x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Galaxy Ace User Reviews

7.8 Based on 19 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Call quality8/10
Battery6.3/10
Reception7.9/10
Display7.8/10
Build quality8.1/10
Text input8.5/10
Everyday usage8.2/10
UI speed7.8/10
Camera7.9/10
Multimedia7.8/10
Internet7.7/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Satori22
posted on 21 Aug 2014, 17:44 (Posts: 0; Member since: 21 Aug 2014)

4

Not worth it

Satori22 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

If you're looking for a low budget phone i guess it could be it. But it's absolutely laughable internal space makes it not even worth calling a smartphone. Use it to make calls and a little bit of net browsing, forget about any other app.

Build quality 1/10
Reception 4/10
Call quality 6/10
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 2/10
Camera 1/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 9/10
Display 3/10
Battery 3/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

megan2510
posted on 07 Aug 2014, 05:36 (Posts: 0; Member since: 07 Aug 2014)

4

I don't recommend this phone.

megan2510 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

A slow, low quality handset incapable of doing what most phones can do. It's features are average at best and half of them don't even work. A ridiculous 1.9GB memory that I filled within a month. Bad for gaming and social networking.

Build quality 4/10 Screen will crack incredibly easily. It is a very chubby phone and the buttons are difficult to reach when holding it in one hand.
Reception 5/10 Moderate reception, has 3/4 bars usually, but sometimes slow.
Call quality 3/10 Constant feedback- like sounds in backround, voices are distorted and crackly, Breaks up easily.
Internet 2/10 Slow! It takes about 13 seconds just to open Google. It lags horribly and can't view most websites properly.
Multimedia 4/10 Music quality is not very good. Videos lag, have bad sound, and grainy images. Speaker is at the back, making it harder to hear, and sound is bad when not through headphones.
Camera 6/10 The camera itself is not bad- in fact, images always look very good. But it is let down by the phone itself. The camera app can randomly stop working and it is glitchy.
UI speed 2/10 Terrible. It takes a long time to load internet and apps. Slow, laggy, and very annoying.
Everyday usage 6/10 Generally it is okay for everyday tasks, but the slow processor makes them a lot harder.
Text input 5/10 I use the qwerty keypad as the other options are a pain to use. It is better if you type horizontally as the keys are too small otherwise.
Display 3/10 Pretty bad. Touch screen can be unresponsive, quality is average at best and bad to use in sunlight (I have to hunch right over the screen or else I can't see a thing)
Battery 2/10 Terrible! I have to leave it on charge overnight every night, and I have to charge it in the day too- sometimes even twice. It's a real pain.

Pros

  • Good camera, okay for everyday usage.

Cons

  • Bad for internet, terribly slow, glitchy, laggy and a real pain to own.

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

StewieMonSta
posted on 23 Mar 2014, 09:25 (Posts: 0; Member since: 23 Mar 2014)

5

Slow battery life is atrocious

StewieMonSta has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

*Don't own this phone anymore*

Build quality is okay but I got some marks on it after just light use even on the screen and I never dropped it but the plastic back cover is flawless, paint on the side of the device started to tear away. Reception good, call quality good. Internet was so laggy almost unusable. Music app is very basic but the speaker is okay and it has FM Radio. Camera is great for photos and video recording sucks (240p). It's very laggy and runs an old version of android. Keyboard is fine and if you don;t like it you can download more. Large selection of apps. Display is poor but it's not terrible. Battery is just unbelievable it stays on 100% for 5 mins and then it goes down and after about 15-20mins it goes out. If you had 100% charge overnight and left it without using it it would be 0% by the morning. Gaming is very laggy even on games like fruit ninja and angry birds but doodle jump is fine.

Build quality 6/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 4/10
Multimedia 5/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 3/10
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 7/10
Display 4/10
Battery 1/10

Pros

  • Camera takes good photos
  • Micro-SD card slot
  • Replaceable battery

Cons

  • Battery life about 30 minutes
  • Video recording is really bad
  • Laggy
  • Games like 'Fruit Ninja' lag
  • Old version of Android

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Amonymus
posted on 11 Jun 2013, 10:40 (Posts: 0; Member since: 08 Jun 2013)

6

Okish

Amonymus has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

It's not the best of phones though I would recommend it as a 1st or 2nd phone. It lags quite a bit not for those who have had lots of smartphones or midrange smartphones don't use Internet on it with the default bowser

Build quality 7/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 6/10 No hd voice
Internet 4/10 Lags and has a tacky design
Multimedia 7/10 Loud speaker
Camera 6/10 Not the best
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 7/10
Display 6/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Battery

Cons

  • Lags
  • Not enough RAM
  • not enough storage

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ashishbhagta
posted on 03 May 2013, 06:40 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 May 2013)

9

good phone acc.to its price

ashishbhagta has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

it is the one of the best phone in its price list acc. to looks and features it runs n andriod version 2.3 (gingerbread) its camera quality is also nice
Truly amazing phone with excellent features and reasonable price !!!!!!!
Any body who wants to buy an android phone........... this is most appropriate option he/she can ever have........... i m vry hpy with this phone its swipe keyboard is just awsm with new upgrade it helps me to write faster

Build quality 9/10 aswm engenering
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10 nc voice quality
Internet 10/10 amazing 3g speeds and on wi-fi also
Multimedia 9/10 it support almost all formats of vedios
Camera 10/10 its quality is awsm dont hv wrds
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10 awsm acc. to everyday needs
Text input 9/10 amazing swipe
Display 9/10 awsm pixel density clear crystal display nt less then hd screen
Battery 6/10 as we all now all andriod phones hv less battery backup

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

uggman
posted on 05 Feb 2013, 14:48 (Posts: 0; Member since: 01 Feb 2013)

7

good phone

uggman has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

the phone is good but not great i'm a former blackberry user switched to android and quite frankly the phone is not up to par to fully enjoy android, and when i mean enjoy i mean playing games on the phone its good for low graphic games in 2D sprites but full 3D games lag, i've come to understand and like both the android and the galaxy ace once you pass that sour taste you'll be using your phone to the best of its own limits and that where the ace shines. Low key apps for a low key phone thats the trick for low end android phones.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 6/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 6/10
Display 6/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Good looking phone
  • Good camera
  • Good for social apps e.g. twitter, facebook
  • Great for 2D gaming
  • Good battery life

Cons

  • U.I lags
  • Low Ram
  • Low prossesor
  • Not that good for 3D gaming

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kingstandup
posted on 18 Aug 2012, 09:48 (Posts: 30; Member since: 24 Oct 2011)

10

Absolutely awesome!

kingstandup has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I'm pretty sure I've lost count of the number of phones I've carried over the last two years or so. With that being said, this is without a doubt the absolute best I've ever had my hands on. This has been dubbed the "iPhone wannabe" on a countless number of occasion. Even when I purchased the phone, the salesman referred to it as the "Samsung iPhone." Call it what you may, but I call it the cream of the crop. Another thing it's been called is a "low end" device. You could have fooled me. This easily out-performs any phone that has ever graced these hands. It is very quick; stylish; camera works great; apps run seamlessly; build quality is top shelf; the keyboard is phenomenal; screen display is incredible and it is just the perfect size. Call me crazy, but this phone has made me forget about the Samsung Galaxy S III for a while.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Screen.
  • Keyboard.
  • Camera.
  • Size.
  • Messaging.
  • Android.

Cons

  • None.

6 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

JasonEV
posted on 15 Aug 2012, 11:32 (Posts: 0; Member since: 15 Aug 2012)

7

good battery life and camera quality

JasonEV has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Good looking phone with a medium speed CPU but only 278 MB RAM. Sometimes laggy but not something Terrible. compared to other smartphones it haves good battery life and compared to the phones of his target group it have's a very good camera

Build quality 8/10 Good quality. Plastic but still good. It also have's gorilla glass.
Reception 7/10
Call quality 6/10 average microphone quality
Internet 7/10 The 800MHZ CPU is sometimes laggy at the browsing. It support's multitouch at browsing. Good wifi perfomance.
Multimedia 8/10 Very good battery performace and a loud speaker. Perfect for music. Not so good for video wathing with this screen.
Camera 9/10 5MP with flash and many options like panorama. Good picture results.
UI speed 7/10 Sometimes it laggs.
Everyday usage 8/10 not so heavy and big. It's pocket friendly
Text input 7/10 Not big screen but with the swype you can write anything easier
Display 7/10 480x320 pixels (165dpi) and good angle view. Colors also seems nice. The bad thing? Under the sun you will be disappointed
Battery 8/10 Good battery life

Pros

  • good camera with flash
  • good battery life
  • nice design

Cons

  • no front camera
  • no flash support at browser
  • only 278 MB RAM

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

enesi
posted on 08 Aug 2012, 16:26 (Posts: 0; Member since: 08 Aug 2012)

10

awesome samsung galaxy ace

enesi has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Although the Gingerbread ROM for the Samsung Ace leaked months back Samsung never got around to releasing it officially. Until now, that is.
SamFirmware is reporting that Samsung has started rolling out the Gingerbread update for the Ace through Kies. The update for now is available in limited countries, namely, Russia and Poland but will be available in other regions soon.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

4Droids
posted on 10 Apr 2012, 20:25 (Posts: 0; Member since: 10 Apr 2012)

5

Review

4Droids has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This phone is good for a basic android user. I have had it for about 2 months to be honest its not too bad. It lags a fair bit. The touch sensor sometimes screws up. But other than that its good. :) Nice look to the phone. Nice stylish look. Facebook twitter ect is great on this.

Build quality 6/10
Reception 2/10
Call quality 4/10
Internet 6/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 6/10
Display 5/10
Battery 3/10

Pros

  • Great camera
  • Style

Cons

  • Lags
  • Not much CPU

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

hemp_110
posted on 25 Aug 2011, 12:11 (Posts: 0; Member since: 25 Aug 2011)

10

very good device

hemp_110 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This is my first smart and android phone and i am very happy to habe it.
It is really a powerful phone with thousnds of apps in the android market.
display is outstanding. result of camera is very good and flash is powerful and works very well. no lag in use. this is just amazing device.
I love this device. go for it.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • camera with flash
  • great display

Cons

  • poor battery life

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

tanyugin
posted on 04 Aug 2011, 04:24

8

Great phone.

tanyugin has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Great looks, fast processor, responsive touch screen. Really nice phone on the whole thought there are some drawbacks, primarily the low battery life. Charges really fast, however the displayed battery level (I downloaded an app for that) can be inaccurate, sometimes dropping by 10% from a full charge just after unplugging in a few seconds. Shouldn't be too much of a hindrance thought.

Build quality 9/10 The shape of the phone is really cool, looks just like an iPhone! The black version comes with a dimpled back cover which has a really nice feel. Minor gripe-- the white version doesn't have the dimples and that put me off from buying it.
Reception 8/10 Good signal overall, no complains.
Call quality 7/10 Not particularly excellent call quality, but still decent enough to hear the other party fairly clearly most of the time.
Internet 10/10 The wifi is good and the browser is fast.
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 8/10 Typical Samsung camera interface.
UI speed 9/10 Fast and responsive.
Everyday usage 8/10 Typical intuitive Android 2.2.1 interface. Could do with an upgrade to 2.3 though.
Text input 9/10 Swype is really good, makes text input a breeze. Tip- to change input method, press and hold the text box. Took me quite some time to figure out.
Display 7/10 Average display.
Battery 5/10 The main let down of this phone. A day of fairly heavy gaming ate up most of the battery even when I started on a full charge. Battery levels can be really unpredictable and inaccurate at times.

Pros

  • Fast processor
  • Good for gaming
  • Easy text input
  • Fast charging

Cons

  • Low/ unpredictable battery life

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

akram_ahmed
posted on 31 Jul 2011, 10:07 (Posts: 0; Member since: 31 Jul 2011)

9

awesome

akram_ahmed has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

great phone i want to buy htc wildfire or wildfire s but i found that galaxy ace is so great for it's price 800 mhz and 3.5 screen and android system 2,2 froyo and if you compared it with the wildfire s and i phone 3g s ,galaxy ace will beat all of them.

Build quality 9/10 i find it so classic shape
Reception 10/10 it's so great phone compared to other phones at same price
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10 it's easy simple
Multimedia 7/10 i didn't experienced it fully yet from this point but it's headphone sound is cool and the display is good too
Camera 9/10 well i don't use it much but it's good and many options for people who care for it
UI speed 10/10 for me it's fast and the task manger is helping to clear unused memory
Everyday usage 9/10 good
Text input 9/10 it has only bad thing and it's existed in many phones my fingers is a little bit fat so i have to hand it on one hand and use the other to write and the swipe option is cool
Display 10/10 great
Battery 10/10 much better than other phones

Pros

  • good phone

Cons

  • connecting it to pc is hard

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

AshrafSello
posted on 20 Jul 2011, 22:42 (Posts: 0; Member since: 20 Jul 2011)

9

I Love this Mobile Phone.

AshrafSello has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I recommend this phone to buy, Unlike Nokia smart phones, this phone is fast enough to let you enjoy it, The shape of it is very good, The price is also fair for this amazing phone, finally I am glad that I own this phone now, Thanks for Samsung and Google Android System.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Android 2.2 Fast and Easy Phone
  • Camera with flash
  • Perfect size and design
  • Fair price
  • Very good multi touch screen appear in the outside day light

Cons

  • Not good battery life but not too bad
  • No Ear Phones in the Pack
  • No Camera Button
  • Not enough advertising to let others know about it

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

asd000
posted on 18 Jul 2011, 03:45

9

The appearance of the Samsung Galaxy Ace.

asd000 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Galaxy Ace winks at iPhone fans with design inspired by Apple's attractive device, and in terms of specification is aiming lower, with much inferior screen, faster processor and less video recording capabilities are weak. In all, a very good intermediate device, does the job well and will provide many users.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Rich operating system and interface
  • Connectivity and excellent browsing experience
  • Good still camera
  • Attractive Design
  • Wi-Fi, and GPS radio
  • Excellent dimensional

Cons

  • Bad video camera
  • Browser without Flash
  • Medium multimedia experience

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Tushar Samsung Galaxy Ace user
posted on 17 Jul 2011, 01:17

9

Gr8 ph in it's range...................

Tushar Samsung Galaxy Ace user has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The phone is gr8 in it but the only factor which comes in b/w it's success is it's battery performance......................always hv to carry it's charger as it gets discharged very rapidly...................wish samsung team could hv done sm more work on it's battery......

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • superb look just like an apple 4G

Cons

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Aceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
posted on 30 Jun 2011, 07:28

9

Not an excellent phone but a very good phone

Aceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

a very good phone for those who don't play much games or uses much apps because the battery life is poor if there's a better battery life then this is the best phone in middle range smartphone in the market other vise every thing is great but battery life is one of the main factor of a phone

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 6/10

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

AcE fan
posted on 26 Jun 2011, 07:01

9

Best android smartphone for its price...

AcE fan has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This is the best smartphone i have had. I bought it after watching the video reviews from phonearena.com. And I am happy with it.
It's got great looks and the build quality is amazing. Also, the froyo(2.2) OS and the 800Mhz processor makes it the best in its range of phones. Screen is also very nice. Camera quality is supercool too.
Wish the battery life was better thou! Stays for a day with heavy usage and 2 days with normanl usage. The wifi is also cool. I am getting constant speeds of 400kbps on my Home wifi.
In the end, best android smartphone in the market for the price.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Camera
  • Android 2.2
  • Super smooth text input
  • Build quality
  • Fast processor

Cons

  • Battery Life

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

krishna kanth
posted on 23 Jun 2011, 13:22

9

great budget android phone

krishna kanth has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

great phone with fast processor.can install many apps but it does not hang.camera is excellent.excellent display.good touch response for typing.swype is cool.excellent design.must buy for every first smartphone user.screen looks bright even at the lowest brightness.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • bright display
  • fast processor
  • great camera
  • stunning looks

Cons

  • average battery
  • poor video recording(not hd)

22 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy This Phone

Latest stories