x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung GALAXY S II Plus User Reviews

8.1 Based on 9 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia8.1/10
Internet8.7/10
Call quality8.7/10
Battery7.7/10
Reception8.1/10
Display7.3/10
Build quality7.8/10
Text input7.6/10
Everyday usage8.1/10
UI speed8.1/10
Camera8.6/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

MaRon
posted on 21 Aug 2014, 12:39 (Posts: 0; Member since: 21 Aug 2014)

10

Owner's Review

MaRon has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I compared lots of smartphones when i bought it just not to be sorry and I am not.
I had an Apple iPhone 4S for more than a year, than i had this phone for 10 months and now i have an Samsung Galaxy S3. So I am not a fanboy for Android, Apple or Windows phones.

Build quality 10/10 Slim, fancy, durable, good-looking. I like it !
Reception 10/10 It does it good.
Call quality 10/10 I hear the other part loud and clear. I keep the volume in middle, even my grandmother can hear the other part but the people around don't here much thing, it menage very good being a cellphone :D
Internet 10/10 Fast internet. Good signal, I used it as a GPS when i was in a trip and even in locations like forests or in the mountains my signal was ok. Easy to use for newbees, that's what my mom says.
Multimedia 9/10 5.1 speakers mod , the headphones are very effective, maybe not best pixel rezolution on the market but you will like watching a trailer or a video on that 4,3" display (better than Galaxy S2-the one released in 2011)
Camera 8/10 Enough photo/video editating (you can found lots of free apps online to improve that part). Huge photo rezolution but the quality in the dark can be a problem if you don't use the flash. Very good video recording. It has best camera, compared with smartphones at same price.
UI speed 10/10 I like the motion without any lag.
Everyday usage 10/10 Touchwiz make a great job not only for everyday usage. It's a smart model with a smart software.
Text input 10/10 Best text input around, easy and can be personalised.
Display 9/10 Nice colors, great contrast, visibility in sunlight and at an angle is more than great. It feels smooth and it's touchscreen respond fast.
Battery 9/10 1650 mAh battery and it's low comsumption , only few top models can beat it.

Pros

  • It's slim, it's fancy and fits good in your hand. Solid enough for me, no scrap yet :)
  • One of the best at it's price.
  • Very good for internet use, i used the Maps app when i was in a trip and it worked even on streets trough forest and mountains.
  • 5.1 Soround Sound + lots of free apps for multimedia + very good display + lost of formats supported = perfect for videos.
  • Huge resolutions and it has ok photo/video effects (lots of apps to improve this part)
  • Touchwiz Nature UI = great speed, easy to use and nice visuals
  • It's more than an average smartphone but it's not complicated and it does great for calling and everyday usage.
  • Great ungle of view, visibility in sunlight and the display it's fast and feels smooth when touching.
  • It has Samsung Motions control.
  • Good baterry.

Cons

  • Not the best camera in hard conditions.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

hashankas
posted on 16 Aug 2014, 21:33 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 Aug 2014)

4

not a good phone

hashankas has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

i had this phone for about 5 months.before this i had a iphone 4.build quality is horrible in this phone the silver line starts to fade in couple of months.and the screen is really not that great.it has a ppi of 217 thats so law to a 4.3 inch screen.although the camera and the battery is really good.it lags so much.third party apps crashes a lot.text input is awful.internet speed is good but the browser lags so much.UI speed is not that great.and the worst thing is u cant even update to 4.2.2 .storage is so low its only 3.9gb. brodcom chipset is a failure.u cant even play high end games like most wanted.after the gameplay when u return to the home screen phone lags and crashes.dont buy this phone.you are better of with iphone 4s or iphone 5.

Build quality 2/10 silver line starts to fade.feels so cheap in hand
Reception 4/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10 its good not best but
Multimedia 4/10
Camera 9/10 camera is awesome
UI speed 3/10 so laggy.crashes a lot
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 3/10
Display 3/10 iphone display is way better than this
Battery 9/10 i can go on a full day with hard use

Pros

  • camera
  • battery

Cons

  • build quality
  • cant update
  • UI speed
  • apps

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

skinny95black
posted on 14 Apr 2014, 08:37 (Posts: 113; Member since: 06 Jan 2013)

9

return of a legend

skinny95black has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I bought this phone and took it with to my collage I must say the phone is a bliss evreything about is great exept for few thinga that could make is great the phone doesn't benefit from jelly bean it lags and sometimes I have to shut it down unfortunately the power button option lags down with so ihave to take thw battery out the phone the camera and screen are great both of them the battary is not bad it make go through the in full charge while using 3g it also charge quickly but the built in speaker is bad as hell it's low and the sounds are cant be understood the build quality is also not bad as people say the phone took some hits likw achamp but with scratchs but reception is bad on this phone and call quality as well the Internet is not bad the multimedia is also quite good every day usage is fun and exiting but since thier wont kitkat for this phone I am goin to sell and buy the moto g soon enough or switch to wp and buy the lumia 920

Build quality 9/10 Very great bulid quality not as people say about samsung plastic
Reception 6/10 Very bad actually internet in doors is impossible with it
Call quality 7/10 Voice is not high enough bulit in speaker is very week and worthless
Internet 9/10 One of the good things about this phone I like vey much
Multimedia 9/10 Even though listing with the bulit in speaker is impossible the multimedia is actually very good
Camera 10/10
UI speed 8/10 The system lag to much and sometimes the phone lag so hard I have to take the battery out of the device and put it back and restart 8 is even to much for it
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10 The text input is good but the samsung keyboard id vey small making me hit the wrong buttens always
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10 When of the best things abouy this phone even though it's small battery but it lastm through the always

