x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Galaxy Discover User Reviews

6 Based on 3 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Reception7.3/10
Display7/10
Build quality7/10
Text input4.3/10
Everyday usage6.3/10
UI speed5.3/10
Camera4.7/10
Multimedia6/10
Internet5.7/10
Call quality7.3/10
Battery4/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Jkennedy
posted on 31 Dec 2013, 22:02 (Posts: 4; Member since: 29 Dec 2013)

5

What a shame.

Jkennedy has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

What a shame that phones this bad still exist in the age of Android 4.0. Upgraded to this after my Optimus One became essentially unusable, and was dissapointed with what I got. Low resolution screen, bad camera, no front camera, slow processor, barely any RAM (even less than the outdated Optimus One), and measly 1300 mAh battery. Even ICS couldn't save this thing. Slow and cheap, with a pathetic battery.

Build quality 6/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 5/10
Camera 3/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 4/10
Display 4/10
Battery 3/10

Pros

  • ICS
  • Decent built in storage for such a cheap phone

Cons

  • Ridiculously bad battery life
  • Not enough RAM to run anything
  • Slow processor
  • Slow UI
  • Bad camera

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

TaserNinja
posted on 13 Sep 2013, 20:49 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Sep 2013)

4

Terrible phone

TaserNinja has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I've had this phone for about half a year and it's pretty terrible. The phone is constantly crashing and freezing. The screen sometimes will refuse to turn on as well. I haven't used it much for calling so I really can't tell how good the quality of that is. I would not suggest getting this phone

Build quality 7/10
Reception 5/10
Call quality 5/10
Internet 2/10 Web browser is very laggy. The wifi is also very weak on it. I can hardly get wifi from across my house (I can with my iPad and computer)
Multimedia 3/10 Sound stops randomly
Camera 4/10
UI speed 2/10 Constantly crashing and very slow
Everyday usage 3/10
Text input 1/10 Text input is very laggy
Display 7/10 Display is alright. It's not HD but it works
Battery 4/10 Lasts long enough. Although it seems to be unable to charge up to 100

Pros

  • Cheap

Cons

  • Slow
  • Crashes a lot

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

KoolBreeze4201
posted on 29 Mar 2013, 17:32 (Posts: 0; Member since: 29 Mar 2013)

9

Just Some notes

KoolBreeze4201 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This phone camera has no autofocus, no front camera, as it states in the specs.However the manual states it has a light sensor numbered 11 in the diagram in the manual, if you download the manual you can see it says that. If it is a light sensor it doesn't work cause no apps detect it. It's my guess that sensor 11 and 12 are proximity sensors and is misidentified
As well in the specs on here state it has a 4 GB memory I dont think its a full 4 gb but its close the internal sd card has 2.74 gb then the phone has maybe a gig then the external sd card can go upto 32 gb I have an 8 in right now.The specs here say that you can get 18 days standby. I highly doubt that claim, I havent been using my phone heavily but for instance 30 mins music, 2 hours of videos then you may get 6 hours on standby,With no running apps I would guess maybe a day or 2 at best. I can squeeze about 12 hours out of a charge if I'm carefull.Under heavy use I get under 5 hours max.
Now you may think I am knocking this phone but I am not I just wanted to clear up some misconceptions that I read in the specs section of this site.
I do like this phone, I can't afford the bigger smarter phones, so for a 100 bucks this phone per price is awsome when you consider the better phones can run you as high as 800.00 dollars. This is a great smartphone it has both strong and weak areas probably in order to keep prices down.The thousands of apps and the use of free wifi spots that are around Make this phone a joy compared...  

Build quality 8/10 I like this phone light weight yet feels strong in the hand.Not sure what the glass is in teh phone but I bought some plastic sheets that you put on teh screen on ebay for cple dollars
Reception 10/10 Reception is great
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 7/10 No autofocus,no flash,No front camera
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10 can be dificult to text but if you put it on its side its a little easier
Display 10/10 I love the display movies look great and sound is great has bass boost and equalizer with a great pair of headphones it sounds as good as it looks
Battery 5/10 Battery power is one of its weakest links

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories