x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Alias 2 User Reviews

7.3 Based on 42 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Everyday usage5.5/10
UI speed4.8/10
Camera4.8/10
Multimedia4.5/10
Internet5.3/10
Call quality6.3/10
Battery2.8/10
Reception6.3/10
Display5.3/10
Build quality5.8/10
Text input4.8/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

JasmeenNatalie
posted on 08 Jun 2012, 14:38 (Posts: 0; Member since: 08 Jun 2012)

3

Love Hate Relationship with this phone

JasmeenNatalie has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I've had this phone for 3 years now and I hate this phone but at the same time I love it. I love the keyboard and how its easy to use, however its slow, it freezes, shuts off and restarts by itself, my alarms don't always go off, the vibration for one text with go on for a full minute, the battery life is awful, and the camera sucks. This phone is very durable, I drop it constantly and its still together, but the keyboard top has fallen off. I think because I've had this phone for so long it has grown on me, but other than that, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who needs to get business done or who is always on the go.

Build quality 5/10
Reception 5/10
Call quality 5/10
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 2/10
Camera 2/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 3/10
Text input 3/10
Display 2/10
Battery 1/10

Pros

  • Keyboard
  • Easy access to pictures, texts, etc
  • durable

Cons

  • battery life
  • camera
  • speed

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Anonymousperson
posted on 11 Jul 2011, 16:06

9

Lovee This Phone But Some Issues

Anonymousperson has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I love this phone so much and I have had it almost 2 years. It has some great camera quality and call quality is amazing. The only issue I have is about 2 weeks ago my phone just started to randomly turn off by itself even when it has a full charge. It also recently started saying that it has an non supported battery when it is the original battery from when I got it and yes it is a Samsung battery. Also, it sometimes doesnt charge.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 7/10 It misses letters sometimes when I text
Display 10/10
Battery 4/10 It has been saying a bunch of weird stuff about the battery. It doesnt charge right sometimes. THe battery is just going crazyyy.

Pros

  • Camera Quality
  • Call Qualty
  • Reception
  • Great Durability
  • Amazing Texting Speed
  • Amazing Screen Quality
  • Being able to view texts and text from the front cover
  • Being able to take darker pictures from the front cover
  • Amazing Sound

Cons

  • Battery Life is short
  • Battery says non supported battery when it is a supported battery
  • Doesnt charge right
  • Having to change button screens for ! and ?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

SARA
posted on 06 Feb 2011, 18:49

1

ALIAS 2 is TERRIBLE

SARA has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Overall it is a terrible phone. The part where the buttons are has completely fallen apart for no reason at all. Can not go on the internet anymore and Verizon says that cant figure out the problem. T9 automatically comes on and I can not get out of that mode. I hate this phone and it is ridiculous that I can not upgrade early through Verizon.

Build quality 1/10
Reception 2/10 constantly does out of service.
Call quality 2/10 automatically ends calls
Internet 1/10 internet never comes up
Multimedia 1/10
Camera 2/10 very blurry pics and does not zoom
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 2/10
Text input 1/10 switches to T9 when I dont want it to
Display 1/10
Battery 1/10 dies constantly

Pros

Cons

  • Camera
  • Battery
  • Everything falling apart on it
  • internet
  • texting
  • phone call reception

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Brian
posted on 25 Jan 2011, 20:03

7

Alias 2

Brian has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Hey. ive had this phone for almost 2 years now and its very good over all. My favorite things about this phone are prolly the durability, the keyboard and the flippy thing. I drop this phone at least 5 times a day every day and ive only got a scratch here and there. I only have problems with the texting lagging when im on like the sixth or seventh page. i hate it when it turns off randomly or restarts randomly. i dont like the battery life because i text constantly and it seems to die every 6 or 7 hours, but maybe i just need a new battery. THIS CAMERA JUST PLAIN SUCKS. everything about it just annoys me. But overall a very good phone.

OH and also can you guys help me out real quick??? My alias2 started reading my texts outloud and its super annoying and i cant figure out how to turn it off. and info would be great THANKS

Build quality 7/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 5/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 8/10
Display 8/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • size/shape
  • keyboard
  • durability
  • e ink

Cons

  • Battery life
  • Camera zoom and pic quality
  • All multimedia use in general

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 16 Oct 2010, 01:31

8.7

Awesome phone

I had the Alias before, and when my "New Every 2" was up, I decided to go for the Alias 2. This phone is amazing! I don't know what people are talking about, I text super fast and it never skips, unless I accidentally hit the wrong key. And the e-ink smearing? I've had this phone for nearly 2 years, and no such thing has happened with mine. I constantly drop this thing, I'm so clumsy! It's perfectly fine! Got a few scratches on the outside, but big deal. Not a single scratch on the screen. I've even dropped this thing into a sink with RUNNING WATER, not a problem at all. No damage. AMAZING!

My only con? After almost 2 years, I noticed that there was a little rectangle-ring around the keyboard, and it started to come off. Now the plate over the keys is falling off, but whatever. It's not that big a deal, and it would have stayed if I hadn't picked at it as much as I did LOL 

But all in all, this is a great phone, especially if you're clumsy and often drop your phone. 

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Sturdy, e-ink keyboard

Cons

  • none

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Bianca
posted on 30 Jun 2010, 17:23

8.3

Don't listen to the rest of the reviews. This is a great phone ! Though the headphone is a 2.5mm jack and the background music doesnt play, the phone is durable. I've dropped mine so many times and it works 100% fine. the only stratches are on the back but who cares ?? there is no " limited recording time" you have to switch the mode from 'send' to 'save'. the texting is sometimes slow but its called patience ! all phones are slow at times so get over it. battery life could be better but i'm so happy with my phone. i've had it for close to a year now and it runs like brand new. the e-ink keyboard is genious ! it makes it soo much easier to text. if you're a 'texter' i definately reccomend this phone.

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 8/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Lavender Spring
posted on 16 Jun 2010, 15:14

2.7

EXTREME HAPPINESS FROM PAYING 35 RESTOCKING FEE

had this phone for 24 hours

Hinge is bulky and awkward
Cannot keep up with texting-skips letters.

This is not worth the required $ 10 data package.

This phone gave me a headache,
too slippery from the exterior, not comforable to flip or hold,
e-ink eventually smears,
and 4.5 ounces, really, verizon

AND the screen tilt makes it impossible to read in daylight.

Decided on the razzle(NO USELESS DATA)
with an istyles skin it is beautiful and durable-you can drop it, and spill water on it with minimal issue.

Design 2/10
Features 3/10
Performance 3/10

Pros

  • Text messages by contact
  • 2.0 mb camera

Cons

  • WORST to hold + flip
  • BAD TXT capabilities
  • e-ink wears down
  • data plan?-forget it

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

IHATETHEALIAS2
posted on 28 May 2010, 18:37

2.3

WORST PHONE EVER DOPNT BUY DONT DONT!

I'vee had this phone since November.. Really there are no Pros for this thing.. But i will list TONS of cons.
1. If you drop it, it scratches EASILYY
2. I broke it the hinge IS FRAGILE
3. If you text a lot you will need to charge it nightly
4. After you receive a picture message/ video if you text like 10 messages after it will loose power QUICKLY
5. DONT DROP THE PHONE IN PORTRAIT MODE. I dropped mine like that and it BROKE like its completely shot
6. Picture quality= HORRIBLE
7. If you text fast (like me) THE PHONE WILL NOT KEEP UP WITH YOUR TEXTING
8. It restarts all the time
9. The phone FREEZES ALL THE TIME.
10. The sound quality = WORST EVER.
11. CAN EASILY BREAK.

Thats all of my problems.. My phone broke so easily. I would NEVER recommend this phone to you..

Design 1/10
Features 5/10
Performance 1/10

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 14 Apr 2010, 21:02

6

I had this phone ever since August. It's an okay phone but I do have my share of problems with it. The phone has restarted itself numerous times for no reason. It has frozen and restarted while sending text messages. To me, the picture quality isn't that great. Really wish it would have a flash. I wish I could have still have my LG ENV :[

Design 6/10
Features 6/10
Performance 6/10

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 06 Mar 2010, 11:51

7

 I like the phone. I've had it since October and it's pretty decent. There are quite a few problems with it though:

1. Sometimes the phone will turn off if I close it too soon after sending a message.

2. The music player does not offer background play. So if I'm listening to music and I want to end a text message or something, I have to turn my music off completely just to do that.

3. When looking at pictures in full view, you can't move left and right between the other pictures.

4. I was hoping for a 3.5mm headphone jack. I was very much disappointed.

5. The camera can only record 30 seconds of video, and you can't zoom while recording.

My main issue is the music player, and how it cannot play in the background. I'm listening to music 24/7 and it's a real pain when I have to turn my music off to do something. 

Design 7/10
Features 6/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • - Sturdy
  • - Easy to text with
  • - Decent battery life
  • - Good call quality

Cons

  • - Music player does not offer background play
  • - 2.5mm headphone jack
  • - Limited video recording length

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ace1122
posted on 26 Nov 2009, 23:25 (Posts: 237; Member since: 23 Mar 2009)

6

nothing special

I dont like this phone that much. Compared to the Env3, this thing is so hard to text on. The keys are slick and slippery. This phone is slow and cant keep up with me texting. A good thing though is that this phone is built really solidly. It cant take a lot of damage. The hinge isnt fragile like you would probably think. Dont buy this just because the keys change. Oooh yay the keys change! How cool! It gets old really fast. I miss my old chocolate2 which i think was a better phone.

Design 7/10
Features 6/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

  • Big screen, not fragile, good call quality.

Cons

  • Slow, hard to text on.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

matt Sleeth
posted on 04 Nov 2009, 00:23

9

awesome

 this is a good pick for a phone. though people say the battery life is low, big deal; just charge it while you are sleeping at night. the buttons make texting simple though it sometimes delays switching which keys show. all my friends have been amazed a how the keys switch. the text is quite easy to read and the camera is acceptable. Also when on the phone, hearing the other end is very easy. i find the outside of the phone a little useless though.overall, a great phone

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • sleek
  • good camera
  • sound
  • graphics
  • speed
  • texting on keys

Cons

  • switching from landscape to portrait for screen and keys delayed
  • outside of phone

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Glen Goodman
posted on 01 Nov 2009, 12:35

4.3

Worst phone I've ever had with VZW

I HATE HATE HATE this phone! I haven't had any problems with battery life, but I have had plenty of other issues...
Going through pictures and phone restarts, also restarts at other random times
Switching from portrait to landscape, phone stays in previous designation
While typing, skips keystrokes (almost every other sometimes!
When missed call & VM, if “View missed call” selected, phone calls VM b/c VM call option then comes up
Slow response time in general
Doesn’t read all pics on card, and puts them in total random order
I've had the phone replaced once since June for these issues, and VZW said they could replace it again with the same device since I'm still having the same issues. I feel like I got royally screwed, because the VZW sales agent at the store talked me into this phone, and said it has no issues at all. I'm still trying to see what I can do to get them to fess up to their BS mistake and give me a better device of equal value, or let me pay the promotional difference for a different phone

Design 7/10
Features 5/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • The idea behind the phone is fantastic. I text A LOT, and the battery usually lasts at least 2 or 3 days

Cons

  • functionality. basically everything OTHER THAN battery life

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Chris Burgess
posted on 08 Sep 2009, 07:11

9.3

After suffering with the Glyde, finally some relief!!!

I just got 2 of these last week in order to replace the Samsung POS Glydes we did have. I gave up on the touchscreen thing not wanting to take the chance and suffer like we did with the Glydes. We chose the Alias 2 (having to pay extra for uprgading early) but was so worth it. I don't have to worry about dealing with a lousy touchscreen. This phone does all I need and I love it.

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • looks and sounds great, awesome keyboard, not a touchscreen

Cons

  • none to speak of at this time! - just need to find an attachable cover somewhere!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ace1122
posted on 22 Aug 2009, 22:32 (Posts: 237; Member since: 23 Mar 2009)

7.7

Best phone i've had

This phone is so great. Its so customizable and it does everything i want it to and then some. The qwerty board takes a while to get used to but once you do you'll be glad you have it. i've always had normal flip phones or slider but this is so much better. its a little hard to open especially one handed and its very slick and slippery. Samsung did a great job with this one.

Design 6/10
Features 8/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Size, touch controls on front, changing keyboard, great camera, the screen, build quality

Cons

  • Slippery, 2.5mm headset jack, hard to open

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kaylin
posted on 17 Aug 2009, 00:25

5.3

hmm,not to sure.

I'm on my third one,first one,keys were broken,second one,didn't hold a charge,no service what so ever,and froze up.third one,increddible, I really see how this phone works and what it can do,Size is a little big,and grip isn't the best, but i can live with it.enjoying texting with it, Eink, does smear!. is that good?, Looks like I may have to go back to verizon soon to get my fourth, or and env phone.No damage when dropped,which for me is a good thing.
It's a pretty good phone,but impossible to find a case any ideas?

Design 6/10
Features 5/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

  • good for real texters,no damage when dropped,great picture image,and easy open

Cons

  • battery life, smearing keys,little too big and bulky,freazes much.

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Travis
posted on 05 Aug 2009, 10:42

5.7

Cool features, sucktastic battery and call quality

I've had the Alias 2 for about two months now. When I first got it, I was very impressed by the E-ink keys and other "bells and whistles" on this phone. Battery life was great - I could go 3-4 days before recharging. Call quality was very bad, compared to my old LG VX-6000, but I figured I could live with that as I wasn't really expecting it to live up to the mighty LG. I might also mention that the reception is greatly reduced compared to the LG, as well.
Fast forward to last week: I noticed that I was having to plug my Alias 2 into the charger more often than before, about once every day and a half. Left Bluetooth on accidentally? Make that every day.
And this morning: I charged this phone fully as of yesterday morning, and now it's almost completely out of juice. I might expect something like that out of a misused Ni-MH battery (battery memory and all that), but the Alias 2 uses a Li-ION battery which is supposed to be immune to that. Uhfwee? I think I'm going to see if I can swap this phone for something from LG that can actually handle apps and hold a charge. Wish me luck, since I'm about a month past Verizon's return window.

Design 7/10
Features 7/10
Performance 3/10

Pros

  • E-ink keyboard and dual-mode flip are great.
  • Texting is swift and easy w/ the full QWERTY keyboard.
  • Screen is sharp and bright.
  • Love being able to take video.
  • Tons of neat features.

Cons

  • Call quality is terrible.
  • Reception is very weak - you'll do the "searching for service" dance.
  • Battery life sucks like a box of straws.
  • Very limited apps capability.
  • Tough to open phone w/ one hand.

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

patty
posted on 25 Jul 2009, 09:57

6.7

Alias 2 battery life

Totally love this phone, but have returned it once in the first month due to the battery lasting only about 12 hours and I do not use this phone that much.  The replacement phone has the same problem.  Took it to Verizon techs who couldn't figure out the problem.  I have to keep it plugged into a charger whenever I am not using it or it will die.  I find that really irritating

Design 10/10
Features 7/10
Performance 3/10

Pros

  • e-ink
  • qwerty AND standard flip easily convert
  • great volume when using handsfree in landscape
  • screen nice and big

Cons

  • 1. BATTERY LIFE SUCKS
  • 2. the car charger cord is too short
  • 3. having to constantly have it plugged in to car charger and then not having the cord long enough to be able to use the phone
  • 4. verizon tech support inability to resolve problem

0 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

tmcb82
posted on 19 Jul 2009, 22:13

9.7

Great phone!

I am an avid texter but prrefer a flip phone but the frist Alias' keys were too small. This is the perfect fit.

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • easy to text
  • good battery
  • vivid screen
  • good reception
  • magic keypad

Cons

  • a bit heavy

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Shelby
posted on 17 Jul 2009, 00:53

8.3

Update to June 26th review

My Alias 2 will be going back to Verzion tomorrow. As I stated in my prior review, I got the phone on it's release date, upgrading from a Samsung Glyde. It is now July 17th and my camera no longer works. It will take a minute to load up, and a minute to save the picture only to tell me there is a "Camera DSP Error" and the picture will not save. It's also taking a full minute to load my pictures, only to find I can only view the ones saved to the phone as opposed to the ones on my memory card. I hope this bug is fixed in a new model because, although this is a phone and not a camera, I would like what I paid for. Oh, and I've restarted the phone everytime this happened. Before, when the problem was just occuring, it would fix it for quite sometime, but now resetting the phone fixes it for mere minutes. This is my favorite phone and I'm pretty disappointed.

