x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Code SCH-I220 User Reviews

7.1 Based on 10 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Reception6/10
Display6/10
Build quality4.5/10
Text input5.5/10
Everyday usage6/10
UI speed4.5/10
Camera5/10
Multimedia5.5/10
Internet4/10
Call quality5/10
Battery1.5/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

unhappy sap
posted on 26 May 2011, 09:45

2

Caution

unhappy sap has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I have a 2 yr old wm6.1 phone bought the code thinking upgrade... NOT SO... it has almost twice the ram and the processor speed is double the old phone. The old phone is much faster. used the code for 3 days and just couldn't take the sloppy proformance anymore. I would not even consider this a back up phone...Just a waste of money.

Build quality 2/10
Reception 3/10
Call quality 1/10
Internet 1/10
Multimedia 1/10
Camera 3/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 2/10
Text input 1/10
Display 3/10
Battery 1/10

Pros

  • New

Cons

  • Everything else

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Fulaman
posted on 01 Nov 2010, 00:25

8

Good smartphone on slow 2G network

Fulaman has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I have had this phone since June of 2010, I enjoy it for the most part. Although it's a 3G capable phone, you do not get 3G speeds because in my area Metro is 2G (1xRTT). I live in the SF bay area, and that is all we are entitled to. I would have really loved faster internet so that I can watch youtube vids and make use of great apps like Kinoma.

Build quality 7/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 2/10

Pros

  • Fast
  • Windows Mobile 6.5 Standard for Customization
  • Windows Marketplace
  • Great Editor (Feels like a mini computer)
  • 667 mhz processor

Cons

  • Poor Battery Life
  • Slow 2G speeds on a 3G phone (Metro is to blame for this)
  • Won't be compatible with Metros LTE 4G network
  • No Wi-Fi (on a Windows Phone really?)

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

CYJ
posted on 22 Jul 2010, 16:29

5

Cheap useless phone

I don't recomend this phone to anyone!!If you already buy it try to exchange it becasue in few days your phone will start to behave to bad that you will try to avoid using it at any cost as I do!Metro PCS service is the best you can get for so little, but this phone I don't recommend it at all, not even to my enemies.

Design 7/10
Features 7/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • The only pro I found is GPS.

Cons

  • I bought it like 6 months ago and at the fist month was ok, slow but ok. Then it became almost useless.
  • - It hangs very often I need to remove the battery to restart it.
  • - I miss calls because is not possible to unlock the phone because got hang.
  • - While texting in facebook it hangs if I press some specific letters.
  • - Battery also goes very fast.
  • - You need to kill every time the task and Samsung know it!!! have you ever seen a phone with a task killer in the main screen??

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Mark Ghobrl
posted on 17 Apr 2010, 09:52

10

Formatting on it's own???

I have owned two of these phones for the past 2 months.  I have never ever seend any formatting issues and it seems to be only this guy who is posting all over the place.  I am sure he must of inadvertently hit keys and kicked in the formatting.  Give me a break!!!

I love this phone, best you can get and it's completely unlocked.


Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Completely unlocked
  • Windows 6.1

Cons

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Luis5623
posted on 10 Mar 2010, 08:56

5.7

media player

this is a good phone but... i put an 8 gb memory card in it and everytime i want to play a song it takes like 20 seconds for the song to start .. then it keeps stopping during the whole song and it say buffering... its so annoying..   honestly its not worth the price i payed for it..

Design 8/10
Features 5/10
Performance 4/10

Pros

Cons

  • media player always stop song and says buffering ...

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jon N.
posted on 02 Jan 2010, 00:12

7.3

Samsung Code

Had this phone for about a month. I dig it for sure. Not real happy with the youtube performance. Very choppy and lagging. I tried different browsers..skyfire, etc...still choppy.
But otherwise I'm happy with it and happy I'm not bound by contract crooks..ie. Sprint....Sprint sucks!

Design 7/10
Features 8/10
Performance 7/10

Pros

  • EVERYTHING

Cons

  • Choppy on youtube

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Mr. Levy stop your whining about the phone already..
posted on 28 Dec 2009, 17:03

9

This phone KICKS ASS!

For completely free, I downloaded an app that simulates a stylus mouse= can now use most all PPC touchscreenn apps! I have a Playstation Emulator, a Super NES Emulator, NES and Genesis and PALM OS emulator!! Absolutely NOTHING is locked in this phone, unlike most other Metro phones.. Can download directly from the internet, and being online 24/7 downloading and STREAMING LIVE MUSIC without skipping (Impressive on a regular data network).. Took my 16 gig micro sd card without needing to format it! Plays youporn and youtube vids lol! 2 different players also, embedded and windows media, and can set up either as default. Crystal clear, LOUD speaker, and a great little built in video cam with better still pics. Ive never used outlook on a desktop, but its so damn convienent on this phone, I use it all the time.. excellent spell and grammar checker built into the texting really allows fast writing of intelligent messages, big bonus to balance the small keyboard.. and the internal intenna is POWERFUL! I get reception inside bars my other metro phones never worked..  Can multitask- play games and listen to MP3s (or Apples format or even receive Podcasts) while on an active call, without breakup.. ETC ETC ETC ETC ETC.. and so far, my data's been solid. Suprisingly fast USB 2.0 also alows for fast drag and dropping of massive batch files.. Even without phone service, this is a powerful little handheld computer! And btw,...  

Design 8/10
Features 10/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • You can do ANYTHING with this phone. Litterally. There are so darn many freeware 3rd party apps to choose from, Im litterally on it 24/7 downloading and trying new stuff out.
  • I never have to worry about a data plan minutes or internet time ever again. $50 a month and I can do more than that overpriced Iphone does..

Cons

  • Keyboards a bit too small. (Auto spell really helps here.)
  • Default browser is kinda slow, even for a regular network. (Just replace it with Opera miini or Skyfire= easy fix)
  • No wifi. (Damnit Metro) Unlimited internet is great in your coverage area, but absolutely no communication abilities outside of it.

34 out of 34 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

swingdancer
posted on 24 Dec 2009, 20:36

10

plays YouTube out of the box at Metros slow web speed??!

Just bought this phone and right out of the box I'm watching YouTube, it takes a secound to load but then play like a regular video, I love it for that alone , sitting at the dentist, fishing, driving :), etc..  kinda complicated at first playing with but easy to figure without even looking at the owners manuel.. I was looking at the Blackberry and the Code and when I found out that the ohly phone that is 3g for Metro is the Samsung Code??!  and the only one that plays videos out of the box on Metros slow web??????   I love this thing so far, first time i bought unsurance because pricy at 289..

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • YouTube

Cons

  • tight keypad, but getting better :)

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 16 Dec 2009, 23:34

8.7

I have had this phone for about a month and I have got to say that I am very satisfied with this phone. I had the T-Mobile G1 and before I had this phone i was really fond of the G1's ability to tag music and email and when i got this phone is was pleased to see that it could tag music even faster and the email  is just as great! This phone is very fast for a Winmo phone and very easy to use! I recommend it all the way!

Design 9/10
Features 7/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Easy to use
  • Fast!!!
  • Good battery life if apps arent kept running
  • Great useful apps
  • small

Cons

  • not many apps so far
  • not very "pretty" interface
  • loses signal occasionally
  • buttons are cramped and could mess with your typing
  • buttons are hard

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

s. levy
posted on 06 Dec 2009, 09:04

5

WARNING – DANGER- This phone will format on its own without

WARNING – DANGER- This phone will format on its own without prompting.
Incident: Metro PCS Phone is 6 weeks old, I charged the phone overnight. In the morning I turned the phone on and it came up with the normal samsung startup window then immediately after “formating” came up and the phone automatically formatted without any prompting from me. I lost business data, emails, noted, messaging that was important and some urgent data. Called tech support at MetroPCS they said to call Samsung. Samsung representative Jason #322634 said data cannot be retrieved and this is the first time he has ever heard of this.
This is a major issue that can cause some great financial and business loss.
If I want a replacement phone I would have to send this phone in first and they will check it and will send me a new one. In the mean time I will have to be without a phone for the time it takes them to check it out and decide weather they will fix the problem or send me another phone.
Unacceptable.
12/7/09
LAtest developement with Metro PCS Customer Service. It has been a week since reformat and I called MetroPCS fpr a credit on applications that I lost during the formatting. (about $30.00) and they said I would have to repurchase them. The supervisor was Raquel ID # 12250 the manager spke with was Salvadore. Terrible customer service, Metro PCS doesn't care about legitimate problems nor what a 3 year customer's problems are. Good cheap seervice on the phone but you also get cheap and terrible...  

Design 8/10
Features 6/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • easy to use. Cheap service

Cons

  • FORMATS ON ITS OWN. Lost business data that could not be backed up. Poor backup capabilities.

20 out of 35 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories