x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Focus User Reviews

9.2 Based on 25 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Reception9.1/10
Display9.6/10
Build quality9.3/10
Text input9.5/10
Everyday usage9.2/10
UI speed9.6/10
Camera9.4/10
Multimedia9.4/10
Internet9.1/10
Call quality9.2/10
Battery8.2/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

gameday78
posted on 20 Dec 2012, 11:35 (Posts: 47; Member since: 17 Mar 2012)

8

Nice try...

gameday78 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This was my first windows device and it was a great try but after using apple and Google and blackberry and Wm 6.1 this device left me wanting more! I found that i had many software issues and problems with it resetting and i changed out the phone numerous times till i gave up on it.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 6/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 4/10
Text input 8/10
Display 8/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Windows!
  • nice display
  • fast web browser

Cons

  • Windows!
  • software isues
  • connection issues with my pc?!?

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

mrsebas93
posted on 11 Aug 2012, 14:41 (Posts: 0; Member since: 11 Aug 2012)

7

Not good anymore

mrsebas93 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I got this phone almost two years ago and it was great when I got it but I hate it now. I've bought two replacement batteries because they die very quickly, only about 8 months each. The marketplace still doesn't have that many apps. I'm switching to android.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 6/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 6/10
Display 5/10
Battery 4/10

Pros

  • display
  • zune

Cons

  • apps
  • os
  • WP7 sucks
  • battery life
  • recharge time

mrsebas93 alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

JoanPerez
posted on 25 Jan 2012, 20:03 (Posts: 0; Member since: 25 Jan 2012)

9

ive had better

JoanPerez has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

i got this phone a year ago and i've had to replace it 4 different times for different problems. its a great phone in general but it has too many bugs that need to be worked out. right now the problem is that my battery is charging but its not displaying how much charge i have. this has happened quite a few times but i just called AT&T so they can send me another phone. i'm not going to be getting the focus anymore but i'm willing to try the focus s

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 7/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • the camera
  • speed

Cons

  • too many problems

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

MYTHiKAL
posted on 22 Dec 2011, 17:24 (Posts: 33; Member since: 20 Aug 2011)

10

PRETTY GOOD PHONE.. ONE OF THE BEST..

MYTHiKAL has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This was the first we got on AT&T and since then, we love the new Windows Phone OS.. Just too cool.. Overall, I'm very impressed and even thought we also have Android Phones, we are not getting rid of this baby any time soon..

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Awesome People Hub.. There is no better out there IMO
  • Screen is one of the best at a good size too: 4 inch

Cons

  • Build is a bit light with lots of plastic. But still very solid..

MYTHiKAL alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

CellularNinja
posted on 09 Oct 2011, 14:53 (Posts: 303; Member since: 27 Sep 2011)

10

Awesome Software, Amazing Hardware, what else is there?

CellularNinja has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I've had this phone since it came out, and I love it so much! Couldn't be any happier with it! Microsoft does such a good job with the software and supporting it! Great display that just makes my eyes pop! Buy this phone you'll love the hardware and software!

Build quality 10/10 It may be plastic, but I've dropped it many a time and it's a tough little fellah.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10 The new Internet Explorer 9 browser is so awesome
Multimedia 9/10 Everything is great but wish you could send videos
Camera 9/10 Takes good pictures but less good video.
UI speed 10/10 Very slick and fast
Everyday usage 10/10 :)
Text input 10/10 The spell check is amazing, I think it would be very hard to go back to the iPhone keyboard.
Display 10/10 Super-Amoled is unarguably the best screen technology.
Battery 9/10 Battery isn't too bad, but charges a little slower than I'd like. But I can overlook it.

Pros

  • Windows Phone rocks
  • Display
  • Internet
  • Speed
  • Games
  • Multi-tasking
  • Camera
  • Xbox Live integration
  • Slim
  • Screen Size

Cons

  • No front-facing camera

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

theJSJamboree
posted on 30 Jun 2011, 15:12

8

Previous iPhone user

theJSJamboree has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Had this phone since it came out. Windows Phone 7 has been a slight dissapointment, but hopefully with Mango comes out my issues will be corrected. This phone in particular feels cheep to me, all plastic and scratches up easily (not the screen). Screen is awesome, battery life is pretty good. Have had issues where the power button wont work and I have to wake it up with the camera button.

Build quality 6/10
Reception 5/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • UI is awesome
  • Love the keyboard
  • Zune is better than iTunes

Cons

  • IE7 sucks
  • Quality of materials
  • ATT network

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Travis
posted on 05 May 2011, 15:25

10

Samsung Focus is Great!

Travis has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This phone is the best phone i ever have personally used or had! all thow i recently had a HTC Surround as my 1st ever smart phone and windows 7 device i like this device better. only reason i got this device is because my HTC Surround had a little defect on it and they had no other Surrounds in stock for me to get! but im honestly happy with this Device i have now! its screen resolution is true HD and off the chain and its very fast speed and can do alot of things and play games like amazing on it! The APPS can get better but im sure they will in the future! bUT ALL THIS PHONE IS THE BEST WINDOWS 7 PHONE OUT THERE!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10 you can hear great on the phone!
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10 Battery CAN DRAIN QUICK HONEST!

Pros

  • Internet is fast
  • screen is true HDand crystal clear
  • gaming is great
  • Windows 7 Phone

Cons

  • Battery life
  • not a android
  • APPS on Windows 7 devices can get better

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

beefalo
posted on 20 Apr 2011, 04:13

8

Very impressed

beefalo has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Note that this is my initial impression review, I've only owned the phone for a couple days so far. However, using it as my primary phone I can generally get a good feel for a phone within about 2 days. I'll probably update and add more in a month or two.

Overall I am very impressed by Windows Phone 7 and the Samsung Focus in general. They took a lot of UX design ideas from iOS and WebOS and have come up with a very simple, elegant, useful interface for a phone. The idea is to get what you want done quickly and simply. I initially thought the text as buttons design was just to stand apart from the "me-too" crowd, but now I do see it as something more. It still does serve as a differentiator, but it helps eliminate uneeded clutter from the phone UI.

The phone is very quick and responsive and the UI looks very nice. Email sync is great with my only complaint being that read flag changes are not pushed up immediately. The contact sync works well and looks great too. Overall, I think WP7 is already an iOS competitor. In terms of downsides, apps are obviously limited so far, but that hopefully will be changing(MS has always been know as having the best developer tools and support). Beyond that battery life can't compete with the iPhone 4 but still blows away Android.

Build quality 7/10 Although it feels a bit plasticky, the phone is a great form factor and does feel very sturdy. It also is comfortable to hold, although I do feel the camera button lends itself to accidental pushes. I would have preferred a non-swappable battery and no sd card slot so they could have gotten a larger battery in there similar to the iPhone.
Reception 7/10 Good for ATT, similar to iPhone 4. Obviously can't compete with Verizon.
Call quality 7/10 Good for ATT, but not as good as iPhone 4.
Internet 7/10 Internet Explorer is surprisingly very good, it is just about on par with Safari. The only issue is a bit of lag during scrolling when zoomed in very far. ATT network reception and speeds suck however.
Multimedia 7/10 Honestly, I haven't used the Zune functionality on the device. Videos look great due to the OLED screen and sound quality is pretty good.
Camera 7/10 Good quality, thought a bit blurry. No HDR makes me sad.
UI speed 9/10 Very responsive and quick, amazed for a first generation device. Sometimes apps can take some time to load.
Everyday usage 9/10 Again, very impressed here. Very simple and efficient to use, love the tiles.
Text input 9/10 Very competitive with the iPhone 4, and for some reason seems even more spacious. Furthermore, the autocorrect implementation is very good. Very very impressed here, although SWYPE would be nice.
Display 9/10 Super AMOLED contrast and colors are amazing. Great viewing angles and brightness is good as well. Negatives: Higher PPI on iPhone 4 means less zooming to read things, direct sunlight looks better on IPS LCD
Battery 7/10 Better than most smartphones but not as good as iPhone 4

Pros

  • WP7 OS is actually very very good
  • UX design is simple and elegant
  • Email sync is top notch
  • Contact sync synergy is great
  • Internet Explorer is as good as Safari(much better than Android/Blackberry browsers)
  • Notification system works well(similar to WebOS, but doesn't stack and simply replaces)
  • Display contrast is amazing

Cons

  • Battery life could be better
  • Needs more apps(Shazam, Pandora, etc)
  • Could use a higher PPI display
  • Over the air updates would be nice(suprising since it supports cloud syncing for photos and office)

beefalo alternatives:

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

piou7
posted on 11 Apr 2011, 13:50

10

Best phone ever

piou7 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Win 7 on this phone is amazing, doesn’t even compare to anything else MS has done – why doesn’t MS do this for the PC? Samsung screen is outstanding – I read articles in bright sunlight with sunglasses on no problem. Sometimes I’m amazed just by how fast I navigate the phone and apps, I get right where I want to be and it’s always there! I drop tested it right flat on the screen (totally an accident!!) not a scratch to show for it! Best phone ever, I’m in love with the media features and all the apps I need for business, utility, and fun.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10 AT&T - what can you do?
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

richjime
posted on 18 Mar 2011, 21:15 (Posts: 1; Member since: 18 Mar 2011)

9

Does everything I want it to do

richjime has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This is definitely the best WP7 device on AT&T. The screen is top of the line and it is very smooth especially compared to the Quantum. The OS is very smooth and honestly i like it better than android and iOS because everything that i need the phone to do (e-mail,sms, phonecalls, internet browsing, music, and most importantly office.) is smoothly integrated into the experience.

Also i like the fact that the apps all pretty much have the same layout as some of the apps in android and iOS can get confusing. The metro UI is very intuitive and quite elegant.

All in all i don't miss having access to the 10K calculator apps like i did in iOS because honestly i will only use a couple at most. So if your scared of not having access to 100K apps i have to tell you( at least for me ) i only need a handful.

Build quality 9/10 The phone feels solid but its made of plastic so it only gets a 9
Reception 9/10 Its AT&T but i live in a metro area so i get coverage everywhere
Call quality 10/10 as good as anything else i have used
Internet 8/10 good speed
Multimedia 10/10 zune software is great and the screen makes watching videos a great experience
Camera 10/10 Point and shoot replacement
UI speed 10/10 The OS is snappy and smooth at the same time
Everyday usage 8/10 Lacks twitter integration
Text input 10/10 Great keyboard even for a guy with big thumbs like me
Display 10/10 This is the main attraction for this phone
Battery 8/10 Haven't had a chance to push the limits but seems pretty good

Pros

  • Screen size and quality are perfect
  • Love the OS
  • Zune is really nice

Cons

  • Plastic although not bad, its no aluminum unibody

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Vivek Nikam
posted on 14 Mar 2011, 10:25

9

Windows Phone & rocks

Vivek Nikam has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

This mobiles is suprb !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! in all the ways and means its amnazing..... super AMOLED display works very well with the os windows phone 7 which is far more better than the windows 6.5 ....... rest all is gud gud camera ,.................. gud music player ................. loud sound............... gud durability.................. its truly gud phone.......

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 5/10

Vivek Nikam alternatives:

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

MarloThaMartian
posted on 04 Feb 2011, 04:12 (Posts: 41; Member since: 27 Dec 2010)

9

WP7 is awesome

MarloThaMartian has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This phone is a big upgrade from my previous phone which was the HTC Pure (A windows 6.5 phone). This phone blows most phones out the water. This phone is easy to navigate and is fast. The Marketplace is awesome. Not that many apps but its getting there. This phone lacks what all phones should have and thats custom ringtones. You can only use At&t's sucky ringtones. Its takes about 3 1/2 hours to charge this phone fully and the battery doesnt last long if your a heavy user so keep your charger handy. I synced my phone with Zune and put music on it. The phone has a great speaker.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10 Very Clear and Bright display. Awesome
Battery 5/10 Takes forever to charge. Doesnt stay charged long if your a heavy user

Pros

  • Super Amoled Screen
  • Camera
  • Lightweight
  • Apps
  • Zune

Cons

  • Battery Life
  • No Ringtones
  • Recharges Slow

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Christiannn
posted on 17 Jan 2011, 14:36

9

Focus

Christiannn has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This phone is a step up from my old blackberry! it has a great camera, vivid screen, its fast, has a nice UI, battery life could be better, but i can always buy another battery. practicly no customization! not alot of options, like the iphone when it first came out, it will contunue to get better

Build quality 8/10 im afraid to drop it because it feels so delicate
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10 louder than my moms iphone 3g
Internet 7/10 needs work, but not that bad
Multimedia 5/10 i have a mac, so the whole zune thing doesnt work out too well
Camera 10/10 great hd vidoes, you have to activate it in settings each time, but oh well
UI speed 10/10 fast.fast.fast
Everyday usage 7/10 the battery charges slow,
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 great!
Battery 7/10 battery charges sloww! This doesnt get me through the day like my trusty blackberry 8310

Pros

  • screen
  • camera
  • speaker is loud

Cons

  • battery life
  • durability
  • not that mac friendly
  • zune
  • not alot of options
  • not alot of customization

Christiannn alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

DrewH
posted on 07 Jan 2011, 18:58 (Posts: 0; Member since: 07 Jan 2011)

9

A solid choice for a WP7

DrewH has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Deciding to take advantage of AT&T's buy one get one free WP7 deal, my sister and I both opted to upgrade to a WP7 phone. She took the HTC Surround while I took the Samsung Focus. The only disadvantage the Focus gives concedes to its HTC counterpart is that it lacks a fully supported YouTube app (instead the app it comes with is just a bookmark of YouTube's mobile format) while the Surround comes with an HTC exclusive YouTube app. Other than that, the Focus seems to beat out the Surround in every way. From what I hear, they're both better than the LG Quantum, making the Focus the best choice for any AT&T customer looking for a WP7 phone. The WP7 OS isn't too shabby itself, but its undeveloped characteristics show. It lacks a copy and paste feature as well as some other key components the Android and iOS offer, but it has also made a solid debut in the smart phone competition offering perks such as the Zune Desktop and Xbox Live. With a couple of updates, it could make itself a real competitor. It also lacks a little as far as applications go, but once again that'll fix itself with age. It's really up to the customer to decide for themselves which OS they prefer, as they all offer substantial to perks to satisfy even the pickiest tastes. For AT&T customers, the best models for each OS would be Samsung Captivate (Android), Apple iPhone 4 (iOS), Samsung Focus (WP7), Blackberry Torch (Blackberry - currently not up to par with the rest of the operating systems).

Build quality 10/10 Though initially this phone may feel a little cheap with its plastic back, this phone is solid. Personally, I added an Incipio shell case to give the phone more of a rectangular feel, as I don't prefer rounded edges. The phone is also ridiculously light.
Reception 10/10 It offers the same amount of reception you'll get with an iPhone 4, minus any antenna issues.
Call quality 10/10 I found nothing wrong with the call qualities. My only quirk is that you can't simply hang up on calls with the press of a physical button such as the lock button.
Internet 9/10 I felt as if the internet was just barely slower than an iPhone's with a similar connection. Also, I prefer mobile Safari as opposed to mobile IE. Lastly, the iPhone allows you to choose your default search engine, WP7 sticks you with Bing.
Multimedia 9/10 Xbox Live support and the bonus of unlocking achievements to boost my gamerscore adds even more addictiveness to already addicting games such as Fruit Ninja, and gives them a slight edge over their iOS and Android counterparts. However, the App market is lacking and I also don't like how recorded videos cannot be readily shared.
Camera 9/10 The camera does have a nice bright flash and a 5 MP camera. However, it doesn't capture video in 720p, lacks front facing camera support, doesn't match the 8 MP cameras some other phones offer.
UI speed 9/10 The UI matches the speed of the iOS and Android on most applications, but slows down on some apps such as YouTube. You also can't multi-task at all.
Everyday usage 10/10 With the ability to set reminders, appointments, and whatever else you need, this phone can replace however you previously managed your agenda. It also offers nice accessibility to Outlook, email, FaceBook, and other social networking areas.
Text input 9/10 It lacks a full keyboard, for those who want that. It doesn't have copy and paste. It also sacrifices a key space for a mostly useless emoticon button.
Display 10/10 The Super AMOLED screen is as close as you can get to the Retina Display. It's also got a nice 4 inch screen, making it the best WP7 display AT&T has to offer.
Battery 9/10 The battery lasts me an entire day, but is usually on its last 10% by the end of it. Also, charging takes around an hour or more, but I believe this problem is exclusive to mine, as others have applauded its short charge time. Nonetheless, it's definitely a downgrade from my previous phone which would charge in 20 minutes and last for 3 days.

Pros

  • Addictive games
  • Nice camera
  • Fast operating system
  • Excellent design
  • Weight
  • Display
  • Xbox Live
  • Zune

Cons

  • Low app selection
  • Lack of an HQ option in YouTube
  • Can't share videos wirelessly
  • No copy and paste

DrewH alternatives:

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Saad073
posted on 31 Dec 2010, 05:07 (Posts: 13; Member since: 10 Dec 2010)

9

Slick: In Both Good and Bad Ways

Saad073 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The hardware highlights are the very thin and light body with the seductive Super AMOLED display at the forefront as an excellent pairing with Windows Phone 7. The new OS has features superior to other industry leaders like Xbox Live support, true multimedia support with Zune, and 25GB free storage from SkyDrive. The UI is bold and refreshing among a sea of generic bubbly grids and icons and the new Live Tiles and Hubs features are genuinely useful tools, while the performance sits alongside the iPhone 4's leading responsiveness. Overall, the Focus is really the flagship for Windows Phone 7 so if you want the best the software has to offer, go with this phone.

Build quality 9/10 Excellent 4-inch screen while remaining slim and light, but plastic build can be a little slippery.
Reception 9/10 Had almost no issues, except for the occasional loss in signal. But that was in an area where my previous phone also had difficulty so it's hard to tell who is at fault.
Call quality 9/10 Again no major issues, just some hangs.
Internet 10/10 Fast responsive browser thats almost as good as the iPhone's and always managed to get a good signal, Wi-Fi or 3G.
Multimedia 9/10 The phone does a lot with media, with the highlight being Zune. But the codec support is uninspiring (MP4 videos only). When it comes to apps, WP7 is quickly growing by the day and there are plenty of big name apps to satisfy most for now (Netflix, Facebook, Twitter, etc.). But the lack of a true YouTube app is also very frustrating (you have to use the browser to watch videos or get a 3rd party app).
Camera 8/10 Great pics for a 5 megapixel phone camera and flash is a nice bonus, but the videos are not as buttery smooth as I would like.
UI speed 10/10 Ridiculously fast for being such a new operating system. It just blazes.
Everyday usage 8/10 Not many programs are using Live Tiles as much as I'd like so the Start screen is not as useful as promised. But the phone is fast enough to get out of your way so you can get things done.
Text input 10/10 My favorite software keyboard so far. The iPhone's doesn't seem as good, but maybe the size difference has a role in that.
Display 10/10 Again the only closest competitor is the iPhone with it's Retina Display...and that's a big complement.
Battery 8/10 I'm not sure how some people managed to squeeze out a full 2 days of use, but it usually goes for 13-16 hours which is still great.

Pros

  • Super AMOLED works well with WP7
  • Windows Phone 7's look and feel
  • Great pictures

Cons

  • Windows Phone 7 still needs to grow
  • Slippery back
  • Some stutter in video recordings

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

clarkja72
posted on 17 Dec 2010, 13:46 (Posts: 5; Member since: 17 Dec 2010)

9

The Samsung Focus is truly an awesone device.

clarkja72 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I have been an employee of AT&T for the last 6 years. Over the last 4.5 years, my phones have been: AT&T 8125, AT&T 8525, AT&T Fuze, & the AT&T Tilt 2. I have been flashing ROMs and customizing my phones the entire time. The very thing I loved to do, I wasn't ready to give up, with WP7. I reluctantly tried all 3 variants for AT&T: Samsung Focus, HTC Surround, and the LG Quantum. I knew for sure I would like the HTC the most. Shockingly, it was the Samsung that proved to provide the best overall feel of the new Microsoft operating system. The Focus simply works, and it does so, elegantly. The Focus is probably the smoothest phone I've every used. The vibrant 4" screen is unbeatable in my book. The social networking integration is flawless. I wasn't sure about the Zune integration or XBox Live for that matter, but the Zune desktop software is great for managing media. The browser is one of the best mobile browsers to date. The email is a 1000% improvement over WM 6.5. The AT&T U-Verse Tile is also a plus, since I have U-Verse. Samsung hit the nail on the head with the Focus, and I can't wait for future updates and added functionality.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10 I have gotten a "System Busy" error a few times while trying to make a call. But, to Samsung's credit, they are updating the network in my area.
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10 Flawless. Zero resets!
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10 I use a Jawbone Icon all day, so I didn't expect to have the best battery life. Most reviewers rate the batty performance high, but I made it longer throughout the day with my Tilt 2, than I do with the Focus.

Pros

  • Smooth
  • Social network integration
  • Wireless syncing

Cons

  • Recharges slow

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

DavidG
posted on 05 Dec 2010, 17:29

10

Great Phone - Fast Information Access

DavidG has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I really like this phone. The performance and design, along with a few apps, makes it very quick to get the informaiton I need... e-mail, calendar, stocks, weather, etc... The browser has worked very well. The integration with Zune Pass makes finding and hearing music easy. I'm able to keep in touch via Facebook and Twitter fast and easy.

I also like the subtle features, such as being able to take pictures and adjust volume/play music without unlocking the phone. For example, when I am playing music through my car stereo, I can use the bluetooth to say "Call Somebody at Home", and it will automatically stop the music, and dial the phone. Then, when the call is over, it automatically picks up the music again. Nice.

The development tools are also great quality and the ramp up time is good.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

kms
posted on 03 Dec 2010, 12:19

10

Love it

kms has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I've been waiting to upgrade my 'simple' phone, was pressured to iPhone, but SO glad I waited. This thing is beautiful, and once again, my faith in MS, AT&T is rewarded.
True the back cover was at first tricky (for me) to get off, but after that, no problem. All those iPhones can just keep themselves, I am really happy with this.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

joshuaadm
posted on 26 Nov 2010, 16:51 (Posts: 0; Member since: 10 May 2010)

10

Great Phone

joshuaadm has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I know i haven't had this phone very long but i have fell in love with it. I have read that there were supposed to be problems with the memory cards...but i have not had any trouble putting my memory card in the phone. I have a 8gb sandisk card and it works just fine. You just have to take the battery out, put the card in, put the battery back in and press the power button, down volume and the camera button at the same time...once the phone comes on release the power button and wait until the format screen comes on. Once that is done press the start button twice...once to confirm the format and once to format. Its that easy.

Build quality 10/10 Very Solid
Reception 10/10 I have service where i haven't had any before
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10 WOW
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

win7phoneman
posted on 23 Nov 2010, 18:28

10

the first phone that really does it

win7phoneman has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

definitely the king of phones today... incredible, flawless interface responsiveness.... win7phone is groundbreaking with the user paradigm.... the internet trash talkers are out, but I'm super picky and actually using the product and it's a true 10. The product is the first phone I've ever bought that I didn't have immediate gripes about. To address the naysayers:
- Battery time is good, but as expected if you've got every radio in the thing on (wifi+bluetooth+gsm) yeah it'll burn it down. Wall charger takes about 45min to fully charge from zero with the wifi on (it wirelessly syncs so there is no problem doing it this way), but the usb sync cable predictably takes hours.
- Outlook / exchage push / hotmail support is awesome. esp if you've got hotmail / live the sync and instant email delivery is awesome.... 1000 contacts 5gb of mail and 5 years of calendar? no problem.
- it plays video great, with a simple workaround you can see it in win7 in usb storage mode to shoot stuff to it without zune, I haven't run into a single DRM problem yet like happens with iTunes.....
- the app store is very very big and most of them are free or $1

most of the Iphone guys I know are putting them up on ebay and the android guys look at the interface with envy... it's no contest, win7phone beats em all....

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • win7phone is simply the best

Cons

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

rob
posted on 22 Nov 2010, 08:56

9

Love Love Love WM7

rob has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I have had everyphone in the book, all three iPhones, HTC HD7, Adroids ets... If you are a windows person go out and get a new WM7 phone. If you are apple the stay with iPhone its a easy as that. They are both fantastic. I love the integration with WM7 and my PCs/Laptops, Xbox and windows live online. Everything is seamless. I picked up the HD7 from tmobile for 2 weeks thinking the Focus felt cheap. I returned the HD7 because of reception issues in my area and reluctantly picked up the Focus. I was wrong! It may feel cheap at first but after having it for a week now I don't even notice. It is solid and a much better size than the HD7.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • WM7
  • Display
  • Size

Cons

  • available apps (for now)

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

BigJun
posted on 18 Nov 2010, 14:15 (Posts: 0; Member since: 15 Nov 2010)

9

Nice Windows Phone 7

BigJun has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

It will give Android and iOS some competition in the long run. This is the first step and hopefully it can only get better. Plus, the Amoled screen is fantastic to view. Keep it up Microsoft.
Windows did a great job in improving the technology on the phones!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

nghtwng68
posted on 17 Nov 2010, 23:10 (Posts: 82; Member since: 26 Nov 2009)

10

Glorious Windows 7 Overhaul

nghtwng68 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Such a blast to use. The Windows tile interface is a breeze in look, feel, tile blocks and fluid flow is great. Was skeptical and after using it, just had to buy it. It looks cool and performs like rock star.
It will give Android and iOS some competition in the long run. This is the first step and hopefully it can only get better. Plus, the Amoled screen is fantastic to view. Keep it up Microsoft.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Battery
  • Amoled screen
  • Responsiveness
  • Weight
  • Apps & Games
  • Camera - great image taking
  • Black/white look
  • User Friendly - Easy Navigation
  • Fun, fast interface tiles
  • Typing is a breeze

Cons

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

imsimsj
posted on 16 Nov 2010, 22:17

10

Me

imsimsj has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This phone is Great! It brings Facebook To you like no other phone can. The xbox games are good and play with no problems. The zune player is a big deal for me since I use the zune software. The live tiles make it easy to get to your info without flipping around for it.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Display
  • Sound
  • Facebook
  • Windows Live
  • Zune
  • Xbox Live

Cons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

DrewSadik
posted on 15 Nov 2010, 06:21 (Posts: 18; Member since: 07 Nov 2010)

10

Windows Phone 7 rocks!

DrewSadik has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

battery life is good, but remember, with Super Amoled screens, having a lot of white on the screen eats more battery, so with this phone you probably want the them to be black not white, and surfing the web with white pages does take a little more battery, but not enough that i'd make it a con, its really not bad. i love everything about this phone except for the back plastic, which i can live with. the phone takes great pictures and i love Windows Phone 7. this phone is a great choice for someone who wants a simple, yet fun Operating System, and a great camera

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • battery life
  • 4 inch Super Amoled screen
  • sensitive screen
  • weight
  • app marketplace
  • awesome games
  • Windows Phone 7 FTW!
  • Camera
  • Lock Screen

Cons

  • plastic back

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy Accessories

Latest stories