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Performance 6/10

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

henry
posted on 07 Jul 2009, 12:11

10

Great phone

i recently got the glyde and hated it  so i went to verizon and  bought a alias 2 for my wife and i i love it i have had it for five weeks now  and theres nothin wrong with it i love the changeing key board The best phone i have ever owned

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • key board camra

Cons

  • nothing

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Jeffrey Young
posted on 30 Jun 2009, 13:25

5.7

Cool phone, LOUSY MP3 player

Thought this was the coolest phone . . . I hadn't had a flip phone since 1998 when I had a crummy Motorola MicroTac that kept turning itself off in my pocket. Anyways, I had this phone for three weeks. Only had 2 problems but they were MAJOR:
1. This phone sometimes stops playing music in the middle of a song, even though the time counter keeps ticking. I had similar problems with my previous phone, a Samsung SCH-u620. Is this problem a Samsung exclusive?
2. Listening to music through wired headphones sounds great, but try some Bluetooth stereo heaphones and you will be shocked at how lousy the sound quality is. What I think happened is that Samsung equalized the sound to remove the lower end bass so that the external stereo speakers wouldn't distort. Unfortunately this is the same sound that the Alias 2 sends to Bluetooth headphones. Samsung did not acknowledge the problem although I am sure they soon will.
Too this phone back and got an LG Voyager. None of these problems affect the Voyager. Adieu!

Design 9/10
Features 7/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • Cool keyboard, comfortable flip phone, nice features.

Cons

  • Cannot play music reliably and sound quality through Bluetooth stereo headphones is very tinny, lacking all bass.

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Cindy
posted on 30 Jun 2009, 07:01

8.7

nice phone

What I like about this phone is that you can read txt messages from the front screen, there's a setting that you can turn on. Much larger keys than the original alias and far less confusing getting use to it. Good sound quality, nice screen, camera is ok. The two big pet peaves I have with this phone is the battery isn't very good, only lasts maybe a day, and the outer cover is very slick, you really have to have a good grip on it or you will slide it right out of your grasp. Other than that, it's easy to use, nice to text on without being a PDA style phone, ringtones easy to get without buying them from Verizon and not too heavy or bulky to have in a pocket.

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • texting (reading texts on front screen)
  • screen
  • key size
  • sound quality

Cons

  • battery life
  • slickness of outside of phone

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 27 Jun 2009, 22:59

5.7

Clunky gimmickry but a good screen

I returned this phone within 24 hours because it's too heavy, clunky and big. The screen is beautiful. I'm an engineer and very picky:
Pros: Screen is almost 3 inches.Good camera. Neat cool factor: dual flip and e-ink. For the weight, the slim size factor doesnt feel that heavy in your pocket.
Cons: Hard to open with one hand! Hard to text with one hand! Graphics processor has a terrible time trying to keep up with demand of the large screen. Keys are too small. Keys lack haptic touch, afterall the e-ink changes, so you never know what key your pushing unless you stare at phone, which leads to car accidents and what not. Front display clock goes off and you have to press and hold one of the side buttons for the clock to show again and this takes at least 1-2 secs to appear, which is eons--unacceptable for me. When flipping with one hand (left) the phone wants to flip to the landscape instead of portrait---not good. Phone is too large. Flip mechanism is just too loose (due to the dual flip). However cool it is, I can see the e-ink messing up in a year after the phone gets damp or something, and then I have no visible keys (lol, the e-ink washes away!). Again, keys are too small and no haptic touch.

Design 4/10
Features 8/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

  • Big screen. Nice qwerty pad. Camera. Cool idea. Make it smaller and lighter and I'm sold.

Cons

  • Too big clunk and bulky. The software/graphics/interface are too slow! E-ink potentially not reliable under heavy use. Hard to flip open with one hand.

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Shelby
posted on 26 Jun 2009, 23:13

9

Love it

I got the Alias2 on it's release date. I had upgraded to a Samsung Glyde before getting this phone and as much as I liked it the touch screen was not my thing. I just thought the EInk was so cool and since the small buttons were the one thing that turned me off from the Alias I was really excited to see the button size had improved. It's been well over a month since I switched to this phone and I love it. Call quality is great, the EInk works flawlessly, and the phone feels very strudy. I've only dropped it once or twice but it has never effected the phone. When I text 3 people at a time, the EInk shift from portiat to landscape slows but that issue is easily fixed. Overall I love this phone and I don't see myself getting rid of it for a long while.

Design 10/10
Features 8/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Call Quality
  • Design
  • E-Ink
  • Look of the phone
  • The option to organize texts by sender in conversation mode!
  • Ringtone Sound Quality (it's loud!)
  • Option to pick and chose icons for short cut keys AND main menu

Cons

  • Can lag up, but easily fixed by turning the phone off and on. Doesn't happen often at all.
  • Battery life (It only lasts 24 hours for a 24/7 texter like me, but it goes two days for my mother and 4 for my sister)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories