x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia N9 User Reviews

9.7 Based on 11 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Everyday usage9.6/10
UI speed9.7/10
Camera9.7/10
Multimedia9.6/10
Internet9.7/10
Call quality9.9/10
Battery9.5/10
Reception9.8/10
Display9.8/10
Build quality9.9/10
Text input9.7/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

divino1234
posted on 17 Jul 2013, 02:45 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 Jul 2013)

10

Simple UI (Nokia N9)

divino1234 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

N9 has a good design, good camera, good UI, good procie...
Beautifully crafted
Simple social life
a clever tile interface
the simple Swype UI than Z10
I say this without any qualification: the Nokia N9 is beautiful. Everything about this phone’s design exudes elegance and harmony. Lines flow seamlessly into one another, fit and finish is perfect, and the feel in the hand is sublime. Aside from the intentionally squared off top and bottom, there are no straight edges on the N9. It’s evocative of supercar design in the way it simply transitions from one curve to another, albeit in the pursuit of a cohesive, unified look rather than aerodynamic excellence.

Build quality 10/10 had a strong structure
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10 simple using, but sometimes lack :(
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Beautiful craft
  • 8.0 megapixel camera
  • standby : 340 h
  • sharp display
  • long life battery
  • Swype UI
  • had many featured

Cons

  • apps

divino1234 alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

jimpy77
posted on 15 Jun 2013, 12:21 (Posts: 1; Member since: 15 Jun 2013)

10

the phone that should have lived.....

jimpy77 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I will agree with pretty much all the above. Note that the front camera is now working (free app) and OPERA internet answers browsing speeds issue. I much prefer this to my iphone 5, the UI being instinctive and sorely missed on everything else. Oh and Flash is now supported. Please Nokia, drop microsoft and go back to linux!!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • better UI than any other

Cons

  • lack of further apps

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ArtSim98
posted on 05 Mar 2013, 11:43 (Posts: 1120; Member since: 21 Dec 2012)

9

Awesome quality!

ArtSim98 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The Nokia N9 is an interesting phone. It has a very simple and unique design. Of course now the Lumias have the same design language. The built quality just can't be better! It's made in Finland, and the polycarbonate body is very sturdy. Battery could be a little bit better, but I can run it a day. The screen is sensitive enough, and it has a good pixel density. The colours and viewing angles are also very good. The camera takes good pictures, and it has decent night time abilities. Would be nice to have ability to shoot 1080p videos, but the 720p is still very good. The Meego operating system is a very nice concept and it runs very smoothly most of the time. But unfortunately it's still a bit halfway ready. So it's buggy. And it doesn't have a good selection of apps, but at least I can live with it pretty easily. And of course it has some very good apps. Meego looks nice and it's easy to use but still fun. So not like the super boring IOS. I'm also very impressed by the internet browser of the N9. It's probably the smoothest and best part of the phone. It doesn't have flash, but you can download Firefox (it sucks). The call quality and reception are very good. So the basic phone features are very good. I suggest this phone to everyone who want's to have something different. But of course it would be smarter to go with the newer Lumias since N9 is a bit outdated already. Great phone overall but would need some pretty big software improvements. Oh, I forgot to mention about the...  

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 7/10 I gave it only 7 because it is buggy. Most of the time pretty smooth.
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Design
  • Built quality
  • Camera
  • Unique operating system
  • Call quality
  • Screen

Cons

  • Occasionally buggy operating system

ArtSim98 alternatives:

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ANTIABE
posted on 08 Feb 2013, 10:57 (Posts: 0; Member since: 08 Feb 2013)

10

6310 reincarnation

ANTIABE has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

in the world of full phones with all inclusive the nokia n9 remain the only swiss knife of all androids and ios and the rests of low species. Like a kind an a true hero his short life on the market remain imortall for who respect the true quality and no compromise phones. Weel done Nokia. i hope the n9 is not the last battle song of you!

Build quality 10/10 very strong
Reception 10/10 no problems
Call quality 10/10 amazing
Internet 10/10 smoothnest
Multimedia 10/10 all you need
Camera 10/10 very good for me
UI speed 10/10 flawless
Everyday usage 10/10 no problem,no stops or restarts
Text input 10/10 very smooth. iphone input or samsung s 3 is rookie
Display 10/10 bright and superb
Battery 10/10 for 2 days usage is the best

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

lamecyabre
posted on 18 Dec 2012, 15:24 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Dec 2012)

10

Follow your heart ! (and mind) ;-)

lamecyabre has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I bought my Nokia N9 more than a year ago, notwithstanding all kinds of snide and sarcastic remarks and reviews. It turned out to be one of the best decisions of my life. People say: "Nokia N9 ? Poor applications, dead operation system, blah, blah..."

All this evaporates once you begin playing with the toy. It is the simplest, sexiest and most user friendly phone. Period...

All my friends have iPhones and Samsung Galaxys. They paid a fortune to buy them. Nonsense !

I am not interested in billions of "fart-apps" or silly games !

What I need is a ligtning fast, stable, reliable, sturdy, user-friendly smartphone with all the high quality applications and social networks built in.

Moreover, Nokia N9 has a lovely "swipe" action. No other smartphone has it.

It is a pure joy to use this phone. You can easily customise it too.

All in all, I'm a satisfied customer and I wholeheartedly recommend it.

Don't be distracted by what others say. Follow your heart

You won't regret it at all...

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Excellent hardware / software
  • Ultimate user-friendly smartphone
  • Simply addictive !

Cons

  • Presumably "poor applications" (actually, all the high quality apps are already built-in and/or available in the OVI Store.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

i990r
posted on 15 Aug 2012, 07:20 (Posts: 0; Member since: 15 Aug 2012)

10

the best meego phone

i990r has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This is the best phone I ever had in my hands, I love this phone. Big screen. Despite nokia not announced fm transmitter, they have it. from this model, I become a fan meego. UI is very simple and fast. Terminal with root access.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Meego OS
  • Amoled display

Cons

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

WWEraw
posted on 04 Jul 2012, 13:52 (Posts: 3; Member since: 30 Jun 2012)

10

My first nokia smart phone and touchscreen phone

WWEraw has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

It`s a simple good smart phone .
made in finland ( quality!!! ) .
I`m proud of this nokia best nokia phone ever .
It works smoothly and it is easy to use .
No bug like nokia n8 :D
Better than other OS MeeGo ! simmple OS to use .

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10 it takes good pictures and videos
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • camera
  • battery
  • front camera
  • screen
  • UI
  • meego

Cons

  • not mutch apps

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

CLINTONW25
posted on 04 May 2012, 09:46 (Posts: 38; Member since: 14 Jun 2011)

10

The best phone I ever had

CLINTONW25 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The Nokia n9 is amazing. The design of the phone is truly brilliant and the UI is simply amazing. the battery life is very excellent and it last for about 2 days on stand by and a day and a half when using it heavy. This is what Nokia should have went with instead of windows.

Build quality 10/10 The build is amazing
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • CBD SCREEN
  • 64GB storage
  • swipe UI
  • stylish design

Cons

  • Not a lot of apps

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ucancallmenickk
posted on 26 Mar 2012, 17:54

9

My favorite phone in a long time

ucancallmenickk has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I bought this phone because of it's beautiful design and I liked it better than the Lumia 800, but the phone is more beautiful in person. It's been worth the $480 price tag since day one and it being blue is even better. I was getting sick of the old iPhone OS on my white 4 and wanted something fresh, exclusive, and well constructed, don't hesitate! It's an awesome phone!

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Back Camera and it's speed
  • Design
  • Cyan color
  • UI
  • Customizability is between iPhone & Android
  • Works with my Mac
  • Exclusivity
  • Build quality
  • OVI Radio
  • Nokia Drive

Cons

  • Front camera basically useless
  • No Shazam like app
  • Cheap flap for usb connection on phone
  • Nokia Drive acts up and loses signal occasionally
  • No warranty

ucancallmenickk alternatives:

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

blakkpanter
posted on 07 Jan 2012, 08:47 (Posts: 3; Member since: 07 Jan 2012)

10

Love it!

blakkpanter has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

There are a few features missing that i had on my N900 but im confident the community will bring out solutions fast enough. The only thing i'm really missing is the FM transmitter though. Apart from that it looks good, feels good and the swipe has become a natural thing to do. (Find myself even trying to swipe on other phones). And thanks to the developer mode and terminal there are almost no limits to what u can do with the phone.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10 Touchscreen keyboards are never the same but this one is one of the best
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10 It could always be better but it lasts me atleast a day despite intensive usage. Surely no worse than the competition.

Pros

  • It can only get better and better

Cons

  • No Fm transmitter

blakkpanter alternatives:

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Racse
posted on 16 Nov 2011, 14:11 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 Nov 2011)

9

Amazing.

Racse has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This phone is really hard to be rated... The UI is so fast, beautiful and loveable that it seriously pains me to think that there are not gonna be anymore of this type of phones. Sure it has it's (very minor) flaws, most of them i listed below; but the only major one is that Ovi store's app supply is kinda insufficent for the reason of app developers not wanting to make apps for a dead OS... There are a lot of good ones in there though.

Anyway. Just for the fun of being an individualist by owning a one-of-a-kind phone, i'd suggest buying it. You will love it.

Build quality 10/10 Looks gorgeous and even after over a month of usage, it still looks like i bought it 3 hours ago
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10 I have had some problems with calls a couple of times, but there really isn't any evidence of this being because of my phone.
Internet 8/10 Smooth and fast. Only downside is that there is a lot of checkerboarding when browsing through bigger pages
Multimedia 8/10 everything works well, but it isn't able to play 720p video at all and no equalizer for the music player.
Camera 9/10 Touch to focus could work slightly better when taking macro shots, but the picture guality is phenomenal and it can take pics extremely fast
UI speed 10/10 I can barely keep up with it's speed
Everyday usage 9/10 No fatal flaws and all the necessary features are there, Backed with amazing speed and a fun UI.
Text input 9/10 It couldn't be more accurate, but minor downsides are the lack of arrowkeys and having to hold down A and O to get Ä and Ö
Display 9/10 Great in every way. But i'd like the resolution to be slightly higher
Battery 10/10 I wish i could rate this higher. Even with the heaviest usage i can think of, i can't get it from 100 % to lower than 20 % in one day.

Pros

  • Too many to list

Cons

  • No 720p video playback

Racse alternatives:

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories