x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Galaxy S 4G User Reviews

8 Based on 8 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Reception6.9/10
Display9.4/10
Build quality9/10
Text input8/10
Everyday usage7.5/10
UI speed8.1/10
Camera7.4/10
Multimedia9.1/10
Internet8/10
Call quality7.6/10
Battery7.9/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Chancey
posted on 21 Jul 2011, 21:22

8

Galaxy S (tmobile)

Chancey has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I've only had this phone for a few days (less than a week) and I'm already on line looking for help to fix issues with it. Out of the blue it just vibrates for no reason. The battery life sucks. Some apps take forever to load and then freeze up my phone completely. The coverage sucks as well. I am constantly dropping calls in my house. I have no house phone only a cell and it's very annoying when I drop calls like crazy. I'm happy with the camera even though it doesn't have a flash. I really like the way the screen looks, its big and the pic quality is amazing. My boyfriend got the same phone at the same time as I did and he has no problems but mine is messed up like crazy. He thinks its the apps so i'm going to uninstall every thing and take it back to factory settings and see if that helps. If not then I guess I'm stuck with a crappy phone. Maybe I just got a bad one out of the bunch which is my luck. Hope everyone else is having better luck than I am.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 5/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • The screen is big and great color's
  • camera
  • call quality
  • Light weight

Cons

  • Battery
  • Had better coverage on cheaper phone with tmobile
  • Freezes up
  • Apps are slow to load

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

JJ
posted on 05 Jul 2011, 13:38

9

New Droid user---now addicted

JJ has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Ok, so I had a hard time giving up my Motorola Defy, well because I am one of those people who needs a waterproof phone. Don't get me wrong everything else was great, but it was a 3G phone. Once I saw the Galaxy S go on sale, it was a hard decision, giving up my life proof phone for a High tech one. Well, it's the best choice out the box. Don't listen to what people say about the camera....the flash does not make a difference (I had one of the Defy, Samsung has better quality). The speed on the Galaxy is unbelievable, and it's easy to learn. Inception is a bloat, but it's great when you want to show off the AMAZING screen resolution on this phone. It's crazy. I don't like to fall in live with inanimate objects, but I say the Samsung Galaxy and I are really good friends.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 6/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Screen resolution

Cons

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Jesse L. Weber
posted on 24 May 2011, 03:11

9

In Love With This Phone!

Jesse L. Weber has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This is the first smart phone I've ever owned and had it for about a week now. At first, it's a little intimidating but after you play around with it for an hour, it's easy to use. Loading time is fast so I have not encountered stalling problems yet. The audio and images on here are very crisp and clear. The speakerphone feature is amazing. Not only can I hear the caller but they can hear me clearly (which was a big problem with my last phone). I know some people complain about the lack of a flash for the camera but I personally think that flash on phones aren't that great anyways. The camera on this phone is 5 mp and takes excellent photos in natural lighting. Video chat on the phone is a lot of fun too. I haven't used the qik app on the phone but downloaded the Tango app and it was so easy to use.

Now there have been a few negatives that I have encountered. Sometimes I have a hard time switching over from using the 4G network to wi-fi, since I have horrible service at work and we have a fast wi-fi network. I also have experienced some echoing issues when using this phone at night for some weird reason.

Other than, it's a great phone to have especially if you like to multitask between apps.

*** P.S> IF you will buy this Smartphone I suggest at: www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004N62J60/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&tag=phonearena.com-20&linkCode=as2&camp=217145&creative=399349&creativeASIN=B004N62J60

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Fast
  • Great interface
  • Good reception
  • Light & thin
  • Great screen
  • Speakerphone feature is amazing

Cons

  • Battery life could be better
  • Sometimes I have a hard time switching over from using the 4G network to wi-fi

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Ceara
posted on 23 May 2011, 07:23

5

Ok..

Ceara has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I got this phone March 1st and it was great at first, the battery does pretty good for a smart phone (Compared to my previous phones, Verizon Moto Droid, Sprint LG Optimus) It has an ok rear facing camera and the front facing camera is poor quality, the 4G is pretty slow from tmobile compared to Verizon, and Tmobile service isnt poor Id rather still have sprint than tmobile. Its durable but all my phones have done good with bangs,drops etc, The screen seems hard to scratch (Not that Im trying, But with my Moto Droid the screen was scratched up in a week). The sound is pretty good. Video quality is good when watching movies,videos etc. That free wifi signal it gives off is great (Unless Your trying to use it to watch videos on a laptop). My only real issue with this is that it contastly restarts itself,freezes,shutoffs,blackouts and for some reason I dont get texts from certain people and never get texts unless I text someone first. The internet on it is slow though.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 2/10
Call quality 2/10
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 3/10
UI speed 3/10
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 3/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Screen
  • Battery

Cons

  • Tmobile
  • Camera
  • Speed

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Kent1959
posted on 22 Mar 2011, 22:28

9

Really nice phone if in 4g coverage area

Kent1959 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

seems to have good quality construction. feels better to my hand with the rubber skin attached. have had some problems with dropping data coverage in rural areas, did not have this problem with the G1. excellent reception and speed in urban areas. internet is very fast. camera is very average and lacks for no flash. with the 2.2 froyo / flash capability is very good for watching videos and movies, music player is average, speakers work nicely. display is beautiful, very 'vibrant'. battery life is much better than before, last all day with normal usage, although some games really suck the juice. wish had the dual core technology...

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Kent1959 alternatives:

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

nate d
posted on 01 Mar 2011, 15:42

9

love the phone, few dislikes

nate d has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Coming from someone that had a droid incredible the only thing I really miss is the all the wonderful HTC widgets it had like the Email, Agenda, Clock/Weather widgets that the Samsung phones kind of lack. Although I really love the amazingly bright and colorful, easy to see in sunlight screen is very nice. With the incredible it was IMPOSSIBLE to see ANYTHING if you where outside in the sun. The battery life also was a massive plus over the droid with the samsung getting more then double the life with daily use. No flash on the phone does really suck but I live without it no big deal even thought I don't understand why it does have one which is frustrating. I also did have the vibrant for a while and it is nice upgrade having 4g speeds, newer 2.2 Froyo on the phone.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10 t- mobile service drops every once in awhile kind of annoying.
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10 Great Camera just no flash -2
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • screen display
  • media
  • fast
  • internet browsing
  • battery
  • front camera

Cons

  • lacking on few widgets compared to others
  • no flash

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

George Serpa
posted on 26 Feb 2011, 14:24

5

George

George Serpa has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Hello All,

My recommendation is not to buy this phone... The Vibrant is a better configured phone... This is a total failure on TMO and Samsung... Vibrant owners keep your Vibrants... Aside from the normal TMO carrier neutering of hardware see my reasons below.

This phone has two major issues... First the way the internal memory is partitioned it leaves about 500Kb for use... This make the phone totally useless to the normal to heavy user... I can't load the same apps I have on the original Vibrant the phone just doesn't have the space the way the memory is partitioned (TMO - Samsung total failure). Second, some of the original Vibrant widgets or missing the on the new phone,,, such as the Daily Briefing,,, this just sucks!!! (TMO - Samsung total failure)...

I own a non carrier Galaxy S, the TMO Vibrant, and the new piece of crap TMO Galaxy 4G. The Vibrant is just a better configured phone for the neutered US market...

I was going to use the new Galaxy 4G for app and product development but with the memory issues I think I'm just going to return it and use an HTC phone. The Display isn't that great but at leased I can use it...

Geo.

Build quality 6/10
Reception 6/10
Call quality 6/10
Internet 6/10
Multimedia 6/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 2/10
Text input 6/10
Display 6/10
Battery 4/10

George Serpa alternatives:

2 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

herbie1960
posted on 24 Feb 2011, 19:32 (Posts: 14; Member since: 03 Jan 2011)

10

This phone is amazing!

herbie1960 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Well everything works really smoothly and it's really light weight!
the screen resolution is amazing and the design is really cool,
and I get to watch inception!
The sound on it is good too.
I got this phone yesterday and Im already really satisfied with the results it has given me,
the screen nor anything freezes not even for a second and the display is beautiful, I prefer it better than the iPhone's Retina display. I love this phone!

Build quality 10/10 Very nice design and lightweight
Reception 10/10 T mobile works great for me
Call quality 10/10 The quality is really good
Internet 10/10 FAST internet
Multimedia 10/10 Free movie!
Camera 10/10 The phone takes pretty good pictures for a 5mp camera and the night mode is really good in dim light (since it has no flash)
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10 VERY HANDY
Text input 10/10 The touchscreen is very responsive I have no problem typing in what I want and the voice commands are very good
Display 10/10 very high res display
Battery 10/10 The battery is the best I've seen, it really lasts!

Pros

  • LIGHTWEIGHT,Responsive screen,great camera,good tech

Cons

  • No flash but whatever I can live without it!

11 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy This Phone

Latest stories