x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Galaxy S Blaze 4G User Reviews

7.5 Based on 2 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Build quality9.5/10
Text input4.5/10
Everyday usage8/10
UI speed7.5/10
Camera6.5/10
Multimedia9/10
Internet9/10
Call quality8/10
Battery6/10
Reception9/10
Display9.5/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

jdottdot
posted on 12 Aug 2014, 18:54 (Posts: 0; Member since: 12 Aug 2014)

6

Decent Phone

jdottdot has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone isn't bad. It's the first smart phone after having a flip phone for years. Most things work fine for what it is but a few things have really bothered me. There is only 1GB of internal storage and with the stock ROM, you can't move the apps to the SD card so once the storage is full, you're done, no more apps. The other big down side is the swipe keyboard. It's MUCH worse than other Samsung Galaxy products, constantly putting the wrong words in. And battery life is short, which is to be expected with any Android.
The network in our area isn't amazing but call quality seems to be fine.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 5/10 Not as good as the camera on the S3.
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 2/10 Never actually predicts what I want it to say. Usually have to type words, letter by letter.
Display 10/10 Great, crisp display.
Battery 4/10

Pros

  • Small
  • Nice design
  • Clear vibrant screen

Cons

  • TINY Storage - You WILL run out of space on internal storage

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Author
posted on 27 Oct 2012, 01:27 (Posts: 0; Member since: 27 Oct 2012)

9

I love this phone!

Author has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I love this phone! For me, it’s the perfect combination of compact size (4.79 x 2.48 inches) with a big screen (4-inch diagonal), a powerful processor (Qualcomm Snapdragon S3 running at 1.5 Ghz), and Android operating system (4.0.4). I like it BETTER than Samsung’s flagship Galaxy S III because the Blaze is smaller; it’s able to fit comfortably in a pocket. Blaze has good audio quality sending and receiving, snappy screen response, beautiful vivid screen colors, nice camera (5 megapixels), and everything works. No strange reboots, no hanging apps. My complaints are minor. (1) There is no LED indicator, so the phone WILL correctly notify you of an incoming call or text when it’s asleep, but if you miss it, then the phone goes back to sleep (black screen with no flashing indicator, no LED). You have to wake the phone to check if something came in that you missed. (2) The XT9 predictive text is a bit intrusive when it’s turned on. It works, but it could be smoother and more intuitive. This can be fixed with an ad-on text app. (3) The emoticons in the SMS text dialogs are green "Android" illustrations showing smiles, laughter, love, etc... But they're poorly drawn and difficult to distinguish one from another. A smile looks like a little green blob, not very different from a laugh or a cry. Note that sent messages actually include only the original text characters :-) etc... and when you copy the text to another app, the original text characters reappear (as they should). So the problem...  

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10 It sounds as good as any phone I have used.
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10 Because the UI is very fast. No apparent hesitation or lag
Everyday usage 9/10 I like this phone better than any other smart phone compatible with T-Mobile's network.
Text input 7/10
Display 9/10 Beautiful vivid screen colors.
Battery 8/10 The battery lasts a reasonable time, especially with WIFI and GPS turned off, but you have to recharge at the end of the day (or in late afternoon) after heavy use. This has never been a problem for me. I just plug it in and keep working.

Pros

  • Size (small footprint)
  • Fast speed
  • 4-inch screen

Cons

  • No LED indicator
  • XT9 predictive text is a bit intrusive
  • Graphic emoticons are difficult to read

Author alternatives:

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy Accessories

Latest stories