 This is the perfect phone for web browsing.
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10 Takes stellar photos, and video quality is even better!!
UI speed 10/10 No hiccups with the Snapdragon 801. Smooth as butter.
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10 A few weird errors with auto correct.
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10 Battery life has managed to get me from 8AM-11PM on a few occasions.

Pros

  • Snapdragon 801 Processor
  • 16 MP Camera
  • 4K Video Capture
  • AMOLED Display
  • Motion Sensors
  • Speaker Quality
  • IP 67 (Water & Dust Proof)
  • Fingerprint Scanner

Cons

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

shaahin.different
posted on 13 Jul 2015, 14:30 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Jul 2015)

5

mediocre

shaahin.different has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

iphone is much better. This phone has some problems, battery drain, Oversaturated screen, Lagging plus overheating and frustrating fingerprint sensor. I seriously considering switching back to iphone.

Build quality 2/10
Reception 3/10
Call quality 4/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 5/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 7/10
Display 7/10
Battery 7/10

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

holydemon6
posted on 03 Jul 2015, 02:18 (Posts: 12; Member since: 30 Jun 2015)

6

Overrated and overpriced

holydemon6 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I bought this phone with the idea to buy a good flag ship phone this time, instead of buying a cheaper good-enough Windows Phones. Reading all the reviews it looked it was impossible to go wrong with this phone. But I liked it less than my previous cheaper phones. It felt slow and the battery drain is very annoying. Very disappointing. I sold it and switched back to Windows Phone

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 6/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 2/10
Text input 7/10
Display 8/10
Battery 1/10

Pros

  • Water proof
  • Design
  • Build quality

Cons

  • Battery drain
  • Slow
  • Android

holydemon6 alternatives:

0 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

bushy7
posted on 03 Jun 2015, 11:06 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Jun 2015)

9

Really nice phone!

bushy7 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I remember when the Galaxy S5 was released, it got a lot of bad reviews because of the lack of change and the looks. My wife got the S5 a month ago and everytime I handle it I'm pretty impressed with it. The phone looks better in person . The features are great. I wish my Note 4 was water resistant. The screen is very good. Samsung makes the best screens. The camera is really good, the only weakness is low light photos. Overall this is a good phone.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Amazing Screen
  • Good Features
  • Good Camera

Cons

  • Only 2GB of RAM
  • Touchwiz

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ibulp
posted on 22 Apr 2015, 14:56 (Posts: 2; Member since: 20 Jul 2014)

9

Not recommended

ibulp has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I don't recommend this phone to anybody in fact i recommend people to shop for something else instead this phone dies fast always stop responding and acts up if you try to put a lock screen on it will always call 911 for you

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 7/10 it freezes so much and not reliable for multitasking
Everyday usage 7/10 this phone keep calling 911 if you lock it and keep freeze
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 6/10 the battery in this phone is always dead

Pros

  • camera and design

Cons

  • stops and freeze
  • keep calling 911 if you
  • battery dies very fast

0 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

IglooArchitect
posted on 17 Apr 2015, 18:27 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 Apr 2015)

7

It bends

IglooArchitect has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I bought my first S5 on March 27,2014. I loved it, it had a great operating system and I loved all the features and options it offered.
It took underwater pictures. It went river rafting with me and was good as new.
Then one night, someone ran over it. It bent, and broke. I got a replacement S5 refurbished from AT&T. I managed to break that one too.
On to my third, and final S5. I bought a leather case for it that had pockets for my cash and cards, however it was cumbersome to use the phone with that case, and it was even more daunting to remove it from the case.
Over time the phone started to bend. Then one night as I was taking it out of its wallet case (which you did have to give it some muscle), it bent too far.
I broke the digitizer. Outer screen is fine, but the digitizer spider-webbed.
I never expected that to happen, especially since Samsung trashes Apple for their bending possibility.
I hope you learned a lesson from this review. You can swim with it, and unfortunately you can (unintentionally) bend it.

Build quality 3/10 10 points for withstanding water, negative 7 points for bending.
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 8/10
Display 7/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Waterproof
  • Powersaver

Cons

  • Bendable
  • Big Screen

1 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jleetw1
posted on 11 Apr 2015, 01:26 (Posts: 0; Member since: 11 Apr 2015)

10

S-5 can you match this speed

jleetw1 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Is any mother cell phone this fast? http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/a/1237478844 I challenge ANY phone show me the speed. This is without Wifi it is on Verizon 40 miles north of Charlotte NC inside a brick house.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

17lapointem
posted on 10 Mar 2015, 16:37 (Posts: 0; Member since: 10 Mar 2015)

9

Samsung Galaxy S5 G900V, 5.0 Lollipop; Great Phone

17lapointem has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The Phone is overall a great device. It does what it says it can. It runs very fast and smooth despite Touchwiz and although the camera quality is quite frustrating indoors, the pictures it takes outside or in good light are plain beautiful. After 7 months of use screen hasn't scratched much but the cheap plastic edges have started to chip and scratch which is a shame. Battery life isn't fantastic but it's manageable. For me when spending most of my time in an area with poor reception I find that it impacts the battery time very negatively. The display is as good as it gets and the internet speeds are fantastic as well. Samsung is true to their waterproof statement. I bring my phone into the shower daily and haven't had a problem.

Build quality 8/10 Plastic edges are easily scratched and chipped. Looks dirty and beat up quickly
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10 Phenomenal picture quality in outside light, but pictures in low or artificial light settings look like absolute garbage
UI speed 9/10 usually lightning fast
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • screen

Cons

17lapointem alternatives:

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

zac_attack
posted on 08 Mar 2015, 21:04 (Posts: 0; Member since: 04 Mar 2015)

10

Absolutely Amazing Phone!

zac_attack has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

So i "was" a apple person until a few months ago i went to get a new phone, i was super bent on getting an iphone no matter what! But what do ya know i walked out of their with this phone and have had no regrets what so ever! If you think apple is the best try out a samsung and let it change your opinion guaranteed. Also about the fingerprint scanner getting alot of hate, i have never had a problem with it at the start it was a little annoying but after a while you get used to it and really good at it.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Screen is Superb
  • Super Fast Charging
  • Camera is Amazing
  • So many helpful little features
  • Great Battery

Cons

  • TouchWiz Interface is Somewhat ugly

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

cmurray27
posted on 03 Mar 2015, 13:49 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Mar 2015)

10

Best phone ever made

cmurray27 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Love the phone, I've owned almost every galaxy s phone they have made. Waiting on the galaxy s6 next!!! I am currently using the active because my s5 got lost at a concert. l Love galaxy s phones they are the best!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

iLovesarcasm
posted on 21 Feb 2015, 19:17 (Posts: 295; Member since: 20 Oct 2014)

10

Useful phone for busy people

iLovesarcasm has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

A very useful phone for busy business people who are always on the go. Design is not that bad like what other brand fanboy says but not the best. I value usefulness and efficiency over design. Camera is great except in dark but you won't always take pictures at the dark. Battery is superb and reliable, better than my iPhone.

Build quality 9/10 It feels premium, but I don't like the chrome sides that will chip off in the long run.
Reception 9/10 Still need to reset from time to time, maybe because of network not the phone.
Call quality 9/10 Earpiece is bit quiet but good call quality
Internet 10/10 Super fast
Multimedia 10/10 Good speaker quality
Camera 10/10 Superb
UI speed 10/10 Useful
Everyday usage 10/10 Great daily driver
Text input 10/10 Good as usual as long as it's Samsung.
Display 10/10 Superb
Battery 10/10 2-4 days for an Android, how about that?

Pros

  • Superb battery life
  • Good as QHD display even not QHD
  • Superb camera

Cons

  • Over 2 hours charging
  • Chrome sides will chip off

iLovesarcasm alternatives:

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

galaxys6
posted on 14 Feb 2015, 12:33 (Posts: 0; Member since: 31 Jan 2015)

10

love it

galaxys6 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I love my s5, although it has some disadvanteges, it has alot more advantages than disadvantages. Just look at the s5's camera. STUNNING. Or maybe the display. AMAZING. Or even the speed of it. UNIMAGINABLE!!!! I recommond eveyone to buy this phone, when s6 comes out, or the note 5, i will still not leave this phone. forget about the fingerprint, or how it looks, this phone is totally amazing.

Build quality 8/10 The s5 doesnt look so attractive from the front
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • 5.1 super AMOLED dislpay
  • 16MP camera with HDR mode
  • 2.7 GHz amazing speed and benchmarks
  • multi window is quite useful despite that it isnt for all the apps
  • it takes a short time to charge in
  • battery lasts about a full day with normal useage
  • power saving and ultra power saving
  • no bloatware apps that u cant remove
  • rarely lags
  • water and dust resisdent

Cons

  • fingerprint scanner hard to use
  • charging part quite annoying to open
  • design not so attractive
  • glitches when u use wet hands
  • flash problems- it sometimes freezes
  • touchwiz is quite ugly and not organised
  • phone heats when u play alit of games in the same time
  • sometimes it takes two hours to charge

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Royal_Rathwa
posted on 29 Jan 2015, 23:46 (Posts: 0; Member since: 29 Jan 2015)

10

Value Of Money & King of Features Phone

Royal_Rathwa has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Just superb performance on antutu banchmark its score 42000 that near to all 45k phones.i got my s5 at 33000 price.this phone is superb in all features.
also its water resistance.if someone said u its polycarbonate cover than said them that s5 having nonumber of back cover on official website too.So its feels premium In leather cover.Now s5 haters just get lost.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • all its features r pros.

Cons

  • None

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

pakbwp
posted on 21 Jan 2015, 11:34 (Posts: 0; Member since: 21 Jan 2015)

10

Fantastic cell phone

pakbwp has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I am using this phone since 2.5 months. Its a complete phone for everyone with its strong sensores, fast performance and intellectual features. The camera is just superb with its amazing blur background function. Its very fast!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10 Voice and signal quality is mesmerizing
Internet 10/10 With download booster feature, it has edge on other phones.
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 with its protected and easy mode features it would help you in everyday use.
Display 10/10 Super latest technology HD screen
Battery 9/10 Battery is just not bad among other cell phones. The battery can be made longer by its mesmerizing ultra power feature.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

victor_alvarezm
posted on 09 Jan 2015, 12:05 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 Jan 2015)

10

Excellent

victor_alvarezm has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

A very good and powerful smartphone, it's good in all the aspects, i've had it for at least 2 months and i haven't had problems with it, the battery is great last one day in constant usage, the full HD screen is excellent.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

coachlitrell
posted on 03 Jan 2015, 09:57 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Jan 2015)

10

Love it

coachlitrell has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Had the S5 for about 6 months and I love everything about it, the screen is clear, the battery last, pictures are so clear along with videos. The President install health app is also great, you can have your heartbeat rate taken just by placing your finger on the back of the phone

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • everything

Cons

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

akray2008
posted on 03 Jan 2015, 08:19 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Jan 2015)

10

Samsung Galaxy S5 great phone

akray2008 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I many years ago have using the family Galaxy S since the first model to now S5 and I don't have anything I can say that I doesn't like on it.
but s5 best phone in world
I love its camera. It gives excellent picture quality a.d water resistant design and fingerprint security access and many more features

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10 great....
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

baghdadguy
posted on 10 Dec 2014, 16:54 (Posts: 1; Member since: 07 Oct 2014)

10

Great Phone with a lot of features

baghdadguy has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Great Phone with a lot of features , great camera , great performance , great display ,
but the design is a bit similar to most galaxy devices , and the battery life is ok but not great .
i like the touchwiz but its better to get smoother UI

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • great experince
  • useful features
  • great camera

Cons

  • the same galaxy design laguage

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ianchoi
posted on 04 Dec 2014, 21:55 (Posts: 0; Member since: 04 Dec 2014)

10

Great phone

ianchoi has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Very quick and has a nice display. I love the camera and I thinknow the whole phone is worth it's price and is very durable. I will have it for 2 years and I feel like it is going to last it. The battery is great and charges very quickly. It does feel a little cheap but does not look bad at all. It actually loves quite nice. It is a very nice and comfortable phone. I will say that this is a great phone and I recommend you to get this nice phone. It calls very well with nothing that bothers it. It had a great signal and is easy to use.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

FluffyBled
posted on 13 Nov 2014, 03:54 (Posts: 212; Member since: 10 Sep 2014)

10

Great Phone!

FluffyBled has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

It's a great phone! It's the king of Android devices. Only people who try to draw attention would hate on it! And as for iPhone ... it's never been close to either Samsung HTC or the other High-End Android devices!

Build quality 10/10 The build design is great! One doesn't buy a phone to drop it so aluminium is not necessary! Also I love the leather-like back
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10 Most of people like to hate on TouchWiz .. but it's the best UI out there and all these features might result in milliseconds of difference between devices but you save minutes using these features, just think about it. Also the processor can handle it great
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 Awesome!
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10 The battery is good enough for me ... Charge at night and use it all day (At the end of the day i have 20% remaining!

Pros

  • Tons of features!

Cons

FluffyBled alternatives:

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Bhaskar546
posted on 03 Nov 2014, 05:51 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Nov 2014)

9

Nice mobile packed with lot of features

Bhaskar546 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I have compared S5 Octa Core phone with Xperia Z2 before buying, there are many features that cannt reach to S5. Camera clarity is superb eventhough it is 16MP. Sound clarity, Display, fingure print swipe and good performance no hanging with 2GB of RAM. Iam very happy with this mobile, i encourage people to have alook at it. And in this mobile Home, multiple window and back buttons are not part of screen.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10 Camera quality is awesome, even Z2 or Z3 also not comparable.
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Jsu1222
posted on 02 Nov 2014, 05:55 (Posts: 0; Member since: 02 Nov 2014)

10

Best I've ever used or owned

Jsu1222 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

In the past year I have owned almost every flagship phone that has been released.I am an avid smartphone enthusiast. When I'm not playing with my phone, I am reading articals about phones. I am more than qualified to give a phone review. All that being said, this phone is the best phone I have ever used. It literally does everything possible that a smartphone can do and it exicutes it all flawlessly. As of right now, the thought of holding on to this phone for a couple years doesn't bother me in the slightest. For me, that is saying alot. I am totally content and satisfied with this phone. It's an amazing device. I am shocked to see so many negative reviews about this phone.

Build quality 9/10 It made made of pls stove but it feels far from cheap. It's light and has great grip. They display is nothing short of beautiful.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10 It's blazing fast and offers multi window feature that allows multi tasking.
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 I use swiftkey and Fleksy.. Both work flawlessly on this phone
Display 10/10 Most beautiful display I've ever seen on a phone.
Battery 10/10 I'm an extreme power user and I still get a full day's charge..

Pros

  • Great feel in hand, great user experience, blazing fast, best display I've ever seen, best camera I've ever used, great battery life.

Cons

  • Only 16 gigs of native storage.

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

MickeyDorfling
posted on 27 Jan 2015, 04:43 (Posts: 0; Member since: 31 Oct 2014)

10

You're here cause you're thinking of buying it? DO IT!!

MickeyDorfling has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

If you're reading this review, odds are you're probably searching all over the Internet to see whether the Galaxy S5 is really that good. Well, let me assure you, it is REALLY that good!

The phone is lightning fast and I honestly could not expect more from it. The screen is beautiful, the camera is amazing, and the camcorder with its 4k recording is better than any professional camcorder (and even some professional equipment) I have ever seen.

The finger print scanner is a little tricky to use, but just watch a tutorial on YouTube - you'll see how to swipe with your thumb to the side. Once I started doing that I have had a 95% success rate.

Today I bought GTA San Andreas for android and it plays perfectly with no lag. The game looks better than it did when I played it on my PS2!

The best part of this phone, though, has to be its ADH Premium guarantee. This is essentially a guarantee against your own stupidity. If you download the ADH Premium app from the Play Store within 30 days of buying the phone, and then register the phone on the database, you are covered for 2 repairs involving liquid or screen damage within 24 months. This means that if you drop the phone and crack the screen they will fix it - FOR FREE! TWICE!!

I dropped my phone in water and it got damaged somehow. I called the ADH number and within 24 hours there was a courier at my door ready to take the phone to the other side of the country. I also got a replacement Galaxy S5 while it was being repaired....  

Build quality 10/10 It looks and feels amazing. I personally prefer the blue back. I know many people think it is an ugly phone, but I quite like the black and blue backings. The white and gold make the phone look a bit like a band-aid in my opinion.
Reception 10/10 I always have signal and mobile data coverage. Never had a phone that has had such good reception.
Call quality 10/10 Crystal clear calls
Internet 10/10 Lightning fast LTE and wifi is very easy to connect to. Also has a mobile data restricter so you don't spend too much.
Multimedia 9/10 Amazing video playback and the pictures are stunning! While you watch a video, if you look away the video pauses! The speaker isn't the best I've ever seen though.
Camera 10/10 Best camera I have ever seen on a phone
UI speed 10/10 It is sometimes a bit laggy, but if it really bugs you you could always get a custom launcher
Everyday usage 10/10 Perfect to handle everything, everywhere, any time.
Text input 10/10 The screen is big enough yet compact enough for a comfortable keyboard. The default keyboard is a little off with predictions. I would recommend downloading the Swiftkey keyboard.
Display 10/10 B-E-A-UTIFUL!
Battery 9/10 Sometimes I wish the battery would last longer, but I do really use the phone a lot. It charges extremely quickly though!

Pros

  • Amazing camera
  • Beautiful screen
  • Secure with the fingerprint scanner
  • Easy to navigate
  • Very nice to hold and use
  • Perfect size
  • Great reception
  • Water and dust resistant
  • Able to handle even the toughest apps
  • ADH PREMIUM!

Cons

  • Speaker could be better
  • Battery could last longer (although I really over-use it)
  • (Everything else that bugs you, like the keyboard in my case, can fixed by installing third-party software)

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories