x PhoneArena is looking for new authors in New York! To view all available positions, click here.

Nokia N79 User Reviews

8.7 Based on 14 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed7.5/10
Camera9/10
Multimedia8/10
Internet7/10
Call quality9/10
Battery10/10
Reception9.5/10
Display8/10
Build quality7.5/10
Text input7/10
Everyday usage9.5/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

stole38
posted on 16 Sep 2012, 06:55 (Posts: 14; Member since: 01 Sep 2012)

8

The best nokia i had

stole38 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

It was one of the best 2009 phones , and i remmeber my friends were blown away by the camera and everything , it was a super phone , never regret buying it !
oh how the times go ... :D !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Build quality 7/10 Looks abit plasticy
Reception 9/10 One of the best phones for any kind of reception :)
Call quality 8/10
Internet 5/10 Browsing is a bit a pain in the ass but not forgeting that its a 2008 phone :)
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 10/10 Amazing camera
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 7/10
Display 8/10
Battery 10/10 battery would last for a week sometimes :)

Pros

  • dual speakrs

Cons

  • bad keyboard
  • 2.8 inch display would be better

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

bhat aijaz
posted on 01 Mar 2011, 08:46

9

cool phone

bhat aijaz has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

nice phone but bad keypad and display plastic cover.slim ,light weight,full of features but low sound.ithas a light weight.sound reception quality is best.good price.if ur hand makes a jerk while capturing picture,it z not of gud quality.the display is a bit smaller n should be about 2.8 inches.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 7/10
Display 8/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • slim n stylish,
  • best reception.
  • gr8 sound quality in earphones
  • gr8 camera,gr8 video capture
  • good net speed,never hangs,,,

Cons

  • poor keypad
  • poor plastic display cover
  • low sound
  • no picture stablization

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

smarty07
posted on 07 Jul 2010, 08:13

8.3

About N79

NOKIA N79: NICE PHONE

Sound Quality: Avg.

Video Quality: Good

Camera: Best In Day Light, Poor In Night

Keypad: Good But Small Button

Sensor: Nice

Service: Good

Hang Prob: Low or Not

Charging: Good

Net Capable: Best, Heavy Duty

Ram: Only Create Difficulty In Processing During Photography..

Nice Phone,,Heavy Service,


Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • CAMERA BEST PIC. IN DAY TIME
  • BEST INTERNET SUPPORT
  • GOOD CHARGING
  • HEAVY DUTY
  • NICE FLASH
  • MIN HANG PROBLEM

Cons

  • SOUND AVG
  • CAMERA NOT GOOD IN NIGHT
  • NO COPY PASTE BUTTON
  • SMALL KEYPAD BUTTON NOT GOOD FOR GAME

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

neo
posted on 01 May 2010, 00:33

6

N79

 Its been one & a half year since am using this phone. Everything is really great about this phone. Camera, music player, utilities, user friendly.But the only thing i hate in this phone which is also the major issue, the poor quality plastic glass display. put a little pressure on your display ( it may just be in your jeans pocket ) is enough to ruin the display costing noticeably. I myself had this problem for 4 times, hate this phone for that.  

Design 4/10
Features 8/10
Performance 6/10

Pros

  • Worth the cost with loaded features
  • Great camera in day light
  • User friendly

Cons

  • BADLY MADE
  • keypad's keys are real short for user interface
  • hangs quite noticeably
  • keypad not friendly for gaming

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Deepti Nanda
posted on 25 Apr 2010, 14:09

7.7

problem N79 low light video recording

I just bought N79 yesterday and it seems to have some problem with the video recording at low light.
The camera fluctuates in yellow and white color constantly while recording.
While recording the color would suddenly change to dark yellow and the a moment after back to white tone, that keeps happening constantly.
I even updates the firmware from 11.043 to 32.001 but the problem still remains... could it be a faulty set kindly suggest if someone had a similar problem.

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 7/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Manjul
posted on 08 Sep 2009, 03:04

7.3

N79 is Avg.

 Hi all, N79 is really value for money as it offers load of functions. but its performance is avg. Ill not recommend this phone to any one. better go for N86

Design 8/10
Features 8/10
Performance 6/10

Pros

  • FM transmitter
  • 5MP cam./geo tagg
  • clear display
  • connectivity wi-fi/3.5G
  • user friendly
  • X-press covers with changing themes

Cons

  • pic zoom too slow(may be due to low ram)
  • camera quality is avg.
  • sim contacts cnt be copied
  • video editor is missing,
  • Voice is not loud
  • vibration not so good.
  • obvious lacking USB charging and OLED screen.
  • Location of memo card.
  • No live wire included.

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sachinakt1
posted on 08 Jul 2009, 23:05 (Posts: 0; Member since: 08 Jul 2009)

9.3

n79 simply great

i had n82 before and then i bought this n79, first i was disapointed with the Flash (n82 has xenon) but everything else is suprb look at the images i taken, i am so happy to have this mobile. now its more cheaper then i bought. this is simply great mobile other campany cant think what n79 is giving at this price. i like design better then n82 and other mobiles looks futuristic.

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • really good camera, design, utility softwares, 4 gb free card, faster ram, nice leather cover comes with it. accelerometer

Cons

  • dual led Flash (xenon is better but if do not take night shots then its not a big deal)

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Sahil
posted on 19 Jun 2009, 01:54

9

 hye  i m using this phone last month,n i satisfied,but some features need to be improve like keypad.i think its good phone,but i have some problem to remove themes installed on memory card.if any one know plz reply me.

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 9/10

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

CarlosCR
posted on 04 May 2009, 03:36

8

N79

I bought this phone 3 months ago and are generally very happy with it but for the keypad. In fact, my phone was stolen last week and if it wasn't for the keypad I will have bought it again.. now I'm considering other alternatives (none found yet :(  ). The camara is pretty decent (for a camera phone) as is the video function. The UI could be a little faster in some places but is generally very responsive. Sound very good too.
I like to use it as a training aid for running and mountain biking and it is in this function that I found its main weakness.. it's slippery :) Fortunately I found a silicon case on ebay with raised keys which not only improved the slipperiness, but also made the keypad much easy to use. So nokia, you were very close to perfection with this device is you only had used some raised keys (like in N82). As it is now, the problem is that you have to use your fingernails (because keys are small), and the fullrow hard plastic keys are not very user friendly. Also the D-pad should have been raised a little more because it's very easy to hit 2-key when you try to press down-key.
I also spected more from the battery, but I barely can get more that 2 days of battery without risking being out of battery during the 3rd day of use (normal use I will say)
So, lots of features, good performance and so-so ergonomics. It's a pitty that mobile phone ergonomics tend to worsen more and more with time (try almost any three year old phone keypad and surely you will understand...  

Design 7/10
Features 9/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Very feature complete (GPS, Wifi, VGA video, 5Mp camara, FM RDS, FM transmitter,...)
  • Dual LED flash
  • very balanced weight
  • Size

Cons

  • Keypad (improves with a silicon case)
  • Slippery (can be solved with a silicon case)
  • No easy to turn on flashlight function available
  • No 3D HW acceleration

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Owen-The Tips tipstipsptipstipstips
posted on 25 Feb 2009, 07:56

9.3

The Good News

Here's some advantage of using this phone:
-Simplicity
-Fast, compact, flexible
-Imaging possibilities
-Good model
it has XpressOn casing that the phone follows the colour of the casing you put on.
I've score it 9.5.
And it beats the record for the smallest of Nseries phone, so far.
And it has all it needs to fill on your empty time.

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Fast
  • Cool model
  • Strong
  • Imaging phone

Cons

  • Xpensive (for me)

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

lvvine
posted on 03 Feb 2009, 08:58

10

Nokia N79 the best phone ever

N79 is the best phone till date, i have used many nseries but i found this the best phone. Guys using the phone with old firmware 10.XX kindly update to 11.xx phone is more stable.Battery backup is the best in Nseries

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Look stylish and comes with 3 express smart back covers
  • * Strong and energetic battery that should last 3 days with heavy usage
  • * 4GB microSD comes with phone
  • * Good RAM of 128MB and very good CPU 369Mhz
  • * Response of phone is good, light weight compare to other Nseries.
  • *Good display & Audio.
  • *Internet radio & FM transmitter is good

Cons

  • *Camera is ok

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Jake
posted on 09 Jan 2009, 23:38

10

The best all all!

wow! I had used almost all N series! and all I can say that this is the best of all of them! everything you need is there already! using this phone for about 1 week and no problem at all! so grab one of yours! especially the music itsvery loud and the camera is sooo clear! so no doubt that this phone is the Phone of 2009! hahaha!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Eerything about it...

Cons

  • none!

6 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mahdi
posted on 04 Dec 2008, 02:18

9.3

almost perfect





Overall this phone is perfect and highly recommended I am using it for more than a month.
But I have problem with my music player when using headphones. Forwarding song or going to the next track freezes the phone. This problem was there from the first iteself. This problem mostly occurs when I use FM transmitter for listening songs.  Another issue reported in real player the video sometimes shows blank when playing videos, you can only hear the audio.
but still they are firmware problems. I hope nokia fix these problems in the next update



Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • * Look stylish and comes with 3 express smart back covers
  • * Strong and energetic battery that should last 2 days with heavy usage
  • * 4GB microSD comes with phone
  • * Performing fast with 128MB RAM and 369Mhz CPU
  • * Accelerometer that smart changes the orientation of display

Cons

  • *When Forwarding song or going to the next track sometimes freezes the phone in Music Player only if you are using headphones and when transmitting music through radio signals
  • * Internal memory could be bit larger than 70MB
  • * Camera images does not meet my expectation N73 performs better

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

zaid
posted on 30 Nov 2008, 12:28

10

it is simply the best

you cannot say any thing about this smart phone because there are no gabs in it at all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • the best of the best

Cons

20 out of 36 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories