x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia N900 User Reviews

7.7 Based on 17 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Build quality9.3/10
Text input9.6/10
Everyday usage8.4/10
UI speed8.9/10
Camera8.4/10
Multimedia9.3/10
Internet10/10
Call quality9.1/10
Battery6.6/10
Reception9/10
Display9.9/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

asseek
posted on 23 Sep 2012, 13:09 (Posts: 164; Member since: 12 Sep 2012)

10

amazing phone!!

asseek has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

ive been using this phone for 3 years, and believe me if nokia bring another meamo os, i'd but it without any hesitation, but it went for WP..
and there no phone in the market that tempts me enough to leave this amazing phone, espescially the android os phones
for the UI its the best, and multi-tasking is real cool
it should have got better specifications, like CPU, Touch Screen, Screen Resolution, RAM... etc

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10 i take it off charge at morning and recharge it back at night

Pros

  • qwerty keyboard
  • multi-tasking
  • good camera but not that excellent

Cons

  • battery life
  • usb port is fragile
  • low processor

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

lil2070
posted on 03 Jun 2012, 17:04 (Posts: 14; Member since: 11 Feb 2012)

9

Computer in my hands

lil2070 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I love my phone .!!! Nowadays mobile world has gone crazy literally !!! Evryday u get to c a new thing in the market, but Im really satisfied with my phone ..It has all the things possesed by mobile phones nowadays ...Its fast and most importantly customisable ..U can convert this phone into whatever u like ...If im ever going to upgrade its gona be the nokia n9...
ONly thing is the battery which I dunt like ...There shud've been a bigger battery for a beast phone like ...I wish Nokia would have supported this phone and the meeGo!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

Cons

  • BAttery !!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

vishalvenky
posted on 12 Feb 2012, 01:59 (Posts: 40; Member since: 12 Feb 2012)

10

My best experience ever.

vishalvenky has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

N900 is excllent "nobile computer". the very best thing of N900 is its browser.. enjoyment to the core. i have seen many android users getting bored after using it.. but i have my N900 for about 2years and i am not at all bored of using this phone. music is excellent with in-built 32GB memory. camera is awesome. excellent connectivity to IR devices.. enjoyment to the core.. tks to Nokia for giving me such a product

Build quality 10/10 i have not encountered any problems regarding build quality
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • qwerty
  • camera shutter
  • excellent connectivity with IR devices
  • excellent touch responsivness
  • camera shutter key
  • kick stand

Cons

  • bit bulky
  • battery is decent(7hrs on continuous usage)
  • usb port is fragile(to be handled with care)

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

RamyAbdelbadea
posted on 26 Nov 2011, 18:02 (Posts: 17; Member since: 07 Nov 2011)

9

nokia you are bad to igonre a phone and OS like that

RamyAbdelbadea has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

this phone is great really .. you could use it for everything .. i was having 3 os in the same time on this phone !! really amazing...

NOKIA BaAAD :( .. they ignore this phone and the maemo OS.. it could be one of the best phones in the histroy .. the maemo is the Really amazing

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10 UI is fast and real multitasking
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • real multitasking
  • The BEST Browser You Could Find On A Phone
  • could install multi OS in the same time

Cons

  • no support now from the bad nokia
  • no video call

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

zoka
posted on 29 Mar 2011, 05:12

7

the phone

zoka has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

this phone is just better than nothing becoz it does not have good reception and it does not have a good sound quality bt it is very good becoz of its wruting and multemedia and also the features it has but it dooes not have as much apps as i expected from it

Build quality 8/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 5/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 7/10
Display 10/10
Battery 3/10

Pros

  • very good it is becoz of lan

Cons

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

fuzail
posted on 23 Mar 2011, 09:17

10

fuz

fuzail has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

jst awsome..............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................!!

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

rikky
posted on 14 Dec 2010, 19:49

9

It's like a mini computer instead of a mobile.

rikky has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I found everything which i expected from it. It has a great camera with crispy picture quality and sharp and vivid video quality. The internet browser and the IM feature made me to use this device still today. I know the battery life is less but for me it is nice. Moreover it depends on the uses of the mobile. It's processor is ARM Cortex A8 (600 MHz) which provide fast performance. Overall the phone is awesome.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • I like everything

Cons

  • i dislike nothing

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

avasthy
posted on 09 Jul 2010, 02:53 (Posts: 0; Member since: 07 Jul 2010)

4

n900: Nokia's Step Child!

Despite some exceptional reviews written across domains, n900 is a pathetic machine from user’s perspective[I] (at times I wonder if reviews are written by Nokia's PR agency to create false impression?)[/I]. Technically, it’s very good in terms of a fast processor, 32GB RAM etc, but realistically, because it uses MAEMO Operating System (All other Nokia phones are on Nokia owned Symbian Operating System), and due to the fact that everything on this device is run by software, issue is that for most things software are NOT available from a trusted resource!
Consider this:
1. You CANNOT use Ovi Music - according to Nokia, this device is not compatible;
2. You CANNOT use Voice navigation system (voice guidance for turn-by-turn navigation across the globe) - though a limited version of OVI maps can be used – the software available for this from other resources are just not worth – I tried 3 of them. The fact that Nokia is providing Ovi Navigation for all devices except n900 (given that this runs on Maemo) proves how serious Nokia about n900 - for sure one can buy a commercial software for this, which costs Euro 60 - 15-20% of the device cost!;
3. Though FM radio is a built in feature, you will have to struggle to download a software from some source - then you realise that the radio "hangs" every 10-15 minutes requiring you to reboot the device (I downloaded one from Nokia Maemo website);
4. Theoretically there are many applications (over 300 - not 1000 as being popularised by Nokia,...  

Design 2/10
Features 3/10
Performance 7/10

Pros

  • Customizable, Flexible...

Cons

  • Bulky in size, Weak battery, Very small keys, Everything is software driven and NBokia has no time to offer applications for Maemo as this is perhaps the ONLY Nokia device running Maemo software, Nokia service in India is not capable of handling issues around this, Nokia is releasing updates of firmware half-heartedly! Great hardware completely "murdered" by Nokia's brutalities...

8 out of 28 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Danny R.
posted on 09 Jun 2010, 03:04

9.7

Unlimited potential

This is more than a phone... There are so many things besides using it as a phone that u can do with this baby. It's the perfect companion for a gadget freak like me. From using it as a remote control for any IR based component or as any device based on bluetooth (mouse, keyboard, ps3 remote, media controller), as an emulator for gamboy GBA, GBC, Sega genesis, Snes, Ps2, listen to your mp3s on your car stereo through the fm transmitter, customize your 4 desktops as you like and need. Controlling your pc through VNC if you re outside and need something from your computer, acces facebook, tweaker, flickr, msn messenger, gmail, yahoo mail, google talk and so many others, the virtual and actual keyboards are both great, responsive and precise (virtual one with a little practice :P ) and of course, video calls, instant messages, and normal calls using skype.  I mean it s a never ending list of things that keep popping up for the N900. Not limited by anything like apple phones (which is actually the only reason that always makes me think twice if i should buy an iphone or apple product). The only way to unlock the true potential of this phone is having it and if u need to do something with it just look for the app online and it will be there... So now the n900 is battling against new phones like the iphone4 and HTC evo4g, which have better specs, but versatility wise, they re still not up to the same level as the n900.

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • -Unlimited ever going list of apps
  • -Hardware come together perfectly (Excellent hardware performance)
  • -Sharing is so easy and unlimited
  • -Video calls (wifi OR 3g internet)
  • -If a feature is not available, eventually it will be thanks to open source software development

Cons

  • -No compass
  • -No camera self timer (yet)
  • -A little bit bulky

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

derek
posted on 01 May 2010, 17:31

10

Beast

This phone is a BEAST.  I don't classify it as a phone but a mini computer (just like Nokia).  If you want something that you can change and recreate than this is for you.  it is half baked but that is a good thing because the community has tweaked this beyond belief.  If you spend some time and get involved, this phone does more than you could ever want.  N900 or Nexus one? For me it was a no brainer, N900.  The app store isn't that big but who cares there are so many more things available (if you know where to look).  I have a video arcade from my childhood on this phone.  Speed you ask? well factory is good but if you want to tweak at your own risk along with the graphics chip, it actually is faster than the Nexus One.  This with Flash, FM transmitter, etc.  you have it all at your disposal.The only negative I have about this device is the battery life.  While there are things you can do to increase it, I wish Nokia sent it with a bigger battery.I would only recommend this phone to people who take their phones MIDs seriously (I am no expert but the help is out there).   

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Everything, but

Cons

  • Battery

24 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 02 Mar 2010, 23:15

5

why?

i saw this phone and said why not. i gave it a shot. it didn't impress me that much at first but after some firmware updates its ok. the speakers could have been louder. the touch screen is smooth most of the time.the keyboard is a bit too small for fingers. i'm kinda mashing more than one button at a time.the camera disappoints compared to previous generation cameras on other N series nokia's.what happened to Xenon? would it have been that hard to put it on this? dual LED isn't doing my thing especially in the dark. not as powerful as xenon.

Design 6/10
Features 4/10
Performance 5/10

7 out of 36 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 21 Feb 2010, 21:35

1

this phone isn't that great. it sucks for 3G here in Canada, Thanks F-ing nokia for considering us. it's slow and bulky.
i don't know why there's hype about it. N95 is pleasing me more when it comes to 3G. battery life, i get more out of my N95. N900 is garbage. i don't like it

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

5 out of 54 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

zezoterjo
posted on 05 Feb 2010, 15:48

7.7

n900

 hi, when i first saw this mobile I thought that its the best ever but when i started testing it i found out that its pretty basic and no big deference between it and the n97 , the software is pretty good but u can save money y buying an N97 or if you want the best you can buy the x10 by Sony Ericsson so i will give this phone a 7.5

Design 7/10
Features 8/10
Performance 8/10

12 out of 33 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Richard D
posted on 27 Jan 2010, 22:54

10

Simply astounding!!! But always room for improvement...

This phone was everything I could have hoped for when I received. I'm currently learning more and more about programming and I'm sure in time, this phone will prove to be even MORE amazing in that aspect. Other than that, this phone is just beautiful. Fluid and perfectly sensitive touchscreen with an amazing resolution. Definitely I BIG step up from my XpressMusic 5800. Internet is great, could use some work in firmware updates, and also lack of MMS is a HUGE disappointment, but it has already been said by Nokia that his will be solved sometime soon. I've waited patiently for this phone and it was certainly worth the wait. Right now there's so much to build on with this phone and I can't wait for all the amazing apps, programs, and potential that will be unlocked in the future!!!! I can see why this phone if virtually heaven for programmers/linux users out there... hopefully I'll soon too be joining in on this fun, but for now, I don't wanna break my phone :p Also, the battery life is a little disappointing, but I can understand why it's so easily drained, because you're pretty much running an even MORE portable laptop. It could also use more video codecs... for some reason it won't play some of the videos I transfer onto it.Also, there's a lot of features that are basic to most other Nokia phones that this one seems to be lacking. For example: more choices for sound "Profile" settings, individual contact ring/sms tones, more choices for alarm clock and calendar settings....  

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Great picture resolution
  • Great scree resolution
  • Fluid operating system
  • SNES games on the go!
  • VERY user friendly
  • FULLY Flash capable
  • FIREFOX!!

Cons

  • Difficult syncing to PC's/MAC's as of now due to lack of proper software update
  • 7-8 hour battery life or less depending on use
  • No MMS as of
  • It seems like a lot of basic "Phone" functions are very limited in the Settings, such as individual contact ringtones/sms tones, etc.

31 out of 34 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

normedia1
posted on 13 Jan 2010, 21:46

9.3

N900, almost perfect

What can I say about the N900?  Its what the N97 should have been all along.  For starters we have a TI OMAP 3430 which even though is 600Mhz (not too shabby) outperforms Snapdragons @ 1Ghz.  This is due to the TI's version of the Cortex-8 having integrated DSPs' which the Snapdragons don't.  Even high bitrate videos aren't going to slow this puppy down unless of course you use 1080p clips.  Theres 1GB of usable memory making this the closest thing to truly mobile computing.  3D performance outperforms the Sony PSP and is threading on Wii territory only with higher resolution.  The Internet experience is 1st class all the way, no need for a YouTube app, its all done in browser.  The screen although not capacitive is the most responsive resistive touch screen I've ever used and the 800 x 480 resolution leaves IPhone in the dust.  As a phone, well...its a Nokia which is pretty much self explanatory.

Now the negatives:

Early glitches, especially with random reboots.  Should be fixed with the next firmware release...however there are quick fixes for it if you are Linux savvy.

Battery life is kinda disappointing.  Was expecting better but then its got some serious hardware to power so its kinda forgivable. 

Bottom Line:

The N900 is the only Maemo player in town.  It stacks up nicely with phones in its class which are the IPhone 3GS, plam pre, Droid and the Nexus One. The N900 is definitely not for everyone...  

Design 8/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Great OS
  • Best multi tasking smartphone out there
  • Awesome GPU and DSP for audio/video and games
  • Playing SNES and NES games on the go
  • Mozilla based browser with FULL flash support

Cons

  • Battery life
  • early bugs and glitches
  • A bit bulky

40 out of 56 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 05 Jan 2010, 05:14

1

 Nokia's trying to keep up with the gameunfortunately this phone could've been better.why not put a xenon flash on it? why is the camera resolution lower than previous generations?why doesn't it produce amazing quality images like my N82? if it has such a great video card, shouldn't enhanced high res video's be recorded at higher speeds? and why aren't the video's as crisp as the N82?i keep wondering why nokia doesn't want to listen to its customers. they had the camera well made in the N82, how come they couldn't do the same for newer generation phones? the N97 a step up from the N95 and N96, but not from the N82. The N900 on the other hand is purely disappointing me.why did they give it only a 600Mhz processor when the snapdragon was available at the time? 1Ghz big difference. i'm pretty sure they could've put a nice big battery in there to make the phone all the more worth while. but then again this is nokia, the company that's proud to say WE DON'T LISTEN TO OUR CUSTOMERS, THAT'S OUR MOTO!the querty is nice, i'll give them that.the touch screen is kinda slow. i seen faster touchscreens on other mobiles with the same screen res.

Design 1/10
Features 1/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

Cons

  • NO XENON FLASH
  • 600 mhz processor instead of 1Ghz
  • bad camera quality
  • touch screen disappoints

13 out of 79 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Th
posted on 27 Nov 2009, 06:22

8.7

At Glance

I just got it from Nokia, being one of the first to get it in hand. On my own. Its very impressive phone, as it is a bit heavy and sizeable. Theres almost nothing you cant do with this phone. Browser is very fast and nearly the same as on my desktop computer. Id say about 90% of stuff i can do at home, i can do with this.This is something i never tried before. Its unusual, nothing like the old Tablets. I have tried alot of phones in my work and this is the most succesful phones i never seen. You know what i can do, ill just say it works. If you need only a phone, dont buy this one. With this you dont need phone because you can see if he/she is online on msn on phonebook. Nice feature.Nokia has a slogan "Connecting people" and this is the first phone truly going under that slogan. With this you CAN connect to people, fast, easy and efficient.

Design 8/10
Features 9/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • It has everything

Cons

  • Heavy but not E90
  • Keys are bit small but you get used to it

83 out of 90 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories