x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Continuum User Reviews

9 Based on 2 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Call quality9.5/10
Battery8/10
Reception10/10
Display10/10
Build quality8.5/10
Text input8/10
Everyday usage6.5/10
UI speed8/10
Camera8.5/10
Multimedia8.5/10
Internet8.5/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Ryan
posted on 15 Jun 2011, 07:53

10

A pretty nice Mid range Android Phone.

Ryan has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

A Very nice phone for the price and size. This is my upgrade from the Samsung Rogue, a QWERTY Slider feature phone. and i must say i am loving Android! I was able to get this phone for free after an upgrade and rebate, and i think this phone should have gotten more news about it because for a mid range Smart Phone it functions very well.

Build quality 9/10 It's built well but its plastic, so it doesnt give you that rugged feel that some of the metal phones give.
Reception 10/10 I Have not had a problem with reception, even in areas where with my old Phone (Samsung Rogue) would drop them.
Call quality 9/10 the quality has been pretty good, somewhat hollow sounding to me, and the earpiece volume could be a little bit louder, though the speaker is more then loud enough!
Internet 10/10 I Haven't found any bugs or quirks with the internet, its very quick even though its only 3g, its pretty responsive too even for only a mid range phone.
Multimedia 10/10 i haven't found anything wrong with the phone as a multimedia device, While this is not my dedicated music player it could easily be because it is easy to use and the speakers sound great! And if there is something else you want the phone to do then you have the Android Market.
Camera 9/10 The Camera is great for a mid range phone, nice clear pictures with good color saturation. the camera sometimes cant focus on things that it should be able to, but with slight adjustments to where you tap to focus this is fixed but should not be needed. Also a physical camera button is nice.
UI speed 9/10 Overall pretty quick and responsive, this was a big worry for me since i have gotten used to iOS, but android impressed me (even only on 2.1 with no hints to upgrading) of course there are sometimes when the phone gets bogged down for a short time even after you kill the tasks but in my experience all phones do that.
Everyday usage 10/10 Haven't found anything to complain about here, the phone does what you ask it too.
Text input 9/10 the Keyboard is small given the 3.4 inch main display, but as long as you don't have big fingers this shouldn't be too bad of a problem once you get used to it, since the stock android keyboard (what i use) is very responsive.
Display 10/10 A Beautiful display! Super Amoled really does stand up to its name, everything is nice and crisp, the colors are very deep. and since the nature of the display you can have the brightness down to around 10% and still see everything just fine in most situations (even outside sometimes)
Battery 10/10 So Far I Have not had to charge my phone in the middle of the day, the battery has been fine, (i have an auto kill on tasks and i have the screen brightness around 10% most of the time) but even with medium to heavy use some days i still manage to get through the day.

Pros

  • Display
  • Very responsive
  • Ticker
  • Battery
  • Nice pocket-able size
  • Nice Price

Cons

  • Android 2.1...
  • Earpiece volume
  • Small Camera Bugs
  • Small screen, but you can get used to it

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

HessECMD
posted on 19 Nov 2010, 12:31

8

Beautiful screen, nice phone, but android 2.1???.....

HessECMD has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

After setting up the phone, I went to set up the enterprise email. After being on Verizon Tech support, as well as my companies IT department, no one could figure out why the phone could not connect. Through research online I found out that this problem occurs quite frequently in the Android 2.1 software. I just read today that it may not be until february of 2010.

The first thing you will notice about this phone is the screen....it is GORGEOUS. As for the "ticker" feature, I really looked forward to having my emails and calendar events being displayed there, however because of the lack of connectivity with the enterprise server, the "ticker" display sat idle and was completely useless.

The UI of the phone is alright, but not spectacular. Each task seemed to take much longer on the Continuum that on any other phone. There is a great deal of customization that can be done, and if I had taken the time to play around with it, I may have become more familiar with the functions.

Overall it was a great looking phone, and if it weren't for the hiccups with the Android 2.1 software (as well as the sale on the Droid X on amazon for a penny) I would have stuck with the phone. I wouldn't recommend this phone for those using an enterprise servers until the new software update is complete, but all in all it seemed like a great phone.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 3/10
Text input 7/10
Display 10/10
Battery 6/10

Pros

  • BEAUTIFUL SCREEN
  • Ticker will be usefull with 2.2 software
  • very light and compact

Cons

  • Android 2.1 software
  • Still working out the bugs

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy Accessories

Latest stories