Pros

  • camera

Cons

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Mac-user
posted on 03 Apr 2014, 04:37 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Apr 2014)

4

Not really a smart phone

Mac-user has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Probably the worst phone I've ever had. In it's time of course. But certainly and by far the worst of the three smart phones I've had. Or I can't really call it a smart phone because it wasn't exactly smart. I mean the look was fine. But that was about it. Before the S2 I had a SONY Experia Mini Pro which I found rather nice. But after it had died - as a Mac user I thought of iPhone and considered it unjustifiably expensive. Over the top. So I looked around, read all the reviews and bought the S2. That's where the drag started. And it went on for another three months! It never broke down it never froze but it never really worked or delivered results either. There always seemed to be some inexplicable BUT. As someone used to the indulgent efficiency of Apple products I couldn't bear it any longer. Some three day ago a good man replied to my advertisement - with a deep relief I gave him the S2 and 120€ and he gave me a worn-out iPhone 4s. All the problems I'd have with the tiam-tun somehow miraculously evaporated the first night and I woke up into new days without a device that never really works, presumably speaks some outlandish language you just can't understand and which keeps being a nuisance.

Build quality 5/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 3/10
Multimedia 3/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 2/10
Text input 2/10
Display 2/10
Battery 3/10

Pros

  • Are there any?

Cons

  • Continuous nuisance

Mac-user alternatives:

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Egzon
posted on 30 Mar 2014, 07:39 (Posts: 0; Member since: 30 Mar 2014)

10

SII Plus

Egzon has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The Samsung Galaxy S II is a touchscreen-enabled, slate-format Android smartphone designed, developed, and marketed by Samsung Electronics. It has additional software features, expanded hardware, and a redesigned physique compared to its predecessor, the Samsung Galaxy S; it was succeeded by the Samsung Galaxy S III in May 2012.[6] The S II was launched with Android 2.3 "Gingerbread", with updates to Android 4.0.4 "Ice Cream Sandwich",[7] and it currently can be updated to Android 4.1 "Jelly Bean".
Samsung unveiled the S II on 13 February 2011 at the Mobile World Congress.[8] It was one of the slimmest smartphones of the time, mostly 8.49 mm thick, except for two small bulges which take the maximum thickness of the phone to 9.91 mm.[9] The Galaxy S II has a 1.2 GHz dual-core "Exynos" system on a chip (SoC) processor,[10] 1 GB of RAM, a 10.8 cm (4.3 in) WVGA Super AMOLED Plus screen display and an 8-megapixel camera with flash and 1080p full high definition video recording. It is one of the first devices to offer a Mobile High-definition Link (MHL),[11] which allows up to 1080p uncompressed video output to an MHL enabled TV or to an MHL to HDMI adapter, while charging the device at the same time. USB On-The-Go (USB OTG) is supported.[12][13]
The user-replaceable battery gives up to ten hours of heavy usage, or two days of lighter usage.[14] According to Samsung, the Galaxy S II is capable of providing 9 hours of talk time on 3G and 18.3 hours on 2G.[14][15]

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

AhmadAyed
posted on 20 Jan 2014, 06:59 (Posts: 0; Member since: 04 Nov 2013)

9

s2 plus new old good phone

AhmadAyed has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

new old good phone for the phenomenon original S2. really satisfied by most of all its feature especially the camera and the display. i like it.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Alexg13
posted on 26 Oct 2013, 03:38 (Posts: 0; Member since: 26 Oct 2013)

9

great

Alexg13 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

very sexy very fast and with a great screen. S amoled Plus rocks.. No need for other expensive phones. it does everything.. a must buy.. You can't see any pixels with the s amoled plus, very nice colours and compare to other quad core smartphones the delay on internet is only 2 seconds.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • the king

Cons

  • nothing

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

baraheemo
posted on 27 Jul 2013, 00:56 (Posts: 14; Member since: 21 Nov 2011)

9

Good but not enough

baraheemo has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review


Samsung company has released this device without any addional comparing to the previous device.

Samsung company has released this device without any addional comparing to the previous device.

Samsung company has released this device without any addional comparing to the previous device.
Samsung company has released this device without any addional comparing to the previous device.

Samsung company has released this device without any addional comparing to the previous device.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 7/10
Display 7/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

Cons

  • Battery
  • Screen resolution
  • The Body is plastic
  • Text input is bad
  • The jelly bean is not siutable for it

1 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

fahiim
posted on 26 May 2013, 11:43 (Posts: 0; Member since: 20 May 2013)

9

S II Revival

fahiim has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

this phone is less expensive than original S2 AND there is reason for that, and that is its cheap processor and GPU. although this doesn't make any bigger difference. call quality is good but you can hear the call sound from the phones back just under the camera and this is a problem with this model. screen colours are bit off the charts and give you a hint of a bluish tint as most of the AMOLED screen owners complain. overall this phone is good for you if you want to experience the innovations brought in by samsung's efficient use of android in an affordable price.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 7/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • UI is pretty sleek
  • call quality is great
  • overall performance is good

Cons

  • camera results are not that great
  • screen colours are bit off the charts.and screen also has a bluish tint

10 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories