x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung GALAXY Note User Reviews

8.7 Based on 25 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed8.2/10
Camera8.8/10
Multimedia9/10
Internet8.9/10
Call quality9.2/10
Battery7.7/10
Reception9.1/10
Display9.5/10
Build quality8.7/10
Text input8.9/10
Everyday usage8.7/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

cesko91
posted on 28 Jul 2014, 10:15 (Posts: 0; Member since: 28 Jul 2014)

8

Great phone some years a go.

cesko91 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Galaxy note has been a top phone for years, thanks to the great work made by Samsung in terms of personalization and additional features. But the built-in rom, after some updates, has become too heavy for the RAM and CPU, increasing the lag of touchwitz UI. A good solution is to chose custom roms based on touchwitz.

Build quality 9/10 Excellent material, no damnages after several accidenti
Reception 9/10 Good signal quite everywhere
Call quality 10/10 Excellent call quality, the sounds are very clear
Internet 8/10 The built-in browser is better than chrome, but is not so quick-responsive. The reception of 3g signal is ok, no LTE
Multimedia 8/10 Nice gallery and music organization.
Camera 8/10 Very good for his time whith samsung's stock application
UI speed 5/10 Full of lag after Jelly Bean installation in 2013.
Everyday usage 6/10 The possibility to add special movments are very useful, but the phone is a bit lagful
Text input 7/10 Samsung's keyboard is ok
Display 8/10 Very bright but after some years it left a lighy yellow stripe.
Battery 7/10 Bigger screen, shorter battery life. But built-in battery is big enough.

Pros

  • Big screen
  • S-Pen
  • Useful personalization

Cons

  • UI full of lag

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

imad-raja
posted on 23 Jun 2014, 08:13 (Posts: 0; Member since: 26 Apr 2014)

9

samsung galaxy note n7000

imad-raja has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

too good 5.3 inches camera 8 and 2 megapixels 16 gb Built-in storage
the only bad thing is Battery life too good 5.3 inches camera 8 and 2 megapixels 16 gb Built-in storage
the only bad thing is Battery life
good phone but ther is better phones in the Market you can buy like
amsung GALAXY Note II

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 6/10

Pros

  • 5.3 inches
  • 8 megapixels
  • 16 GB

Cons

  • Battery
  • Android 4.1.2

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

bor4c
posted on 02 Dec 2013, 05:43 (Posts: 0; Member since: 02 Dec 2013)

9

Excellent phablet

bor4c has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

My SGS II become too small and I bought Note. It's an excellent phone and tablet in one device. Excellent big SAMOLED display with 16:10 ratio is perfect for book reading and web surfing. Even two years old, this smartphone can cope with almost every android app.

Build quality 9/10 Nice, premium look, metal edge, not heavy. Good grip, but slippy back cover (white model).
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10 Solid front and back camera, same quality as SGS II, but a bit unoptimized.
UI speed 8/10 TouchWiz is sometimes laggy (JB 4.1.2)
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10 Very big SAMOLED HD display, 16:10 picture ratio is excellent for reading books and surfing the web. Gorilla glass protection. Only bad thing is the black clipping in video and pictures, I think it's software issue.
Battery 9/10 2500 mAh is enough for a day with moderate use.

Pros

  • - excellent display 5.3 SAMOLED HD, 16:10 ratio
  • - excellent connectivity
  • - good processor and graphics performance
  • - S-Pen

Cons

  • - laggy and unoptimized TouchWiz
  • - black color clipping

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

monkeybone
posted on 20 Nov 2013, 04:33 (Posts: 0; Member since: 20 Nov 2013)

8

samsung g(great)note

monkeybone has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Ijust use the phone and felt it is good after using an iphone.Clearly it is indeed a great smartphone to replace with as it fulfil my needs as a person who loves to watch movie on smartphone while travelling.About the battery,i cant complain much as the os is still not on the upgrade yet but still the battery life is good enough and os is still functioning great.Performance wise.Simply love it

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 3/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • A good full multimedia smartphone

Cons

  • the wifi signal

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ayerbe59
posted on 27 Oct 2013, 11:23 (Posts: 0; Member since: 27 Oct 2013)

6

Not as good as mentioned in some of the reviews

ayerbe59 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Main plus side is the screen size, but this is where the problems start since bigger screen equals more drain on the battery so you can literally see the battery power going down before your eyes if you are a frequent user of this beast. The build quality in relation to its price is poor. I had mine for about 13 months and the power button got stuck, plus all sort of other niggling problems. Samsung bloatware is a nuisance, unless you root it, and just hogs memory unnecessarily. In short, it's massive yet like many big things they look impressive but when you look closer there isn't much substance in them. I will never buy another.

Build quality 3/10 In relation to its price there are far better phones around
Reception 7/10 It's on par with other devices
Call quality 6/10 It may cut callers off if the screen doesn't quite turns itself off well
Internet 6/10 Isn't that fast either
Multimedia 8/10 Probably its best angle
Camera 8/10 Pretty decent pictures and easy to handle
UI speed 7/10 Temperamental!
Everyday usage 6/10 To many minuses, it's just average
Text input 7/10 Swype can get very slow if other apps are running in the background
Display 9/10 Definitely its best feature
Battery 2/10 Is this a joke?

Pros

  • Display
  • Camera

Cons

  • Battery life
  • Memory
  • Built

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

21babydoll12
posted on 18 Oct 2013, 21:32 (Posts: 47; Member since: 29 Mar 2013)

6

Best phone I've ever had

21babydoll12 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

People thought I was crazy. Now its 2013 and everyone wants a phablet. This was and still the original champ. Loved everything about it. Granted I got tired of TouchWiz but this phone was still the best at everyhting. Phone calls are clear, screen quality is superb, touch screen is responsive and the camera is still one of my favorites. The build is great overall and after 3 years of use the plastic materials are still in great shape. Battery sucked after 1 year of heavy use. Now the phablet collects dusk because I got tired of replacing the OEM battery every year. Loast my stylus twice. I wish the intrusion had a better fixture to hold it more firmly. The WIFI antenna after 2 years of heavy use went dead on me. Overall this was my favorite phone the last 3 years. I wished the Note 3 had the same magic but it lacks that special suprise that the 1st had. And that was being the 1st phablet and only phablet anyone would want. Note 3 is a huge let down.

Build quality 8/10 love the plastic build. very durable use over 3 years
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10 solid and loud. minor static
Internet 4/10 just decent. wifi went dead on me
Multimedia 3/10 stale
Camera 9/10
UI speed 3/10 learned to hate touchwhiz. boring
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 1/10 changed batteries every year.

Pros

  • The original and best phablet

Cons

  • Battery is horrible

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

neonspunk
posted on 17 Oct 2013, 23:23 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 Oct 2013)

2

This phone isn't tough enough for me

neonspunk has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Been using this phone less then 2 years and I can't wait to change it when the contract is up, this phone isn't tough enough like iphone, the interface still sucks, I still get lost when trying to find a certain pictures, the battery is really bad, even on idle, imagine with 70 percent batt before going to bed, it might be dead by morning, even without touching it. It auto run apps on idle, I tried using Juice Defender, but it doesn't help much now. I'm throwing this phone in the bin this december!

Build quality 5/10
Reception 5/10
Call quality 4/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 5/10
Camera 3/10
UI speed 3/10
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 3/10
Display 5/10
Battery 2/10

Pros

  • Big Screen

Cons

  • Battery
  • operating system
  • camera
  • Slow phone

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

cprasetya28
posted on 23 Apr 2013, 03:07 (Posts: 0; Member since: 23 Apr 2013)

10

Can't live without it

cprasetya28 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

at first, I doubt what samsung want to do with this "gigantic" phone or "mini" tablet. But, I always been a gadget fans, so I decided to take it. and the result...can't even leave it alone, for daily use it's excellent, the camera, the s-Note, the memo, calendar, all apps are very useful for my jobs, it make everything easier, but one my complaints just the battery usage, but it's okay...good job samsung.....

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10 it lagging sometimes
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Good Camera
  • Easy to write with s-pen
  • Great to hear music with
  • Big display, easy to read websites

Cons

  • Needed a bigger battery perhaps
  • Need more RAM

cprasetya28 alternatives:

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

DinosaurOfPhones
posted on 28 Nov 2012, 05:29 (Posts: 0; Member since: 28 Nov 2012)

9

Cool Smartphone

DinosaurOfPhones has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

It's very cool smartphone, recommended for some that they love to write with pen so much, Love it! Perfect phone for work, and gaming. For me it's the best phone i've ever got, I just browse fast with it, Cool functions, Cool S-pen. Like the s-pen on it!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • 8MP camera
  • Recommended for gaming
  • 2500mAh Battery
  • ICS ready
  • Great for rooting
  • S-Pen

Cons

  • Bad battery After ICS

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

RamyAbdelbadea
posted on 18 Oct 2012, 14:47 (Posts: 17; Member since: 07 Nov 2011)

10

The mini laptop

RamyAbdelbadea has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

a phone that everyone must try ... but you will think that every other phone is small ...
no time to write a full review .... you should just try this phone by your self .........
but the battery life is not that good on 3g ......

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

Cons

  • Bad Battery Life

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

HussamAldean
posted on 29 Aug 2012, 02:25 (Posts: 14; Member since: 28 Apr 2012)

9

great phone to use

HussamAldean has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I consider this phone is the best phone ever made by samsung even the latest one SIII from samsung
It has great build quality but plastic amazing outdoor camera performance and bad indoor performance , great audio quality , game expriance ,etc

Build quality 8/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 4/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • huge battary

Cons

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

skandyblaze
posted on 27 Aug 2012, 10:12 (Posts: 0; Member since: 26 Aug 2012)

9

Awesome phone

skandyblaze has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Coming this December,My note will complete a year in my hands and its really good phone ,worth every penny of money spent on it,but there was a problem of the micro USB port after upgrading to ICS ,other than that its performance is excellent .I am proud to be the owner of this gigantic smart phone

Build quality 8/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • HD AMOLED plus display
  • lots of RAM but its required for ICS
  • 16 GB storage +micro SD slot
  • 1.4Ghz dual core processor
  • s-pen
  • Large screen 5.3 inch good for watching video and web browsing
  • 8 MP Camera and Full HD Video
  • 2mp front facing camera

Cons

  • built quality is not good
  • Huge phone
  • it takes lot of time for charging the battery
  • battery backup is also not good during frequent usuage

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ShayonX
posted on 09 Jun 2012, 13:11 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 Jun 2012)

10

Truly a fabulous Phablet!!!

ShayonX has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I have been using this phone over 6 months. It is truly a super phone. It is at par with the best out there and it has an added advantage with the super sensitive s pen...A must buy for those who can handle its size.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Big Display
  • S-Pen
  • Super Fast
  • No Lag

Cons

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ferari
posted on 05 Jun 2012, 03:38 (Posts: 1; Member since: 14 Jul 2008)

8

mohamed samir elbaramony

ferari has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

good phone - but i stay about 8 second when i get the contacts, log and dial pad - i don't know why - if any one have solving for this issue kindly post or email me on: mohamedsamirelbaramony@yahoo.com

i have two galaxy note, for me and my wife - the each have the same contacts delay problem.

i saw different between the two:

my galaxy note: the screen in white color is not clear if compared with the second G. note

my galaxy note:the camera flash is strongest than the second G. note

my galaxy note: made in vietnam and the other made by samsung

but i saw the third galaxy note one with my friend made in vietnam with same color of my second G.note (white colore is clear).

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 7/10
Display 8/10
Battery 7/10

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

galaxy_jas
posted on 22 May 2012, 14:39 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Apr 2012)

10

Perfect

galaxy_jas has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I love
Dual core processor
Very big display (5.30 inches) Fast mobile data support (4G)
High pixel densitiy screen, over
250ppi (285 ppi) High-resolution display (800 x 1280 pixels) Supports special active stylus for input
Very fast processor (1400 MHz) Lots of RAM (1024 MB RAM) High-resolution camera (8 megapixels) HDMI connector for TV-out (via microUSB) just perfect! Galaxy Note is just perfect! Android 4.0 Ics make even better!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Dual core processor Very big display (5.30 inches) Fast mobile data support (4G) High pixel densitiy screen, over 250ppi (285 ppi) High-resolution display (800 x 1280 pixels) Supports special active stylus for input Very fast processor (1400 MHz) Lots of RAM (1024 MB RAM) High-resolution camera (8 megapixels) HDMI connector for TV-out (via microUSB)

Cons

  • too perfect!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

godfrey1989
posted on 19 May 2012, 22:05 (Posts: 0; Member since: 04 Apr 2012)

9

My First Samsung Smartphone

godfrey1989 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This is my review after using this phone for 3 days, I will update my review after a month. I have always wanted to buy the Samsung Galaxy S2 but when this phone came out I said to myself I have to buy this. This is a must buy if you want to have a smartphone and a tablet in one. The S Pen is a cool feature, you can take a snapshot from the web and edit it and share it instantly.

Build quality 9/10 Though the phone is plastic but it's well built. My only problem is the back cover, I feel like i'm going to break it everytime I remove it.
Reception 9/10 The signal bar is always between one and two at home. My previous mobile phones had almost full bars of signal but good that it doesn't have an effect.
Call quality 9/10 The call quality is very good but I gave it 9 because I had a call from a friend and she said that she couldn't hear me clearly. Maybe her mobile has the problem.
Internet 10/10 I really love browsing on the big screen, it's so easy for me to read. The page loads up very fast and it has flash too unlike my boring iPhone.
Multimedia 10/10 Finally, I can enjoy watching all types of HD videos without converting and syncing with iTunes. The music is player is great too but I have downloaded an app called PowerAmp and it makes the listening experience superb.
Camera 10/10 The best camera phone I have ever used but I won't use it that much since I have a DSLR.
UI speed 9/10 The UI is fast and smooth except when you pinch zoom-out to display all panes and also when you unlock the lockscreen it's a bit laggy unlike on my HTC Desire S it's very smooth.
Everyday usage 9/10 Not easy for one-handed use but I know I will adjust to it. I only use my laptop now for transferring files to the phone and some other stuff since I browse the web on now on the phone.
Text input 10/10 The keyboard is so easy to type because of it's large screen and there is also an option for one-handed use.
Display 10/10 Amazing 1280x800 resolution and 5.3" HD Super Amoled display make a great watching experience. This is the reason why I bought this phone. The phone is still bright even on it's lowest setting and great outdoor visibility. I don't care if the colors are not natural.
Battery 8/10 I hate charging the phone everyday.

Pros

  • HD Super Amoled display
  • 1.4 Ghz Dual-core processor
  • S Memo
  • 8 MP Camera and Full HD Video
  • 2500 mAh battery

Cons

  • Flimsy back cover
  • No MHL adaptor in the box for HD TV connection

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

arash64a
posted on 23 Mar 2012, 14:58 (Posts: 0; Member since: 23 Mar 2012)

10

One week experience with Galaxy Note...

arash64a has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Before this phone i had: Xperia X10, Galaxy S, Galaxy Tab, Desire HD, Nexus S, Galaxy S II, iPhone 4 and after these phone i buy Galaxy Note.
Now i can say:
If you want to have: SMAAAAAAAART PHONE : buy Galaxy Note
If you want to have: SMART PHOOOOOOONE : go to another phone...
Good luck ;-)

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

DonShock
posted on 20 Mar 2012, 10:16 (Posts: 7; Member since: 06 Jan 2012)

9

Had little need for a cell phone until this Phablet came along

DonShock has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The first cell phone I've regularly carried. I don't make calls enough to justify a cell phone bill of any real size, but being able to slip a tablet in my pocket made it a different story. Love the screen size and readability. Most web pages easily navigated even in portrait mode without pinch-zoom and needing to pan around the screen. Reading longer articles a bit small in portrait but easy in landscape. Still learning the ropes so not fully utilizing all the functions, expecially the stylus. Most stylus use so far is for precision taps, etc. instead of using a finger. Not sure I'll ever be enough of an artist to really make use of pressure sensitivity. Many of the use quirks that I notice seem to be addressed in ICS, can't wait for it! Width of phone seemed a bit large initially but quickly became normal.

Build quality 8/10 Aluminum over plasic would increase durability, but possible too heavy.
Reception 9/10 Bars sometimes low, but never seems to have an effect on use.
Call quality 10/10 Better than the landline I dumped. Several people on other end of call have mentioned surprising clarity.
Internet 8/10 Stock browser not the best, but speed and connectivity never an issue. Screen size a big plus for browsing.
Multimedia 9/10 Just a hair more speaker volume would have made this a 10
Camera 9/10 Good quality in most cases, could use a bit more light from the flash. Panorama mode a blast!
UI speed 10/10 Never a lag that I've noticed.
Everyday usage 8/10 Size is appreciated when you need it, but can be a bit of a challenge for EDC.
Text input 9/10 Only drawback is lack of customization for autocorrect.
Display 10/10 Big and bright. Most times I keep brightness at minimum and never even notice.
Battery 9/10 Pretty good, most times I get nearly 2 days of use. Wish for a bit more when using battery suckers like GPS. Coming from a feature phone it seems short, but in comparison to other smart phones it's great.

Pros

  • Serious screen real estate
  • Very clear call quality
  • Compact tablet w/o sacrificing usability
  • Speedy

Cons

  • No POP3 support in stock email app
  • Case selection limited due to size
  • Speaker a bit weak to overcome background noise
  • Single hand use is limited

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

TheLibertine
posted on 20 Mar 2012, 09:01 (Posts: 484; Member since: 15 Jan 2012)

9

First experience

TheLibertine has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

No, the user experience is not perfect. But it is great. This is Android. My first smartphone, my first touch device ever. And now i have it, i cant take screens less than four inches serious anymore. This size is my favourite. You get used to it and keep noticing the advantages every day. For more details, see the ratings.

Build quality 8/10 Material choice is good, the plastic feels and looks great and it has metallic edges. But the build quality could be a bit better - if you try hard, you can hear it cracking a bit.
Reception 10/10 Not much thoughts about it.
Call quality 8/10 My 2004 Samsung phone did this better. No fantastic results here. It is a phone and you can call someone with it.
Internet 10/10 Using Wi-Fi, it is blazing fast (even compared to Intel i7-notebooks) and the experience is close enough as good as with an 7-inch tablet.
Multimedia 9/10 Gorgeous display, multitasking and good sound. But the Music/Reader hub is not supported in some countries, as mine
Camera 10/10 Forget about that 235902ß0 megapixels-crap on smartphones. The camera makes amazing pictures that you can print on A4 and it will still look great.
UI speed 8/10 Needs more Ice Cream Sandwich... You can feel that Gingerbread is getting old. I would prefer iOS, if you ask me. But not on that tiny heavy iPhone.
Everyday usage 10/10 Of course i use it every day. With a smartphone in your hand, you should never get bored.
Text input 9/10 It is comfortable to type, but still does not compare to hardware keyboards.
Display 10/10 Nuff said.
Battery 8/10 Nothing fantastic here, if you ask me. It is the freaking amount of crapware apps you usually install, that drains your battery life connecting to the mobile network every five secs. If you shut down mobile networks, the battery life is great, trough.

Pros

  • 1.5 GHz dual-core. Despite the relative slow UI, you can feel its raw power.
  • Amazing screen with high ppi, resolution, brightness, colors and viewing angles. Simply superior to all you saw on other mobile devices.
  • The design. Not stunning or something, but still nice to look at it.
  • Very light and slim, you dont feel its weight much.
  • Samsung Apps and Hubs, Samsung brand as main Apple opponent.
  • S pen. Sometimes it is nice to use. But not more.

Cons

  • Touchwiz. It does suck, believe it.
  • Android 2.3. Not that bad, but i would say Android is the main problem of Android phones. Just not perfect yet.

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

0o0blackstar0o0
posted on 04 Mar 2012, 00:58 (Posts: 86; Member since: 26 Oct 2011)

10

Best Smartphone iv used and iv tired many others.

0o0blackstar0o0 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Best smartphone iv used swift and quick flicking and swiping through messages to phone book to using apps on screen even with loads of widgets running on windows

Oh and that screen is amazing

Hope ICS is out soon :)

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Deicide
posted on 11 Feb 2012, 21:18 (Posts: 43; Member since: 02 Jul 2011)

10

Best Phone You Can Get!

Deicide has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This phone is one of the best phones ever. so much that I have to review it. I am a tech junkie and that means I love to collect phones and resell them. I have owned in the past: Nokia 6290, KIRF iPhone 4(lol), Samsung Galaxy S II GT-i9100, LG Thrill 4G, Samsung Focus i917, HTC Sensation 4G, Sony Tablet S 32GB. None of these can compare to the mere presence of the Galaxy Note.

Build Quality 10/10: Has a very sturdy feel to it, choice of materials is your opinion. It is made out of plastic, but not anything cheap. I prefer the plastic b/c if Samsung had opted to choose a type of metal e.g. aluminum it would feel very heavy and uncomfortable in hand.

Call Quality 9/10: Produces some very nice tones and clear vocals. The volume could be have higher volume output, but nothing that would make me hate it.

Multimedia 10/10: Witht he Super AMOLED HD screen makes viewing pictures and videos a plus. Even encoded in 1080p videos are smooth and jitters, I don't know why somepeople do this b/c the resolution on the Note is 1280x800 not 1920x1080. Gaming is very smooth thanks to the Mali 400GPU.

UI Speed 9/10: Smooth for the most part, but sometimes when switched on to a live wallpaper, it sometimes jitters a bit. Also, when getting an overview of all your items the transition is not real smooth. But everything else like scrolling and launching apps is smooth.

Text Input 9/10: The keyboard is standard, nothing great about it. It is a delightful to type with two hands in landscape or potrait,...  

Build quality 10/10 Has a very sturdy feel to it, choice of materials is your opinion. It is made out of plastic, but not anything cheap. I prefer the plastic b/c if Samsung had opted to choose a type of metal e.g. aluminum it would feel very heavy and uncomfortable in hand.
Reception 10/10 Great Reception!
Call quality 9/10 Produces some very nice tones and clear vocals. The volume could be have higher volume output, but nothing that would make me hate it.
Internet 10/10 Very fast and of course like any Android out there supports flash. Very smooth and text is easy to read b/c of the WXGA resolution. No lag at all.
Multimedia 10/10 With the Super AMOLED HD screen makes viewing pictures and videos a plus. Even encoded in 1080p videos are smooth and jitters, I don't know why somepeople do this b/c the resolution on the Note is 1280x800 not 1920x1080. Gaming is very smooth thanks to the Mali 400GPU.
Camera 10/10 This is a mobile phone is by far one of the best camera out there on a mobile handset. Pictures are crisp and colorful, no graininess well I haven't taken night pictures yet, only in daytime. Video capturing is a very awesome experience too with a smooth framerate in 1080p.
UI speed 9/10 Smooth for the most part, but sometimes when switched on to a live wallpaper, it sometimes jitters a bit. Also, when getting an overview of all your items the transition is not real smooth. But everything else like scrolling and launching apps is smooth.
Everyday usage 10/10 Use it everyday.
Text input 10/10 The keyboard is standard, nothing great about it. It is a delightful to type with two hands in landscape or potrait, but not with one hand unless you have insanely large fingers lol. I think they could have made better use if they put a number row on top since of the large real estate you get.
Display 10/10 One of the main reasons to get it of not the main reason. The Super AMOLED HD has a resolution of 1280x800 not 1280x720 like the Galaxy Nexus or Optimus LTE(ATT Nitro HD). 5.3in. makes browsing the internet and reading eBooks a pleasure.
Battery 9/10 I'm a big battery user and I get 5-6hrs. on it, if you're light user it'll probably last you a day or more. You get a 2500mah battery which is half the amount used in 10.1in. tablets.

Pros

  • 5.3 in. Super AMOLED HD
  • 1.4Ghz Dual-Core Exynos 4210 Processor
  • S-Pen
  • Internet

Cons

  • UI
  • Black Splotches

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

joseph98
posted on 03 Feb 2012, 23:45 (Posts: 167; Member since: 03 Feb 2012)

10

Will not trade it for any other phone

joseph98 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The best smart phone I have ever used . Very fast respond. Light weight. Well build. Amazing large screen. More than what I expected. Since I bought it I hardly use my laptop. They where right when they called it phablet. ( Phone & Tablet). Can browse any website in computer desktop mode including youtube website. This phone amazed me. Had it since Jan. 8 and loving it so far. I only wish the battery is more powerfull. Sure if samsung sell a 3000mAh battery I will replace my 2500mAh original battery.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10 Can browse any website in computer desktop mode. Large screen. You have it all in this device. Flash player no problem this phone can handle it easily. Some website using java runs into problem ...Example error message ( Dooknet requires a java web browser to run) but still I can browse the website.
Multimedia 10/10 Video playback on this large screen is one of the main reason why I bought it and works above my expectation. Can play a 1080 video with no problem ever.
Camera 10/10 Had a phone ( not sure if I can name other brand) with 12MP cam but this samsung with 8MP can do a better video than the 12MP. Not to forget it shoot a 1080 video and I was amazed with the video quality. To me if the cam is not good then I will say bye to the phone and this samsung is staying with me because it has what I want.
UI speed 10/10 I don't play games but I can say since it can play a 1080 video then it must have a fast UI.
Everyday usage 10/10 I forget sometimes that I have a laptop. It almost replaced my laptop and I hardly use my computer since I bought the phone.
Text input 10/10 The screen is so large so samsung need to update the phone so numeric number is included in the keyboard instead of clicking on the Shift to bring the numbers while typing. The alphabetic and numeric can fit in this monster screen.
Display 10/10 This is the main reason why I bought it the large Amoled 5.3 inch screen.
Battery 9/10 I wish the battery was a 3000mAh or more. The 2500mAh original battery works fine but I wish they made a larger one because I use this phone heavy on WLAN and battery last like for 7 hours max. Still this phone rocks compare to my previous phone that has a 4 inch screen and lasted for only 4 hours.

Pros

  • Large screen 5.3 inch good for watching video and web browsing
  • Light weight
  • Great camera
  • S memo ( stylus) works well

Cons

  • Battery wish it was a 3000mAh
  • Keyboard must click on shift to bring numeric numbers
  • Wish it has an FM transmiter
  • Package lack to include the cable to connect to HDMI TV

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

OHaZZaR
posted on 02 Jan 2012, 09:15 (Posts: 131; Member since: 19 Aug 2011)

10

The PERFECT PHONE

OHaZZaR has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The perfect smartphone, has everything and is short on nothing. If you've been on IOS you might be disappointed but give it some time and android will be your new favorite. The hardware components of the Samsung Galaxy Note perfectly complements the software that comes with it and the display, which is probably the best thing about this device, is phenomenal. You guys can check out my ratings and why I gave this device such ratings. Keep in mind that some could easily be 10 once it gets Ice Cream Sandwich.

Build quality 10/10 It feels very comfortable holding it in 2 hands, the gorilla glass will offer extra protection for your screen, and it's back-plate, well let's just say it won't shatter like my iPhones did twice before buying this beauty.
Reception 10/10 No complaints.
Call quality 10/10 No complaints.
Internet 9/10 Tends to be choppy at times, but it's spectacular screen more than makes up for that, I must note however that I do prefer safari on the iPhone.
Multimedia 10/10 I loved the video player and the media player on this device, it even replaced my iPhone in that respect.
Camera 9/10 By no means a bad camera, it takes good stills and great 720p videos, I didn't like 1080p on it. It can replace your average point-and-shoots but not a bridge cam and certainly not a DSLR.
UI speed 8/10 I'm a little disappointed with this one. I bought a dual core 1.4GHz powerhouse, and there are some instances when switching screens would happen at around 10-15fps (estimate) as opposed to an iPhone 4 (which is supposedly slower) that is smooth in just about everything. However this phone is lightning fast when it comes to games and apps, so I do believe it's because of Gingerbread, so in that case when it gets it's Ice Cream Sandwich upgrade, it'll run faster than a Ferrari.
Everyday usage 10/10 I've been using the Note at least 7 hours a day for the past 2 days, need I say more.
Text input 9/10 Hand writing recognition is not flawless, speech recognition is not exactly as powerful as Siri and the keyboard's too big, but there's 3 input methods, so variety and choice makes up for that.
Display 10/10 Spectacular 1280x800 resolution makes looking at the display a joy. A high resolution coupled with a Super AMOLED display make colors look more appealing than ever, infact I'm watching all my movies on the note.
Battery 8/10 I LOVED the battery life on this beast, it'll last a full day for heavy users on just one charge. It's not as powerful as the iPad's battery however and given it's near tablet size, this could've been the smartphone with the first tablet performance battery

Pros

  • The best display on any phone...Ever
  • Great battery life
  • Really fast most of the time

Cons

  • Can get unacceptably sluggish
  • Battery life can be better

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

rawdeal
posted on 29 Nov 2011, 04:06 (Posts: 21; Member since: 22 Nov 2011)

9

samsung galaxy note

rawdeal has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

this is a mammoth taphone....u get some tab experiences as well as a smartphone functionality...its truly a macho product,,,girls stay ur hand off from this...
will love it when u use it...with a note in hand will grab peoples attention....even though it comes with its on impracticality, u will definitely love the Spen xperince...Spen is the real rock-star,,,its a bit unresponsive but once u get a hold of its functionality u will love it

Build quality 10/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • screen is humongous so its details
  • Spen functionality
  • build quality
  • fast n responsive coz of 1.4 GHz dual-core Cortex-A9 CPU
  • 2500 mAh battery
  • 9.7 mm slim and reasonably light weight

Cons

  • Won’t fit comfortably in every pocket
  • low loud speaker volume
  • OS sometimes goes lull

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

allergy1
posted on 29 Nov 2011, 01:17 (Posts: 8; Member since: 29 Jul 2011)

9

My tablet

allergy1 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The one and only powerful Galaxies Ever! Cant Insert into my pocket. slight biggy but not bulky. http://computersight.com/software/samsung-galaxy-note-n7000-a-real-notebook/





Great phone to use!

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • HD Display
  • Awesome performance with the ARM Processor
  • A real Tablet
  • S pen

Cons

  • Big enough for my pocket
  • Still Android have Bugs

20 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories