x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Galaxy S III AT&T User Reviews

8.7 Based on 13 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Internet9.2/10
Call quality9.1/10
Battery8.1/10
Reception9/10
Display8.9/10
Build quality7.5/10
Text input8.5/10
Everyday usage8.8/10
UI speed8.7/10
Camera8.6/10
Multimedia8.5/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

ztbell21
posted on 09 Mar 2014, 00:14 (Posts: 0; Member since: 08 Mar 2014)

10

Still quite good...

ztbell21 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I LOVE THIS PHONE. The big screen, camera, build quality and feature set are excellent. It puts others to shame. Sounds might be a little cheesy and some users might have issues with AT&T's bloat ware on this otherwise fantastic phone. S Voice is also a bad alternative to Siri, Dragon or google now, but it works.

Build quality 10/10 It may be made from plastic, but it sure doesn't look it.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10 LTE. It's faster than 3G and this phone has excellent options for the browser.
Multimedia 10/10 Great support for Bluetooth devices, and a fantastic music player.
Camera 9/10 Picture quality is really good. The camera sound is cheesy, but you can use voice commands with it and it also has controlled continuous on both the front and rear cameras.
UI speed 9/10 Android Jelly Bean 4.3, with a KitKat upgrade coming...
Everyday usage 10/10 I almost never have to reboot it
Text input 9/10 Large, spacious virtual keyboard. Predictive text works very well. S Voice is lacking in features, but works.
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10 Great battery life for an LTE phone. I usually get a couple days on a charge and the battery is user replaceable!

Pros

  • Voice control options
  • BIG screen for a phone
  • Sound quality
  • Build quality
  • Battery life

Cons

  • S Voice
  • AT&T Bloatware
  • Cheesy camera sound

ztbell21 alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

ThePhoneCricket322
posted on 03 Jan 2014, 17:21 (Posts: 4; Member since: 03 Jan 2014)

9

Pretty Good Pretty Good

ThePhoneCricket322 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

This phone is pretty good. Battery life sucks but you can get a extended battery life case so that was resolved. Reception was awesome but at some places it sucks. All in all pretty awesome. Crappy back cover too.

Build quality 5/10 Skinny and flimsy, seriously Samsung?
Reception 10/10 The 4G LTE was awesome on the phone. I never really lost reception.
Call quality 10/10 I never really get anything wrong with this phones calling. Plus, you can ANSWER people internationally with no DATA.
Internet 10/10 Pretty good, lags a bit though.
Multimedia 8/10 I like listening to my music on this thing, but sound quality is just not good enough.
Camera 8/10 If Samsung would stop that gosh darn super cheap camera noise, i would be giving it a 10.
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10 Annoying keyboard sounds made it SO close to the 10.
Display 10/10 Pretty good display
Battery 5/10 A moderately good battery life.

Pros

  • Awesome Speed
  • Good Running Speed
  • Good Speaker Quality
  • Good Screen Resolution
  • A Pretty Smart Smartphone

Cons

  • S Voice Sucks
  • Crappy back cover
  • Cheap Camera Noise
  • Cheap Keyboard Noise

ThePhoneCricket322 alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

techguy22
posted on 24 Jan 2013, 21:23 (Posts: 227; Member since: 09 Aug 2012)

9

awesome if you love sammy phones or new comer

techguy22 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

man. this is an awesome phone. everything you want, sure , the new gimmicks samsung added are some what cool and lame. you get touchwhiz but you can root and do your own stuff, thats the beauty of samsung phones you get all unlock bootloader and support from XDA and devs

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • awesome display, call quality, and support

Cons

  • plastic build, battery isnt that great but you can always get an extended one.

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

jmoney62987
posted on 25 Dec 2012, 18:31 (Posts: 31; Member since: 16 Mar 2010)

8

Amazing Phone

jmoney62987 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

First off let me say I had the original Droid by motorola which I replaced with the iphone 4. My two year contract signed in blood ended so it was time for a new phone! Black Friday the GS3 was $50! I of course grabbed one up. First off let me say this is nothing like the Droid 1; Android has clearly jumped leaps and bounds beyond what it once was. I can do a million things on this phone that I couldn't with the iphone. The camera is fantastic; easily comparable to the iphone 5* The speed on the phone is just as good as the iphone 5 (theres a smallllll difference with the i5 being a smallllll bit faster). The build of the phone is just ok; i5 is far superior in regards to how it is constructed and feels. Samsung needs to stop with the cheap plastic and look at Apple. I want to see some aluminum or glass..something a little fancier for a flagship phone. Some deal breakers- cannot turn 4g off; kills battery fast, KIES (samsungs itunes ish program) SUCKS, updates- when/where/how...still an issue with android and samsung, the music player is a bit glitchy, and this is a huge issue I have with all Android phones- value. They are replaced too fast, there are too many, there is no..resale value..or "coolness" to them..this is why in my opinion the Iphone and apple still dominate. I should note I plan to return this for the i5; but my reasons are simply- I like facetime a lot and skype sucks, I bought a lot through my old iphone I want back, really I like having the IT thing and not worrying...  

Build quality 3/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 7/10
Display 10/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • Screen size
  • price
  • soooo many features
  • I love the blue color/ not the plastic sides and back

Cons

  • video calling/ skype and oovoo are horrible
  • music player is glitchy
  • replaced too fast
  • 4g can't be turned off to conserve battery

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ested23
posted on 16 Dec 2012, 08:45 (Posts: 0; Member since: 25 Sep 2011)

10

Great Phone.....I love it!!

ested23 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I love this phone. Coming from the HTC Vivid, it's a major difference. SG III is way more powerful. No complaints. Camera quality, call quality, speaker, media and video is GREAT! Internet browsing is fast and easy to navigate. Just a great phone.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

fervid
posted on 27 Nov 2012, 12:58 (Posts: 173; Member since: 22 Nov 2011)

8

Needed better Quality Control and build quality

fervid has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Way too thin and plastic. Strongest thing was screen and that doesn't say much. Screen looked good for most part and they smoothed out the limited black levels so not as noticable...but they were still there. This black level stuff is annoying too as S3 and the Notes all have it but none of the other devices do. Lots of screen defects too if you make a solid black screen that has an RGB of about 11,11,11 and look at it in the dark you can see little dark splotches, etc.

Build quality 6/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 8/10
Battery 9/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

christianqwerty
posted on 03 Oct 2012, 23:31 (Posts: 460; Member since: 05 May 2011)

8

Galaxy s3, from a teen's point of view.

christianqwerty has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Teenagers take on the s3, ( on my 3rd week with the device) At&t 16 GB. I have used a Windows phone 7 device for a year (Samsung Focus), then an iPhone 4s for a year, and now trying my luck with an android phone (Galaxy s3). So far, it is a little bigger than i would have liked, but im adjusting to it. Whenever i hold an iphone, i feel like it is wayyyyy smaller than it actually is (4.8 in vs 3.5 in). So far im satisfied, but the size is my biggest complaint

Build quality 7/10 Im not a huge fan of the plastic. The back is a little creaky from taking it off (only on the top left for some strange reason) and the back is already scratched up.
Reception 7/10 I do not recieve reception in certain classes where i pulled 1/2 bars with my old iphone.
Call quality 10/10 Very loud and clear, like how it beeps when the call goes through.
Internet 10/10 I like having the option to download different browsers( with flash!)
Multimedia 7/10 Not a huge fan of the music player.
Camera 7/10 Not impressed at all by the indoor shots. Really had a hard time taking pictures in low lighting without the flash. The outdoor shots are great, and video is great as well.
UI speed 8/10 Everything is very fluid, although, touchwiz has crashed 4 times just in this week. The app store is a little laggy, but even with the live wallpaper, it is very fluid.
Everyday usage 6/10 Touch wiz is very buggy. It has crashed way too many times for a phone that is 250$
Text input 10/10 I urge everyone to download swiftkey, way better than stock keyboard on the s3. Swype is also great once you get the hang of it. Google voice also is very good at catching what i said.
Display 9/10 Big, bold, and beautiful. Although, it loses some of its pop under s screen protector. (scratches pretty easy)
Battery 9/10 On an average day, it will last me from 6 am to 4 pm(with lte, wifi, auto adjust brightness) On an average day with certain things turned off when i don't use them, it will last me from 6 am to 7 pm. (LTE is a battery hog)

Pros

  • great outdoor photos
  • great screen
  • decent battery life
  • LTE
  • LED Notification
  • Customization

Cons

  • Speakers not very loud
  • Indoor camera shots poor
  • Not durable
  • Plastic Build
  • A little complicated at first.
  • Gets a little hot when on the phone

christianqwerty alternatives:

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

samsungapple
posted on 30 Sep 2012, 21:14 (Posts: 10; Member since: 30 Sep 2012)

10

Galaxy S3 Review

samsungapple has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I got this phone when it was released. I was really excited to get this phone. With this device, i could feel the samsungs new revolutionary technology. Many many features were added. These features satisfied me.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Everything

Cons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

abdane
posted on 16 Sep 2012, 06:49 (Posts: 476; Member since: 07 Oct 2011)

10

Best Smartphone I've Ever Had !

abdane has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The Galaxy S3 is the best phone in the market right now even after the iPhone 5's announcement ! its AMAZING, everything JUST WORKS ! battery lasts for more than one day of long usage... screen is amazing, ULTRAA FASSST !!! Thank You Samsung ^_^

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Everything.

Cons

  • Nothing !

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jdot104
posted on 17 Aug 2012, 09:12 (Posts: 49; Member since: 17 Jun 2011)

9

Great replacement for the HTC One X if necessary

jdot104 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I was originally never going to purchase a Galaxy S III. I had an HTC One X for about a month before I decided to return it because of the lack of external storage options. The GS3 isn't an improvement in every category, but it's a very solid phone and is worthy of many accolades.

Build quality 8/10 The phone feels solid, but some of the materials are not as high-end as they should be for a flagship device. The volume rocker could be bigger and the power button needs more spring.
Reception 9/10 I haven't had many problems with reception. It's hard to tell whether it's the device itself or the area.
Call quality 10/10 The speaker is loud and clear. There are no noticeable faults.
Internet 9/10 I don't see why anyone with an Ice Cream Sandwich device is using a browser other than Chrome, so the Internet gets a 10 from me.
Multimedia 9/10 The pop-up play feature is one feature that made me realize this phone's power. The external speaker is also loud and clear. However, Samsung has the worst lockscreen audio controls I've ever seen. You have to use a password to be able to reach them, and even then it's only available on the password screen. They should be there immediately when you turn the screen on.
Camera 9/10 I haven't had quite enough time with the camera as I like, but from what I've seen it is pretty good. Noise is minimal and it produces very crisp detail. The interface isn't great, but the photos are very good.
UI speed 9/10 The UI itself is very snappy. There's usually no lag.
Everyday usage 8/10 I have experienced random reboots. For one week there were reboots at least once a day without fail. There's also a bug with device vibration that doesn't actually change the new vibration you've selected. S Voice is very slow and not very practical. Other than that, most apps work fine.
Text input 9/10 I don't use any of the stock keyboards. I switch between Swype beta and an Ice Cream Sandwich keyboard from the Play Store and it uses both of them just fine.
Display 8/10 The display isn't bad, but I previously owned the HTC One X and that screen completely blows the GS3's out of the water. It's pretty clear, but it doesn't appear as natural as the One X. It's not really viewable in direct sunlight.
Battery 9/10 The battery on the GS3 usually gets me through most of the day with moderate usage (meaning no heavy gaming or extended phone calls). I can usually get about 12 or 13 hours before It gets into the yellow.

Pros

  • Samsung's physical buttons are mapped in a way that makes more sense than stock Android
  • Lots of customization across multiple apps
  • Expandable storage is included
  • Camera produces sharp photos
  • TouchWiz has lots of great, but small, features built in

Cons

  • Power button and volume rocker need more spring
  • Random reboots are unacceptable
  • S Voice is a gimmick

jdot104 alternatives:

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

thedarkside
posted on 29 Jul 2012, 12:25 (Posts: 652; Member since: 30 Apr 2012)

10

best phone ive ever had.

thedarkside has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

ive only had this phone a few days and i absolutely love it so far. the screen is perfect size for my huge hands and its just beautiful. pretty decent in direct sunlight. the speakers are pretty good. even the ear phones are good, not the best ive had, but the fit well in the ear and the sound is still clear. calls sound great. reception is great in my area. internet speeds are crazy good. im still trying to figure out the camera. this is also my first android phone and so far its great!!

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • a lot of everything really

Cons

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

The_Original_Zon
posted on 28 Jul 2012, 00:29 (Posts: 12; Member since: 23 Jan 2012)

10

Great phone, couldn't be more pleased

The_Original_Zon has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Absolutely amazing phone! I love the multi-tasking. The video player app with the pop up picture is very cool. The camera for stills and video is amazing. The microphone is awesome when shooting video. The speaker provides great quality and volume for music. Battery life was surprisingly good. It lasted me a good 20 hours with medium to high data and screen usage. Swype text could use a tweak or two but still pretty good. It does get a little warm with heavy usage, but nothing too alarming. The only beef I have with the phone is S Voice. It's simply terrible. The voice recognition is horrible. I instead use Google Voice which is awesome so in the end it works out. I highly recommend this phone to everyone.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Multi-tasking, Camera, Microphone, Speaker, Battery

Cons

  • S Voice is horrible. The voice recognition is terrible.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

luke1151
posted on 27 Jul 2012, 18:31 (Posts: 0; Member since: 27 Jul 2012)

2

john

luke1151 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

When i first got the phone it was very slow then the screen started showing lines through it and then the screen started disappearing on me completely and now it freezes up on me now and then.the programs crash a lot.i did a reset on the phone it still did not fix the issue.i read on line a lot of problems with this phone from the beginning.

Build quality 2/10
Reception 2/10
Call quality 2/10
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 2/10
Camera 2/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 2/10
Text input 2/10
Display 2/10
Battery 2/10

Pros

Cons

  • everything

luke1151 alternatives:

2 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories