x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Galaxy Prevail 2 User Reviews

7.5 Based on 2 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed4/10
Camera8/10
Multimedia8/10
Internet8/10
Call quality6.5/10
Battery8/10
Reception9/10
Display8.5/10
Build quality8/10
Text input6/10
Everyday usage7.5/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

MaynardW
posted on 16 Dec 2013, 06:31 (Posts: 1; Member since: 16 Dec 2013)

7

Good phone for the price, full description below.

MaynardW has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Bluetooth transmits 20 feet easily. Front and rear cameras are a bonus. The back camera is 5 megapixels and has a flash,. The flash is nice and bright, it almost needs a setting to adjust the lumen power. Operating system could use some performance tweaks, but that's what root is for. Speaking of root, all it takes is two apps which can be had from google play to wrangle superuser power, a couple simple steps to freedom. Don't forget to backup your factory Android install before you reformat, if you reformat.. Here's where I start with negative attributes; Factory music player seems to have problems searching my 16gb SDHC Micro card, file sorting is bungled slightly by over engineering, and it's slow, this could be caused by a few things which I haven't taken the time to properly diagnose. The phone is able to use a 64gb card. Some system settings and apps are hidden. Wifi may have problems staying connected if you do not turn off the hidden power save mode. There are too many apps set to run uninterrupted and download updates without your consent. Not too much bloatware, phone has a decent amount of internal storage (2gb), it'll get you further than the original Prevail, thank god, what great phone with such a disappointing internal ROM. The phone's outer casing is akin to wool socks on a linoleum floor sprayed with Pledge Furniture Polish. It's literally so slippery the people working on the Large Hadron Collider should start consulting Samsung for tips on the frictionless surface...  

Build quality 6/10 Too slippery and slightly flimsy, I'm still waiting on my cerebral implant to fully replace my mortal soul and pull me feet first into the matrix.
Reception 9/10 No problems so far, and it's slightly better than my Prevail from 2 years ago. This rating is taking into consideration Bluetooth reception, Wifi reception, and regular call reception.
Call quality 6/10 Something is messing with the voice of people in calls I make with this phone. It sounds as if the people who I am calling are using a crappy auto-tune to modulate their voice. I hope I figure this out soon and it's only software, not hardware.
Internet 8/10 Chrome comes preinstalled, and can't be fully deleted without superuser permissions. Internet is functional and delivers most options for any average user. No complaints, long live the internets!
Multimedia 7/10 Plays movies, music and has a 5 megapixel rear camera. Anything that impresses me anymore in the technical world has sentience, and will soon dominate the planet. Haven't tried Skype or similar programs yet.
Camera 8/10 For $150, this phone's camera(s) raise the bar.
UI speed 5/10 Somewhat laggy, nothing which can't be remedied with a command terminal operating with superuser privileges.
Everyday usage 8/10 It's so slippery, NASA is acquiring Samsungs case manufacturing process to coat their space ships with.
Text input 5/10 Seems to be a little laggy straight out of the box, but I haven't found the cause so it may be user error.
Display 9/10 Does everything I need it to do. It doesn't project holograms of Ross Perot eating a chalupa while riding a kangaroo across a summer horizon. Or does it?
Battery 6/10 As soon as I can fuel biomech/biotech with human fluids, I'll rate the extinction of the battery a 10.

Pros

  • 5 megapixel rear camera.
  • Easily attainable root access.
  • SD card slot can use a 32gb or possibly 64gb card(i might be wrong about it being able to use a 64gb card)
  • Low price for mid-grade tech.
  • You don't have to barter with supernatural spirits and other unknown entities in order to unlock your screen.

Cons

  • Minor bloatware, some hidden apps and preferences, really slippery case(it's like teflon for your fingers)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

MsChinkyeyez
posted on 19 Jul 2013, 07:00 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 Jul 2013)

8

Great quality phone for price..

MsChinkyeyez has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Just bought this phone yesterday and i have to admit it i was impressed one of the Best phones on Boost Mobile Network id definately reccomend any who doesnt wanna pay an expensive phone and want good quality phone to get you one its worth it

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 3/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 7/10
Display 8/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Doesnt Crash or Freeze, long lasting battery Camera is really Clear
  • Great phone for the Price especially those cant afford to get the S3 this is the next best thing very much alike just a little Smaller and Cheaper but good quality

Cons

  • its Not 4G. its a little Slow downloading large applications

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories