x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia N96 User Reviews

6.8 Based on 7 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Build quality9/10
Text input10/10
Everyday usage10/10
UI speed10/10
Camera10/10
Multimedia10/10
Internet9/10
Call quality10/10
Battery6/10
Reception10/10
Display10/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

mpuria
posted on 09 Jul 2011, 03:47 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 Jul 2011)

10

My Nokia N96

mpuria has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

This is the best nokia phone ever released on Symbian S60v3.
SPEED: GOOD!
CAMERA: Great!
DESIGN: Not so much because its slider type and slider type phones always suffer from Flex problems.

the battery life is not so much pleasing(or maybe my problem)

But this is the BEST nokia phone i ever used!

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10 the internet browser is good but it lack so many features and its speed is so slow. i recommend to use Opera mobile for this phone.
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10 Aweseome camera! it has everthing i want from a camera phone
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 6/10 the battery life is so much dissapointing because when i fully charge the phone after 1 day it become low on battery or sometime dead.

Pros

  • Camera
  • Call quality
  • Best S60v3 phone
  • Best phone for music playing!
  • Even supports DIVX movies!

Cons

  • Battery
  • Slider type design
  • not so much good housing

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 07 Jan 2010, 00:58

10

Best Phone I ever had in my hands! Highly underestimated!!!!
Uses a STn8815 multimedia co-processor, which specialises in decoding video and audio streams, resulting in super video compatibility and performance with better battery efficiency. Audio playback is also of higher quality than any Nokia since the N91. 
Excellent GPS reception, even when closed.
High speed USB (4 to 6MB/s)
Top slide multimedia controls, plus an extra set that light up around the d-pad if media is playing when the slide is closed. Plus a dedicated (and not much liked) 'multimedia' shortcut key. Plus a useful keylock toggle.
Via NSU or Over The Air, has User Data Preservation.
S60 3rd Edition Feature Pack 2
2.8" transflective screen, slightly brighter and clearer than the N95's in all light conditions.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

awesomeguy69
posted on 11 Nov 2009, 12:17 (Posts: 4; Member since: 08 Nov 2009)

9.7

stop hating nokia

It's a really good phone, I like it a lot, best phone i've ever had.  The camera is really good too.   All of the features are amazing, I love it! 

Only bad thing is the battery life, it's not the best but still, it's definitely not terrible.

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Good Internet
  • Multimedia
  • Great Camera
  • Good Touch Screen

Cons

  • Fingerprints
  • Battery Life

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Ron
posted on 27 Apr 2009, 08:53

5

Too bad the price are high,the performance and feature is low.

Design 7/10
Features 5/10
Performance 3/10

Pros

  • The design is feel high class.

Cons

  • Price high,performance not so good,Nokia still use Symbian as their phone platform no improve,Nseries price (DAY AFTER DAY,INCREASE,INCREASE AND INCREASE).

3 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 23 Feb 2009, 10:31

3

very bad phone, the dual led for flash doesn't give much improvement.
it's got the looks but doesn't have what it takes to be a great phone. disappoints me that i switched from Sony to nokia.

Design 7/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

Cons

  • very weak battery
  • slider has some problems
  • the system lags from time to time
  • dual led flash isn't an improvement

5 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Daniel Jordan
posted on 23 Oct 2008, 15:10

9

I've been a nokia fan since my first phone, the 3210. Been a fan of the N-Series since the N70, having the N73 and then the N95 (non 8GB) since august last year. Got delivery of this little beauty 3 weeks ago, and been nothing but impressed with it. Yes, it can hesitate at times, but the amount of things it has to process would slow up any phone. Not been disappointed with a thing so far, every aspect of it is quicker, improved and more well thought out than the N95. Using the PC Suite is a pure joy, everything is intuitive and extremely quick. video quality is a superb as the N95, and the photos are just as good also. Like the added touch of geotagging photos so you can see exactly where the pic was taken. While on the subject, the GPS seems twice as accurate as on the N95, and locks within a few seconds of initialising, also getting more satellites than before. Music Player is vastly improved, sound quality and depth vastly superior to the N95, also has much louder output from the earphones than previously. Like the fact you can update the firmware over the air, as it used to be a pain before. All in all, much improved over the N95 it replaces, slicker and better thought out. Love it!!

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Improved sound quality and volume
  • Speech recognition software better utilised for more applications
  • Screen clarity and contrast very good
  • Intelligent use of the gyroscope to detect phone orientation
  • Lighter weight and less brick-like than the N95

Cons

  • Not sure why the cut and paste button is removed? used to be a lifesaver
  • Battery life isn't all that good, although slightly longer than on N95
  • Disabled Naviwheel functions. Why?
  • Phone too Shiny - Fingerprint magnet!

25 out of 31 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 29 Sep 2008, 15:47

1

just awful for a phone and not worth the money.
nokia has really disappointed me with this phone. the battery barely even lasts and the phone is slow, so very slow

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

Cons

  • it just doesn't have anything worth talking about.
  • the reception is low
  • slider sometimes jams
  • the buttons aren't convinient
  • the camera is bad, pictures are just grainy.
  • the menus can be confusing
  • some of the menu items are in strange places.
  • phone freezes a lot

18 out of 48 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories