x PhoneArena is looking for new authors in New York! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Galaxy 5 User Reviews

8.3 Based on 18 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed7.8/10
Camera6.5/10
Multimedia8.6/10
Internet8.4/10
Call quality9/10
Battery7.2/10
Reception9.1/10
Display8.2/10
Build quality8.9/10
Text input8.1/10
Everyday usage8.7/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

bestofsumit
posted on 09 Apr 2013, 05:37 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 Apr 2013)

8

One of the best phones of its time..

bestofsumit has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Galaxy 5 is one of the best Android phones of its time. Performed well, supported most of the apps while it existed in competition. Later did not even supported the Angry Birds game which was there for the phone earlier. In-built storage was not adequate to accommodate more than just a few of the apps. Used the phone as my first smartphone and is pretty impressed with the battery performance, design, call quality, interface and music. Disappointed with touchscreen for inability to use it while there is a bit of sweat on the phone.

Build quality 9/10 The phone was well built expect that the buttons are too many while they could have been avoided.
Reception 8/10 The phone had good connectivity, but I faced problems with the reception in the WiFi signals. Frequent disconnection of WiFi. Rest was all good.
Call quality 9/10 Call quality had always been great on this smartphone, but after more than 2 years the voice started echoing while talking via earphones.
Internet 7/10 Native explorer wasn't good enough. Had to use Opera as an alternative. Opera delivered better speed than the native Android explorer. 3G speeds had always been at the par.
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 7/10 Galaxy 5's camera is great for a 2-megapixel camera. Photos clicked in Daylight looked good but in shadows or indoors were not good. Video recording was poor, hardly recorded 20 videos in more than 2 years.
UI speed 7/10 Phone never updated from Eclair to Froyo via Kies. Had to flash the ROM manually. Gingerbread was also not released for this. So, had to flash CyanogenMod to get Gingerbread that also gave WiFi Hotspot functionality.
Everyday usage 7/10 The phone was good for everyday use. Never felt any performance issues with the phone.
Text input 7/10 Text input for the phone is only fine. Only good when considered as an entry-level phone.
Display 6/10 Display is only fine. It was hard to use phone when the touchscreen was wet with sweat. While wet with sweat, anything gets tapped on the screen on its own.
Battery 8/10 Battery was great. Lasted more than a day when used even a little above the moderate use.

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

shenglimzdavid
posted on 23 Dec 2012, 08:41 (Posts: 0; Member since: 23 Dec 2012)

9

My G5

shenglimzdavid has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Just bought it last year and it is a remarkable phone!
It could support the latest andriod 4.1 with many things scaled down. (find how yourselves) Battery life is so-so after kept listening to music and reading comics, but shockingly long when left it by itself(lasted about 4 days without offing it).
Games on it is nice as it could run Gameloft games.
Oh, the inbuilt memory space is small so be sure to invest in a memory card---8GB is best and apply swap if you want 30+ apps on this.
A perfect cheap andriod phone for starters!!
Cheers to G5!v (^3^)v

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10 lags. must be super patient.
Multimedia 10/10 Get a good DSP manager for all your songs for an extra oomph.
Camera 4/10 only good for FB. video is a no-no.
UI speed 6/10 when my friend tried the camera with andriod 2.2 running, the phone FREEZES completely. need remove battery and reboot. no more lousy FC with cm mod though.... :D
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 6/10 lasts a day with extreme music, texts , calls, reading manga.

Pros

  • great for gaming
  • sleek,sturdy build
  • good battery life
  • standard music player with 3.5mm jack
  • cheap
  • light
  • CM mod ready (google cyanogen mod for galay 5 if you do not understand my post)

Cons

  • irritating samsung apps that is never used
  • Armv6 cpu
  • small screen
  • is not upgraded to andriod 2.3

shenglimzdavid alternatives:

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jmoorethekid
posted on 19 Jun 2012, 16:39 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 Jun 2012)

9

My first smartphone and I love it!

jmoorethekid has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

If you are looking with a good smartphone with lots of features than this is a great phone for you.

It comes with android 2.2 and can be found on Amazon for under $150 for an unlocked phone.

I have had mine since Feb. 2012 and have dropped it once 3 feet off the table onto a tile floor (the back popped off and the battery fell out but other than that it was fine and did not receive any major damage) :)

If you do buy this phone you will want to also get a protective cover for it because the back does get pretty scuffed up even by just taking it in and out of your pocket.

As mentioned below the main con's are that it does not support flash and there is no front camera so you wont be able to make video calls.

It works great for playing games, watching movies, listening to music, browsing the internet etc.

Overall it won't replace your laptop :) and it is defiantly not a monster smartphone but for the price and the features it has it is a nice little machine!!!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10 Never had a problem with the reception
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10 Internet has always worked great for me. The only downside is that this phone does not support flash.
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 7/10 Pics are okay and for the price of this phone it works great but if you are going to be a photographer get yourself a real camera :)
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10 I use mine everyday and have very little problems. In the 4 and a half months that I have had it it only froze up on me once and I had to restart it but then it was fine.
Text input 9/10 The keyboard is kinda small when it is in the upright position but if you turn it sideways and type it works fine.
Display 10/10 For the price of the phone you just can't complain.
Battery 6/10 Battery works great for awhile but then after a few months of use I have had to charge it more often. Of course I play games on it and stuff but i always did and before it used to last me all day but now it only lasts me about 6-8 hours of constant use.

Pros

  • Price is excellent
  • Light and Easy to Handle

Cons

  • Does not support flash
  • No front camera. Cant make video calls

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

smvsiyer
posted on 26 Mar 2012, 07:54 (Posts: 1; Member since: 26 Mar 2012)

7

Samsung GT-i5500 (Good performance except the battery life)

smvsiyer has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I bought it from ebay.com in Jan 2011 and brought it to India. Was looking stylish compared to the contemporary models.

While it was working fine. The bar was getting hot (upto 40-45C) when on charge. The battery goes dry faster. I had to charge every 8 hours. If you have some application like graphical games etc., you can see the phone dying while playing it self!

Nowaday, the touch-reponse has also come down drastically. some times it takes 3-4 seconds to get to response for the touch.

The messages are grouped by the sender name, which some times confuses...as we are used to chronological order, normally.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 6/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 8/10
Display 8/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • candybar style
  • utilities
  • graphics
  • Receiver/connectivity

Cons

  • Low Battery Life
  • Slower touch-response rate

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

LuigiJz
posted on 18 Dec 2011, 22:21 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Dec 2011)

8

Good Smartphone

LuigiJz has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Good Smartphone for People who want to start in the Android World, It's a good choice, I Like My phone even with their cons, The Camera is Mediocre (2 mp without flash) The Battery Drains Quickly, The Internal Memory (170 mb are u serious ?) The Physicall buttons Detract some screen Size, but are pretty usefull for people who makes a transition from a Common phone to an Smartphone...anyway it's a good phone and i'm Enjoying it ;)

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 7/10
Display 7/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • Android (and all the posibilities you have with this OS)
  • Cool Design

Cons

  • Camera
  • Battery Life
  • Internal Memory
  • Some useless Physicall Buttons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Lex
posted on 05 Aug 2011, 22:08

10

Galaxy 5 the Best!

Lex has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

After several rewies statements and videos, I concluir which is the Best-in-class smartphone, what else complain about it is the battery and camera, but if a phone with many functions like this of course will discarregar with overuse, and to a perfect camera? want a good camera, buy a digital camera! The Cell is good, both the Apple and Samsung outperformed Nokia in smartphone sales, and the Aplle with 20 million sales and 19 million with Samsung, Nokia has only 17 million, Samsung Galaxy 5 is great!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • ALL

Cons

  • NOTHING

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Panxo
posted on 06 Jul 2011, 12:39

8

Great phone

Panxo has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This phone is and auto-gift to myself for my birthday :D and I research a lot of a good and cheap phone that was within mi rich, and i found this phone that was the best choice I could make buying it! It's quite fast, very easy to use, with a very nice design and it feels good in your hand! In addition, the sound is great and play very fluid the videos on youtube or others. How ever, the text in the screen is small and hard to read, sometimes I end up with a headache reading the text. The baterry lifetime is short, it last maximum two days, and maybe it is because I upgrade de OS to Froyo (Android 2.2) and in the internet some people says that this os consumes a lot of batery life!
In conclusion, with all the pros an cons, it's a very great phone, at least for me, i'm a student and this is all I need, it is my first touch and android phone and i'm happy to have it, its simple to use and very great with wifi (that's the most important feature to me xD). So i totally recommend this phone, very cheap and great than other expensive phones in the market! Thumbs up friends!
Y como soy chileno, una frasesita en español no esta demas!
Un muy bien telefono amigos, totalmente recomendado para los que busquen un telefono barato y de buen rendimiento, especial para estudiantes segun mi parecer!
Saludos amigos! :D

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 6/10
Display 7/10
Battery 5/10

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

RajB
posted on 23 Jun 2011, 10:56

4

A Horrbile Phone

RajB has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

A horrible phone, terrible for gaming, taking photos, horrible screen resolution, horrible size screen for text. HORRIBLE PHONE! im getting a HTC!! Slow and laggy ui. Bad battery life even with little use. Wifi a small advantage, tends to crash. many other better phones for a similar price range. lower than low end!!!! :'(

Build quality 5/10 Cheap plastic and fake chrome plastic outline making it seem cheap (which it was)
Reception 9/10 Not too bad here.
Call quality 7/10 Fuzzy at times.
Internet 2/10 Bad resolution to see text. no flash
Multimedia 4/10 music player ok everything else horrble.
Camera 2/10 2mp are you being serious?
UI speed 2/10 horribly l
Everyday usage 3/10
Text input 2/10 small screen
Display 2/10 horrible resolution
Battery 4/10 :O

Pros

Cons

  • everything

RajB alternatives:

0 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

helper
posted on 24 May 2011, 04:35

9

Worthless when compare with high price

helper has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I have been used this mobile from 3 months and its great with its design,os..etc..
The mobile is touchscreen and wifi is not good as i expected and screen resoultion is good.and its rokkiiizzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • simply superb
  • 3g is good

Cons

  • camera without flash
  • small screen size

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Student
posted on 15 Apr 2011, 18:33

10

SAMSUNG GALAXY 5 EUROPA

Student has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Samsung Galaxy 5 EUROPA is a smartphone that has a capacitive touchscreen and very responsive while browsing the internet you will not be hesitate because less than a minute you will be connected with the router, yet using the camera with 2.0 mp but it have a good quality pictures unlike other galaxy 5. and the video graphics as well as the maps. meanwhile using the applications is excellent you can use it on 3d games.... or virtual.. You can use this phone both home , school and office.


I LOVE MY PHONE SAMSUNG GALAXY 5 EUROPA FOR ME THIS IS THE BEST ANDROID PHONE I HAVE!

Build quality 10/10 gOOD QUALITY
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10 Fast and accurate
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10 Good quality graphics
UI speed 10/10 So responisve
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10 Good for me even though if you have large finger because you can use it in landscape
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10 It can last for 2 days using all the apps and multimedia

Pros

  • Responsive Screen
  • Fats and Accurate Internet Acess
  • Good Quality
  • Excellent Graphics
  • Wifi
  • 2mp Camera

Cons

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Harshdeep
posted on 06 Apr 2011, 02:41

8

Student

Harshdeep has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I've got galaxy 5 as a birthday gift. I was amazed with it's features. It is my first android and touch screen phone, and I love out too much. I have downloaded several free apps and games from the market. It has quite cool UI, also, the swype function makes it very easy to text in. Its sound quality is amazing and video quality is nice too. It has everything I needed add the android market makes it even better. It is the best smartphone and is cheap too. Although it gets dead sometimes, uses battery too much when using 3g and playing videos online. But, it is the best !!!!

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 8/10
Battery 3/10

Pros

  • 3g
  • Internet
  • Social networking
  • Smart UI
  • Swype feature
  • GPS
  • Live wallpapers support
  • Light weight
  • Intutive touch

Cons

  • Battery drains quickly
  • Hangs frequently

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Maria17tiida
posted on 13 Mar 2011, 16:28 (Posts: 0; Member since: 24 Mar 2010)

10

Samsung Galaxy(5) Europa (I5500)

Maria17tiida has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I bought this phone selling my Samsung Star (s5230) which i must say was quite a good phone! Anyway i bought the Europa with no hesitation. It is Wifi ready, a touchscreen, and Samsung phones have been rocking some really Awesome phones since 2009-present so i am very pleased! The camera is rather clean for jus 2mp, i love the fact that Android market has alot of cool apps and games similar to iphones. The europa is small and comfortable in hand and pocket. It doesnt have a timid, fragile feel but rather a very strong feel to it. The design is very unusual but eye catching. I love the 3.5mm headset jack because you dont necessarily have to use the headset that game with the phone but can use any standard 3.5mm headset. The fm radio is really clean and so is the music player...it really BOOMs in your ear in full volume!!! The qwerty keyboard is really easy but if u have large fingers it maybe a bit tough..but if accustomed to touchscreen phones you wont have a problem. Also a huge 100% goes to the facebook chat you dont have to download/install a separate app to chat. The resolution and colors are very realistic and quite vivid. And not to mention its a cheap Android Phone wth Wifi and all these other cool features!!! I paid $1300TT (Trinidad and Tobago) cash for this. And your getting a free 1GB mem card and all other accessories!!! If you want a cheap Android phone with Wifi etc... i will definitely recommend this Europa!!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Wifi
  • Camera (even though its 2mp, its quite crisp)
  • Music Player
  • Video player
  • 7 Home Screens
  • Android Apps/Games are Awesome and addictive
  • Very easy to use
  • Touchscreen
  • 3G makes browsing net easier and faster
  • The 3.5mm headset jack

Cons

  • Battery life runs down quickly when playing games,browsing and using music player all at once. But besides that it lasts the entire day!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ConsDemo
posted on 29 Jan 2011, 02:23 (Posts: 1; Member since: 29 Jan 2011)

7

A good bargain for the cost

ConsDemo has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

A good bargain for the cost. Has many features of the Iphone 3G plus (medium to low) quality video recording and FM radio.

Perhaps because it is meant for Europe, it only seems to get 2G in the US although for a non-heavy data user, the difference isn't obvious.

Build quality 7/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 6/10
Display 7/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Low price
  • FM radio

Cons

  • Can't get 3G in the US

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

prathik
posted on 20 Jan 2011, 09:29

5

Samsung I5503 Galaxy5

prathik has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Samsung I5503 Galaxy5 has a fine Build quality:
Reception:
Call quality:
Internet:
Multimedia:
Camera:
UI speed:
Everyday usage:
Text input:
Display:
Battery:
but nt upto the level............................................................................................................

Build quality 8/10
Reception 5/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 5/10
Camera 2/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 7/10
Display 6/10
Battery 4/10

0 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

zasmadey
posted on 28 Dec 2010, 22:11

9

Buss Dev Manager

zasmadey has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

My first android phone as a gift from my lovely wife.
By comparisons, this phone is much better than some other expensive smartphone in the market. All the gadget & application are all matched to many high end Android phone in the market. As i International sales person....this phone really fullfil my daily needs.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • User friendly
  • 16m colours

Cons

  • 2mp camera

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Azazil
posted on 26 Dec 2010, 23:00 (Posts: 0; Member since: 26 Dec 2010)

10

Galaxy 5

Azazil has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I very much like this phone, every thing with it is really nice its light but not too light that it fells as though it will break easily. Its easy to use phone, everything is fast on it as well. Cheap in price which is really good for an android phone. If you want a cheap good working android phone with good features and you don't worry about it not having a front facing camera, flash or a 3 mp+ camera. this is a phone you should consider.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Touch Screen
  • up to 16 gig memory slot
  • Google apps (of course)
  • Normal buttons are easy to use. (be warned the keys don’t light up, but it is easy to get used to where everything is)
  • Os
  • Battery
  • FM radio
  • Headphones (don’t underestimate these headphones they might seem bad but they are really good)
  • 3g and 2g Compatible

Cons

  • Tight keyboard, if you try to type to fast you will end up hitting other buttons easily
  • 2mp-Kinda hoping for a 3 but it doesn’t bother me that much
  • More non internet apps rather than internet based ones

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

mehdi
posted on 18 Dec 2010, 16:14

9

galaxy

mehdi has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

i like to have a phone which i can work with it easily it has all i want its cheap in price and really good in specification it has really more than its price you can do what ever the expensive mobile phones do for a person like me i do not need a hi class phone i just need a phone it has good os and this phone has every thing i need

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 8/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • os

Cons

  • camera
  • backlight sensor

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Bryan Azotillo
posted on 22 Nov 2010, 23:45

10

Student

Bryan Azotillo has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I bought this phone as a birthday gift for myself and is totally amazed by its features. It was P10,500 php here in the Philippines. I've been using this for almost 2 months now and felt really really good about it.

It already has a 2 Gig memory card included but I upgraded it to 8 Gig. Reviews say that I can upgrade it upto 16 Gig I think. At least, that's what I've heard.

The Camera is quite good. And even if it's just 2 MP, it still works for me.

The Sound Quality is superb! Enough said...

The User Interface is kinda easy to use. You can easily share through bluetooth, email, multimedia message, facebook, twitter and etc with just a few clicks.

What more can I ask for? A Cheap phone with everything that I need.

Two thumbs up! ^_^

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10 Amazing!
Camera 9/10 2 MP is okay but works for me.
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10 I have a big fingers!
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10 I can use it for 2 days... ^_^

Pros

  • It's touchscreen,yey!
  • upto 16 GIG Memory Card Slot
  • Music Player with Dolby Audio and 3.5 mm jack
  • it's 3g
  • wifi-ready, Yey!
  • You can easily share through bluetooth, email, multimedia message, facebook, twitter and etc with just a few clicks
  • its an android phone V2.1 (can be updated to 2.2 but I dont know how)
  • User friendly interface
  • preset with google apps
  • FM Radio

Cons

  • 2 MP Camera but I'm not into taking picture, I'm a music guy so it works for me.
  • The Qwerty is a bit hard to manipulate for users with bigger fingers like me.

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy This Phone

Latest stories