x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Palm Treo 650 (CDMA) User Reviews

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Alex Jacuzzi
posted on 28 Mar 2008, 03:25

6.6

My 2 cents

Went through three bc of technical issues before being given one that worked on a long term basis...fortunately for me that was when sprint handed you a new phone if you had insurance and walked into a store with a broken phone. The last one sprint gave me lasted for about a year and a half before it fell off my two story roof last week and busted on the concrete of my pation. I would give this phone two thumbs up, the size bothered me, but overall I liked the phone. Being a big phone, I had a tendency of trying to pile it up with other stuff while getting out of my car with all my junk.., I have to say that it is very sturdy and lasted many a fall before comming to it's end. Having the capacity to hold a normal size memory card (...I mean as long as you have a huge phone, why not?), it makes a great audioplayer, audiobook player, pdf viewer, & text viewer. Comes with scientific calculater that is easy to use and is useful. I would say it had a great battery life, I charged it on average every four days...I loved the freedom of not worrying my battery would die...but I do like my screen heavily contrasted. Being a palm phone, I found some great software for it...I found a program that allowed you to put any media on without converting it to the right format, and than it would automatically find the program on the phone and convert it to the format. Cons: I can only think of a few things I wouldv'e wished different on this phone...the size was too large, the antenna didn't seem...  

Design 4/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 5/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Jessica
posted on 24 Mar 2008, 19:18

7

650 palm treo

My cell phone was shutting itself off at the worst possible times too. I found out that most cell phones can be set to shut off automatically if it is set to "battery saver" or "power save" they should have told you at the store and helped you with this issue. The phone will turn itself off after a certain amount of non-use to save the battery power. It really isn't a problem unless you don't know about it.

Design 7/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 7/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Guru
posted on 18 Feb 2006, 20:34

10

No Complaint - I'm thrilled

On the GSM network my Treo 650 has been great. If you're adding software to it you want to be sure that you use that which was written for the 650 as 600 software will sometimes cause your rebooting. I've tweaked so many of the features on this thing that it's like a part of me now. This phone replaced my Kyocera 7135 which didn't have GSM capabilities where I'm at. The 650 is TOPS!!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Mgregg
posted on 11 Jan 2006, 18:34

7.8

good phone on the right network.

This is a great phone if you get it on the right network. The treo 650 exists on the cdma 800-900 band in the verizon version.
I have a half dozen friends with this phone. Most on verizon. one on cingular, one on sprint, and one on another gsm carrier. The rf performance is rather poor on the gsm and sprint treo's(possibly a 2 or 2.5). But the phone is very useable on the lower frequency verizon network(between 3.5 and 4.5)

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 6/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Dave
posted on 23 Nov 2005, 14:29

6.2

Very Disappointed

I have for years mlooked forward to a combination palm pilot/phone/camera/etc device and thought that since this was the second iteration of the palm phone they would surely have the bug worked out. I travel constantly and require a dependable phone and PDA. This device is neither. It is the second one I have had (the first I returned to the store the 3rd day I had it. The phone shuts itself off arbitrarily, without warning, so I just miss calls. Hot sync works about 20% of the time. Blue tooth is extremely quirky. The palm just locks up and/or reboots whenever it feels the need, often during important phone calls.

Fortunatly, Cingular is in short supply and has offered me the new HP instead. Hope it's better.

Design 6/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 5/10
Value for money 3/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Dr. Mert
posted on 11 Nov 2005, 10:39

8.2

Not Bad

I am really looking forward to the next edition. This phone has worked well for me. It does at time loose it's signal, but I don't believe it is the phones fault. I would certainly buy another one.

Design 10/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 7/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Glen
posted on 17 Oct 2005, 12:57

5

Good Features but the reception is horrible!

The features that palm offered on this phone are great and it seems to run very well. The reception is poor, there seems to be a permanent echo, and it cuts in and out. If you're on the phone alot, I DO NOT recommend this phone. Get a PDA and a good cell phone.

Design 8/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 3/10
Signal Strength 3/10
Value for money 4/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

tester
posted on 31 May 2005, 14:34

6.4

Too Many Issues

I'm testing this product for the company I work for to see if we should add support for it. What a pain! Although aesthetics are nice and it's fairly easy to use - especially if you're graduating from a Palm PDA, it's just way too flaky. "Soft Crashes" are fairly common and in the week I've had it, I've also had 2 hard crashes where I had to completely start over. Once they get the bugs out, this will be nice, but for now, I'd save my money on this lemon.

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 5/10
Signal Strength 5/10
Value for money 5/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Ed
posted on 30 May 2005, 11:26

7

Think Twice Before Buying (Maybe 3 times)

Does not sync with ACT!. Think twice before buying if you are an ACT! user. No value for those of us that use ACT!. ACT! (Best Software) has not posted an upgrade for ACT Link.

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 5/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

algorithmfreak
posted on 12 Apr 2005, 10:43

6

This treo rocks

I am a network tech at a hospital and we have a treo 650 this phone is awsome works with almost any web application we build or maintain our administration loves this phone and wants nothing more due to all there apps are email and a webcal that can be accessed through the web interface we have tried this on the dell axiom 624 MHz Axim X50v Handheld and it is even close to this treo this is the only phone that will allow our web interface to display properly i want to give a HUGE THANK YOU TO THE DEVELOPEMENT TEAMS INVOLVED IN THIS DEVICE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Design 6/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 6/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

fl
posted on 27 Feb 2005, 17:09

4.4

Terrible

The phone quality and reception is terrible. When I try to use RealPlayer, it locks up the phone and I have to reset. It takes way too many keystrokes to get things done. Very complicated compared to my old phone and even compare to my old palm pilot. If I hadn't spent so much money, I would trash it and go back to a phone with separate palm pilot.

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 2/10
Signal Strength 2/10
Value for money 2/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

crich30
posted on 15 Feb 2005, 15:31

6

Verizon???

Does anyone know when Verizon will be getting this phone? I demonstrated one last week and loved it. The functionality is great. I use ACT a lot and I think this phone will allow me to sync with ACT and receive emails. The only concern I have is the battery life.

Design 6/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 6/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

LCNYC
posted on 22 Dec 2004, 08:09

6

Good be better..

It is a well designed phone, but it does have its flaws. 1st off reception is horrible I have had sprint phones for a while and where I live and work I never have droped calles or have poor reception. With this phone I am always losing calls. It tends to feeze alot when using any application. Battery life is pretty good. I use it all day to talk and check email using the new versamail which is a good feature on this phone. By the end of the day still have some battery life. Resolution is great compared to the old 600. Lighted key pad also much better then the older model.
Well in any case, the phone is over all well designed and easy to use. Just something about recepton on this thing is not all that great.

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 6/10
Signal Strength 4/10
Value for money 4/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories