x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia N95 8GB User Reviews

9 Based on 18 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia9.5/10
Internet8.5/10
Call quality8.5/10
Battery7.5/10
Reception9.5/10
Display8.5/10
Build quality8.5/10
Text input8/10
Everyday usage8.5/10
UI speed8.5/10
Camera8.5/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

wrorak
posted on 20 Feb 2012, 11:10 (Posts: 1; Member since: 20 Feb 2012)

8

does not measure up to the hype created

wrorak has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

great phone... nice camera... nokia set the bar high for 5mp cameras to compete with this phone's camera... keys are not ideally designed... typing can be a headache at times... hangs up sometimes... slow processor

Build quality 8/10 dont like the call/end keys, navigational keys. tightly packed. numeric keys are not well set either
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10 did not have any problems. call end key would not work sometimes
Internet 8/10 built in browser no good. great with a downloaded opera browser
Multimedia 9/10 great music and video player. good speakers
Camera 8/10 best 5 mp camera
UI speed 8/10 noticed a lag sometimes
Everyday usage 8/10 good organiser. all the basic stuff like calculator, notes, calender, dictionary, etc.
Text input 7/10 did not like the keyboard, kindda odd
Display 7/10 good clear display. not great
Battery 7/10 ok battery life. 1.5 days on normal usage

Pros

  • great camera
  • great music and video players

Cons

  • memory not expandable
  • keys are not ideally placed
  • hangs up many times
  • sliding mechanism goes bad after a year

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Nishant7004
posted on 09 May 2011, 22:20 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 May 2011)

9

Best phone

Nishant7004 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

this phone fall down from height many times
still it doesnt as any problem
it still work as it is
this phone is really great phone
still now many new smartphone cant compare with n95 8gb

thanx nokia for this phone............................................................................................. ....................................................................................................................................

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

philly101
posted on 10 Oct 2010, 21:28

9.7

nokia n95 8gb

Wow this is an amazing phone.  I originally had the nokia 6110 navigator but i destroyed it and ended up getting this phone from France this summer.  This phone as everything you need to sustain life.  It has a great camera, great video quality, fast processor, big screen, fast internet, easy to use gps, and alot of upgradeable features both inside and outside of the phone.  The only thing i didnt like about this phone was that its really thick looking.  Iv had a lot of friends say the thickness makes it look like its really important, which it is so this is definately a phone i would recommend.

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • big screen
  • fast processor
  • fast internet
  • easy to use gps
  • great camera
  • great video quality
  • many up-garade features

Cons

  • Its thick

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Butterfly
posted on 27 Aug 2009, 18:28

10

lovely

lovely phone:
-good camera
- very fast
-elegant looking
- good sound
 
cons:
- fiance said, too big and it looks like you're carrying a wide screen Tv in your pocket.. but he said its clear and good memory =/ i guess thats a plus

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • everything

Cons

  • its a brick

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Vinod Gajjar
posted on 03 Feb 2009, 06:51

8.7

talk time is too short

I am using this phone since last 10 days. every thing is ok like GPS. webbrowsing and camera but i fond the talk time is too less. i charg my phone in the morning but it shows 1 or 2 dent in battery symbol meter. camera is good. video recordign is good.
As i am am doing the business, i prefer qwerty key pad phone. and as per my compare the  e71 is good as forst sight.

Design 8/10
Features 10/10
Performance 8/10

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

aubrey
posted on 01 Jul 2008, 09:07

9

this phone is on its level it is amazingly awesome.Its features are great or should i say everything about is wonderful.I love this phone and i dont think that there is any phone made by mankind will ever create such machine.

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 8/10

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

avatar
posted on 17 Jun 2008, 09:24

8.6

good

it's a good phone i have it for more than a year already
i like it, but i had major prb with it.
after 3 months the 8Gb mem started to have prb, went to service and its ok now
i recomend it to every1.
good video playback, around 5 hours
good audio player, playback time around 10 hours in 3G network
good videorecording ... 30 fps ... awesome quality
good photos...
dont buy the normal n95 .. its bad
fast menus
GPS signal sometimes very bad but if u buy an external bluetooth gps it works wonders with NOKIA MAPS.
it could be a dream phone if it had windows mobile :)

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 8/10

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

MATTHEW
posted on 06 Jun 2008, 13:46

10

THIS IS THE BOMB.

THIS IS THE BEST PHONE EVER.


I GOT IT.
IT IS THE BEST.

GOOD FACTORS.

1.GREAT CAMERA
2. NICE 2 WAY SLIDE.
3. BIG SCREEN.
4. LOUD MUSIC.
5. GOOD SIGNAL.
6. NICE KEYPAD.
7. WIFI.
8. BASICALLY GREA FEATURES.

BAD POINTS.

1. TAKES A WHILE TO DELETE SONGS.
2. BIT OF A CHUNKY MUNKY.
3. RESTARTS IT SELF SOMETIMES.(VERY RARELY)

THESE ARENT THAT BAD THOUGH.



I LOVE THIS PHONE.
BETTER THAN THE N96 AND N82.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

vishaakh
posted on 31 May 2008, 14:58

9.6

Simply the best!

its simply the best phone in the market.. yes, better thanthe n96 and n82 hands down.. for photography.. purists should go in for the n82, and if DVB H tv is supported in ur area.. go for n96,
but the other reasons why the n95 8gb is better are..
big screen(0.4inches bigger than n82)
video calling camera present(unlike n96)
better battery life(n96 has same battery as the old n95.1)
stylish form factor(unlike the plain jane n82)
comfy keypad(unlike the n82)
n-gage gaming(not there in n96)
and awesome sound quality
if u want a dedicated movie player buy an ipod but for just a few movies and some songs and a phone with a decent battery life and a decent camera and a do it all mobile phone.. buy the n95 8gb..
hope this review helped u in going forthe right device for u!!

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 9/10

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Macuser64
posted on 12 Apr 2008, 09:47

6

Disappointed

I originally had the N95 and wasn't overly impressed with that model. I've had iPhones and returned them because of the "virtual" keyboard being difficult to type on and the lack of network integration. I really had high hopes for THIS model of N95 because of the built-in memory.

The screen is a bit larger on the 8GB version, but it's not that great a difference. The applications are wide and varied and, while some are really neat and unique to the US market, most are standard and there are similar applications available anywhere.

Installing new Symbian apps is a pain unless you're very familiar with that OS. Multiple steps to installation and unlocking.

The camera, while is theory is great, in actuality it's just average. I'm a photographer and thought that having a 5MP camera on my phone would be very cool because then I could capture moments and not have to lug my big stuff around with me all the time. The quality of the shots I've collected so far are a crap-shoot. Some are really good, some aren't at all and it looks like the photo was taken on a foggy day.

I will be returning or selling this phone and sticking with my BlackBerry. For the $700 I paid for this phone, I'd think Nokia could have found some way to make the TINY keyboard just a tad larger.

Design 5/10
Features 7/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 3/10

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

SHAHRUL AZAM BIN SHAARI
posted on 29 Feb 2008, 21:46

8.6

n95 8 gb - application

I've been using windows mobile-based for the past 3 yrs. After Nokia unleashed this upgraded version of N95(which to be honest battered some other so-called 'smartphone' in terms of form factor & functionality; except on par with HTC Ty TnII), I'm tempted to own a symbian-based mobile. Just askin' whether I can install the 'edited' version of office document; such as word & excel????

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 9/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 8/10

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 05 Feb 2008, 22:26

9.4

To newcell: I doubt your ownership of the phone. This phone does not have 10x optical zoom. Please read wad u type before making a fool out of yourself or perhaps misleading others to think that the phone has 10x optical zoom and therefore purchasing it to find out that the phone doesn't have 10x optical zoom..Moron seriously, wad you say contradicts whether do u really have the phone or not.

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

new cell
posted on 09 Dec 2007, 19:51

10

Perfect

After 10 days ownership, I felt a review.
Very comfortable feel and user friendly O/S and all downloads. UMTS is very fast and so happy N.American version was available. I've read the other reviews and to address a few. First of all it does have an optical zoom of 10x. Second the lens cover issue. Unless you have no interest in a protective case for a $700.00+ phone that's your misfortune.
Regarding price; with the super GPS, the cost of memory cards to offer 8gb and all the bells and whistles with this extremely high speed h/drive cell phone.........priceless! ;)

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Shawn Alexander
posted on 05 Dec 2007, 12:45

10

Best Phone Hands Down

Feature wise what more can you ask for? It has everything and if it's missing something that you don't have. Search for the application and install it. I did this with MSN, AIM and some games. The sound quality is loud and clear. Look at the design of this phone. It's black and sharp. I would say it's worth every penny I put into buying this phone.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 10/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ahabue
posted on 04 Dec 2007, 09:08

9

black is better!

Hi guyz,
Think this phone is simply marvelous and the fact that it is a developed version of the normal N95, when we all thought it couldnt get any better than it was, nokia just hit us in the face with this bigger, badder N95. We truly appreciate the larger memory and the increased display screen which makes pictures and videos look better and even the slight detail of the music keys which were, i must confess a lil anoying, and black looks much cooler anyway! With this bad boy i really dont think anyone would need to buy another phone until ofcourse, the geniuses at nokia inevitablly bum us out with a badder, wickeder piece of equipment!!

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Sagar
posted on 02 Dec 2007, 03:02

8.6

Great Phone

Its a nice phone except some disadvantages....

1. No Lens Cover
2. No Xenon Flash
3. No Optical Zoom

N82 camera is better than N95.....

Design 9/10
Features 8/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 9/10
Value for money 9/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Nokia Fan
posted on 29 Nov 2007, 23:31

8.2

The great phone ever but lacks two basic features; QWERTY and touchscreen

It is a great phone. Suprior of all, you name it, iPhone, Samsung, all HTC smart phones, but one catch thing is that it not QWERTY phone, nor it does not have a touch screen capability. Nokia people, after achieving the impossible, how could you fail on this basic factor which matters the most for many users? That was the besic difference between Linux and Windows. While Linux has so many great capabilities, for example, security etc, Windows was far superior in the market because of its products user friendliness. Nokia, learn from Apple, what made apple come back to the market so quickly was the fact that they were able to communicate with the average users, who like things quick, and at their finger tip. I have been meaning to buy this phone for sometime, but paying that much for this greatly loaded phone without those two features, haaaa, let me think twice hereā€¦ may be I will wait until Nokia realizes this and add these two features. Then Nokia N95 will be on the top for the next 2 years. Waiting for you Nokia, I hope you will surprise me sometime soon...

Design 5/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Jigar
posted on 17 Sep 2007, 03:50

9

MISSING THE LENS PROTECTOR

hi guyz..
this phone seems to b gr8..
sumting which wil not get outdated for next 3yrs atleast...
only issue which is bothering me is the fact that it has NO LENS PROTECTOR...

i mean just imaging buyin a 2MP camera w/o a lens protector...NEVER..

this is 5MP..which can almost near professional camera..except the optical zoom factor..

imagine one scratch n screwed up..more over whn u change the outer body panel..the glass above the lens would sadly not b changed.. :(

i realy love the nokia products..but at times they compromise on small thing which matter the most..

still love nokia...n thx 4 makin such amazing computers..ohhh..phones ;)

Design 8/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 10/10
Signal Strength 10/10
Value for money 7/10

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories