x We have placed cookies on your device to make your experience better. Find more info here.
x PhoneArena.com наема във Варна! Ако технологиите са в кръвта ти и имаш перфектен писмен английски,
ние ти даваме възможността да станеш част от екипа ни. - виж повече

Nokia N8 User Reviews

8.9 Based on 62 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed8/10
Camera9.7/10
Multimedia9.2/10
Internet8/10
Call quality9.3/10
Battery8.7/10
Reception9.4/10
Display8.9/10
Build quality9.5/10
Text input8.2/10
Everyday usage8.9/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

ramzissimo
posted on 28 Feb 2014, 01:37 (Posts: 0; Member since: 28 Feb 2014)

8

Symbian killed this awesome smartphone

ramzissimo has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I've had my Nokia N8 since May 2011. It's a reliable handset that you can count on all day long. However, I think that the N8 could have been a legendary phone if it had Android instead of Symbian. As a N8 owner, I find it very frustrating when I can't make Skype or Tango video calls while other cheaper Samsung or Sony phones can. The hardware makes the N8 a unique smartphone (FM transmitter, HDMI output, 12MP camera, premium build) but its OS killed it, literally speaking.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 4/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 6/10
Display 8/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Premium aluminium build
  • Excellent internet modem
  • Awesome camera
  • FM transmitter (rare to find in other smartphones)
  • HDMI output

Cons

  • No support for video call apps (Tango, Viber, Skype)
  • Slow UI
  • non-removable battery
  • VERY slow RAM

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

tanulal
posted on 05 Nov 2013, 08:59 (Posts: 0; Member since: 05 Nov 2013)

9

Best music player and amazing picture quality

tanulal has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review


I am using Nokia n8 since 2 yrs, I just love this phone and if possible I would never change it, there are many good reasons for which I still use this phone 1) awesome sound quality with Dolby digital surround sound other latest phones in market don't have it, I have tried many other smartphones but never able to find such an awesome sound quality which gives you home theater 3D sound experience like your sitting in movie theater, you can actually have a demo in which you can hear the sound from 360 degrees. Also I have installed the equilizer app from which you can control bass and treble effects which makes it even more awesome to play all kinds of music, like pop, rock, trance, etc's. 2) Best picture quality with crystal clear screen, I prefer to watch movies and videos on my phone rather than on my computer or LED TV because its more clearer and brighter than any other device.3) 12 megapixels camera which gives you good high quality images and there is one more benefit i.e. you can use it as a weapon for your personal protection, I have personally broken the heads of atleast two people and it still works, it is as good as stone never breaks. I would really never change this phone if I need to I would still keep it with me as a music player, may be the OS is slow as campare to android phone but above good qualities wants me to keep it with me.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 6/10

Pros

  • Dolby Digital Surround sound
  • 12 megapixel camera
  • Best quality video

Cons

  • slow OS

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Jehovah
posted on 09 Jul 2013, 23:39 (Posts: 68; Member since: 25 Jun 2013)

10

A Classic

Jehovah has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Amazing resistance to almost all punishment. Excelent camera even against 2013 competition. Great navigation tool. The only real problem with this phone is the vanishing memory c bug, that forces a reset every four to six months.

Build quality 10/10 Almost indestructible.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10 Use Opera for better experience and speed
Multimedia 10/10 HDMI
Camera 10/10 Can lag when under
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Excelent Camera with Xennon
  • Very Resistant
  • 16 GB + Memory Card
  • HDMI
  • Off-line Navigation

Cons

  • Small selection of key apps available for Symbian
  • Vanishing Memory C bug

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

nghtwng68
posted on 03 May 2013, 17:01 (Posts: 80; Member since: 26 Nov 2009)

8

Great Device in the Nokia N8

nghtwng68 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

The N8 is a fantastic device. After 2.5 years as my primary phone, and upgrading the OS from Anna to Belle, it still holds it’s own very well.
So many features, that only a handful of 2013 smartphones are just now featuring. From the great 12MP camera, xenon flash, dual charging, great music player, high build quality to easy customization with Belle. Just a top notch device in and out.

Build quality 9/10 Solid anodised aluminium body with tapered end shape and scratch resistant Gorilla glass. 'Nuff said.
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10 Crystal clear clarity, except for at&t spotty coverage at times.
Internet 6/10 The default browser is bad. Opera Mini is the best way to go hands down for this device.
Multimedia 8/10 Multi-task with ease. Hadles music, watching videos, GPS mapping, messaging to phone calls, to internet browsing flawlessly. Switching apps is such a breeze.
Camera 10/10 12MP + Xenon flash = Exceptionally high quality photos in any light. Hands down, the BEST feature of this device. Best camera phone behind the 808.
UI speed 7/10 It has it's good and bad days. Some sluggish moments, but with slow processor and low RAM it is expected.
Everyday usage 8/10 Owned for a year and it is a great everyday phone. Does freeze and restart at times with Belle installed. Never froze with Anna.
Text input 7/10 No better than other phones. Installed Swype and love the fast texting once you get use to it.
Display 9/10 Great screen & scratch resistant. Sharp and visible in daylight for sure.
Battery 8/10 Turn off 3G, WIFI and the battery will last a full day easy.

Pros

  • 12MP camera
  • Xenon flash
  • HDMI
  • Hight quality audio
  • High build quality
  • Great display
  • Always on clock
  • Photo/Video editing

Cons

  • 680 MHz processor
  • 256 RAM
  • Some lags
  • Some freezes & restarts with Belle installed
  • Web browser. (use Opera)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Mohammed.Salah
posted on 14 Jul 2013, 07:05 (Posts: 6; Member since: 15 Feb 2013)

8

amazing phone in (2010)

Mohammed.Salah has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Nokia N8-00 is one of the best mobiles in 2010........has a wonderfull camera with 12 MP and flash.........has a radio tansmitter which you can play music in the radio as you like without wires or another device.
know the review from the rate

Build quality 7/10 its bulid quality is good
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10 Good call quality
Internet 7/10 a bit slow
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 9/10 amazing with 12 MP
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 6/10 can't use it every day without charging
Text input 7/10 average
Display 8/10 Good
Battery 7/10 Low with 1200 mAh

Pros

  • Camera 12 MP
  • has radio transmitter
  • HDMI
  • offline Navigation (Here Maps)

Cons

  • slow CPU
  • low RAM
  • no torch
  • ovi store has low apps
  • low Battary with 1200 mAh compared to its Possibilities
  • low C storage

Mohammed.Salah alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

virgoshaka
posted on 01 Jan 2013, 23:48 (Posts: 2; Member since: 13 Jun 2012)

9

Great Phone for such Hardware

virgoshaka has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Too bad Symbian has been thrown into obscurity to wither
Look for a pleasant CFW and flash it into your N8, you'll see the huge difference performance and you won't have to worry about Installing stuff into it.

Build quality 9/10 I love the desing, and resists a lot of hits.
Reception 10/10 You can use it around the Globe, Awesome!
Call quality 9/10 No trouble so far
Internet 10/10 I dont like the Default Internet browser, so just Install a fast one like Opera Mini 7
Multimedia 10/10 With Nokia Converter Pro you can get Excellent quality videos at the cost of Mbs and Time to convert. TTpod for music playback Photo Browser v2 for that Beautiful Gallery
Camera 10/10 With Shutter Pro Premium you get the Best Quality Pics even at Night. Beats mosts Cameras from new Cellphones
UI speed 9/10 A lot of people find the Default FW Slow, try putting a Cooked CFW and flash it into it. I personally have Xeon's CFW 3.4.7 and I rarely get any lag even with Whatsapp and Theme FX on
Everyday usage 9/10 With the Right CFW and Applications Its a Great Cellphone, even with its crappy Processor and RAM.
Text input 8/10 Only if it had a Built in Querty
Display 9/10 aI dont really like the permanent Markings it leaves if you over use something like the built in music player
Battery 9/10 Reduce the Light Sensor to Minimum and turn off things like GPS if you dont use them.

Pros

  • Pretty Fast for such specs (with the right tweaking)
  • Micro SD Slot (not like Lumia)
  • Cool Design, seriously
  • Global Network Use

Cons

  • Low RAM
  • Slow Processor

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

JulianGT
posted on 13 Aug 2013, 16:50 (Posts: 82; Member since: 15 Oct 2012)

10

Good Camera!

JulianGT has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

It is not the best phone but in everyday usage, you can survive with it. Even with only 256MB of RAM, it runs smoothly. And it is a lot better and low-end, low-mid range android smartphones. The design is beautiful, and it survives many falls, only leaving little scratches. Awesome camera! The worst thing is battery life, it could be better and the OS needs improvements, as well as the OVI store. Good Nokia Maps.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10 It lasts less than a day in stand by.

Pros

  • Awesome Camera
  • Symbian Belle is so so
  • Runs smooth for the low amount of RAM it has.
  • With belle update it is perfect for day to day use
  • Good utility apps, enough for me.

Cons

  • Battery Life could be better
  • Screen is small and low quality

JulianGT alternatives:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kmwaugaman
posted on 13 Aug 2012, 20:08 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Aug 2012)

7

use to love it, now looking for something new

kmwaugaman has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I bought this phone last year and it was perfect. It was my baby, I loved everything about it, until I had to move 2 hours away for college. Every time I would go home I would have to do a full restore on my phone to get it to work, and then repeat it when I returned up to school. Now it won't even let me answer incoming calls. I use to love it, now it is just a pain. I am going to do an overall review, and try not to rate it due to it's current condition.

Build quality 9/10 I loved the build of the phone, and as many times as I have dropped it there has not even been a scratch on the paint.
Reception 9/10 I live where few phones get service, until recently it has had enough bars for me to make calls without them being dropped.
Call quality 5/10 It is hard to hear the other person talking.
Internet 4/10 For me the internet was slow and didn't always want to work.
Multimedia 7/10 I like the speaker on the back for listening to music, but I found watching videos took forever, most likely an internet problem. What really saved it was the 3.5 mm headphone jack, that was a must for me.
Camera 10/10 I AM IN LOVE WITH THE CAMERA. It also has a photo editor for your photos and a video editor.
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 8/10 I had to download the Belle update to fully enjoy the interface, before that it was hard to find things.
Text input 9/10 I like the on screen keyboard, it was really great for me.
Display 7/10 The touch screen seems to not be very responsive at times, but all and all I like the display.
Battery 6/10 If you are planning on doing alot of things, like listening to music carry a charger.

Pros

  • 3.5 mm headphone jack
  • Micro sd slot
  • standard charger (usb)
  • 12 megapixel camera!

Cons

  • can't remove the battery
  • Symbian os

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

bayumurti94
posted on 20 Jun 2012, 03:49 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 Jun 2012)

9

Best Camera Phone (or Phone Camera)

bayumurti94 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

N8 is a good, #I'm sorry Perfect Camera Phone with 12MP + Xenon Flash, good in multimedia too, with 16GB + 32GB storage, Symbian Belle OS, Capasitive Touch Screen with Multi-Touch, FM Transmitter, etc

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10 12MP + Xenon Flash
UI speed 8/10 It just running on 680MHz, there must be an update to overclock the processor
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • 12 MP Camera + Xenon Flash
  • Symbian Belle OS
  • Multi-touch
  • 16+32GB Storage
  • HDMI
  • Multi-tasking
  • GPU
  • USB

Cons

  • 680MHz (there must be an update to overclock)
  • 256MB RAM
  • Some lags :(

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

macrovijay
posted on 07 Feb 2012, 04:51 (Posts: 1; Member since: 07 Feb 2012)

10

The King OF The World

macrovijay has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I Had This Great Machine For Past Six Months. I Got A Best Experience With My N8. I Named My N8 As "Black Pearl". Remarkable Achievement From Nokia As Well As A Milestone To Nokia. Many Of My Colleagues Were Inspired By This Product. I Hope Nokia Belle Will Be The Additional Diamond For The N8 On It's Crown. For My Usage I Feel The Battery Is Little Slow It Give Me Only 2 Days Backup. Apart From This No Reason To Hate This Phone.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

Cons

  • Amount Of RAM 256 MB Only.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

2Prince2
posted on 31 Jan 2012, 20:12 (Posts: 0; Member since: 31 Jan 2012)

10

Best Thing in my life....

2Prince2 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Can't find any one better in a year.... im loving it.....
Its the kind of mobile that can be trusted, and does what is wanted from it whenever its needed....
Im sure its gona be better and better especially with symbian belle.....

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

Cons

  • The Back single speaker...

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

neil.fsc
posted on 22 Dec 2011, 08:13 (Posts: 0; Member since: 22 Dec 2011)

8

Nokia N8 running Symbian Belle version 111.030.0607

neil.fsc has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The Nokia N8 is the best camera smartphone in the market. The Nokia N8 was initialy a marriage of great hardware with an aging operating system, Symbian^3. With an update to Symbian Belle, the Nokia N8 looks to be revitalized and should be considered a contender with other high-end smartphones available in the market.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 7/10
Display 8/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Incredible camera

Cons

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Nokia_77
posted on 17 Aug 2011, 04:50 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 Aug 2011)

10

choose phone

Nokia_77 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This smartphone has the best features on the market. More applications than the two systems hyped in the market (Android and iOS), best camera, best connectivity with HDMI and USB, best radio features with FM receiver and trasnmitter and also DAB+ and DVB-H separately, best build quality, best integration, SIP client.It also follows the successful one hardware model of WP7 and iOS. All Symbian^3 devices have the same CPU, GPU and screen resolution to make it easy to develop for

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Best camera,HDMI,Bluetooth 3 and fast wifi n

Cons

  • no

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

PeterIfromsweden
posted on 15 Aug 2011, 03:55 (Posts: 1230; Member since: 03 Aug 2011)

6

Average phone

PeterIfromsweden has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This is a phone, thats better than iPhone, but it could have been even better. The Camera is really good, but the battery doesn't last long on this phone. And also this phone is quiet laggy. Has a very good build quality. There is lots of apps to download, but most of them are not that good quality. There are apps though with good quality, but not so many of them.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 5/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 3/10
Display 5/10
Battery 5/10

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Kempee351
posted on 14 Aug 2011, 09:32 (Posts: 0; Member since: 14 Aug 2011)

7

N8 Gets a Hard Time

Kempee351 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

As I work in the forest, I tend to look for a phone more for reception, durability and battery life as they tend to end up in my pocket and get knocked, bumped, damp and dropped and phone services drop off really quick once you enter a native forest or Pine block, so this review is basically for the use of a smartphone in the bush. As I have had a lot of phones over the years, for a smartphone this phone has performed by far the best in the bush.

Build quality 9/10 The phone has become very scratched and chipped with no case but nothing to date has fallen of and all buttons and speakers still work. The phone as become damp on many occasions and still operates normally, I did find it locked up more than normal when hot
Reception 8/10 I Found with this phone in areas where there was next to no service I had 1 or 2 bars more than some others phones (same carrier)and sometimes that was the differences in making a call, death grip wasn’t a big concern it’s not nearly as bad as my HTC Incredible S
Call quality 8/10 Call quality was good and clear in high to medium coverage areas, I did find in very low coverage areas calls were still clear on my end but the person on the other end found it difficult to here or patchy
Internet 3/10 The Web browsing on the N8, I found was just terrible, the UI was not set out well it was sluggish many web sites it didn’t load correctly and I ended up just using Opera web Brower. The Anna update is meant to fix some of these issues if it is released on the N8
Multimedia 9/10 The Nokia N8 has what I found to be impressive multimedia functions although I didn’t like the standard music player but there was an app to fix that, I don’t use the USB OTG much but when used it worked well , I find the use of the hdmi port on the top of the phone very handy, use it like a portable DVD player sound and video quality was only as good as the DVD ripped, but I tested the N8 5.1 Sound test on my Sony 7.2 Muteki System and the 5.1 Dolby test worked well , I didn’t have major problems with video and played most things thrown at, although 2 things to note, large video files did tend to freezes briefly thought the movie and using seeking was slow and sometimes you couldn’t move to far in the movie without it locking up This phone also has built in FM transmitter best thing ever, I think more phones need this and nokia needs to keep it in there N series or flagship device
Camera 8/10 The camera Quality is far superior to anything I have seen in a phone. UI isn’t too bad and it’s full of features, I have taken some excellent sunrises and photos during my time fire fighting, the photos & Videos turn out much clearer and better on a computer screen than they appear on the phones own OLED screen, even when taken a photo on my N8 and sending it to my HTC IS the photos look a lot clearer and crisper so the screen doesn’t do the camera quality justice I did note that sometimes the camera photo button was slow to respond on some occasions and so was the zoom function while recording video, overall HD video recording was mostly smooth, good quality and photos were just as good
UI speed 5/10 UI Speed out of the box is good with only minor sluggishness but as with most nokia phones once, you start putting apps music and photos they tend to slow down quite quickly, I tend to put this down to lack of ram and processing power which has been nokias problem since the year dot but, I think nokias new line of windows phones will make them step up to the plate and fix this problem
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 6/10
Display 7/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • 12 Megapixel Carl Zeiss Optics
  • 720P HD video Recording
  • FM transmitter
  • HDMI Port
  • 16 gigabyte Space
  • SD Card Slot

Cons

  • Ram
  • Processer
  • Web Browser
  • Ovi Store

Kempee351 alternatives:

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

asd000
posted on 18 Jul 2011, 03:54

9

Nokia N8 draws attention at first sight

asd000 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Nokia N8 displays an impressive list of advantages, especially in multimedia, and holds the promise. His camera is the best we encountered to date mobile device, and connectivity to the screens through the HDMI connection intensifies the pleasure.

However, an outdated operating system and operation is not part of what-N8 prevented from closing the gap between the leading smartphones, and somehow he still lags behind. Those who want a great multimedia machine and used to use Symbian devices, this is definitely the right choice.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Excellent camera and video stills
  • HDMI connection screens screening
  • Connect external storage devices via USB
  • High audio quality and music talks
  • High quality touch screen also usable in sunlight
  • Attachment support for DivX and XviD
  • High quality construction

Cons

  • Medium operating system with smooth action
  • Browser not fast enough

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

SM
posted on 28 Jun 2011, 10:31

7

My First Mistake

SM has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

3 days back i bought it. Once i switched On, it kept restarting .. i tried updating the Software.. I tried restoring it back to factory defaults.. No use.. Then i took it to Nokia Care centre.. they told me its software problem and gave me back after reisntalling the software.. I reached home and checked.. again the story is same.. 1st time ever my purchased phone has disappointed me in 1st instance

Build quality 9/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 4/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 4/10
Display 6/10
Battery 6/10

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

suryamohan
posted on 25 Jun 2011, 01:27

7

I Hate Symbian but love N8

suryamohan has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Instrument is excellent. OS is worst. If they do not replace OS for existing customers, they will lose word of mouth. I wish they enable existing N8 for replasing Symbian with Android or Windows.

For every tap, i have to wait for a moment, to proceed further. Disgusting. If you are a app buff, forget N8. Few installations and removals of apps make your life miserable, even though you resort to factory restore. God save Nokia.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 2/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • HW

Cons

  • SW

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Rafiul Amin
posted on 19 Jun 2011, 07:04

10

what a good N8 ?

Rafiul Amin has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

this is the best mobile whice made from NOKIA . So thank you nokia. I love it .............,,this is the best mobile whice made from NOKIA . So thank you nokia. I love it .............,,this is the best mobile whice made from NOKIA . So thank you nokia. I love it .............,,this is the best mobile whice made from NOKIA . So thank you nokia. I love it .............,,

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ffaarrooqq
posted on 24 Dec 2011, 14:26 (Posts: 64; Member since: 26 May 2011)

9

Good Phone

ffaarrooqq has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This is one of my favorite phone by Nokia. I think this is one of the best camera phone in the market....With great built in quality and design, this phone feel good in our hand.
But I hate nokia for not providing regular updates to symbian 3 users..

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • 12mp Camera with Xenon Flash
  • Built Quality
  • Display
  • Call Quality

Cons

  • Ram
  • Default Web Browser
  • Battery LIfe
  • Symbian

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kebabfritte
posted on 23 May 2011, 08:47

10

good phone

kebabfritte has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

it is a very good phone , very resistant and there is a lot of way to personalise the phone with application or themes.
you can completely remove the symbian interface by installing some 5 application and theme. but unfortunately there is not enough RAM.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • very good camera
  • lot of good application
  • many way to personalize the phone with app/theme

Cons

  • low RAM

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Stoli89
posted on 22 May 2011, 13:55 (Posts: 333; Member since: 28 Jun 2010)

9

Love my N8

Stoli89 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This phone has a terrific build quality and feels wonderful in the hands. The battery life is very good, taking me well over one day on a full charge. The camera is simply terrific, a suitable replacement for a decent compact digital. I also enjoy the capabilities of Symbian^3 given the phones ability to use USB On-The-Go, play HD movies via HDMI output, and transmit music to my car's FM stereo. The call clarity is fantastic and like most Nokia's it comes with a built in global voice navigation program that works online (traffic updates, hotel bookings, etc) or off-line. It can even provide navigation without a SIM chip. I fly a lot, so this capability, along with Pentaband 3G, makes it a perfect travel companion. It's pretty amazing.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10 With Opera Mobile (free) the phone performs extremely well on the net. With the standard browser, I would leave it at 7. Since I always use Opera as the default, I think it deserves the 9.
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10 Comes with Swype, which I like given the 640x360 widescreen dimension.
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10 For a battery that is only 1200Mah, this phone runs well over 1 day on a full charge with pretty solid use. I use wifi and BT every day.

Pros

  • Pentaband
  • Build Quality
  • Carl Zeiss Camera/HD video/Xenon Flash
  • USB OTG
  • HDMI out
  • FM transmitter, FM radio
  • AMOLED
  • Wireless file transfer

Cons

  • Native Browser needs and update. In the meantime, use Opera.
  • Portait keyboard not yet available until next update (Anna)
  • Prefer a Removeable battery over a "replaceable battery"

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

N8 user
posted on 21 May 2011, 18:41

9

The Best Camera Phone

N8 user has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I love this phone. very elegant design. my phone is already been dropped several times, but the screen remains solid until now, no scratches at all. But the top of the HDMI ports are slightly cracked due to my phone fell. Camera quality is amazing. I do not need to carry a digital camera wherever I go. Since I already brought the world's best camera phone that is Nokia N8. I would also like to use this phone to play hd games. Mobile phone screen is very responsive, but sometimes lag. I think it's because of the limitations of the processor and ram. But overall I am very satisfied to use the phone, the Nokia N8.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Camera
  • USB-OTG
  • HDMI
  • Design

Cons

  • UI
  • Lag
  • Mono Speaker
  • Video Light

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Sam
posted on 21 May 2011, 15:43

10

Really good smart

Sam has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

nice! really enjoy that one. Hope next model will be withh dual core and great GPU, ole ole ole Nokia is the best ))) also need better resolution if they want to do 4". Display great goriila glass perfect aluminium is excellent! May be 64gb version? External Stereo dynamics? Xenon is great, USB OTG too, HDMI is available it's good. 2 ways of charging, customizable theme UI, usb mode to PC an MAC also as 3g modem, wifi hot spot via joiku, FM transmiiter great in car, at picnic 2-3-4 etc cars can play 1 song from your N8 via transmiiter that's fun. Opera alternates if you do not need flash. Native browser has it also.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Mehdi Rastayesh
posted on 19 May 2011, 06:43

10

BEST OF Nokia

Mehdi Rastayesh has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Overall great phone, best at its price range. I have used this phone bit less tan a month and battery life gets better after few reloads. Camera is great, no you can´t really compare it to DSLR, but it beats my old point and shoot digital camera even in dark.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy This Phone

Latest stories