x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Galaxy Grand User Reviews

7.5 Based on 15 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed7.4/10
Camera8.5/10
Multimedia8.3/10
Internet8.3/10
Call quality7.9/10
Battery7.4/10
Reception7.6/10
Display6.9/10
Build quality7.8/10
Text input7.6/10
Everyday usage7.3/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

kiran07
posted on 13 Aug 2014, 04:15 (Posts: 0; Member since: 23 May 2014)

9

Samsung galaxy grand is nice phone to buy

kiran07 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Samsung galaxy grand is awesome smartphone in affordable range having features like
12.7cm Large Screen
Portable Design
Android, 4.1.2 Jelly Bean OS
Multi Window &Dual SIM
8MP Camera
It gave me excellent user experience
You can check all its detailed specifications at Samsung India official site

http://www.samsung.com/in/

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Performance

Cons

  • Nothing

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

ymborrego
posted on 20 Jun 2014, 07:15 (Posts: 2; Member since: 28 Apr 2012)

10

This Phone's Better than other I've had!

ymborrego has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I've owned this Phone for as Little as 3 months but enough to write about it, The Phone is great, I love it, calls are clear, camera is great taking pictures and videos in HD. No complaints about that, but doesn't offer the 8GB it promises since the OS Android takes over 4GB of the 8 GB's leaving you only 4 GB's internal memory. All Apps that you download goes directly to the phone's memory not the SD Memory card also can't move them to the SD card either after downloaded. But overall is a good phone and it's a Keeper for now.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Baterry Life
  • Large Screen
  • 1080p Video
  • 8MP Camera with Flash
  • Text Input is Bigger since screen is Bigger

Cons

  • It freeze sometimes when taking pictures o listening to music
  • 4GB internal Memory instead of the 8GB they say it has but is all due to the Android OS that takes memory from the 8GB the phone has.

ymborrego alternatives:

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Subhamoy.Sen
posted on 25 Feb 2014, 04:26 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 Sep 2012)

7

In a User's Point of View

Subhamoy.Sen has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I Have the phone for last 7 months and it gives me a mixed experience of what a mid range android can offer. Sometimes it surprised me sometimes it disappoints out of its performance.Functionality wise good, Good camera.But resolution seems to be less.While playing with games ,OS got crashed 2-3 times. Need to restart the sometimes. Apart from that every thing is fine with this price.

Build quality 7/10 Build is nice, But could be better.
Reception 6/10
Call quality 6/10 Average call quality speakers tends to have creekings sometimes
Internet 7/10 Despite of its low resolution you have the big screen advantage while surfing the web.
Multimedia 7/10 Overall Good
Camera 8/10 Excellent camera in its class. especially with macro shots.
UI speed 6/10 With 4.1.2 its OK but when updated to 4.2.2 and after daily usage it tends to have lags especially when opening the gallery and turning wi-fi or mobile data on.
Everyday usage 6/10 Big to handle comfortably with one hand and in everyday usage it matters .
Text input 7/10 Average
Display 6/10 Average
Battery 6/10 Lower Average

Pros

  • Camera
  • Big Screen

Cons

  • Low PPI
  • UI Lag
  • Big Form Factor

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mora105
posted on 15 Jan 2014, 02:00 (Posts: 0; Member since: 14 Jan 2014)

1

that phone is very slow and battery is low

mora105 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

the sumsung galaxy core is better than sumsung galaxy grand but ihate hat phone very much and android is dirty
It freezes like ice . And it display resolution it worst and that phone sucks the camera sucks display sucks all who to cry get that phone sumsung galaxy core

Build quality 1/10
Reception 1/10
Call quality 1/10
Internet 1/10
Multimedia 1/10
Camera 1/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 1/10
Text input 1/10
Display 1/10
Battery 1/10

Pros

Cons

  • the batttery is very low
  • display sucks
  • intenal 4gb

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

vibhor1810
posted on 30 Nov 2013, 02:19 (Posts: 0; Member since: 30 Nov 2013)

8

good buy

vibhor1810 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Other than display quality it is good. no noise cancellation mic on receiver side is another con. but at this price point it is comparable. trust of samsung makes it better than micromax. build quality is supreme. performance is good. camera quality is no less than slr. video recording is 1080p that is full hd. the phone will not dissappoint you for sure.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 10/10
Display 2/10
Battery 6/10

Pros

  • screen size
  • 4G
  • dual sim

Cons

  • screen intensity

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

vipuls1979
posted on 17 Nov 2013, 06:02 (Posts: 4; Member since: 27 Jul 2013)

7

Should not buy this phone

vipuls1979 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I purchased this mobile when it was launched but latter i came to know that it has a Dual Core Processor that too of Broadcomm , do you know that broadcomm is considered to be inferior against Qualcomm and Media Tek, while just surfing on the web i found a blog post which has Top 10 Android Phones Between 15000 to 20000 with 1GB RAM, Quad Core, Dual Sim, 5 Inch HD Display and 5 MP Cameras as on Nov 2013, Do Check it at http://mobiknowhow.blogspot.in/2013/11/android-pho​nes-between-15000-to-20000-as-on-nov-in-india.html

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 6/10
Display 10/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • Screen Size

Cons

  • Dual Core Processor

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

eruantalon
posted on 24 Oct 2013, 14:00 (Posts: 0; Member since: 11 Sep 2013)

6

Good Phone

eruantalon has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Frozen many times, good calls but sometimes don't make the call, good camera, low display resolution, sometimes need to restart because simply lost the connection with one of the SIM cards, need to charge everyday if you don't use internet all the time.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 6/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 9/10
Display 5/10
Battery 4/10

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

iamsaheb
posted on 16 Jul 2013, 05:46 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 Jul 2013)

10

awesome

iamsaheb has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

i think this phone is one of the gratest phones of the world.maybe it is not the best but surely it is one of the best phones
i think the speed camera display and other things in this phone is so great thatwhen you buy this you will never get bord of this perfect phone

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10 i think its speed is really amazing i think this phone is one of the high speed cell phones of the world.it is in the 5 highest speed phones
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • perfect and amazing speed
  • awesome camera
  • perfect display ad big enough(not so big and not small)
  • grate battery age

Cons

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

philo.atef
posted on 23 Jun 2013, 09:33 (Posts: 0; Member since: 23 Jun 2013)

10

great phone

philo.atef has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

great phone runs all games even modern combat 4 in a nice way really recommend this phone by the way i have note 10.1 so i know a good phone when i see it

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • project butter
  • great camera
  • 4.1 jelly bean
  • runs all games perfectly
  • good cpu + ram
  • the display doesnt look bad except if you put the phone 1 inch away from you

Cons

  • lacks internal memory only 4gb
  • can solve the storage problem through root

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

aziz12
posted on 13 May 2013, 19:24 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 May 2013)

8

calling issue

aziz12 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The battery doesnt last for long. Now i got a new issue with the calling.When i call some 1 i the opposite party is not able to hear me..The second sim doesnt work.the phone hangs.Plz help as what we can do and what is the solution.

Build quality 6/10
Reception 6/10
Call quality 6/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 9/10 i like the camera
UI speed 9/10 good speed
Everyday usage 9/10 very good device
Text input 8/10 very good
Display 10/10 very good
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • GOOD FEATURES. the touch is very good.

Cons

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Amal.S
posted on 13 May 2013, 01:24 (Posts: 0; Member since: 11 May 2013)

9

great perfomance from a midrange android device

Amal.S has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

the dual sim galaxy grand is powered by te same dual core chipset as the recently released galaxy sII plus.switching from exynos to broadcom looks like a minor steps down in terms of GPU but as we .saw on the S II Plus the superior power efficiency more than makes up for it. In fact, combined with the low (by today's standards) screen resolution this might turn the Galaxy Grand in one of the longest lasting smartphones on the market.


Key features
Quad-band GSM (SIM 1 & SIM 2) and 3G (SIM 1 only) support
Dual SIM stand-by
21.1 Mbps HSDPA and 5.76 Mbps HSUPA support (SIM 1 only)
5.0" 16M-color TFT capacitive touchscreen of WVGA (480 x 800 pixel) resolution
Android OS 4.1.2 Jelly Bean with Nature UX
1.2 GHz dual-core ARM Cortex-A9 CPU, Broadcom VideoCore IV GPU, 1GB of RAM
8MP autofocus camera with LED flash, face and smile detection, image stabilization
2MP secondary camera
1080p HD video recording at 30fps with stereo sound
Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n support; DLNA and Wi-Fi hotspot
GPS with A-GPS connectivity and GLONASS; digital compass
8GB of inbuilt storage, microSD slot
Accelerometer, gyroscope and proximity sensor
Standard 3.5 mm audio jack
microUSB v2.0 port with MHL
Stereo Bluetooth v4.0
FM radio with RDS

there is no scratch resistant glass .So you must use a screen protector to protect the screen ,i didn't mean that the screen is not bad at all it is quite nice for a mid range android device


doesn't matter about the pixel density of the phone .there is no issues with watching...  

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 8/10
Battery 9/10

27 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

KarthikAbbilash
posted on 24 Apr 2013, 07:23 (Posts: 1; Member since: 24 Apr 2013)

9

Background

KarthikAbbilash has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

What is the name of the background image or theme as shown in phone marena website....I have searched for many sites but could not find...If possible give me the link to download that theme or wallpaper.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 8/10
Battery 10/10

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Soismail
posted on 27 Mar 2013, 14:10 (Posts: 0; Member since: 27 Mar 2013)

8

How to receive calls from both SIM cards??

Soismail has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I need to know how to receive calls from the secondary SIM card as well as the primary one? any help??

i select the option to receive calls from both SIM; however i didnt get calls from the secondary one..

also, it crashed more than three times in three days and i donr have that many apps or even reached half of memory or SC usage.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 7/10
Display 7/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

Cons

  • Crashes and frozen many times

4 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Arif54321
posted on 13 Dec 2013, 14:09 (Posts: 1; Member since: 22 Mar 2013)

2

buy if you want to cry

Arif54321 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I have been using this phone from last 9 months . In the begining it was very good but after few months it started to show its actual performence which sucks . It freezes like ice . And it display resolution it worst

Build quality 2/10
Reception 2/10 Solid
Call quality 7/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 1/10
Text input 1/10
Display 2/10
Battery 7/10

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Thomson1986
posted on 04 Mar 2013, 07:50 (Posts: 0; Member since: 04 Mar 2013)

8

Grand Usage Experience

Thomson1986 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Functionality-wise good..Good camera.But resolution seems to be less.While playing with movie players ,OS got crashed 2 ,3 times..Need to restart the same...Apart from that every thing is fine with this price.

Build quality 6/10
Reception 6/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 8/10
Display 8/10
Battery 9/10

26 out of 37 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories