x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia N97 User Reviews

6.6 Based on 19 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Camera6/10
Multimedia8/10
Internet5/10
Call quality7/10
Battery7/10
Reception9/10
Display7/10
Build quality4/10
Text input9/10
Everyday usage7/10
UI speed6/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

virgoshaka
posted on 13 Jun 2012, 16:22 (Posts: 2; Member since: 13 Jun 2012)

7

If you have it, dont dispose it. Improvise it

virgoshaka has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

N97 isn't that bad. Just put a Cooked CFW into it, I personally Like AJ23 S3 V4

IT made it faster, a better gallery, You can install any app / game , Transfer jar and sis files via BT and doesn't give you the reset now and then or blank screen.

I give it a 7 out of 10

Build quality 4/10 Heavy, thick, Battery is too big. Slow Processor for this kind of cellphone
Reception 9/10 Haven't had trouble with reception so far
Call quality 7/10 Doesn't have surround sound but it works.
Internet 5/10 I don't like the built in Browser, so I stick to installing one.
Multimedia 8/10 It has Real Player on it, find a good converter and you'll get high quality videos.
Camera 6/10 I like the photos taken during the day where theres a lot of light. Sucks taking pictures in the dark.
UI speed 6/10 Default software is slow, but flash a CFW on it and you're good.
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 9/10 Querty is great, saves you a lot of time tapping on the screen.
Display 7/10 Might not have the brightest crispy screen but its decent. You can look at your menu even on sunlight
Battery 7/10 1500 mAh is aright, gives me about 5 hours of gaming. which isn't bad.

Pros

  • 32g Mass Memory Included
  • User Friendly Querty
  • FM radio Transmitter
  • Charging while connected to USB (unlike Most Nokias)

Cons

  • Thick, Heavy
  • Slow Processor
  • No Graphics Accelerator
  • Camera Should have been at least 7 mp
  • Camera Metal Cover Scratches the surface thus making your Pics appear part white

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Joe Scope
posted on 12 Sep 2010, 16:52

3.3

Good CV doesn't mean it'll do the job

 The phone has a brilliant feature list, and will look very appealing on paper, but when it comes to using it, it can be one of the most frustrating phones made in a long long time. Even after two major firmware overhauls, the operating system is unstable at best and will reset at least once every ten minutes you spend on an internet application. The design isn't terrible, but my personal N97 is looking a little sickly thanks to a few encounters with a wall after just one too many software crashes.As a camera, it's pretty decent, as a music player, it is okay so long as you don't plug it into your car's stereo. As a phone, it is almost entirely useless. messaging is about as functional as the first nokias ever were: it's stable, mostly, but hasn't improved in over 5 years. Sending and receiving calls is a nightmare, if it is forgetting your contacts or not being able cancel out of the call dropped tone so you can get on with your life, this phone will annoy the hell out of you.All in all a poor performance from what was set to be their n95 replacement as the flagship device.

Design 4/10
Features 5/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • Camera, sometimes.
  • Sharp screen, when it wakes up.
  • 32gigs, not that it's capable of doing much with it.

Cons

  • Doesn't, in all honesty, work

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Jaco Laubscher
posted on 23 May 2010, 10:18

3.3

Rubbish - I Agree

Freezing constantly.
Key lock broke off.
Can't end a call because the screen is blank for at least 15 sec after the call.
You are constantly waitng for the phone to wake-up, maybe it is made for people that think slowly, but for anybody with a bit of motivation in life, this is a frustration.

Don't go near this phone. !!!!

Design 1/10
Features 8/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • Keyboard
  • Big screen

Cons

  • Everything else

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Kazi Shantonu
posted on 13 Apr 2010, 07:32

7.7

Best Nseries phone!

Well, this phone is good for playing music. The best is that it has 32 GB of mass memory. It has also got a 5 Mega Pixels Camera with Carl Zeiss optics with Dual LED flash. One more thing i liked about this is that it has got a FM Transmitter buit-in. So you can play your music collection on your car without needing to buy a separate FM transmitter.I recommend this phone for teenagers.--Kazi Shantonu

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Performance 6/10

Pros

  • 5 Mega Pixels Camera with Carl Zeiss Optics
  • Full QWERTY keyboard, easy to use
  • 32 GB of mass memory
  • Web browsing and watching videos on the large screen is delight

Cons

  • Limited video codecs supported
  • Automatically connects to WiFi nearby, can't disconnected
  • Unwanted screen orientation rotation automatically

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Alana
posted on 03 Jan 2010, 12:08

5.7

Rubbish

What a load of rubbish. Phone is big and bulky and is difficult to use with one hand. Phone crashed so many times and most times the alarm didn't go off so I was late for work! Nokia N97 Mini is so much better it's a lot smaller, sleeker and the software has been updated so it doesn't crash.

Design 5/10
Features 7/10
Performance 5/10

Pros

  • Qwety keyboard, camera

Cons

  • bulky, alarm clock (doesn't work), battery life

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

John H
posted on 02 Dec 2009, 15:23

6

I DO NOT RECOMMEND THE NOKIA N97

I bought the N97 two days ago after what I thought would be a great phone after reading many positive reviews, but my personal experience was very different. The N97 turned out to be a nightmare and I suffered it twice freezing, needing to hard reset it twice and eventually losing the wi-fi connection on it. I DO NOT RECOMMEND buying the N97, I had great respect for Nokia before, but not anymore, they don't even bother to place on their website or operating manual how to hard reset the N97, which I suppose needs to be done when the phone freezes. Or am I just very unlucky???? In any case, this is not the phone for me, and I advise prospective buyers to see other options first, or suffer the consequences.

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • -Stylish
  • - Very light

Cons

  • - Very unreliable
  • - Freezes
  • - Hard reset unfreezes (eventually), but at price of losing apps and settings, being stressed and most valuable of all: Time.

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

baswm
posted on 25 Nov 2009, 10:10

10

amazing phone try it you will love its design screen
but lack of ram multi tasking likee n900
Great phone.  Can be set up as a social networking device or a powerful business tool.  Flip out keyboard is amazing, plus you can still write text in the old standard number keypad form.  Lots of memory, lots of options.  Build quality is superb

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • all

Cons

  • no

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

beanladen
posted on 16 Nov 2009, 10:23

10

I love it! I really love it

Amazing phone
Excelent phone
It's the best phone ever!!!!!!!!
I like it
I love it
Good camera..
Very big touch screen and very responsive..
Great applications..
Very fast phone.. The phone is very fast and responsive
I can't find the problem with it

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Design
  • QWERTY Keypad
  • 32 GB Space
  • GPS + Nokia Maps Navigation
  • Fantastic Display
  • Full browser with Flash Lite
  • 5mp Carl Zeiss Camera
  • Loads of Applications
  • Cons
  • Resistive Touch screen
  • 3rd party Application still in nascent stage

Cons

  • nothing

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Blurred78
posted on 13 Oct 2009, 01:24

9.7

N97- Too goog to be true

 Amazing phone. Have been using it or about a month now. Initially was skeptical as many people on the net seemed inclined towards either the iphone or the Palm/ HTC lineups. However, I am sure those are also great phones no doubt but the Nokia N97 is a truly fantastic device. It can do everything that I used to do on my laptop. Nokia firmware updates keep their phones improving all the time. Nokia as such ensures that the customer  gets what they have paid for even though sometimes a bit late. However, there is no doubt that with N97 rest assured you can have a device that will grow on you and keep getting richer in content by the day.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Design
  • QWERTY Keypad
  • 32 GB Space
  • GPS + Nokia Maps Navigation
  • Fantastic Display
  • Full browser with Flash Lite
  • 5mp Carl Zeiss Camera
  • Loads of Applications

Cons

  • Resistive Touch screen
  • 3rd party Application still in nascent stage

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

dblue45
posted on 26 Aug 2009, 11:29 (Posts: 77; Member since: 26 Aug 2009)

10

Fantastic phone!!

This phone has a Big and a very sensitive touche screen... I'd give the camera a 9/10....... the flash is good and the massive 32GB is worth use the extra advantage is that you can also use another micro sd upto 16GB...... the phone is very fast and responsive.... who says its not worth the money you give for it? Obviously it is! Therefore it is a fantastic smart phone...

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Good camera..
  • Very big touch screen and very responsive..
  • Great applications..
  • Very fast phone...

Cons

  • Its kind of thick...

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

apox
posted on 16 Aug 2009, 20:14

9.7

excelent phone

I don' know why many of you are complaining. This is a very excelent phone with great camera nice apps and so much phone memory, the only problem i cuold find it is that softwer freezes up but that only happends once a month maybe so it's no big deal.

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • great camera
  • nice apps
  • so much phone memory ( up to 48 GB )
  • good sensitivity of touch screen
  • battery durability

Cons

  • not much really minor feature setbacks

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 31 Jul 2009, 20:25

1

this phone isn't worth the money you get more bang for you buck from other phones. this one is over priced. the Palm pre is better in so many ways. i regret buying this phone. it's just packed with all the original nokia stuff and nothing. also not enough RAM. they could've opted for less internal hard drive space and more RAM for better operation of the unit. The processor could've been faster.

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

Cons

  • lack of ram
  • processor could've been better.

7 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

wHiZ GeEk
posted on 26 Jul 2009, 12:59

9.3

Cool Fone

The n97 is truly a gud fone. Might have it's own downsides of being underpowered and expensive nut I think it serves it up with the gamut of features that it comes with. It is truly an all in 1 fone. I would recomeend this. Being a mobile tester myself, I put this thro'the worst stress tests and I must say that the fone has fared pretty well. Can hardly feel it's underpowered. I'd recommend this. Thise who have problems, pls back up the data & get the latest firmware upated.

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • Features packed.

Cons

  • Negligible.

14 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

youngbrigadier
posted on 24 Jul 2009, 07:19 (Posts: 0; Member since: 14 Jul 2009)

10

very good phone with powerful hardware & functions

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • memory
  • style
  • screen

Cons

4 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 16 Jul 2009, 09:13

1

why bad phone make nokia? no good. screen damage easili. my phone break in one week. why, becasue phone make very bad. nokia dont put proper make in phone. they make phone like cheese. very soft can squish with hand.

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

Cons

  • SQUISH!!! phone good bye

6 out of 57 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 05 Jul 2009, 20:25

1

nokia is still garbage. i mean ppl only suck up to them because their phones contain so much. And much of what it contains is junk. everything is in there but they all barely work efficiently. the 5mpx cam is worthless, the auto function blows and the dual-led doesn't do much. munually having to set the camera everytime is annoying. the sharpness of the pictures is that great. Sony tops them in this department. the loudness and clarity of the receiver is just on par. Motorola out ranks them here. the phone is just an N95 made touch. IT'S A**.

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

7 out of 55 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 19 Jun 2009, 05:37

1

nokia make bad phone

i buy phone, no like it. it very bad. too much slow. no good slide. battery over heat and cause phone crash. why nokia make only garbage? screen is bad, it need have more pixel and be more bright. touch screen is no good. dual led no make good flash. camera picture quality bad and grainy. my old phone do the better job. why nokia no improve? Nokia make apple shItPHONE look good. that very bad. me don't like that

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

13 out of 92 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 11 Jun 2009, 15:00

10

Amazing phone,indeed it looks like underpower,its preett speed and has many functions and a big memory.The display is huge,the OS is amazing and the big memory is a great step from Nokia!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Slide and tilt QWERTY keyboard
  • Big display
  • 32 GB of internal memory
  • Speed performance
  • Great look
  • Great bunch of connections and FM transmitter!

Cons

  • The size
  • The thick
  • The underpowered processor (no problem with this)
  • Resistive touchscreen
  • Underpowered camera!

39 out of 52 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Findex Sha
posted on 26 Dec 2008, 15:56 (Posts: 1; Member since: 25 Dec 2008)

9.7

An excelent touchscreen

The N97 is the second of the touchscreen phone company Nokia, and although they are slightly more expensive than its predecessor, is much better equipped than the 5800 Xpress Music. Its exterior makes it very attractive, 5 MPX camera, full QWERTY keyboard, large screen (640x360) and a design that gives the appearance of notebook. Its interior is also good: 32 GB of internal memory, Wi-Fi, a-GPS integrated and Nokia Maps. It is also compatible with Flash Lite, which gives you maximum compatibility website. The only thing that should improve its width is the n97 is too thick. However, this does not remove large his attributes.

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • 5 MPX camera, full QWERTY keyboard, large screen (640x360), 32 GB of internal memory, Wi-Fi, a-GPS integrated and Nokia Maps.

Cons

  • Too thick.

46 out of 74 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy This Phone

Latest stories