x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung GALAXY Nexus User Reviews

8.9 Based on 34 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Build quality8.9/10
Text input9.5/10
Everyday usage8.9/10
UI speed9.3/10
Camera8/10
Multimedia9.3/10
Internet9.5/10
Call quality9/10
Battery7.6/10
Reception9/10
Display9.6/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

starchild
posted on 28 Jan 2014, 20:00 (Posts: 0; Member since: 28 Jan 2014)

2

horrible

starchild has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

worst phone I ever had within the first two months of owning the phone would get extremely hot while trying to talk on it enough you would have to remove it from your ear that is if it didn't shut off on you right away and restart on you and then take forever to restart and not even get all the way on and restart again 3 or four times in a row and if it did stay on try to open an app without It taking almost 30 seconds to open then shut off and restart before you could use the app put this way I had the worst experience for my first smart phone with this phone the list of problems I had are endless it wasn't just mine my daughter had same phone same phone same problems for almost a full year turned them in on warranty got something better worst phone iver in my opinion

Build quality 8/10 good design
Reception 8/10 liked look of screen
Call quality 4/10 good quality while talking listening shut off all the time
Internet 9/10 fine
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • looks good
  • good for texting
  • internet seem ok

Cons

  • would get etremely hot
  • kept shutting down on own and restarting
  • had to take battery out to reset all the time still had issues
  • did factory reset didnt solve anything
  • apps open extremly slow
  • list goes on and on

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

alekos21
posted on 22 Nov 2013, 05:28 (Posts: 2; Member since: 05 Nov 2013)

9

galaxy nexus love

alekos21 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

best phone ever had best display best perfomance fast ui good call quality stock android with no garbage to slow down the system battery is a problem everyday charging camera is good but it could be better

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 6/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

taha1994
posted on 27 Jul 2013, 15:30 (Posts: 0; Member since: 27 Jul 2013)

10

Superb Phone and excellent phone !

taha1994 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

i have had this phone for not more than a month now , the phone that i have bought is original made in korea and not in china and since considering samsung is from korea ... i think it is a very good phone .... everything is excellent and in order except for the battery which lasts for a day at the most .... other than that superb phone

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • excellent phone ( by design )
  • fast internet
  • Very fast UI considering the processor
  • very good camera
  • gets updates instantly ( when released by google )
  • text input is easy
  • very good for everyday usage

Cons

  • Battery is a problem

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ashishbhagta
posted on 26 Jul 2013, 06:34 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 May 2013)

10

nexus on fire

ashishbhagta has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

it is a good phone its camera is 5 mp but it click images as 8 mp means it lacks somewhat but not that much as we think Really Nice Phone .... nice diaplay ... good performance ..... Happy to have it. value for money

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Yahia.1999
posted on 01 Jun 2013, 05:01 (Posts: 1; Member since: 01 Jun 2013)

10

Excellent

Yahia.1999 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone is really good ,, i had it for 5 months ,, and its still in an excellent condition .. Android is the best ,, it's fast and its screen is very good ,, 720p 4.7 inch screen ..fantastic phone,, the only bad thing is the battery ..

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • HD Amoled Screen
  • 1.2 Ghz Dual core CPU & 1GB RAM
  • Quality
  • Fast Updates from Google
  • Apps & Games

Cons

  • Battery

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

imkyle
posted on 25 Jan 2013, 20:58 (Posts: 1017; Member since: 18 Nov 2010)

9

Exceptional

imkyle has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I got this phone directly from the Playstore for $349. It was the first phone to get the 4.1.1 Jellybean update which is the main reason I got it. The device got 4.2 1 day after it was announced and remember this phone is over a year old. Sure the 5mp camera is good and not the best, but as long as the picture is clear I do not care is it is 5mp and not 8+. The screen colors are deep and rich and I love it. This will last me till the end of 2013. Great job Sammy and Google for getting together and creating this phone.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

lonestrider
posted on 21 Jan 2013, 23:09 (Posts: 85; Member since: 31 Mar 2012)

8

Amazing Android experience. Beautiful phone.

lonestrider has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Just have this phone for a few months. Have a problems with the build quality. Drops the phone once to the floor from a table, and now the speakers works very bad. Sometimes have a very bad noise. But sometimes it's good.
The speed is what I love. Software support from both developers all around the world and Android is amazing. Custom ROMs make this phone more beautiful and powerful.
The weakside of this phone is only the build quality and battery life.

Build quality 6/10 All plastic design. Not a strong plastic.
Reception 9/10 Nothing bad in this side.
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 8/10
Battery 6/10 It's hard to get a straight 20 hours without charging.

Pros

  • Design is cool
  • Nexus, of course, full software support.
  • Custom ROM make this phone even more amazing.

Cons

  • Camera only 5 MP
  • non-expandable storage
  • Not the best build quality Samsung (or Google) could make.

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

hassamrehmat
posted on 19 Jan 2013, 12:07 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Jan 2013)

8

Samsung Galaxy Nexus

hassamrehmat has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

When it comes to cellphones, no doubt Samsung is ahead of most of its rivals. However we could expect galaxy nexus to be a little bit better. The overall build quality is fine. Holding this mobile in your hand gives you a unique distinction as it is tagged by Google itself on the back side. The power buttons and volume rocker is easily accessible as these buttons are thick in size but some users might consider it a bit buggy or getting in the way while holding the cellphone. It however lacks physical button for home screen and neither it has any touch sensitive buttons. Having the home screen and back option inside the display helps the cellphone to have a compact display size without sacrificing the huge display for watching movies or playing games. The display itself isn't very crisp or bright. One of the first cellphone having 720p display, we expected it to have a wonderful screen but it disappointed us there. The camera is also a bit disappointing. With all the upcoming phones having an 8MP camera, it would have been better if the nexus was also equipped with an 8MP camera. Battery life isn’t too good but it gets you through the day. The internal speaker is pretty good and its in-call sound quality is very clear but the sound of the external speaker isn’t very loud. In fact, if you forgot your cellphone in your room, you wouldn’t be able to hear it ringing even if your sitting in the very next room. The flash light is also a very good addition which might be useful for taking...  

Build quality 8/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 7/10
Display 7/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Instant android updates
  • Fast processor

Cons

hassamrehmat alternatives:

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

MOH-INT-75
posted on 06 Jan 2013, 08:56 (Posts: 0; Member since: 06 Jan 2013)

10

good phone

MOH-INT-75 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

the best phone that i ever had i got it 10 months ago and it still looks new the camera is not that good but its fine its so fast and smooth and with an hd display its one of the best phones out there

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

kusalanupama
posted on 15 Dec 2012, 07:51 (Posts: 8; Member since: 15 Dec 2012)

9

Awesome phone

kusalanupama has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

overall very good phone, has a very good feel to the hands because its very slim and light weight although its a big phone, and i really like the place where the lock button is placed. call quality is in good standard, no problem at all. but the reception is a bit lower than my iPhone 4s. though the camera is 5MP it produces good photos, but not very good once. Internet browsing is very smooth and fast, didn’t face any problems in that. One thing really makes this device an awesome one is the UI speed, I updated it into JB and it is buttery smooth, I didn’t face any lags, it’s really a pleasure to use. And the display is stunning. Only problem is the battery, making calls and texting from time to time is totally okay but when it comes to internet stuff the battery drains very quickly.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Display
  • Build Quality
  • User Interface

Cons

  • Camera
  • No Expandable storage

kusalanupama alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

YousefGH95
posted on 03 Dec 2012, 11:06 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Dec 2012)

9

Outstanding

YousefGH95 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

It is agreat phone and it is still in the competition even after 1 year of its release date :D Has some disadvantages but it is still a great phone, and one of its most important advantages is that it gets the updates directly and quickly from Google ;)

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • no physical buttons

Cons

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

COLAPSEDLUNGMAN
posted on 30 Oct 2012, 10:17 (Posts: 16; Member since: 30 Oct 2012)

10

Love It

COLAPSEDLUNGMAN has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Love this phone. Was going to trade it in for the Nexus 4 but since that now won't be CDMA/LTE banded I have no reason to give it up. After using this phone I became a "Google Vegan" and will only every buy Nexus devices from here on out. You just can't go back.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Display
  • Jelly Bean
  • LTE

Cons

  • 5 MP

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

legendary110
posted on 29 Oct 2012, 02:07 (Posts: 0; Member since: 29 Oct 2012)

10

Galaxy nexus is GREAT!!!

legendary110 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

i had this phone unlocked and its Really good with the display of super amoled. I run this device on jellybean and its soo good. If you are looking for a phone like the s3 but cheaper this is a GREAT phone you can get one unlocked for around $350 this phone is such a beast!!!! you dont know what your missing out on!!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10 The Super AMOLED display rocks in this with the massive 4.65 inch display
Camera 9/10 Super fast at taking photos and can do almost everything the s3 can do!!
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 8/10 The battery is not that strong so you will not get through the day using the standerd battery thats included
Text input 10/10 Great keyboard!! nice layout.
Display 10/10 THis is the BEST SUPER AMOLED DISPLAY as good as the s3 its so great
Battery 8/10 Not a strong battery needs a stronger one but its pretty good overall

Pros

  • Super Amoled
  • Fast at taking photos
  • nice 4.65 inch display
  • fast internet browing

Cons

  • not strong battery

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

missouri_native
posted on 30 Sep 2012, 01:09 (Posts: 0; Member since: 30 Sep 2012)

9

Samsung Galaxy Nexus (CDMA/LTE)

missouri_native has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Probably the best Android phone prior to the SGSII line of early 2012, but simply the best pure Android experience to date. For those who like the integrated Google experience, no carrier skin, optionally-modifiable s/w (unlock/root) and choice of carriers (US), this one was a no-brainer. Quite satisfied overall, esp. with the continued (albeit delayed) Android 4.x releases.

Build quality 9/10 Solid construction, even with plastic back plate (which minimizes weight). I added an aftermarket rubberized case, which actually improves grip and reduces likelihood of breakage.
Reception 8/10 Has improved over time, esp. with 4.1.1 release increasing both coverage and stability of both CDMA and LTE signals
Call quality 8/10 Again, improved over time - even though VZW (US) consistently denied there was a problem
Internet 10/10 Exceptionally fast on LTE, faster even than cable at home
Multimedia 9/10 Speaker is tinny and inadequately loud, but the screen is among the best of it's kind, esp. for a year ago
Camera 7/10 Second biggest drawback, even though the s/w patches in 4.1.1 have increased its functionality and quality
UI speed 10/10 Blazingly fast and smooth, esp. 4.1.1
Everyday usage 9/10 All in all, a considerably better phone than I expected, esp. due to 4.1.1 and increased App selection via Google Play. I could see owning this phone (albeit w/ spare battery) for another two years
Text input 10/10 Swype and the numerous other free alternate keyboards - stunningly accurate, fast and readily available
Display 10/10 Exceptional
Battery 6/10 Experienced the same as others complaints, even after 4.1.1 tweaks and assuming LTE is still improving. Rarely can I get through a full day (10+ hrs) with average/moderate use (no gaming, but average screen brightness for reading and surfing)

Pros

  • LTE speed, screen, pure Google and seamless integration

Cons

  • Battery and camera

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Distal
posted on 18 Sep 2012, 07:52 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Sep 2012)

9

Best

Distal has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Its a great phone, i believe that i will not change it in a very long time. best thing in it is the display and the large screen. Only disadvantage is the unchangeable memory and the camera. dont think there is alternative for it

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ZEUS.the.thunder.god
posted on 25 Aug 2012, 11:45

10

AWESOME

ZEUS.the.thunder.god has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

hell yeah its magical runing AOKP jellybean 4.1.1. its fast like hell. very good build quality (better than glass & metal), amazing display, wonderful UI. Jellybean is the OS you `ve been waiting for. Its truly amazing.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • EVERYTHING

Cons

  • NONE

ZEUS.the.thunder.god alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

yajia1
posted on 23 Aug 2012, 21:16 (Posts: 112; Member since: 22 Aug 2012)

9

International Version

yajia1 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Everything seems to work great. Love the vanilla launcher of google itself. Love it even more than ever now that it has Jelly Bean. The only problem is that the battery seems to drain fast and it has some application hiccups. Even navigating from home screen to home screen occasionally lags but overall experience is great. Must have if you're an Android fan.

Build quality 7/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 8/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • Stock OS of android

Cons

  • Battery is so~so

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

giuliozanetti
posted on 05 Aug 2012, 15:19 (Posts: 0; Member since: 05 Aug 2012)

10

que esperan para comprar esta maravilla de celular

giuliozanetti has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

muy bueno es el mejor telefono que he tenido , no me quejo en nada y el mejor android es este telefono con su jelly bean 4.1.1 , se los recomiendo a todos mis amigos, este es mejor que el galaxy s3 , de verdad tuve los dos y preferi quedarme con este nexus por su interfaz pura de google mejor que la interfaz del galaxy s3 con su feo touch wiz. sin mas que decir , comprenlo ya

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • todo es bueno

Cons

  • nada es malo

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

tuneslover
posted on 01 Jul 2012, 23:09 (Posts: 11; Member since: 15 Jun 2012)

9

Very Good

tuneslover has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This is the best Android phone ever made. All original Android experience. No bulkware or unnecessary visual effect. And Android's UI is kinda laddy usually but this ones not......totally loving it. Can't wait for Jelly Bean update.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

toaster
posted on 24 May 2012, 19:06 (Posts: 114; Member since: 13 Sep 2011)

8

A good choice for the Android purists only.

toaster has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I had this phone for 5 months. I loved it, but it was a disappointment in some ways as well.

First off, let me go on record by saying that I love the concept of Android - the entire OS is within your hands to do with as you please. I don't like a company that doesn't know me and my needs personally deciding what I do and don't need in a phone.

That being said, my main gripe (and something that I failed to read up on) was the fact that since I got it from my carrier, my phone was designated yakjuux and not yakju. (Google "galaxy nexus yakju" if you want to see why that's significant.) In a nutshell, this means that updates came from Samsung, rather than Google. In turn, this meant that I was still on 4.0.1 until very recently, when I was updated to 4.0.3. By this time, 4.0.5 builds were circulating around, so I decided to just root. But isn't that the main selling point of a Nexus device - updates as they happen straight from Google, without having to wait for the OEMs to push it out when they felt like it? I felt a bit duped after learning this and it definitely soured my experience with the phone.

But, that has nothing to do with the actual experience while using the phone, as these updates had little effect on the actual usage of the phone. Overall, I would rate it an 8, for reasons I list below. I replaced it with a One XL and would recommend it over the Nexus.

One final note: Whoever does the QC for the GN needs to be fired. They are VERY hit and miss. Look out for yellow/purple...  

Build quality 7/10 My main qualm about the phone before getting it was that it would be far too big to use comfortably. I found this to be the opposite. Like its predecessor, it fit perfectly in the hand. The curves, while not as aesthetically pleasing as the angular looks of the international S II, is definitely more ergonomic and makes the phone feel smaller than it actually is. However, the Nexus is typical Samsung plastic. I don't usually have an issue with plastic builds, but my phone started creaking a bit a
Reception 7/10 The GN has been famously plagued with connectivity issues. Mine didn't have these issues, but I found that my phone would annoyingly lose signal randomly (for 15-20 seconds every couple of hours or so). This happened with any ROM, kernel or baseband that I used, so it was definitely a hardware issue. When it worked, however, it was pretty damn good, although signal through buildings left a bit to be desired. My One XL definitely betters it in this aspect.
Call quality 8/10 No real complaints here. Crystal clear on both ends. The volume could have done with being a bit higher, but that's nitpicking. The speakerphone is pitiful, though.
Internet 10/10 Pretty amazing in this aspect, actually. No matter what browser is used, everything loads in a flash, and there is almost no lag to be found.
Multimedia 9/10 The screen is great for watching movies and playing games on. 16GB is more than enough for my (limited) music collection, although an option to expand would have been nice.
Camera 7/10 Great up close and in perfect daylight. Mediocre everywhere else. I found that my shutter was not so instant, instead taking 2-3 seconds to focus and shoot. Hmm. Blowing up images on a computer monitor really shows the issues in the Nexus' optics.
UI speed 8/10 The Nexus comes with stock ICS. This has many upsides, especially since ICS is the most beautiful and functional version of Android yet. It also runs smoothly under light loads. Under heavy loads when doing a lot of multitasking, however, it would slow right down.
Everyday usage 8/10 The Nexus fit my needs fairly well in everyday tasks. There are no glaring omissions or oversights that I could find. However, occasionally my day would be cut a bit short due to it dying midway through the day! It also is not the best device for gaming, because framerates would take a nasty hit on any games more intensive than Temple Run. I think that the Nexus could have done with more relevant internals.
Text input 9/10 OEM keyboard - great. Any sort of 3rd party keyboard - not so much. It tended to fall behind my typing even if I slowed down. However, this was easily remedied by just using the stock ICS keyboard.
Display 8/10 I am a screen aficionado, the type of person who thinks that even the 4S's screen is not quite to my standards. This was about comparable to the 4S. It was nice, contrast-y and stunning in the right light. I could barely distinguish PenTile unless I was looking at the screen from less than 2 inches away. But it wasn't bright enough. I always had to crank the brightness to see in any sort of daylight. At low brightness levels, grays took on a purple tinge. Also, at higher brightness levels, white
Battery 6/10 This is where this phone sort of fell flat. Although it was nowhere near the level of the VZW version and its ridiculous battery drain, it didn't idle particularly well and got 3 hours of screen time per charge on a pinch. With any sort of gaming or music playing it dropped to 1.5-2 hours.

Pros

  • Stock ICS is a huge selling point
  • Nice display with high contrast ratio and vibrant colours
  • Good call quality
  • Great internet experience
  • Awesome for movies
  • Speedy in menial tasks
  • Good day-to-day phone

Cons

  • Battery life is below par
  • Struggles with heavy games
  • Display has grainy whites/grays and is not quite bright enough
  • Camera falls flat compared to other high-ends
  • Random network disconnects (hardware issue)
  • Build quality does not exude high end
  • Awful speaker
  • Non-yakju phones don't get timely updates

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Hildy
posted on 21 May 2012, 21:50 (Posts: 33; Member since: 23 Nov 2011)

10

Best on the Market

Hildy has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

It's not the biggest but it's big enough and any bigger would be approaching too big. It's not the fastest but it's fast enough that I don't notice any lag. It doesn't have the most memory but it's plenty for my usage. Having said what it iisn't let me say what it is.

It's pure. Pure Android. No Wiz or Sense or anything else that Google didn't bake into the OS. No bloatware that I didn't install. And, as a result, no delays in getting patches.

Two problems. First, the battery could/should be better. I wish the little chin it has at the bottom extended futher up allowing for a bigger battery. Second, Samsung USA still doesn't recognize the Google Galaxy Nexus at their support site. Hopefully, this will be corrected soon.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

rocke86
posted on 16 Jul 2012, 07:45 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 May 2012)

9

Good phone with a great screen and UI

rocke86 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I got this phone shortly after Google started selling it for $400. I am glad to report that it is well worth the price. The greatest part of the phone is its hd screen, it is very bright and high resolution, webpages are readable in full desktop size without zooming in with both landscape and even if you look close portrait. The new ICS android UI is very thought out , well taking a while to get used to I see why they made the changes everything is much easier to use and smooth. The downsides are not really that bad it has a plastic feel, battery could be better, camera is good but not great, and has no microsd slot. One thing to point out is that some apps are not yet optimized for ICS and such a large screen but this will change in the future. I have a feeling this will be a very popular phone and have many updates and likely at least on major android update. There are better phones out there but for a unlocked phone $400 blows anything else out the window.

Edit: Just got Jelly Bean and am very impressed. Phone is a lot faster and camera app is a lot easier to use, I can access the last taken image instantly from the camera app. Google Now is a great addition, even in its infancy it really shows promise can't wait to see it improve over the years.

Build quality 8/10 The curved screen is very well done and feels nice. However the rest of the phone is plastic and while I am sure it is sturdy it doesn't have that premium glass or metal feel high end phones can have.
Reception 10/10 Solid signal
Call quality 9/10 Great clarity over both t-mobile's network and voip. Could use a little more volume in loud areas.
Internet 10/10 This phone was really designed with internet in mind! The hd screen gives you a display with the same resolution as a laptop. In landscape mode full desktop pages are easily readable. The stock browser is very smooth and had little problems with scripts and plugins as some phones can, flash works great. Won't replace a computer due to its smaller size and no physical keyboard or mouse but is very close!
Multimedia 8/10 Really great playback of music and video. Even without cell service this could sell to be used as a media player, its main draw being the 720p screen for video playback. Drawbacks are speaker is not very loud and sound is easily blocked by your hand if you cover it. Lacking a sd card also makes it less ideal, but 13 free gigabytes and streaming video should be plenty for most.
Camera 8/10 Camera will likely meet your needs for sharing photos and videos online, very fast loading camera apps and takes pictures very fast in a row including taking pictures while a video is recording. Colors a a bit off and frame rates a bit jerky with the camera, if you are needing a quality camera on your phone you may want to look elsewhere. Edit: Camera app in jelly bean is very good, easy to get to last image by swiping the camera view to the left and delete and share are just a few taps away from there. After extended use I find the camera to be very useful and does well in lowlight settings.
UI speed 10/10 Haven't noticed any slowdown. Very smooth and settings are very easy to access when you get used to it.
Everyday usage 9/10 Almost gave this a perfect battery and camera drag this rating a bit. You will still want to have chargers handy for longer days and also a camera if you what to capture better photos. Web browser, Gaming, and Gmail work great!
Text input 9/10 Won't beat a physical keyboard but having a large screen is great for typing in both portrait and landscape. Voice recognition is also improved from older android versions. Edit: Jelly Bean has near perfect voice recognition that is done quickly on the phone rather than waiting on a server. The accuracy is the best I've ever used only missing difficult or rarely used words. Keyboard also is more usable. The recommendations are really helpful especially for longer words.
Display 10/10 If you have a chance to see this phone in action open the web browser and go to a content heavy website(if the mobile version come up click the settings button in the upper right and press force desktop site). You will notice that even in portrait mode without any zoom the full page is readable with tiny text(but very small). This gives you an idea of how high res the screen is. The screen is also bright, has great color, and has no bad viewing angle. It's readable in sunlight unless you are reflecting the sun into your face.
Battery 7/10 The nice screen takes a toll on the battery. Since it is a oled vs a lcd its important that you understand the difference. With a oled battery draw isn't consistent as with lcds when viewing content, each color of each pixel is a light and draws power independently. So if you are doing something with a dark back ground it will last a lot longer than something with a white background. If you plan on web browsing for hours keep a charger handy.

Pros

  • 720p HD Screen
  • Great web browsing experience
  • Excellent UI, Lag free after Jelly Bean
  • Sunlight viewable

Cons

  • no microsd card slot
  • Low battery with apps that have a lot of white backgrounds

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

chandradithya
posted on 08 May 2012, 08:59 (Posts: 0; Member since: 08 May 2012)

9

Amazing!

chandradithya has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Thin and light, with a gorgeous screen. Ice Cream Sandwich delivers on the promise of a faster, prettier, more usable Android. Completely open for developers.

The sheer speed of the hardware and software, combined with the slickness and beauty of the new stock Android UI makes the device a joy to use.

Best Phone i ever had ! :)

Build quality 9/10 All plastic build is kind of inferior to htc phones
Reception 10/10 Faced no issues with signal loss
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 7/10 Pictures arent as clear and noise free like its competition
UI speed 10/10 Pure Google software completely written looking at the hardware is completely butter smooth better than any customization like TouchWiz or Sense
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 10/10 The stock messaging app is excellent with the new auto correct features
Display 10/10 Dont see the big fuss of the Pentile screen over RGB. Pictures are just crisp and clear.
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • 4.65 inch SAmoled HD screen
  • NFC chip
  • No Bloatware
  • Contour Display
  • Full GPU Acceleration

Cons

  • Camera isn't as good as the competition
  • Not pocket friendly for some

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

davebuck
posted on 23 Apr 2012, 21:05 (Posts: 0; Member since: 23 Apr 2012)

7

Oh Yea it is a phone and the reception stinks

davebuck has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I was waiting 6 months for the Nexus Prime Galaxy Samsung Phone and got it day one it came out. Although I like the bells and whistles, it is after all a PHONE. And NOT A VERY GOOD ONE!! The reception is poor. I have traded in for 4 phones with 2 different sim cards. I tried 3G, 4G LTE. Today, I compared the phone reception to 10 other Verizon phones in my office and everyone had better reception. The final straw. When the person next to me had a 10 yr old motorola flip phone with 4 bars and I had a 3 month old Nexus Galaxy with 1 bar!!
Tomorrow I am getting a Razr Maxx

Build quality 9/10
Reception 5/10 It drops calls and loses signal repeatedly
Call quality 6/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 6/10 w
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • ICS
  • great screen
  • flexibility

Cons

  • reception
  • internet speed
  • battery life

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

alonadler
posted on 12 Apr 2012, 15:07 (Posts: 0; Member since: 12 Apr 2012)

10

best phone i have ever

alonadler has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

i realy love this phone!

I've had this phone for 2 months now and i think it's the best phone in stores now. I've seen the galaxy S2 but the nexus is far forward cause everything looks much better on the screen. The quality of the photos could be better but i dont care much. All big games from the market run perfect without any leak (i tried GTA 3 and Backstab).

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories