x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Galaxy Indulge User Reviews

6.7 Based on 15 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Call quality6.4/10
Battery4.9/10
Reception6.4/10
Display7/10
Build quality7.3/10
Text input7/10
Everyday usage6.3/10
UI speed7.5/10
Camera6.2/10
Multimedia7.5/10
Internet7.5/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

robintina
posted on 28 Dec 2011, 06:57 (Posts: 0; Member since: 28 Dec 2011)

1

PIECE OF CRAP AND SO IS THE METRO STORE I PURCHASED IT FROM

robintina has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I was so excited to get this phonebut when i went ot the metro store and askedthe owner if this phone would be worth it for me he said of course, " I wouldn't let you buy another phone". Now he said this because I was giving up my work phone which was a similar samsung model. However, I told him my new phone would not be used for work, I don't need to get emails, I don't download music & I don't play games. I only download crossword puzzles. He said it was fantastic, no problems and incredibly fast. i asked about the battery life and he said he would upload juice defender for me and it would be great. So i brought the phone for 318.00 but it had a 100.00 mail-in rebate. Within 24 hours I was back in the store wanting to exchange it.
The battery died after a full charge, i kept getting a no access to web/internet screen, my phone froze so when hanging up from a call i couldn't get the screen to light back up so i could end my call. The OWNER said he would have to charge me a " $90.00 restocking fee". I questioned the giant poster that says full refund within 7 days of purchase and he said " i have to get rid of the phone, i can't resell it". I said bulls**t. I walked out of the store and calledthe corporate office, my call was dropped twice and then when I finally got through i only heard half of the call. However I did hear enough to find out that Metro PCS policy prohibits a restocking charge/fee.
I still haven't gone back ( i am too tired to fight) but the phone is getting...  

Build quality 1/10
Reception 1/10
Call quality 1/10
Internet 1/10
Multimedia 1/10
Camera 1/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 1/10
Text input 1/10
Display 1/10
Battery 1/10

Pros

  • iT WILL HURT THE METRO GUY WHEN I HURL IT AT HIM

Cons

  • everything

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

thewiredless
posted on 24 Dec 2011, 12:27 (Posts: 0; Member since: 24 Dec 2011)

2

Time for a change

thewiredless has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

If you are lucky enough to live in a 4G coverage area, this unit is a great web browser. (just do it quickly before the battery dies!) Incoming phone calls lock up the unit about 30% of the time. I usually have to turn the phone off and back on to unlock it. If I can see the phone when the call comes in, the screen will briefly flash caller ID info before locking up. This can be helpful as the "Call History" log does not record anything in this situation. If the phone is in my pocket, I won't know who called until I get a voicemail a few hours(days) later. When the phone does work, the call quality is the worst of any cell phone I have owned.

The processor stalls when playing downloaded games making animation jerky and delaying the touchscreen input. Downloaded games only lock up the phone about 20% of the time.

Text messages can be displayed late and out of order. I once received a text 6 hours after it was sent. Texting my girlfriend usually results in a phone call to straighten everything out.

The phone appears to receive email with no trouble and has no problem opening attached PDFs. Don't plan on opening any attachment other than a PDF. Replying to an email almost never works.

This is my first smart phone. I purchased it when I started my new business a few months ago. Reliability is much more important to me than any fancy feature. I'm not trying to promote iphones, but I have three friends who own them. None of them can remember the last time they had to power down...  

Build quality 6/10
Reception 5/10
Call quality 2/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 5/10
Camera 3/10 Open camera. Take picture. Close camera. Open Gallery. Find photo. Was picture any good? No. Close Gallery. Open Camera. Retake picture. Seriously?
UI speed 5/10 Don't know what UI speed is.
Everyday usage 2/10 It's Murphy's Law, the phone might work most of the time, but it fails big when you really need it.
Text input 3/10 Needs raised buttons. Some commonly used keys spaced too close together.
Display 6/10 Much better displays were available when this unit was manufactured.
Battery 2/10 2hrs nuff said

Pros

  • Works great for watching Youtube.

Cons

  • Terrible for use as a phone

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Twizlett
posted on 22 Nov 2011, 17:41 (Posts: 0; Member since: 22 Nov 2011)

9

Almost Satisfied

Twizlett has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Don't laugh but this is my first Android phone. I had Andriod Envy over my husbands DROID but didn't want that monthly bill. I have 3 Samsung phones (my kids) and I love them so I went with this. I am very pleased with all the features and reception. Compared to my husband's phone, not much difference. However, I am extremely disappointed with the battery life of this phone. It sits idle for most of the day, maybe a text or two, and I need to fully charge it by 6:00. I can't imagine when I actually use it more. :( This would be a perfect phone if a better battery would extend the life. I may have spent the extra money on a better phone if I was told about the battery life when I bought it. Lesson learned to make sure I read online reviews instead of listening to sales people.

Build quality 10/10 Solid phone with big QWERTY buttons.
Reception 9/10 No dropped calls but fewer bars on same network as my other Samsung phones.
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10 No Flash
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10 Battery life creates the need to frequently charge it and this can cause headaches if you are not near an outlet.
Text input 10/10 Love the swipe feature and ability to choose QWERTY keypad or screen.
Display 10/10
Battery 4/10

Pros

  • Ease of use and style

Cons

  • Battery Life

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

galaxyindulgeuser
posted on 18 Nov 2011, 10:31 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Nov 2011)

1

Avoid like the plague!

galaxyindulgeuser has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Holly Crap!!!

thats the name that i give to this phone!

ill be brief and to the point

pros: seemed like a great idea at the time

Cons: ( be prepared)

4g:
Non Existent!!!!! I live in one of the best coverage areas(dallas) and even though the map says im covered i only get 4g about 30% of the time!!!!

QUALITY:
i,ve bought better quality items at the dollar store, this thing is full of flaws, mainly in the software but also in the hardware.
----one example is how sometimes when i close the slider keyboard the whole unit powers off!!!! WTF!


RELIABILITY:
you can rely in that his unit will fail you more than half the time you use it!
this is what happens when i try to use some of its functions:

70% of the time there is no internet(not exaggerating)
20% of the time battery is out just when i need to use the dam thing
10% of the time you try to make a phone call the phone function wont start
15% of the time the phone function gets frozen
10% of the time it freezes when you have an incoming call!!!!!!!!
15% of the time when you try to start any app the thing is frozen
10% of the time the phone just wont respond at all (even though it appears not to be frozen


BATTERY LIFE:
you;re lucky if you get 2 and a half hours of battery life
not only is the battery constantly running out but once you recharge it and turn it on, the dam thing takes forever to turn on!!!
i bought 6 batteries on ebay and 2 chargers and i still find myself struggling with battery life

BOOTING...  

Build quality 1/10 this phone belongs at the dollar store
Reception 1/10 worthless if once you get a phone call the dam thing gets stuck!
Call quality 2/10 worthless if once you get a phone call the dam thing gets stuck!
Internet 1/10 internet?? please! getting 4g internet in this thing is like playing russian roulette where the 1 bullet represents the 4g being on
Multimedia 1/10 android OS is great, but is crap when combined with this phone
Camera 2/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 1/10 Every day i get more pissed off at this phone
Text input 1/10 when you send a message with the real keyboard it starts opening programs every time you press a certain key, i know it must be a function of the phone that can be deactivated but it triggered itself out of nowhere
Display 1/10 for the price you pay, the display seems very third world
Battery 1/10 basically from the moment you unplugg it from the charger to the moment you put it in your pocket the battery is already out, or so it seems because every time i take it out of my pocket i find it without any battery

Pros

  • can be used as a paper weight

Cons

  • it is being sold as a fully functional phone when in reality its just a fully functional paper weight

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Al
posted on 03 Aug 2011, 11:17

10

Exellent Phone

Al has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I love this Phone. It has 4g signal and it is definitely work the price as listed. You can check email, browse the web, watch streaming video with Adobe Flash Player 10.3. Anyone who buy's this phone should get an extra battery because the battery life on this phone drains very quickly when you're on the internet all day. Other than the battery life on the phone everything else seem to work just fine.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Fast Internet

Cons

  • Battery Life

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Edstanjr
posted on 01 Aug 2011, 23:41

10

Best MetroPCS Phone!

Edstanjr has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I started MetroPCS with the Blackberry 8530, and loved it. I then decided to switch to the LG Optimus M due to the touch screen and that was a good phone also. When MetroPCS came out with this 4G Samsung Indulge I upgraded again. This is the best phone MetroPCS has. Flash player support and the speed of this phone are awesome. The touchscreen is very responsive with a very nice display. The apps that are available, including Netflix, make the phone very usable! The battery life is poor, but that is with all smart phones operating on a high speed 4G network. Switching the phone to only 1X will more than double the battery life, but what would be the point. I spent $11.00 on Amazon and bought a 3500mah battery which is more than double the original capacity and it lasts the entire day with moderate to heavy use. I can listen to a whole 3 to 4 hour radio broadcast via Tune-In Radio app during the day and still be good until bedtime! Watch the apps that you install and remove the ones that continually run in the background that you don't use. This will keep the phone performing fast and without lag. It seems to me that when free memory drop below 50mb the phone starts to get lag. OVERALL AWESOME. Can't wait until the LG BRYCE comes out with the HDMI output and more memory! It'll be time to upgrade again!

Build quality 10/10 Solid feel, slide out keyboard works smoothly
Reception 9/10 Good reception, not quite as good as the Blackberry though
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10 4G and WiFi capability make this phone awesome!
Multimedia 10/10 Plays converted DVD's, MP4, 3GP, FLV videos!
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 Swype is great for the on-screen keyboard, I don't even use the slide out one.
Display 9/10 Great display, but uses a lot of the battery
Battery 7/10 Stock battery is not adequate for normal use to last the entire day. Upgrade to the extended and you will not be disappointed.

Pros

  • Flash Player Support
  • 4G Internet Speed
  • Netflix Application
  • Autofocus Camera

Cons

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

baby man
posted on 24 Jul 2011, 14:45

10

Love It!

baby man has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The samsung glaxy indulg eis an awesome phone you guys. It has 4g web and fast internet access. It has a 3.5 in ch touch screen with awesome features such as flash player and youtube. It has a nice feel and touch to it as well. The samsung galaxy indulge is one of a kind. For all you people who hate the galaxy indulge, you just don't obviously like the phone.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

marcusgarcia
posted on 26 Jun 2011, 13:58

5

Started out great, got worse and worse

marcusgarcia has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I got this phone back when it was $400. At first the it worked great, but slowly started getting more buggy. The screen freezes up on me whenever someone texts me in the middle of playing games. Not to mention the battery is atrocious. I literally had to invest in a car charger and keep the wall charger on me at all times. If you're a heavy usage type of person this phone won't last you more than 2 hours tops. The reception is another issue despite it's 4g speeds. What good is a cell phone if you can't even place or receive calls half the time? It really is disappointing because when the 4g is there it's really fast and the phone plays flash content. Plus has a physical keypad. But the drawbacks plus the price point make this phone not worth the money at all.

Build quality 7/10
Reception 2/10
Call quality 5/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 3/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 1/10
Text input 1/10
Display 6/10
Battery 1/10

Pros

  • Keypad
  • 4g LTE

Cons

  • Battery
  • Freezes up alot
  • Bad reception

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ItsMichaelNotMike
posted on 26 Jun 2011, 12:20 (Posts: 8; Member since: 21 Nov 2010)

9

Nice phone - as long as you keep in mind what it cost.

ItsMichaelNotMike has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

-- It does not look like a prepaid phone of old, so there's no stigma attached to it when using it in public. ;)

-- It plays my DVD converted movies.

-- I went to flash-enabled websites and it plays video perfect, with no lag. An important feature for me.

-- The display is fine (it's no SAMOLED display like the SGS, but you are not paying $550 either)

-- It has an microSD slot.

-- Lastly, it comes with Android 2.2.1

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 8/10
Battery 9/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ugh
posted on 25 Jun 2011, 11:14

1

OMG you will HATE this phone!

ugh has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I've had this phone less than a months and I already regret it!! The slider keyboard is a pain in the butt to use since the keys are flush to the surface. The phone can be a little glitchy at times, restarting without warning. The screen never shows me pictures with their natural colors due to the poor res, which has a nasty yellowish tint. A $300 phone without an AMOLED or super AMOLED screen is just plain ridiculous. The battery, omg, don't get me started on the battery. I can literally finish charging the phone and not use it at all, check back in 3 hours and the BATTERY METER IS ALREADY AT THE HALFWAY MARK!!! UGHHHHHHHH. 4g coverage is spotty out here in florida (orange county to be exact) so I never get the best speeds. Just an awful phone. My friend has the Optimus and that phone feels 100 times better than this piece of crap. Think I'll buy that next and sell this thing on Ebay.

Build quality 1/10
Reception 1/10
Call quality 1/10
Internet 1/10
Multimedia 1/10
Camera 1/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 1/10
Text input 1/10
Display 1/10
Battery 1/10

Pros

  • Large Screen

Cons

  • This phone is a con. Terrible buy. STAY AWAY FROM THIS THING!

ugh alternatives:

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kenkelley09
posted on 01 Jun 2011, 16:38 (Posts: 0; Member since: 01 Jun 2011)

9

Nice Upgrade

kenkelley09 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I have had it for a couple of days and I was upgrading from the LG Optimus M. I will say this, the 4G makes this the phone to have with Metro compared to the 1x phones. I love it, well worth the price. I didn't like the slider tho, makes it a bit difficult to play some games on it cause your fingers naturally wanna push it open... other than that.. I love this phone.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

memito90
posted on 31 May 2011, 13:07 (Posts: 0; Member since: 31 May 2011)

10

Amazing Phone

memito90 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I have had this phone this the day it came out. I am the kind of person who really researches before they buy anything. This phone right out of the gate was nothing short of amazing. The 4G lte speed of this phone is amazingly fast, and is covered everywhere I go. I live in orange county, and travel to Los Angeles on a weekly bases and I have 4G coverage everywhere I go. Now as far as a con goes, the phone visual says reception has dropped down to 1X, when it actually still is on 4G! I still go on the internet and it's seamless! If you do your research like I have, on androidforums.com, you would know that it is a slight hiccup in the phones internal networking, when 1X shows up, it still is under 4G. That such an insignificant con because you still have 4G and that's what important.

The sheer speed of the menu and running applications is another amazing quality of this phone!

The only real con to this phone, as with almost all android phones, is the battery life. But good battery management goes a long way.

Amazing Fast processing power!
Real 4G LTE speed!
Great coverage!

No Complaints. Love this phone.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • extremely fast 4G lte internet
  • blazing processor
  • no contract
  • wifi works great
  • easily rooted

Cons

  • battery needs improvment

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Cam23
posted on 21 May 2011, 21:10

9

Good Enough

Cam23 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I've had this phone about 2 months. I think it's good enough. Ya the price sucks but you get what you pay for. Apps come easy internet on a 4G network is lightining fast. Texting is easy with the virtural keyboard and swype i dont like the qwerty as much the keys should be raised a little more but you get used to it. Camera takes good pics and video. Overall its a good enough phone. I went from huawei m750 to lg optimus m to the indulge and it is the best one so far.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • internet on a 4G network
  • app store
  • camera
  • swype keyboard
  • qwerty keyboard
  • android 2.2 froyo
  • multiple homescreens

Cons

  • battery life isnt what it should be

Cam23 alternatives:

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

BriB823
posted on 23 Mar 2011, 19:00

8

Competitive

BriB823 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I also upgraded from Optimus M to the Samsung Galaxy Indulge. It is quick and works with only minor hickups. Battery lasts longer than comparable HTC Evo 4G despite being the same speed and similar size. It does 1xRTT base band and LTE 4G. Occationally need to go to recovery console and clear Data Cache Partition to keep data connection working. That process is about 1min of your life. It has a larger screen to view than the MyTouch 4G and has very comfortable slide out keyboard so the on screen keyboard doesn't block your view. The slide mechanism is stronger than a G2. It gives real 4G LTE not HPSA+ 3.5G(ATT). I average 5-7 meg down and 1-3 meg up. Down sides on the phone are the call speaker and speaker phone speaker both are not very loud and tend to distort even with 4/4bars of signal. Also the screen is not AMOLED so the battery consumption is higher than those with an AMOLED screen. This phone does however make use of Flash Player and can is capable of running most games and programs smoothly. I haven't had this phone lock up on me or freeze while the data connection was live. To keep battery use under control it's recommended; you would avoid live wallpapers, use mostly black pictures instead if possible, turn of GPS WiFi Bluetooth when not in use, and not auto sync every account you've ever had. Overall it's a good phone for $400 without the 2yr contract. Evo 4G is currently $450 unsigned.

Build quality 8/10 Stong but not many quality protective cases available yet.
Reception 10/10 I am in the SF Bay Area so I can't lie and say I don't get a quality signal near the I-80 Corrodor.
Call quality 6/10 At times it's very hard to hear this phone even in low noise settings. Needs a bluetooth 3.0 or better headset. 2.1 Not supported.
Internet 9/10 It's as fast and DSL over WiFi but not quite Cable speeds. Very nice for such a small radio and processor.
Multimedia 8/10 It supports the same audio and video types as any other Android 2.2 device. It also supports Flash Player 10.2
Camera 4/10 The camer feels clumbsy when taking landscape shots and there is no flash. Light balance correction is not a strong point on any phone. Don't take pictures in dark alleys.
UI speed 9/10 Don't burry it in apps you don't really use and it flys.
Everyday usage 8/10 Txet Email and calling are no issue for this phone. The hard part is getting yourself off of the phone with the 4G and mountain of free games available.
Text input 10/10 I like this keyboard better than any other keyboard I've seen on a phone to date. I just really really like it.
Display 8/10 It is bright and clear. It also has a light sensor to adjust the brightness based on lighting in your environment.
Battery 6/10 All the 1Ghz phones they are making with 3.5-4" screens and a 4G radio are power hogs. This phone is reasonable but not awesome on the battery use. Keep in mind what all it is trying to keep up. If this troubles you then wait a year for battery tech to improve more and everything to have AMOLED screens.

Pros

  • 4G
  • No Month-to-Month Contract
  • Flash Player
  • Android 2.2
  • Slide-out Keyboard
  • Bluetooth 3.0

Cons

  • Metro Bloatware
  • No Bluetooth 2.1 Backwards Support
  • Speakers Are Really Small
  • No AMOLED
  • Customer Service Can't Support You on This New of a Device Yet (I've tried)

BriB823 alternatives:

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

BigJaw
posted on 20 Mar 2011, 21:54

6

The lock up king

BigJaw has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I upgraded from the optimus m to this phone the phone keeps locking up and rebooting its self the 4g is more like 2g and im in where they say their is 4g i get barley any reception inside the house as a matter of fact if i don't leave it by a window i get nothing at all it sucks i have to run outside to make calls but hey the wifi works great when the phone don't lock up when your useing it the battery life sucks and i dont leave the wifi or the gps on when im not useing it when you are useing it sucks the life out of it fast the camera is ok could use a flash the display is just a regular lcd nothing special but the slide out keyboard is nice and works good for a phone that cost $400 it sure dont work good im very disappointed in it.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 1/10
Call quality 5/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 9/10
Display 6/10
Battery 2/10

Pros

  • wifi works good
  • slide out keyboard works good

Cons

  • crap Reception
  • phone keeps locking up
  • battery sucks
  • no flash for the camera
  • regular lcd display

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories