x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia X2-01 User Reviews

8.7 Based on 12 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Everyday usage9.5/10
UI speed8.7/10
Camera3.8/10
Multimedia8.8/10
Internet8.4/10
Call quality9.3/10
Battery9.4/10
Reception9.7/10
Display9.3/10
Build quality9.2/10
Text input9.8/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

alexhak
posted on 24 Sep 2013, 00:46 (Posts: 0; Member since: 23 Sep 2013)

8

Decent enough as a simple phone, if you can find it cheaply, but you're better off with a Nokia Asha

alexhak has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Despite the lack of a GPS, wifi, onboard storage or dedicated RAM to run software, & a camera of respectable quality (though it doesn't have that annoying shutter sound, makes for excellent quick snaps, ok night photography, & records-until-you-run-out-of-storage video), this phone makes a great backup, starter, or just plain simple phone. It's perfect for messaging via SMS/MMS, but has limitations with email (can't properly scroll through HTML-formatted MMS/emails). The lack of a Spyware/Bloatware OS or a touchscreen is a welcome "feature". If you're actually considering buying this, reconsider a Nokia Asha, such as the Asha 200/300 series. Some feature wifi, better cameras, an improved form of the Symbian OS, etc.

I use it as a microblogging/messaging device, a secondary to my primary mobile, a Nokia E73, which I consider to be excellent, despite limitations, even in 2013.

It's tough finding good/decent QWERTY bar phones that feature a d-pad, decent onboard memory, & other features, but the Nokia X2-01 does better than some alternatives.

A bit of clear nail polish on all of the keys is a good idea, as heavy typing can wear them down. The processor's a bit of a mystery, but regular backups & clearing out messages keeps it running decently well.

Build quality 9/10 Takes a serious beating. Multiple drops, operating in rain, etc.
Reception 9/10 Works decently well in most areas, even in buildings. Since it's limited to GPRS/EDGE, one can't be much frustrated when they are out of range of high-speed mobile data service.
Call quality 8/10 No major problems
Internet 7/10 For the kind of browsing you'd be doing on this device, the GPRS/EDGE speed limitations aren't much to complain about. It renders pages snappily enough via Opera Mini. Email / MMS / IM is good, as are the inbuilt social networking systems (the Nokia facebook interface is far superior to the actual program produced by Facebook, for example.)
Multimedia 9/10 It can play youtube videos fairly decently, for those into that sort of thing. MP3/Radio (it can use the headphones as an antenna & transmit FM radio over the robust & sonorous loudspeaker) playing is great.
Camera 3/10 Low-resolution, but great for fast pictures. If you want good pictures, use a real camera. A cell-phone is no replacement.
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 10/10 Comfortable keyboard, silent typing.
Display 8/10
Battery 10/10 Even with heavy GPRS/EDGE radio use, it lasts for quite a while.

Pros

  • FM Radio
  • Excellent (quiet) QWERTY keyboard
  • No Touchscreen (for those who think such things are horrid & overrated)
  • Excellent music player & loudspeaker
  • Good internet experience with Opera
  • Good messaging (features
  • Long battery life
  • simple, effective Nokia design
  • MicroSD expansion (tested up to 32gb)
  • Durable

Cons

  • Doesn't charge via USB
  • Camera (low resolution & no flash)
  • can get slow if you don't clear out messages, etc.
  • Low system memory onboard (shared between RAM for running the OS, phone features, & user-installed software) which necessitates use of an SD card for storage of as much as possible. Still, it has more RAM than other
  • No ampersand on the keyboard
  • A little unnecessasrily bulky
  • No GPS
  • No WiFi
  • Limited software offerings

alexhak alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

DaniaWania
posted on 01 Jan 2012, 13:40 (Posts: 0; Member since: 01 Jan 2012)

8

Great Functionality and Durability for the cost

DaniaWania has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone is great for people who need a basic phone with some addition featured common in smart phones - without paying the smart phone price.

I personally have all the features and functions I need, minus WIFI connectivity and a WORD Document reader/editor.

It gets the job done and more!
I am not a person into upgrading every few years, I think this will be one of my die hard phones like my old Nokia 1100 :). Must update if it proves otherwise.

Build quality 10/10 This phone falls from me all the time. May shell out but I never have a problem and never worry about it being destroyed with a fall. Though I panicked when this happened, I got water spilt on the phone... no issues still (though I am not saying it water proof). This phone lives up the Nokia name, very strong, and heavy duty for the people who don't like babying their phones.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10 When have I ever had an issue with a phone call quality though?
Internet 7/10 I use UC 7.8 My only complaint is that there are some pages that will not load on the phone (not sure what format it is exactly). Its very rare that I stumble on a page that cannot be viewed though so this really doesn't pose a problem.
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 4/10 Be thankful that it has a camera lol. Its crappy quality, but with good lighting its photos and videos are actually quite okay. I do not rely on my phone for these functions but its good if I want to take some candids when my actual camera is not on hand.
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 I love the QWERTY pad, very easy to use for my fingers and its easy to build up speed with it.
Display 7/10 Of course its not high gloss HD like an android but its not simply a coloured screen.
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Cost
  • Durability
  • Many compatible apps available on OVI store

Cons

  • Loudspeaker volume is very good, but quality is not the best (if you care)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Tj
posted on 09 Jul 2011, 15:27

8

Mr.

Tj has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Best mobile i ever used in its category. just could be better off with wifi, abetter camera 3.2mp, better internet browsing.a bigger screen would be nice but alast for such a cheap phone its value for price. Great job from nokia. Hope to see these improvements on next x2

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 2/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Subhranil
posted on 03 Jul 2011, 14:09

10

Deb

Subhranil has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

the look of the phone is good, although the camera is not so good. Surfing net in this phone is very easy and comfortable. Overall this is a very good phone. Nokia is the best. ................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

larbear
posted on 10 Jun 2011, 23:58

9

good phone

larbear has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

like all the other comments: camera is ok, I would pay a few more $ for a better camera 2.0+ , volume rocker and speakerphone and 3g-- I like the qwerty keyboard yes I have big fingers. Why can I not get the ovi store to download apps like the Nokia maps?

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 3/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • ability to customize keys, good size for my old hands

Cons

  • camera, lack of 3g , speakerphone

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

xjep25
posted on 08 Jun 2011, 15:58

9

Nice Phone!!!!

xjep25 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The nokia x2-01 isnt a bad phone, yes its too big but its still has a lot of the same functions that a blackberry would have. I hate the camera and that the video mode is only 5 seconds long, everything else is good. I love the texting and the calling. The internet is okay. I would love a blackberry. the keyboard is very nice too.

Build quality 7/10 The phone is too big.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 2/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Texting
  • Calling
  • Music Player
  • Internet
  • Facebook
  • Notes
  • Keyboard
  • Games

Cons

  • Camera
  • Video Player

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Shabbir
posted on 17 May 2011, 04:13

9

X2-01 the best and cheap product by the nokia

Shabbir has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I am using x2-01. this is one of the best cell phone i ever have...I am fall in love with this nokia X2-01...Have great battery back up..very good internet...best keypad...best display...support too many application..ya but there are some cons are there like it has vga camera..the music is average.....................................................................................................................................

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 3/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jet
posted on 14 Apr 2011, 01:09

9

nokia x2-01 the best phone i ever have!

jet has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

the first time i saw it i really fell in love with it. i used plenty of brands and models before name it i had it! but this nokia x2-01 is extremely awesome! all the menus and its features are really usable unlike those other brands and models that has plenty of apps which you cannot use actually. wifi? so what if theres none. you cant use it naman at home since there's no wifi nor internet connection and if ever there is, it is password protected so it will be useless. its screen is bright even at direct sunlight unlike those of touchscreen phones. so go ahead get yours and i assure you wont regret.

Build quality 9/10 though its plastic, it is solidly built
Reception 10/10 it has a strong signal
Call quality 9/10 clear reception
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 5/10 average. but its ok. cellphones is for txt and calling and not for taking pics.
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 superb! it screen is brighter even at direct sunlight
Battery 10/10 mine last 4-5 days

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Usman khaldi
posted on 06 Apr 2011, 22:28

8

i am useing nokia x2-01

Usman khaldi has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

it is a very good cell phone for facebook users it helps me i every where to useing me facebook.............Thanks Nokia for this cell phone
i have some suggestions for nokia
plz launch an other vision of nokina x2-02
in which build in Camara flash and 3g network avilabe,,,,
ur sall will be double...................
Thanks...............................................

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 6/10
Camera 3/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • keyboard
  • no usb charging

Cons

  • no 3g

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Ali tariq
posted on 08 Mar 2011, 02:21

7

Nokia X2-01

Ali tariq has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Nokia x2-01 is surprisingly the best budgeted phone nokia has ever launched. it has a qwerty keyboard which is really nice. the buttons are a little harder but works. the sound of the buttons is pretty annoying. the voice quality is also good. display is average. supports upto 8g.b. camera totally sucks. they shud have given it with atleast 1.3 megapixel. the camera is really disappointing. phone has some awsome killer looks. its size and everything, its pretty sexy. ;) and the best thing, battery timing is extremely perfect. takes sometime to get fully charged but gives u the best payback it can!! i'd prefer this phone to every teenager out there, its made for us!! anybody who cannot afford an expensive phone, nokia x2-01 is the phone u want. buy it, enjoy it, love it. peace out. ;)

Build quality 7/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 1/10 camera isnt woth rating to be honest
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 8/10
Display 7/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • qwerty
  • music
  • looks
  • style
  • size
  • colour

Cons

  • vga camera

Ali tariq alternatives:

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Vinay Kumar
posted on 04 Mar 2011, 12:11

10

Good Music.Better Internet.Best Budget Qwerty Phone

Vinay Kumar has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................Baby I like it .. I am in luv with this phone better than samsung ch@t 322...

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Good Qwerty
  • Net Speed is AWESOME
  • Good Music
  • Ovi stores offers good music

Cons

  • No 3g or wifi

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Shashank Shet
posted on 04 Mar 2011, 12:06

9

Phone is a Budget phone and this phone is for youngsters .

Shashank Shet has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

A very cool phone! Its very cheap & Good ~ If you need a phone below 4000 Go for this.
Its Better than Samsung Champ, Ch@t 322 and Corby ! The Net speed of this phone is Undoubtedly Unquestionable 100% ROCK ! If you want to buy a good qwerty phone go for this or Samsung Chat 335 !

Build quality 10/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 3/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Very good Qwerty Keypad
  • Very good Music
  • Cheap Phone
  • Very good internet
  • Better than Samsung Ch@t 322

Cons

  • Vga Camera

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories